What is wrong is wrong

24 90
Avatar for HappyBoy
2 years ago

Okay, I guess I should have done this earlier but every day the workload on me keeps increasing. Schoolwork and project work- blame it on hard luck, I got the strictest Professor as my supervisor and getting a drawing that fit his taste is a giant job. It’s one thing to get a drawing he likes, it’s another to be able to quantify such drawing is another thing.

Yesterday, a piece of great news came in. My supervisor who is hardly on seat asked a junior lecturer to take over-and when he wanted to choose someone as my new supervisor, he chose my course adviser, who is a great friend of everyone. My joy knew no bounds when I got this news. Finally, I can go into the holiday with the assurance that my drawing will be approved and taking off proper can start.

Away from that,

The Naija Wazobia community was created months back when the open for all community was temporarily removed. So many people were on the lookout for a community to post their contents and it was discussed on the forum. "Why don’t we have a channel for Nigerians ?" @George_Dee asked. We decided to open a community for Nigerians only, but while creating the community, I realize it should be opened to all. Though the name might be after the 3 major tribes in Nigeria, it’s for anyone and everyone who wishes to drop an article in a community where people can visit and read it.

I am a moderator on two other communities and all these communities have a strict policy against plagiarism.

After the “Plag gate” we had months back when the issue of plagiarism was trending like wildfire. Various articles were written to explain this to everyone but it seems some of us didn’t get the full script. It’s partially my fault because I no longer have time for those I invite to the site.

Plagiarism is a great offence on different writing platforms and in institutions, It is very unfortunate that people are indulging themselves in this problem. It's very important to take advantage of every second and every opportunity. As you know, you only have one chance on this platform, so make good use of it.

It is a sin that many writers sometimes commit unknowingly. Plagiarism is not just limited to literary works, but also extends its arms to other fields like photography, illustration, music and fashion. Plagiarism has become an inconvenient act on different websites as it discourages genuine writers from doing their works. It has become an offence that most of genuine writers do not take lightly. The manipulation of someone's ideas and presentation as your own is not just theft but also ignorance.

Auto-approval doesn’t give you the right to plagiarize

Before you can be given auto-approval in a community, you must have dropped 2-3 articles there or the moderator of the community has read previous articles from you and trust you not to get involved in plagiarism. It means they’ve placed their trust in you and you owe them the duty of not betraying the trust placed in you.

I plagiarize innocently

The fact that the community is open to content from every aspect doesn’t mean anything can be dumped there. Yesterday one of my friends sent a message about his content being rejected from a certain community and he wasn’t happy with it. I checked the moderator list and was assured that these people won’t reject an article without a concrete reason.

There's a big difference between doing it innocently or intentionally. Even innocently has no excuse. Ignorance of the law is never an excuse.

I went through the article and was shocked by what I saw. First, I need to say I'm a Christian and also love to read content preaching the gospel but there are some things you need not write. Quoting 20 bible verses in a 3 minutes article is nothing short of laziness. If things are that easy, everyone will be dropping 5 articles every day.

You can quote a few texts from the bible or textbook but when you are doing that make sure you reference it.

So, here is me saying sorry, I’m not sorry for the rejected articles on the community. One of these days, I will go through some of those accepted and run some checks. Also, the community has various moderators so don’t feel it’s a personal attack from anyone. It could be me or any of them that reviews an entry.

Thanks for Reading! ✍💚✍

 

 

29
$ 10.54
$ 9.50 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Jane
$ 0.10 from @Crackers
+ 23
Sponsors of HappyBoy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for HappyBoy
2 years ago

Comments

You are doing an awesome job. I am quite guilty of not checking thoroughly those submitted on Just Write community. But I guess I need to do it from now on. I hope that no one plagiarized other people's works though.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is disheartening to see people can't take their time and write their own original content. Even if you are terrible at it, the more you write, the better you get at it. Stealing someone else's work to post is wrong, and it is a fraudulent act. Though, I agree there are times one would feel tired or confused about what to write. Isn't it better to just interact with other users, and you just might get inspired by one of their articles.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're doing great man. Checking their article one by one is hard really. I'm a moderator to some of community here and they keep in piling up because some is obviously as plagiarized. It's just sad really.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Weldone. Sometimes harsh decisions are meant to be taken to effect changes

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Does a thing like innocent plagiarism even exist? Just as you said, what is wrong is wrong. Plagiarism is never innocent.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I believe plagiarism promotes laziness. Also, Anyone that plagiarises is also capable of engagin in other forms of fraud.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My article once has been rejected in a community but not due for plagiarism but due to multiple grammatical errors..but then I followed the moderators suggestion to check my article using grammarly.

I understand that being a moderator of a community is not an easy task specially if that community has hundreds or thousands of subscribers. Hence, we should always respect each community policies and I believe number 1 of that is "do not plagiarize".

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I love the way you react to the submission rejection. Some people won't learn from it, instead they will take offence.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah..maybe there were some that might get offended but it my case, I would rather accept it and do something to correct it..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for this enlightenment

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Plagiarism is really bad... Great for you about your supervisor change.. Merry Christmas...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes boss, you have really reasoned well as regards the condemnation of what is bad and calling a spade a spade no matter what

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for sharing... But I want to know how one plagiarise in fashion?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's right, once there are rules they should be followed they are kept there for a reason and most people should be continuously told about this especially the new ones they might not be aware on how to about it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

For me it's good that you make a community for Nigerians, I saw that Filipinos have their community which is Filipino readers, and I'm glad I've accepted. Cases of plagiarism are explained to me before I engage in doing my article, base on the person who invited me, it's not good to get full information on google, or else ill be plagiarized and moved to the spam section.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah you are right some people because they have the auto approve power in some groups knowing that nobody checks them they do however they wish and plagiarise .. that’s just wrong

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for the honesty in this article, we need to learn from it; if one's article is rejected it means you didn't follow a certain rules and we shouldn't think someone from the moderator hates us

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Guess what everyone is enjoying holidays and my supervisor called in campus to complete my research. This is not fair 😔. I can understand your situation better way.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You really make a good decision brother. If we all do as he wanted to do most of us will be posting about the Bible and Quran in 4-6 Articles per day.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are an honest soul brother. You accepted your faults which was not even intentionally.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My dear friend, I am glad that you can now safely spend your holidays on your project, good luck. You have said very enlightening things, with these articles we can get more acquainted with the platform system, thank you... 🙏

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow thanks, I never knew about most of these. I keep thinking why I will post on a community and it will be a decline at the end of the day. Now you just educate me on that. That's why I keep learning every day no one is perfect. Thanks for the post

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It’s good to hear that it was of help to you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, it really helpful

$ 0.00
2 years ago