Chasing the Sunrise at the Beach.

8 67
Avatar for JLoberiza
2 years ago

Chasing the Sunrise at the Beach.

Have you noticed it? During this time of the year, the days are longer. The sun rises as early as 5:30 and sets way past 6:30 in the evening.

During this time of the year also, the sunrise is visible from Roxas City Beach. If one could wake up early enough and catch it.


I, I am John. Ever since I started my morning walk/jog routine in the middle of July, I have always wanted to catch the sunrise.  But at this time of year, the sun rises around 5:30 in the morning. Which is way too early for me.

Not that I'm still asleep around that time. In fact, I always wake up before 4:30. But I need to travel at least 3.5 kilometers to get to the spot where I want to catch the sunrise. Which is on the Roxas City Beach.


The Plan

Before, I did not know exactly what time the sun rises. But I noticed that the sun was already up around six.
So I needed a tool that will tell me the exact time the sun rises the next day.

I would often search the Internet, but I need something quicker.

Then I found the Sunclock app.

Sunclock App

Sure the app tells me when the sun rises. But at first, I still wasn't able to start my walk early enough.

However, my last three walks, with the aid of Huawei's Health App, helped me determine how much time I needed to reach the beach. Thus I now know when I should move out.

The plan is simple. I start my walk at least thirty minutes before sunrise.


August 6, Friday.

The Sunclock said the sun will rise at 5:36 today. So,  must move out at 5 on the dot.

I was already up before 4:30 AM. I did my morning prayer. Drank some water, and prepared for my walk. But as I was getting dressed, I made myself a small cup of mild coffee.

While taking my coffee, I started to read some articles... Which I shouldn't have done. The next time I knew it, it was 5:20. I was already 20 minutes late.

On the other hand, I'm almost 30 minutes earlier compared to my last walk.

5:51

I'm almost at the beach and I saw the golden orb peeking across a vacant lot on my right. I did not pause, but I slowed down a bit to take a shot.

5:58

I walked 3.5 kilometers already. I paused my Health App.  I'm already at the People's Park at the beach. The orb is now visible above the low structures and coconut trees.

I headed towards the beach. The northern sky was already blue with some thin layers of clouds.

Before the pandemic, this place was always full of life. The structure on the right is a food court serving most seafood and barbecues.

And this area serves as an open activity area where the kids would play and the adults do their Zumba.


When  I reached the wave breaker and saw the rising sun casting a golden hue on the horizon.

I wanted to go down to the shore, but the tide was high.

There are few other people in the area. Some are exercising with a friend or two, some are alone.

I tried the other settings of my phone. Here is one taken with the ultrawide angle.

I forgot to try the panoramic though.


I sat on the concrete stairs to enjoy the view and take some more photos. Without my sunglasses, I could not take a look directly at the rising sun. So I just pointed my phone's camera towards the sun and took some shots.

Of course, you would not expect me to have a perfect shot without looking at the screen. I have to thank the AI for the focus and I used Snapseed to correct the angle.

I caught this girl sitting on top of the other stairs while texting. I thought it would look great if I cropped some parts of the photo.

I walked around The People's Park and took some more photos. Here are some of them.

The park is equipped with seesaws, swings, and monkey bars.

Let's say, this is my poor attempt to frame the island.

As the sun continues to rise, the golden hue slowly fades. And if my assumptions are correct, the blue sky will soon be replaced by grayish color.

This is it for now. I hope you enjoyed this photoblog. What do you think?

Hopefully, I could catch the sun at a much earlier time on Monday.

And this afternoon, I will try to catch the sunset.


Thanks for Reading.


Related Posts

Note:

I posted some of these photos in noise.cash: https://noise.cash/post/l6v8zmj0



All photos are mine.

Camera: Huawei Nova 7 SE.


9
$ 9.55
$ 8.89 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.40 from @Pantera
$ 0.10 from @bbyblacksheep
+ 6
Sponsors of JLoberiza
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for JLoberiza
2 years ago

Comments

Ganda Roxas City. Anong food ang popular sa Roxas? Natawa ako sa napabasa ng article tapos nalate ka ng ilang minutes. Namiss ko na ang sunrise at sunset. Di kasi ganun ka makita dito. 😊

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Seafoods. Maraming seafood. Talaba, tahong, diwal, bangus, crabs ,shrimps at iba pa.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

the photo with the girl silhouette is my favorite too.. cropping is a friend in photography.. beautiful sunrise photos!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you. Yeah. And thanks to high-resolution cameras these days, You can crop out almost as much as you can still have a good picture.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's true

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice pics. I walk on the beach daily when it is not locked down.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We haven't seen the sunrise or even the sunset for a long time. The skies are cloudy for three weeks already.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wowwww! This is such a nice sight. A therapy I need. How I wish to get back to province para makita ko ulit yung ganda ng sunrise. Seeing its orb feels like hope, a new beginning.

$ 0.02
2 years ago