Freedom: Spilling The Beans And Letting Go Of My Darkest Past

66 127
Avatar for Jane
Written by
2 years ago

May 28, 2021

My apology for this quite long article,
but please do read every detail. Thanks

FREEDOM...

We all have the freedom of choice, freedom to think, freedom to act, we do have the freedom to speak, but also the freedom to shut our mouth and keep a secret.

A secret about the darkest part of my past that I ever wanted to bury in oblivion.

But even how hard I tried to imprison it in the past, the memory always brings it back to the present. A memory that I never wanted to divulge to anyone, not even to my closest friends, to my sisters, to my mother, and most especially not to my father. If I could only hire a physician to remove that memory in my mind, I would do that. And sometimes I'm wishing to have selective amnesia wherein only that dark past will be forgotten and won't be brought back again.

I thought of this for the nth time if I will confess this to this platform or not. Because as much as possible, I want it to remain in my dark past and never bring it up to anyone else. But the more I keep it, the more it haunts me like hell. It keeps on clawing in my mind every time I'm sad and toxic. Something that I want to dig my hand in my head and cut the painful synapses of the past. It's never break up that is too painful for me, but this secret I never spilled out.

We do have the freedom to speak, freedom to keep a secret, but we also have the freedom to let go of the darkest and painful past...

I always told that myself. That's why I'm not afraid of anything else except sickness and death. After reading an article that triggered my emotion last night and brought back the nightmare of yesterday, I just shed tears under my shower so no one can hear me weeping. To cry inside this house is unlucky but my comfort room always gives me comfort and the freedom to shed tears.

And I don't want to be down in the dumps forever as I still have a brighter future to claim. So I pulled more courage to write this article successfully without shattering my emotions into pieces. And hoping that after this day, the heavy baggage of pain I have been carrying for more than 20 years will be lighter so I could face the present better and continue pursuing my goals and my dreams.

I'm not as weak as before anymore, and I don't want this dark past to ruin my bright present and future.

I'm ready to spill the beans...

I have put too much courage to disclose this because I guess I need to. I need to let go of this darkest past that kept on clawing in my mind.

For sure you have been thinking of which article triggered my emotion and brought back my dark past while reading the introductory part, and for sure you have a hint in mind already just base on my story above and when I mentioned "dark past."

Yes, you are right! It was @Glez's article. But don't jump to a conclusion without reading the whole story yet. My dark past is not like hers, and I have never been a victim of rape but even worse to her case.

I was a victim of child abuse, to be certain, I was a victim of CHILD MOLESTATION.

And what hurts me more while recollecting this dark past was the person involved in this matter. A person whom I thought a good family member, but he turned out to be a devil that wears a mask of a smiling man.

The nightmare of yesterday...

I was only 5 or 6 years old at that time when I woke up with a nightmare, a nightmare that happened in my waking life.

My father's family side lives miles away from home and we only have communication through mobile phones. But one day, unexpected visitors paid a visit, they were my father's eldest sister and his youngest brother. That was their first and the last visit to see our family. My auntie was a great woman, a single mother of two, and a kind sister who have been longing for her brother's presence for a long time. Because ever since my father built his own family in Samar, he only visited his family in his province once, in Kalinga Apayao, when he introduced my mother to his family. Since then, he was destined to join different camps and troops and didn't even visit the burials of his parents.

I never doubt the kindness of my auntie, she even renovated our house from a native one to a semi-concrete and spacious house. I felt happy being with her, but that didn't last long as she needs to go back to her work as a teacher. I thought I will see her again, but I didn't, nor a chance to see her again since she passed away last year. Our small bondings together when she visited us were the first and last.

The youngest brother was left at home for some reason, and I thought he was as kind as my auntie so I should befriend him. At first, he was, but later I found out the reason why auntie left him on my father's strict hand. He's the black sheep of their family that needs to be separated from the goats. Meanwhile, I was as meek as a lamb and feeble to defend and stand up for myself. I was only young, innocent, and weak. A meek lamb who doesn't even understand yet everything happening around me, but I learned how to filter out the good deeds from the crimes.

One day I was left at home with my uncle, my mother bought something at the market, my father was nowhere to be found, my siblings were out playing with their friends. I'm not the kind of a kid who always likes going out, only when my friends invited me to play outside, an introverted ever since.

He gestured to me to come closer, and I thought there was nothing wrong with obeying him. We went inside the room and that's when he took advantage of my weakness. He kissed my lips but I never thought that that was normal, since I've been seeing news about child abuse, and information was absorbed in my mind. An adult kissing a kid was a crime!

I thought it will end with just a kiss, but he even touched the sensitive part of my lower body. For Pete's sake, I wished for someone to pull me out from that dark room, I wished it was just a nightmare where I can kill that incubus in my ephialtes. I breathed a sigh of relief when I heard someone coming and he parted himself from me. Tears rolled on my face but all I did was shut my mouth because the monster might kill me.

https://amp.scmp.com/news/hong-kong/education/article/2124208/majority-child-sex-abuse-cases-carried-out-those-under-18

Since then I wanted to be as close as possible with my family and I hoped that my father won't go back yet to his duty, because I was already thinking of what else he can do more once my father was out of sight. It was only me, the only girl in the family along with my mother. But the pervert was clever like a monster trying to catch an innocent kid that he can toy, and I was so weak to fight with the monster. It didn't only happen once, but multiple times. It seems like a pleasure to him when touching my sensitive part. You might be thinking of a deeper one, but no, he didn't do it, he just touched the topical area of the sensitive part of my body.

My life was always been a nightmare that all I ever wanted was to wake up and forget about it.

I was always praying that my father will send him back to their province, but he even stayed longer for a few months and my father bought a pedicab for him that he can use to earn money for himself. But then the black sheep became more rebellious after joining with B.I. peer in our place. That may be the reason why my father decided to send him back to his province as he can't tame the black sheep anymore.

I felt so happy and relieved when that day happened. I was like an abductee that was able to escape from my abductor, or like a bird that has been freed from the cage. Finally, I was able to regain back my happy childhood life he once robbed. But those memories were engraved in my mind and remain indelible and cannot be washed off.

And this remained a dark secret for more than two decades...

When I grow up, that memory of my dark past keeps on coming back, especially when seeing news about child abuse, rape, and any kind of sexual harassment. And every time that happens, I become a killer, a kiler that kills a criminal.

Yes, I killed criminals, I killed them not in a literal way but in my mind. I want them to get what they deserve, unfortunately, only in my mind.

When our father taught us some self-defense and how to shot a gun, all I was thinking was to kill the monster. But then I was only a kid and that was impossible to happen. So I just prayed that one day, I will wake up without a memory of my darkest past.

I never divulge this matter to my family because I know the capability of my father. He's a soldier that kills enemies, and if I will tell him about this matter he will surely consider his own brother an enemy, an enemy that he can kill anytime. I may have hated him for being a strict father. He's strict probably because he wants to discipline us like a soldier. But he never failed to do his duty as a protector of our family. Later I realized the purpose of ruling his family with a fist because he wants us to become as strong as a soldier and disciplined citizens.

I rather keep this forever than have my uncle's blood on my father's hand. Because if that happens, it will be my worse nightmare and I might wish not to wake up anymore.

But my dark past taught me to become a stronger person...

Since then I became aloof to anyone outside our family. I have never been friendly with my co-villagers, and people in my place know me as a shy-type person even up to date. And that's one of the reasons why it's too difficult for others to gain my trust. I fully trusted no one but myself and I became more introverted even until now.

But I became stronger due to these dark experiences of the past. And I will never let any monster to touch a single strand of my hair anymore because this lady has learned how to form a fist that can knock down a monster.

I thought I can't make it to this part, but then I did without shedding tears. It only proved that I can handle the circumstances that may follow and I'm ready to let go of this darkest past. I want to free myself from being chained with the string of my nightmare of yesterday. Because I don't want this single spot of the darkness of the past to ruin my future that is meant to be brighter. I want to move on and totally bury this memory in oblivion.

For others perhaps they will rather keep this kind of secret forever because people might judge them. But I have made up my mind and continued writing until I came to this part because I want to serve this as awareness to everyone, especially to mothers and young students who are currently reading this article.

Never trust your kids to anyone further than you could throw them!!!

I know it's irrational not to trust no one but even people whom we trust can be our betrayer, a traitor, or an enemy that we don't expect.

Perhaps, the line our mothers have said when we're younger, "don't talk to strangers" truly needs to be obeyed. But who would've thought that a family member can be a monster in disguise?

This story might be shocking to you, and for sure you already understand now why a lady called @Jane has built a thick and strong wall that no one could break. Because this is my only way to protect myself from monsters, from perpetrators, from possible abductors, and my future enemies. And maybe you have noticed that I am writing articles more on inspirational/motivational articles because I always wanted to remain positive as much as I can.

I still don't have the courage to share this with my family because I don't want my mother with a heart problem to stress out and see her cry. My aging father with high blood pressure might be killed by his conscience once he found out that the perpetrator is his own brother. At least, in this way, I can lay my heavy baggage down and continue my life's journey. And if I will step on my father's land where the monster is residing, it would be at the time that he already bid his final goodbye.

Spilling the beans is not that easy, because you need to take more courage and control your deepest emotions, but I'm happy and proud that I've finally made it. I finally spilled out to others the dark secret I have kept for more than two decades. And I wished that after this day, the heavy feeling that was weighing me down will be lighter, although more secrets lie underneath my pillow, but there's no use to disclose them.

And to child abuse victims, I am here to say...

"Don't hesitate to speak out! You might be judged by the narrow-minded and hypocrites, but good people are always there to listen"

But I don't need people's empathy, because I hated it the most. I don't want people to pity me and look at me as weakling because I am strong and ready to face anything!

When @Zeshan3333 and @meitanteikudo tagged me about this prompt: Freedom initiated by @JonicaBradley, the literal Freedom article was my plan to be written. But after reading @Glez story, I have changed my mind and took the opportunity to share my own story.

Now it's my time to hear the stories about Freedom from these lovely ladies/mommies @Hanzell @Eybyoung @Jeaneth @tired_momma @Elyz2021 @Ruffa @Yen @JulyAnn @z_graeden @bmjc98 @Eirolfeam2 @Gracee @LykeLyca @eommaZel @charmingcherry08 and more users who want to join this article series.

The article should be:

  • Anything about Freedom

  • 100% original content

  • At least 600 words

  • And don't forget to tagΒ @JonicaBradley

And I want to thank this platform for giving us the freedom to write and the freedom to speak most especially to the main sponsor sir Marc De Mesel for keeping this platform alive that gives us the freedom to do anything by the rules.

We'll be waiting and thanks for reading.

Articles worth reading:

Time And Life Are Like A River, The Flow that Has Passed Will Never Pass Again

A Legacy Of An Unfulfilled Life

Know Yourself Better Than Anyone Else

No Matter How Rich You Are, Give Equal Respect To Ordinary People, Money Can't Buy Happiness

A Simple Act Of Kindness Can Change Someone's Life

If You Feel Like Sinking In The Mud, Be A Lotus Flower

35
$ 9.68
$ 5.00 from @ErdoganTalk
$ 2.55 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.51 from @BitcoinCashHub
+ 19
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I also experienced this. Nakakalungkot lang isipin na kung sino pa yung mga taong tinuturing mong pamilya ay sila din pala ang magbibigay ng takot at sakit sa puso mo. Hindi siya madali at napakahirap na sa tuwing gabi maalala mo ang mga nakaraan. Sa side ko, hindi ko pa nasabi sa nanay ko. Aside sa natatakot ako na baka hindi sila maniwala sa akin, ayoko rin masira ang pamilya nila.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Wanna share sa article mo? We are jere to listen

$ 0.00
2 years ago

May nasulat na po ako. ito po yung link read.cash/@fredyzza07/my-painful-past-f1098845

$ 0.00
2 years ago

By Jove! I swear. I really curse these predators. These are kids. You're a kid. My God.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Now you know why I am a fighter 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I do. And I have nothing but admiration. Salute!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I had the same story I mean about sexual abuse too.. maybe I will share it here too one day . I hope you overcome your nightmares and trauma I bet you always have it like I do before but good thing I am over it.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Naovercome ko naman to nung bata pa.ako.. Yun lng parang nightmare na babalil balik sa isipan. Pro am over it as well 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I feel sorry for you for experiencing such a horrible thing. I mean nobody deserves to experience such ugly things but there will always be evil people around us that will take advantage of one's weakness. I know you're a strong person now after overcoming a nightmare. I hope you will be truly free from the past. I admire your courage in sharing your story.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I'm trying and I felt better now. Thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was speechless ateπŸ₯Ί but then, I'm still happy that you've fought this battle and this experience made you a strong person. Fighting πŸ’ͺ

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you dai. That made me stronger. And am letting it go na

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is really touching, men like him should be locked in a cell with the keys thrown in the sea. It's so terrifying and can be damaging for one to be exposed to such at a tender age. Above all, the fact that you've escaped the cloth of this darkest secret is what makes me happy.

|| or the side, if this challenge is that which is monetized, yours is surely going to win, because reading it I could free the pain, agony and freedom in your journey || i'm ashamed to say my article pales compared to yoursπŸ™ˆ...

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Don't compare your articles to mine, coz we all have different genre. Yours are good as well

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for the kind words ma.😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Speechless. Eto yung reason na ayoko talaga ng yung niece ko isama sa cebu dahil yung ate ko nga me jowa.. Kilala namin yung guy pero guy pa rin yun and anything could happen in just a blink of an eye. THanks for sharing your story. Need ko to iparemind sa mommy ko para me reason siya para kausapin ate ko.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thanks for reading too.. At least nailabas ko sya.. Bago ko ibaon totally sa limot..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can't think of any comfort words to say. Hindi ko akalain na ganyan pala pinagdaanan mo. I know that it took courage to reminisce and share your darkest past, but atleast through writing you finally let go of it. I know that you are really free. Kasi nalabas mo na sya. I am happy for you. Fighting lang.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Salamat.. At sorry sa late reply.. Gusto ko na to kalimutan for good. At least nailabas ko sya..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mine and yours are not too different. Mine is more painful for the molestation doesn't stop with immediate family members but extend to neighbors and cousin. I am so proud of you for letting yourself free this will be the beginning, it is true that sharing it to someone close to you or to whom you trust is one of the key to fully free yourself from the past. I take this challenge tonight, with you though it wasn't as good as how you have plotted the words in here but I promise I will express my story the best I could. I pray for you to be brave and strong, so as your freedom.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Am looking forward to reading yours . .can you mention me there so I can easily find it? Thanks

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I already have, I am sorry to not asked your permission. I was so moved by your story. I just published mine few minutes ago 😊 hope to hear something from you there. See ya

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hugs** sakit sa heart, masakit talaga balikan ung mga pangyayaring ganyan but I'm glad you found your freedom. Christ will heal yourwounds from the past and will make you whole again.

Anyway, thanks for tagging, 3x na ako na tag sa challenge na toh so bukas tingnan natin.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thanks sa kind words.. Wait ako ng version mo 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That took a lot of courage to face and to write. Thank you for sharing your story. I understand all too well what you have gone through. I believe many more women and girls have faced these issues than are spoken about in the media and statistical analyses.

I hope sharing your story has been therapeutic and that you can find some peace.

You are very brave.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Ma'am @JonicaBraddelly assign me other topic.I am busy lolπŸ˜πŸ˜‰πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Another prompt (#2) Will come out on Monday.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much for initiating this article series. If not because of this, maybe I'm still carrying this heavy baggage

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It takes a lot of time and energy and emotion to process trauma like this. I hope you find some resolution and relief.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh.. I think most of us has dark secrets. I just don't expect it from you.

I just hope that revealing this secret would break the spell that prevents you from floating against a sinking boat.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I really hope so. Coz that's what I wanted

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sa bata mong edad naiintindihan ko kung bakit antagal mong di nakarecover. Dagdag pa yung di mo maisheshare dahil sa takot para sa iba at hindi lang para sa iyo. 🀧

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope you feel better na. Cases like this weren't easy to spill especially when you're thinking of your parents health condition n lalong nagpapabigat sa dinadala. But I salute you of your bravery na sa wakas you finally let it out (go ung sinabi q sa comment q dun sa noise) thru this platform. Hope you would be more courageous this time to conquer your trust issues so that you could find someone to share your life with.

Hoping for your continuous healing from this nightmare..

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you madam. Am thankful for having you guys here. Never failed to give me courage and inspiring words

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same here sissy...Women empowering women.. am much thankful with your inspiring articles that made the pessimistic me is looking the brighter side of things..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Long but heart touching story.You have vivid concepts about freedom.Thanks for mentioned in your best article😍

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It was you who mentioned me first for this prompt freedom series

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ma'am it not matter who mentioned.It matters a lot you what you write in your assign topic.As ma'am @JonicaBradelly mentioned it was a lot of motivation for girls😍😍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I admire the courage you put in making this article, madam. It was certainly a silent battle you had but through this, I believe this unloaded lots of baggages from that dark past. ❀

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I felt better so far, knowing that you guys are there to comfort me

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pano kung nagtagal pa sya, sigurado hindi lang yon magagawa nya. Diko din akalain na may ganito kang dark past, pero if ako yan baka sinabi ko yan sa tatay ko. Deserve ng lalaki na un na makatikim ng suntok, hindi lang suntok. Kahit naba hindi na penetrate, ee ung trauma nong little Jane. πŸ˜•

$ 0.05
2 years ago

😭 pro nakaya ko naman.. Naka survive sa trauma.. Lakasan ng loob pra lng makaahon sa buhay

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayos yan, basta tuloy lang sa paglaban ng multo ng nakaraan 😊πŸ’ͺ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I dunno if I should be sorry because I triggered this emotion or side of you geng or I should be proud because it made you free. But nevertheless know that we are here for you. Since that day I wrote about my darkest past it made me feel relieve. More than ever. But this article of yours is worst that I had experienced.

