Boxing Day On Winter Solstice

72 124
Avatar for Jane
Written by
2 years ago

December 21, 2021

Have you heard about Boxing Day? When I first heard about this holiday, I thought someone legendary in Boxing Sport is living here in Hong Kong and they offer this holiday for the contribution he made to the country. But then I realized that there wasn't a famous Boxer here in HK, and we have him in the Philippines, Manny P. We don't even have a Boxing Day for him, haha. But his match day is always like a holiday, lol. People would stop working and would gather around inside the place with free telecasts, like gymnasiums, restaurants, even beauty shops, and other places.

Back on track...

It was only last year when I found out the real meaning of Boxing Day. From the Chinese young lady friend of mine, it says to be the day where everyone is boxing, exchanging, and unboxing gifts. For some, they would spend the day relaxing, shopping galore, and spending the red pockets they received from Christmas day. And for sports lovers, they would celebrate Boxing day by watching sports like their favorite football matches, or watching and betting in Jockey Club's horse racing. I guess, many Hongkongers are doing the last one, the betting, lol.

But according to some folks, this holiday is supposed to be the gift-giving of employers to employees. Unfortunately, not in here, or maybe it depends on the employers, the richest families perhaps. Some would allow their employees to take a holiday too on this day. But most of us Filipinos only take one holiday, either on 21, 25, or 26.

The official date for Boxing day is the 26th of December. And today, December 21 (the time of writing), is another special day. They call it Winter Solstice or December Solstice.

Some would celebrate Boxing Day on this day just so they could have another celebration on the 26th of December, especially those with big families. For some, they would have gift-giving on the Winter Solstice, so that would be two celebrations at the same time. But many Hongkongers would solely celebrate this day as Winter Solstice day alone, as it is one of the most special holidays for the Chinese.

Employers then would decide, whether they would allow their employers to take a holiday today or on Christmas day. But in my case, I prefer to spend my holiday on Christmas day so I could freely enjoy this special day, either with myself or with my HK friends. And my boss prefers that for me as well.

Winter Solstice or December Solstice is said to be the shortest day of the year. It looks short though, as it is so gloomy today due to a bad weather condition. A typhoon signal #1 was hoisted here yesterday as typhoon Odette from the Philippines wants to pass by here as well, and there are still rain showers up to this day. But hoping for it to just vanish in the air, so it won't create another havoc here.

Back on track...

Cantonese call this holiday Dung Zi and this year, it falls today December 21, since we are in the Northern Hemisphere. Meanwhile, in the Southern Hemisphere, they had it on June 21.

Since Chinese people are full of traditions, this special day involves religious practices like prayers and offerings to their ancestors or deities, as well as to their beloved ones in the afterworld. Early this morning, the Chinese family set off for a ride and went to I don't know where, perhaps to the temples. All I am certain of is the young Chinese lady joined their school picnic which is held at HK Ocean Park. And tonight, they will be having a family gathering somewhere in HK, and I am glad that I would be left alone at home again, as I don't want to join in their so-called family gathering in this special Winter Solstice.

On this special day, by the way, Chinese people like eating the food called Tangyuan as part of their tradition.

(I can't find my photos of this food, just take one from GG)

Image from: https://christieathome.com/blog/glutinous-rice-balls-tang-yuan/

It is served as desserts on most special occasions here, especially today. It is made from glutinous rice flour shaped into balls and stuffed with mostly sesame and red bean pastes. Some would stuff tangyuan with meat and peanut butter. But I only tasted the sesame and red bean paste stuffed tangyuan. Nowadays, people can buy and cook tangyuan at any time as it is available in supermarkets in frozen packs. But the homemade ones are tastier.

It's a special day but not a public holiday. However, office works would end early so they could prepare for the night's celebration with their families and relatives.

This isn't only a special day for the Chinese, it is as well for me. Why? Because it's my payday! Yay! I hope my boss won't forget about it, lol. Yesterday was a so busy day as it was their first time to accept visitors here at home and had a small celebration. As part of the family, again, I did things that weren't even part of my job. But it's okay. I'm expecting a bonus in Christmas, haha.

Happy Winter Solstice Day everyone! Enjoy the long night.

Check the 8th clue on noisecash. Good luck!

Β©read.cash/Jane (All Rights Reserved 2021)

41
$ 20.69
$ 19.16 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @PVMihalache
$ 0.11 from @fantagira
+ 27
Sponsors of Jane
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Jane
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I also thought it was something about boxing or boxes. They only give you one of those three days off, I prefer these holidays, I already have a week celebrating and Christmas hasn't arrived yet, haha. Of course, only with music and sometimes a toast from a neighbor.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy Winter Solstice Day to you! Interesting what you say about boxing day. I hadn't heard of it :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya po pala boxing day dahil mag uunbox ng mga gifts hehe.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ah kaya pala boxing day! My first to hear this special day of the Chinese people, perhaps it's because they don't celebrate Christmas so a holiday was made for giftgiving..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Nagcecelebrate namna yung catholics. Kht Buddhists, iba lng compare sarn

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Even me , previously I used to think it's a day for some legendary in Boxing Sport, until i grew up and then knew it's a day where everyone is boxing, exchanging, and unboxing gifts. Thanks this article.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Winter solstice? Iguess I've heard about this day in a movie I can't remember. Seems also like I am not the only one who had misconceptions about the term boxing day lol.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

In my country there are no such deep-rooted traditions. I remember when I was in China a red envelope that they gave us with yuan inside, they really are very special days for them, and above all of family union. Greetings.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Growing up to know what boxing day really mean was amazing, I love boxing day because it's a day we share gift, for some they just decide to work on their friendship, that is the best gift for some, family gathering together is the best gift for some.....

$ 0.02
2 years ago

We don't have those specific days here. By the way, Mani P. He was running for president, how did that end?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I too was a little puzzle bkit xa boxing. Un pla un. Mas masaya cguro pag 21,25,26 ang off at d lng iisa. Enjoy mo n muna pagtulong sa mga d mo trabaho, sulit din ang bonus

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Mas masaya kung lahat off 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When I was a kid I also thought boxing day was a day dedicated to boxers in my country, but I found out a couple of years later that it actually meant sharing and opening of gifts

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Same haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's my first time to hear about that holiday since wala niyan dito sa atin. Anyway, happy holidays! Thank you for renewing the sponsorship :)

$ 0.02
User's avatar sc
2 years ago

Welcome

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Now I know what is Boxing day ate @Jane. Thanks for this info. Happy Winter Solstice Day din sayo Ate Jane. πŸ’•

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh thanks for remembering me. Boxing day. Muhammad Ali was my favourite boxer. I want to get training to pounch guys lol

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lol. It's not about boxers though

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was surprised hearing about Boxing Day when I first arrived to England. In Poland we have Christmas Eve which is the most important, then Christmas day 1 and 2. Both days are always off from work/school. Different countries different traditions. Here if 25 and/or 26 is on the weekend, we have Bank Holiday, so this year apart from the weekend, Monday and Tuesday are also non working days.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It also happens here.. Also have bank holidays when the holiday falls on Sunday

$ 0.01
2 years ago

In Netherlands they don’t have this, so they’re back to work on Monday. Sad πŸ™ˆ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Only few families celebrate boxing day here. Mime do ours on the 31st, though officially 26th is the date.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yup.. It's after xmas. Some do it in advance

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yiiiieeeh payday means yeydaaaay ate hihi. Akala ko talaga may magsusuntukan sa boxing day 🀣🀣. Nobayan hahaha.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Akala ko dn. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Even I thought that too. I get to know that while watching a cricket match saying that it would be a boxing day test!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha.. Many thought the same

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Boxing day in my country is usually done after Christmas. That's on the 26th of December

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yup. I mentioned there

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hummn. I once thought Boxing Day is about boxing πŸ₯Š each other wthe. Later on I realized it was not boxing πŸ₯Š but boxing πŸ“¦ 🎁 day.

