Why do students cheat?

39 106
Avatar for HappyBoy
2 years ago

Going through @LykeLyca ‘s article yesterday Titled : From campus to online/ module cheating . I remember the events that happened a few weeks back during my school exams and also the first-semester exam which was online for the first and second-year students. I must have mentioned it once or twice that I teach on a part-time basis in school or as we call it here “I take tutorial classes”. the year 1 and year 2 students are my major students, I only take my coursemates some courses once in a while.

I try my best possible to teach them well, I go to any extent to make them understand. After all, they are paying for the services. Also, there’s this incomparable joy I feel anytime a student understands a topic that seems so hard before. That joyful look gives immense joy to my heart. To top it all, when they sit for the exam and the result comes out well- wow! I feel satisfied. But I felt inadequate when some of my students sent their exam questions to me while the exam was ongoing.

Wait! How is this possible? The school is using one of the best programmes for the exam. I heard if one look sideways for long, a warning will appear on the screen. How then did they manage to snap the pictures of their screen and send them to me? And does this mean I didn’t teach them well?. I went through the questions and realized that it was exactly what I thought them. This gave me relief for I know my conscience would be at rest knowing that some of them who listened while I was teaching them won’t disappoint me. After going through the aforementioned article I asked myself “Why do students cheat”

As a student myself, I tried to look for reasonable excuses and had a conversation with a friend about it. These were the excuses we could come up with

CONGESTED MODULE

It’s a popular thing for you to hear students say “a single teacher cannot take 10 courses but a single student is expected to know 10 courses”. The number of courses we do per semester is far too much. Almost every 5 years the ministry of education add new courses to the syllabus of each department. Some courses are not even needed at all. There are some courses we did in our first year that are of no use to us today. When we complain we are told, “Do you know better than the ministry?”

ONLINE LECTURES MAKES ONE LAZY

The online system of learning has made things hard for the students. Distractions occur from time to time while receiving lectures online. I split my screen sometimes when lectures are ongoing and only talk when the lecturer calls my name. Sometimes we all will be chatting on the WhatsApp group while the lecturer talks. When a question is asked, the answer is dropped on the group or we check google. This is better when the lecturer asks all students to off their video to save Data. Even if the lecturer doesn’t we have our ways of manoeuvring it.

WE ARE JUST LAZY

I’ve seen students discussing and sharing ideas on various ways of cheating. They devise various means to cheat. There is no extent we don't go to. The long hours spent on planning which microchip to take into the exam hall can be spent on doing something more productive. “Reading isn’t hard, understanding s the problem” they’d say. All do you read and understand something meant for 11 weeks in just 2 hours.

It’s never too early to start reading, but we students (myself including) prefer to read a few days or weeks before the exam and when it looks like we can’t get it all into our heads, we resort to cheating.

PARENTS

At first, I disagree with this. As a grown-up, there is little your parents can do about your reading plan or ethic. You can force a 10-year-old student to read and do his assignment on time but you have little influence over a university student in that aspect. But do we say when the parent is the one encouraging the child to indulge in it?. Believe me when I tell you that Parents now give their children money to sort lecturers.

BAD LECTURER

"There are no bad students, only bad teachers" is the favourite catchphrase of every student. If this is true then those students I mentioned earlier can say their actions are justifiable. Sending questions to me to help them even after spending hours teaching them.

Just like no one teaches a kid to start lying, no one teaches a student how to cheat. It's a natural phenomenon that happens to majorly lazy students.

Conclusion

There is no excuse for cheating. No matter how hard we try to paint it, play the victim by blaming others, the fault lies majorly on us (students). How do you feel after cheating?. Does your conscience give you problem? If it doesn't then you are a long way away from redemption. Cheating is cheating!.

Thanks for reading!✍💚✍

Special thanks to my brother @King_Gozie for the sponsorship renewal.

Do you feel I'm wrong with my assessment? Do you have a valid reason why students cheat? Feel free to drop it in the comment session let's discuss it together.

33
$ 13.99
$ 12.47 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @Pichi28
$ 0.50 from @ARTicLEE
+ 16
Sponsors of HappyBoy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for HappyBoy
2 years ago

Comments

This is so right into the point.. no matter ehat the reason ..cheating is cheatinng just like in a relationship.. The blame is only in our shoulders as the one who committed the mistake.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Very very right And some reason are.. Relying on friends.. My friend knows it and we set together in the exam hall, money too, darn, this one do get me pissed, you don't read as much as I do, but yet, you come out with better grade than I did and yet you can't stand with me in a debate

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Cheating is really a bad thing that has its consequences. All the points listed are the causes and I will like to add this, parents words most times to their children allow them to go the extra mile to cheat, what do I mean? When a parent tell his son you must come back with first class, it is your mate that is having that result, first-class or nothing blah blah, all these sounds like a pressure on the child and will want to do anything at all cost to pass

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You're right. Pressure from the parents can also make a student cheat.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There are likely 2 reasons students cheat and neither one of them is justified.

Number 1: They have convinced themselves that they are not smart enough to pass on their own; and if they fail, there will severe consequences. Not sure who or what they are afraid of … but they fear something or someone! That lack of self-esteem combined with an overwhelming fear and dread … they have talked into believing they have no choice but to cheat!

Number 2: Some people cheat because they like the CHALLENGE. It's not that they can't do it on their own. It's not they are afraid of failing or afraid of disappointing anyone. They just like the idea of cheating … and getting away with it! It's a thrill! However, if they get caught … sad to say but instead of learning from the experience they just try to figure out how not to get caught … next time!

Either way, it's a deliberate choice and if they do caught they both have to be dealt with the same way. Equal Justice. Because it's not fair to the other students who don't cheat.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

🎯🎯🎯 You're right. I know people that have been caught several times but still persist in cheating.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I would say there is no excuse for cheating at all. For God's sake, won't there be exam to evaluate students at the end? This is why reading ahead of examination is permitted and important to avoid issue during the exam. We still have some students who would sacrifice themselves till the end to study hard while we see some enjoying and flexing with life. They are just too lazy. During my NCE, I take 13-15 courses per semester and I never failed any course. This is because I choose to study hard even before exams. Parents also are great influence in such area. When they are encouraging their children and helping them pass their exams through sorting out with the examiner, the children would find no issue with it but follow such trail.
There is no excuse whatsoever for cheating.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Exactly! Even in the Polytechnic too. We do 12-15 courses too but it seems university students are just lazy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I did agree with the congested modules. Classmates and friends have this strategy to answer each subject and share it amongst themselves to meet the deadline. That's why some teachers have these strategies to discuss online and while discussing there will be a graded oral recitation to encourage the students to participate. Teachers will not send so many activities to students since they know for sure that students are tempted to cheat. For the major exams, teachers will use google forms and limit the time as least as possible so that the students could not look at their handouts. The teachers should push the students to their limits by giving them little time to answer and implement deduction of scores after submitting late but in the end, teachers should also be considerate without the knowledge of the students when they are a bit late in submitting their responses. I believe that this strategy would somehow lessen the availability of students to cheat.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

During my time, I know some of my classmates who are cheating.. And the common amongst them, they do not review before the exams. They spends their time with some nonsense stuffs instead of readung their lectures.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I admit that I sometimes cheat as a student. And the reason behind it was because I didn't review hihi.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Wah i think my heart broke for you when your students sent you questions containing what you taught them.

My best bud is a university prof. So is one of my other best bud in another groupof friends. Teachers' hearts will always feel aglow when their "kids" listen, understand, and ace checkup quizzes. It makes all the effort and patience worth it.

As for cheating. I haven't tried cheating during exams. Most likely asking help for assignments yes. I have always been afraid of getting caught. Specially if there is a chance a teacher will ask how I got the answer. I just shiver at the thought.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Your friend is right. A students performance have a great effect on the lecturer. I do that too-i mean asking for help with assignment. So far,I've not been caught 😂 Thanks for the huge tip Pichi 🙏💚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can totally relate with that congested module. My first year and most part of my second year was spent studying courses that I still can't reason why we need them. If we have to properly strip off all the baggages that is attached to my course of study, it would take just 3 years for me to complete the entire course, but now I'm spending 5 years.

But it's still no excuse for students to cheat. Other people are also faces with congested module and lots of other factors but they still do well in exams without relying on cheating

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Ours too. In some countries Quantity surveying is just 3 years, but Nigeria here it's 5 years. So many unnecessary course🤦‍♂️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

"All do you read and understand something meant for 11 weeks in just 2 hours". I use to fall in this category until I realized that, I was just reading not studying. Most people still don't understand the difference between studying and reading.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's true, there is a big difference between the 2

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I very much agree with the congested modules. My brother and his classmates are not even sleeping just so they could finish all their modules and submit them on time. They even come up with the strategy that they would divide the modules and share answers in the end. I bet some of them didn't read or even learn something.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's very smart. Reading in groups helps a lot.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We had exams like this at my university. When you finished doing it, the same system gave you the grade, instantly. You came out with a birthday face or crying. Cheating from others, or lying on a test, is lying to yourself. Eventually, life will take its toll on you, when you have to apply something you don't know.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you for the mention, it feels amazing to be among your wonderful sponsors.... cheating is cheating like you've said... anytime I really tried asking in the hall that will always be my worst result.. maybe it just comes back to haunt me 😄Good write up and very educative.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Sincerely, same thing happen to me when i even attempt cheating. Not cheating itself.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I do cheated my junior days lol! but it was terrific I've done so far and so our teacher put me in punishment seen that never ever done it again and up to now I always bear it in my mind until I finish my senior days.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I really don't understand the real reason why students cheat but you have really done justice to these reasons why they do that and more of it is the aspects of conjestion in the learning atmosphere that is capable of hampering any academic chances hence they will cheat

$ 0.00
2 years ago

good points on why do students cheat but still cheating is cheating and you cannot blame the system or the way your teacher teach.. :)

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Exactly! There's no excuse for cheating.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I believe more in the laziness to read on the parts of students and the laziness to teach on the parts of the teachers as the main issues here. Other points like the cojested classes are super points but what is more damaging is that in which one cannot develop oneself which is seen in the areas of that laziness on both teachers and students parts

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I think there's that perfection and pressure from everyone which makes students desperate to do what they have to do in order to pass.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

True! The pressure from the system. To make an A at all cost can be the reason. Thanks for the huge Tip 🙏💚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

All you have said was just right sir. As for the students, we cannot blame them for doing that thing. Honestly, when I was still a student, I also did this cheating thing. Hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I couldnt agree you more! This current educational set up really makes student demotivated to learn. They become lazy which results to poor performance. They are not genuinely learning anymore.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

The edicztuonal system in our country is a major factor that doesn't allow students tech their potentials hence resulting in examination malpractice because they basically learn all things by themselves and lack the necessary confidence to face exams on their own.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

True, it's like we are our own lecturer. They receive the pay, while we do the teaching.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's right.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The educational system itself is corrupt and full of lazy and tired legs. They have made student lazy that they don't want to face any challenge

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I admire you for being a tutor, I don't have long patience in teaching hehe. And all of the reasons you've mentioned above is correct, I agree with that. And cheating nowadays is easy to do due to online class.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes you made some valid points, if i to be asked as well, i would capitalise on laziness of students and of course mind diversion

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You really hit the nail on the head. All your points are very valid

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Great points! I do notice that courses are just too much with the modular and online classes. Too much pressure for the students too, but I agree there is no excuse in cheating. Thanks for the mention.

$ 0.05
2 years ago