Which what my mom keeps on telling me before... She wants us to stay away from anyone from the opposite sex as much as possible be it a relative or not.

Even my Papa, because way before this child abuse is so trending that there was even a news that a father raped his own child... And my Papa got paranoid seeing those things so he see to it that I am always protected.

I am not allowed to go farther from the house not unless im going to school or im asked to do some errands. If my class ends 5pm by 5:15 or 5:30 i should be home or else he will go to school and fetch me with his bike... Because there was also some news about kids being kidnapped and got raped etc...

Thank you for sharing your story jane. Virtual Hugsss from me! I hope and I pray that together we will heal. To God be the Glory.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

You don't need to be sorry... Because of you I got the courage to disclose this.. At least this time, I felt better na.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm speechless sis. Grabe pala yung pinagdaanan mo sa tito mo no tapos kapatid pa ng papa mo. tama ba?

Pero pansin ko sa generation natin, karamihan sa may ganyang experiences sis. DI ko din naman maitatanggi na may naexperience din akong di maganda nung bata. iba iba din kaya di rin ako matiwala sa mga lalaki. YOU're so brave for spilling the beans 'coz it takes a lot of courage to do that and di ko sure kung kaya ko.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Iba iba lng cguro tyo. Minsan ang tapang ko minsan naman sobrang weak.. Kya i feel proud na nakaya ko.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

grabe yung trauma na naidudulot ng mga ganong bagay kung meron man magandang naidulot yun siguro yung ginawa tayong mas aware sa ganung bagay at di agad agad maloloko ng mga lalaking mapagsamantala kasi sa galawan pa lang malalaman na natin. I felt sad nung binabasa ko to kasi ang tagal oh bago mo na share but happy at the same time kasi nakaya mo unlike me. Siguro di pa ko ready to share the whole story but maybe one day. Aigoo.... ayoko yung ganto haha. nalulungkot ko bigla

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tagal na panahon na gusto ko to ishare sa iba.. All i need at mga makikinig na hndi ako jinajudge.. Thanks guys

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We can't judge youa 'coz wala ka namang ginawang masama sis and besides you're just a kid that time. Tapos sino ba naman kamI para I judge ka sis. We're not also perfect like you. We also have lots of dark secrets that still untold 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

More than 70% of the kids face child abuse irrespective of the gender. I faced the same. It was my cousin who is 10 years older than me.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

What do you mean you faced the same? And what is the connection of your cousin?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Leave it. Will write a article about it when I feel better and strong as you. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i never thought na may dark past ka pala Jane. I'll try to share mine siguro, anhirap lng isipin na may mga gnitong pangyayari dati satin. May mga tao tlgang likas sa knila ang pagiging manyak. At hate na hate ko tlga mga manyak sa mundo. At pareho tyo unti unti ko slang pinapatay pero sa isip lng. Napaka brave mo para sa edad mong yun.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I wasn't brave.. Kya sinamantala kahinaan ko .. Pro sana dto na matapus to. Ayoko na isipin ulit

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Can't do it as I am not ready to reveal my darkest secret. I already surrender it to God and I know He forgives me already because I have a happy family now β™₯️

$ 0.03
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

I have surrendered this to God, but it keeps on haunting me..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pareha ata tayong nasobrahan sa freedom. Nawala na sa isip magkarelasyon πŸ˜‚

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Am not into that matter though πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

it is pretty surprising and it seems like now i know a part of why you probably won't date too πŸ˜… but you've been a tough cookie for so long and i respect that about you UwU

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you.. Ikaw una user na kumilala tlga sakn dto 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

well we're in the same space and we have similarities so i can empathize with you, ate UwU

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Salamuch 😘

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're such a brave one to be able to write such experience and you deserve every bit of respect for doing so. Nothing's been your fault, you were a victim of some wicked man who took advantage of you when you didn't know how to fight.

Unbeknownst to many, a lot of little girls and boys (and even adults) suffer the same as you did back then. And I hope many will gain the courage to fight for their rights and send these a**holes to rot in jail. Salute to you and all who have been fighting their own battles and are finally coming out.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

And thanks to you for always giving advice on noise. You're one of the persons who motivate me to fight this battle and continue writing this article.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

You're on to a good fight, and I believe you will win! Keep the faith my friend!

$ 0.00
2 years ago