Enjoy πŸ˜‰ your day too

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yup it is

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Then I hope I am free to request for my box too πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol 🀣 what if I tell you I don't know the meaning of boxing day We always have the boxing day holiday here too but I thought people are going to fight on that day until now that am reading this article

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha.. Now you know 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How would you think that's the origin of boxing day πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚. It is a lovely holiday though

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I thought may boxing na magaganap ate, hehehe. Unboxing pala ng gifts.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ang dami po pala talagang paniniwala ng mga Chinese at anh daming Celebration sa Kanila. But enjoy your day today po and hindi po makaklimutan ng Boss nyo ang Bonus nyo hihihih.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hndi ko nmn holiday today πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sa 25 po ang holiday nyo atleast maeenjoy nyo po ang pasko. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! Boxing day. I'm also a fan of what Manny Pacquiao did. Yes, he deserves a day to celebrate giving and receiving. LOL

I find the analogy for the exchange of gifts very curious. Although boxers like to give more than receive. Although I like the goal of boxers, let's be honest, thinking about it, who does not like to receive a gift from time to time that will knock you out of a smile?

I hope you receive many gifts these days.

Greetings.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I hope so πŸ™

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really thought it was about "Boksing" wherein here men gather in neighbors house with TV and watch our National boxer in the screen.

Expect a red envelope later. 😁

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Magdilang anghel ka sna sis 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay sus.. 'Kaw pa. Mangyayari yan. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello 😊 The boxing day that we never get hurt haha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahaha, kala ko magsasama sama lahat ng boxer jan rr iba pala naman ahaha. Pero mukhang masaya yan nga ha.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Dto dApat si Manny 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

May natutunan nanaman ako about chinese ate jane. Hehe now ko lang nalaman yan. Tsaka yung food madalas ko makita sa mga chinese drama yan. πŸ˜…

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Peyborit dessert ng nga chikwa kpg Chinese New Year at ngayob

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha up until 2 minutes ago I thought it had something to do with the sport boxing as well!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Boxing day, akala ko talaga araw para sa mga bosingero. πŸ˜‚ Pero ang nakakatuwa lang na may ganyang Holiday sa kanila. I must be a well spent day.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Sa ibang part dn ng Europe meron

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Akala ko din nun una sa title eh may boksing na magaganap jan sa hk, hehehe.. Paranag andaming holiday jan sa inyo bukod sa Christmas.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Dami tlga haha oi te, nhanap mo answer? Make sure to get them all 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yup hahaha, sa 25 eh aabangan ko talaga, sana makuha ko hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

May you spend your big winter solstice day happy and cashing in. Lol

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I already received it 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am happy for you. Merry Christmas. Hohoho.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe thanks Santa 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha this boxing day stuff actually got me confused not until I read about it in an article what it meant I only before I read the article that boxing day was a day I should fight and box those who offended on the Christmas day since I thought no fight on a Christmas day.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Funny thing is I also used to think it was a day for boxing each other in a friendly match for Christmas celebration while I was younger.. πŸ˜ƒ

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I've heard about Boxing. I've been scared of boxing since I was little, but I'm still scared to watch it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Same as me sis, when i first heard boxing Day the things that comes to my mind is punching day, so i don't get it how it become related to the holiday.. Yun pala unboxing ng gifts pala ibig sabihin nun.. anyway yung tangyuan gusto ko ung may red bean, masarap sya☺️

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Sesame sakn 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol. When I was a kid, I also thought boxing day was a day you would punch anybody that you wished without our parents or the authority's interference πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.02
2 years ago

🀣🀣 if there is such holiday . i would participate 🀣 i want to punch someone 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was looking forward for such things in the past ... now they just feel like another day

$ 0.05
2 years ago

True . It is just a normal day nowadays

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Let me box myself and come in a huge package for you on Boxing Day, Janey πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha.. Pack yourself now then so you would arrive on 26. 🀣🀣

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Right on it, Janey... I come bearing gifts 😍😍🀩

$ 0.00
2 years ago