My choice

37 77
Avatar for HappyBoy
2 years ago

This isn’t my story, but that of a friend. I was in a conversation with him a few days back.

Growing up I do look up to my older siblings and try to be like them, I imitate the things they do and aspire to be just like them. It got to some stage I started feeling less human. My immediate older brother was a great artist and my younger one was so good at football and other sports. I’m only good at doing the house chores.

Though in my academics I was doing so good the extracurricular activities was where the problem was. I can remember vividly when we wanted to build a pen for our first dog “Bruno”, I was with my brother and his friend and I started drawing out the plan and the step to take to build it. While the work was ongoing I was asked to do some things which I couldn’t do but I gave them ideas on how to go about it, which worked out. In school despite having the plan to go to science department when it’ time to pick a department, I attended the press and debating club. For right there I feel at home and feel no pressure from anyone.

Getting to senior high school, I was asked to pick a department and the first thing my heart went for was Art department, maybe becoming a lawyer or a journalist. At least that requires little or no physical activities at all. But my parents disagreed, they said I don’t need to be the one that goes to the field to carry out experiments, even going further by explaining the difference between a technologist and a scientist.  I succumb to their wish and joined Science department. Truly, I was able to compete with the best in class, I represented my school in different competitions, but the heart knows what it wants. I’d watch on with envy as the press and debating club do their thing.

To cut the long story short, I graduated and got admission into the university, but my story changed suddenly. I no longer understand what the lecturer teaches and find everything hard. I became a shadow of myself. No matter how good the lecturer is at explaining, I still don’t get it. I’m in school now as a ghost, hoping it all ends soon and when I finally graduate, I will leave home and try to find a path for myself.

AUTHOR'S POV

I can’t say I experienced the same thing. My parents gave every one of us the liberty to choose whichever course we liked and they never for once impose their will or choice on us. Choosing a career part is something that can make or mar a child. The child should have a say in it. The parents are only there to act as guidance. The choice of what a child wants to be should be 80% on the part of the child and 20% parents. He is the one that will face the consequences of his actions and not the parents.

Some parents are living their dream through their children. This shouldn’t be. Because you desired to be a lawyer but failed doesn’t mean you should force your child to study law. If he fails at it, he will end up blaming you. Also, the belief that intelligent students are meant to be in science department is another mistake parents make, No course is lesser than the other. You can be a journalist and still be richer than a doctor. Even if you are not as rich as a doctor, what matters most is that you are happy doing what you love.

My Dad has stated his desires countless times. He wants one of his sons to be a soldier but after none of my older siblings went for it, he knew the dream is gone for I cannot be persuaded to pick what I don’t want. Even though he wanted one of us to go into the force, he never for once force us(no pun intended). I hope parents will learn to give their kids the power to choose by themselves.

Thanks for Reading!✍💚✍

Due permission was taken before writing his story.

Here I am having trouble picking a title. I promised ate Panda to make use of 2-3 words as the title in my next 3 articles.😂

 

26
$ 7.06
$ 6.39 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Infinity
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 17
Sponsors of HappyBoy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for HappyBoy
2 years ago

Comments

A child just needs guidance and support so as not to go on the wrong path, the child should also be allowed to make the final decision, but most times if we say what we really want I dont think our parents will agree to it like I should say I want to be a dancer😂, they will say go to school first.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wish most parents can read this right now. If they can put themselves in the child shoe for ones and know how painful it is.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We should end that toxic parenting. It just worsen the kid's mental health because he was pressured by that knowing that it's not the field that he wanted to. We should end that kind of parenting, let the kids be free and let them choose whatever they want. The parents' job is to support and guide the kid to whatever path they choose as long as it's the right one.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your pen is a talking sculptural piece and you have artistically crafted this write-up with so much alacrity, so much so that the purpose of one's career path is journey of self discovery. Your craftsmanship has planted a seed of wisdom and it would be foolish not to cultivate or share in this bounty harvest. Thank you for this expository narrative, sir.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Forcing the young to study something they don't want is the worst thing we can do to them as parents. Because that way, they will only go down a path of frustration.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very well said po👏 i am so glad that my parents arent like that who controls the decision of their child, kasi for me if you have the will or right to choose your own career or course kahit mahirap as long as passion po mkakaya mong isurvive hehe . Hello po Im a newbie here

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahhh. Yes we have cases of that issue here too. I for an example. My mother is a frustrated teacher and so she wants me to continue her dream. I followed her because we don't have the money for me to take up a different course. My goal is to not meddle in my future children's dreams and goals. As much as possible, I would want to be happy with their decisions and hapoy supporting them at the back stage.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I love your decision po

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Some parents who always are supportive, stand behind their child, and help him to make better choices, but let the child decide for himself, are really praiseworthy...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Unfortunately, it often happens that parents impose their opinion on the fate of children, and children have to spend their whole lives in frustration...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Unfortunately, it often happens that parents impose their opinion on the fate of children, and children have to spend their whole lives in frustration...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

One thing about life is this; We have to be in the driver's seat of our life, if not life would drive us.

I wasn't in charge when I wanted to enrol for my degree so life drove me to study what i don't really like it and I don't hate it either. But I wasn't contented at all! Even till now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I completely agree with you. Parents should leave their children to make choices such as career path. