A Legacy Of An Unfulfilled Life

36 103
Avatar for Jane
Written by
2 years ago

May 26, 2021

I was having a hard time thinking about a good topic to write, and even reading articles here in readcash didn't help. While making some noise on noisecadh, I stumbled on this post of @FarmGirl (I did not expect that she has an account here too), she talks about a person's legacy and how people will talk about them once they bid their final goodbye to this world.

https://noise.cash/post/1jrp6305

Have you ever thought about the legacy that you are leaving your family, friends, community, or the world?

First, let's talk about legacy.

According to Meriam-Webster Dictionary:

Legacy

Is a gift of money or other personal 
property that's granted by the terms of 
a will—often a substantial gift that 
needs to be properly managed. 

But this word has been used broadly in
some aspect not about material 
possessions.
 

For example, 

She left us a legacy of a million 
dollars. 

He left his children a legacy of love 
and respect.

Have you ever ask yourself about this? Will we leave this world with a positive or negative legacy? We don't consciously choose one or the other, it just happens unintentionally.

Some people are desperately creating lives they could be proud of before they died. But things are destined to happen and sometimes, they just ended up leaving this world with the legacy of an unfulfilled life, without being able to give themselves to the people they love because they were busy building the legacy they ever wanted.

Just like a mother who desperately wants to give her family a good life and create a legacy that she could pass to her family before she died. She will conquer the foreign land and leave her innocent young children at home in the hands of her husband or other family members. When she gets back home, either her grown-up children are aloof to her since she wasn't there when they were growing up, or her husband left their home with another woman. And in some cases, kids become rebellious because of a lack of parental guidance, mental, and emotional support when they were growing up.

And the time will come that the mother needs to face her final destination and her kids aren't on her side, the legacy that she tried to create will be meaningless and she will realize that it wasn't what she wanted, but the love of her children. Regrets always happen at the end and it's too late for her to correct everything.

Legacy isn't always about money, about material possessions, but it's all about who you are, what you have contributed to this world, and how you touch and give impact to other people's lives.

For example, Mother Teresa whom we know in Catholic Church as St. Teresa. She has devoted her whole life caring for the sick and the poor. She had established a hospice, centers for blind, aged, and disabled, and a leper of the colony. Her humanitarian works and her kindness, generosity, and unfailing commitment to the people she helped have left a wonderful footprint in the world. An intangible legacy that touched the hearts of millions of people around the world.

We often think of legacy as material possessions. There are millions of wealthy people around the world and their wealth will be passed on to their families. However, the intangible legacy lasts longer than any material possessions. Because money and those properties are just temporary things in this world, but kindness will leave a mark on the hearts and minds of the people you have helped, inspired, motivated, and touched their lives.

While writing this article I was thinking about what legacy will I leave in this world. I wasn't born with a silver spoon so I don't have a legacy of money to leave for my family. However, I am certain that I have created a beautiful legacy through my actions and words. I am a breadwinner for more than 10 years now and this burden of responsibility on my shoulder is not that easy to carry alone. If I will leave this world, people will remember me through this hard work and perseverance of mine.

I have never been a bad friend as well, in fact, I like giving advice to people because it is easier than advising myself. If I know I can help someone in need, I don't hesitate to give a helping hand. I've been a teacher to my little siblings but I wasn't a friendly teacher to them, because I was as strict as a real one. But for sure when that uncertainty happens, my little siblings will realize why I've been a strict "ate" eldest sister to them because all I did are for their own sake not for mine.

I may don't have money in my pocket, but I do have cryptos in my digital wallet. And I guess this will serve as my legacy as well when I'm gone. And teaching my siblings about this matter will be my next goal so I will be able to pass on them this atypical legacy.

The story of a person's life reflects on the individual's legacy. If you have accomplished something remarkable in this world, then you will be remembered because the things a person does throughout his/her lifetime create a powerful legacy. This includes overcoming adversity, parents who have raised resilient children, and outshining as a leader. People who also set a good example for others through their actions and words leave a powerful legacy just like what Mother Teresa did. And others who show bravery leave a legacy of courage.

So if you want to make a legacy before you died, never think about saving money, but the good things you could do in this world that will be remembered by others for the rest of their lives.

What's your story about legacy? Share it below.

Lead image from https://dying.lovetoknow.com/about-obituaries-memorials/what-is-persons-legacy

28
$ 0.85
$ 0.10 from @Alther
$ 0.10 from @tired_momma
$ 0.10 from @Crackers
+ 11
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

You made me think what my legacy would be.Money? Once spent, legacy will vanish also. But as a mother, good teachings and reminders to be humble no matter what happens is what comes to my mind. I want them to always remember me as a good mother and not a terror one.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

after ko to mabasa, napaisip din ako, ano nga bang maiiwan kong legacy sa mundo pag namatay ako? haha. like you di rin naman ako anak mayaman, I even did not join charity works but isa yun sa gusto kong gawin kahit sumama lang as volunteer ganern. Nkakalungkot isipin kung mamamatay akong wala man lang magandang legacy so siguro magpapakabuti na lang akong anak at tao gat kaya ko? haha para just in case mawala ako at least kahit yun man lang maisip nila pag maalala nila ako. Besides, wala naman akong maiiwang pera o pamana na kahit ano kaya siguro yung magiging mabuting tao na lang sa iba.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As the saying goes here:

tigers die leaving stripes, elephants die leaving tusks, humans die leaving honor

$ 0.03
2 years ago

A great qoute indeed

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh wow! Never thought that single post would inspire an idea out of you Ms Jane. I am humbled for acknowledging my post as a reference :)

Of course I believe you have already built the foundation of your life's legacy and probably beyond half-way through. And I am also sure you will be remembered by your friends and family not merely as a "breadwinner" but so much more. Salute to you my friend and worry not!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you so much . Your posts are always inspiring.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Many thanks Ms Jane. I feel blissful to hear such kind remarks from you :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well-done dear!Always leave a legacy of intangible things.Good deeds are always immortal.You are teacher you better known about How can we win heart of people And Even God-will.Delighted to see you have wanted to leave legacy of Crypto love.But here I advised you keep the seed phrase with a little pocket book about it.So that Crypto in digital wallet should be used for positive aspect.Thanks💚

$ 0.05
2 years ago

No need to advice about the seed phrase. I've learned it since day one 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha.. Ma'am your smarter than me in this regard but I have advice keep your seed phrase in hard copy lol😂😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I did 😅 i have a small notebook for that

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wala akong maisip na sasabihin. Tanungin ko muna sila. Diko din Alam talaga Kasi haha

$ 0.03
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

,🤣🤣 isipin mo nlng anak mo.. Malalaman mo rn yun.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm not really sure what legacy will I leave in this world but I think it would probably about my characteristics as a family-oriented person, a trusted ,friend and a compassionate furmom. 🙈😆

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Atleast may maiiwan na legacy madam 😅u

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree madam. Sabi nga nila, maiiwan at mawawala yang pera pero ang kabutihan na naidulot mo sa kapwa ay di mawawala. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

First a thing i do not wanna be famous in this world but i want to have a happy life with my family so in this case my first target will be earning money..improve myself,help other WHO need but i am not sure i Will be that level helper 🤦‍♂️.. At last i Will reach a position in my life when i Will need to give my wealth to my child and in this case i do not need to do something as in my religious rule boy will get 2% percentage of my wealth and 1% Will get girl.. So why should i be worry? Anyway i get confusion to understand your article so may have some mistake on comments 🤦‍♂️

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I got confused about your comment too. 🤣 Just kidding. Well if that's what legacy you want, so be it.. But times flies so fast, thoughts will still change

$ 0.01
2 years ago

will

I am mind changing boy 🥱🥱 but sure gonna care family

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Un ang kinatatakutan ng isang magulang e, Ung unfulfilled legacy. After reading this, napaisip aq ano nga b? Siguro sapat na ung mapalaki sila ng maayos pra maging maayos din ang magiging pamilya nila.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yun tlga una iniisip ng magulang.. Cgurocbsta mapalaki lng sla na mabait, isang legacy na yun..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

sometimes, they just ended up leaving this world with the legacy of an unfulfilled life, without being able to give themselves to the people they love because they were busy building the legacy they ever wanted. True 👌 They never enjoy life, instead they live a miserable life just to create a good legacy.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Legacy -- something that I really want to accomplish in strong intensity and high efficacy. How I wish I can get to achieve it before I grow old and die. It's the only thing that highly matters to me in my remaining days on earth.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

You are creating it already but you're not aware of it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I would like to believe that. Hope I'm already doing it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice pist

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hi sis. Thank you for sharing this. Because of this article, it got me thinking too what legacy will I leave to my loved ones if ever I departed. I can't think of any yet. Definitely not money cause I myself is still a struggling individual. Perhaps, they will remember my legacy by looking back to the things I have done when our mom passed away. How I took care of them and showed them my love.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Mas mgandang legacy na maiiwan yun tatatak tlga sa utak kc yang pera.. Madali lng mawala yan.. At for sure mabait kang anak at kapatid, so yun ang legacy na maiiwan mo 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I never thought of this 🤔 at wala akonh maisip na pwdng iwan sa kanila. Ano nga bamg maganda 🤔. Siguro lalagay nalang ako ng letter na may importanteng recipe na magaganit nila sa business 😂. Waka akong maisip ee 😂

$ 0.05
2 years ago

BCH mo kya 🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Personal legacy is the best legacy that someone left behind. Leaving wealth and property is so charm looking but the good behaviour and attitude you taught to your family and young ones is also has great impact on the community and in a society. Do such things that people remind you with good words even after someone's death.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Nice analogy but your acct is moved to spam.. Are you aware of that?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't know. How my account moved to improved one.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, madam I will leave my kids my cryptos equally divided. But most especially my heart. Momma's love will always be with them. And to my family and friends my smile! :)

$ 0.05
2 years ago

True madam.. Yung love tlga pinaka the best na legacy.. Btw, nasa next article ko ikaw 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayieeee kinilig naman ako. Abangan natin yan. 🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago