Second Fiddle

18 77
Avatar for HappyBoy
2 years ago

I was young and fragile. I only wanted to be recognised, to be shown love and to have some worth in my loved one’s life, but it seems nothing I do is enough. My brothers always manage to take the limelight away. Not that I hate them for being so perfect and flawless, I just detest the fact that when I think I’ve done something deserving of praise, I get compared to them. Why can’t people see me without seeing my brothers?

First year in high school I won the junior school math quiz- a big deal I’d say. I went home happily with the little trophy in my hand, beaming happily, ready to show my parents that I’m a son they can love like my older siblings. I got in and saw people gathered smiling. What was at the centre of attention?. The answer is simple, my oldest brother-Drake just qualified to participate in the Cowbell mathematics challenge (Now called Cowbellpedia). I silently dropped the trophy on the table, ready to dive into the background as usual.

“What’s that Valour” my Mum asked just as I was about to sneak into the room.

I turned back excited but did a good job at hiding it-

“It’s the trophy I won at the junior’s Math quiz” I replied trying to sound not so excited.

My mum smiled and replied “I’m proud of you my son, I know you’re my brightest son”

Everyone gathered laughed including my brothers. What sounded like a compliment earlier started feeling like sarcasm.

“Brightest you say? Drake got 79% when he was in junior school and Julius got 81%-”

“No Dad, I got 82%” Julius replied beaming before he could complete his sentence.

I shrugged and left the room, only if they knew I got 98% - an all-time high in the state, but who am I deceiving? Even if I tell them, they won’t do as much as roll an eye. Moreover, by now I’m accustomed to playing second fiddle to my brothers. My Dad believes they are his only sons, they are smart, and handsome, ladies worship them and they bring in medals in sports and other aspects. I’m not bad either, I have ladies flocking after me though some are more interested in my brothers and see me as an avenue, I might not be as handsome as Drake but I surely outclass Julius in terms of beauty- Mom's beauty rubs off on me. And in my academics, I keep on breaking and writing records I even try to do better than them by winning medals in sports and other competitions, but it seems I’m invincible to my Dad.

I can remember vividly, at the 40th  inter-school sports festival, I participated in the relay race which was meant to be the biggest track event at the festival. Despite sustaining an injury a few minutes before the match, I covered the longest distance to win Gold for my team.

The 3 other relay partners had their parents cheering and jumping up after the victory but mine was nowhere to be found. Sorry! saying “Nowhere to be found” Is a big lie. They were at the other side cheering my brothers who were playing the third-place football match. My Parents supported them despite losing the semi-finals. I went there to cheer them after my race and to show my Dad my medal but he didn’t spare me a little glance.

We won, with Drake scoring a Hattrick courtesy of a hattrick of assist from Julius- The two golden boys.

I don’t hate them I repeat. Neither do I hate my parents or teachers who kept on comparing me to them. Even when I’m complimented, they still find a way to add them to the conversation which inadvertently undermines my effort.

Maybe if I change they will notice me. I started doing the things I wasn’t doing. I got a suspension from school and I saw the anger and disappointment on my Dad’s face. This time, I was happy because I got a reaction I truly deserve from him. My Mum came to my room and spoke with me, seeing the pain in his eyes I decided to do my things just to please her and no one else. I will try my best to be the best I can be. I won’t try to be better than Drake and Julius for the word “better” no longer excites me. I will be the “best”. This woman is the only one that believes in me and gives me attention. I was determined to make her proud and that, I did!…

To be continued someday…

 

Thanks for Reading! 😔💚🤐

Special thanks to ate Jane for the sponsorship renewal. Thanks 💙

24
$ 9.52
$ 8.51 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.11 from @Big-E
$ 0.10 from @Amazing-grace
+ 16
Sponsors of HappyBoy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for HappyBoy
2 years ago

Comments

I am tempted to ask if this is a fiction or nonfiction because I'm really confused Gosh this is really a heart touching story.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is so sad and so awful. Getting compared is one of the worst enemies of every child. While reading this, I remember a friend of mine, her family always expects too much of her, even though she's in the top 2, it's still not enough for them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's a very awful feeling to be compared to other people, especially if the comparison is done by your parents. I still thank God that my parents never compared their children to each other

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Most of the time, we don't get the praise we deserve throughout our victories; we just have to keep going and do what's best for ourselves. By the way, I'm looking forward to the second half.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pleasing the first woman who understand us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Did I just read "to be continued someday"? Don´t try it man, don´t try it, I repeat. 😂I didn´t start from the beginning but the part two is explanatory to me and you don´t want to post the rest soon.

Mr. Try to make it tomorrow as I need to know what happened to Junior Valour 😂 But the parents, especially the father isn´t helping matters at all. It´s so sad though because it is what is happening in most homes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's so sad to do more and not get noticed. I hate it when parents pick favourite kids, you're supposed to love all your kids equally and support them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You should maybe make this into a movie I was making up scenes in my head and they looked really really goood.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Its a great story my friend. Waiting for ending

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Its a great story my friend. Waiting for ending

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is Fictional? it's awesome Bro

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm not sure I would have been able to handle it as you did, but a lot of us have had such an experience at one point/place or the other. This is real life story??

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is not good to see parents show one-sided to their children, it creates hate among them and can easily tear the family apart.

I am looking forward to the concluding part of the story.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Can't tell if this is fictional or real or realiction. Either way it is relatable. Looking at my family, I am probably the Drake/Julius. But not as extreme as this story though.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Great story that relates well to most of our childhood upbringing. Anyone with elder siblings who were doing well faces this challenges of being judged by the elders siblings performance in almost everything. I had the experience in my high school days, my elder brother performance were always used to measure my performance even though I did better than him in most cases. My elder brother was always treated like a hero and got everything he wanted for his school needs before anyone else. I think it's a general thing in most family especially if the eldest child is a male.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In past we have many memories for pride. You really made a distinction from siblings. There is a woman behind every successful man you proved it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Is this really based on a true story? Quite sad. One of my biggest pet peeves is when I am compared with others. :(

$ 0.00
2 years ago

O oh.. I wouldn't say I'm sorry for what you have been through even though it hurts because I believe firmly that you are far from being an object of pity.. Even if those closest to you don't see the light in you. You are a big inspiration and an outstanding model to alot of Nigerians and foreigner here. And I'm sure that's also the case in real life. you would continue to shine brighter than this everyday as you get ahead in life. Your story reminds me of that of innocent chukwuma who was also the youngest win ( founder of innoson motors,the first automobile plant in the whole Africa ) .. You can only become great. Trust me 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago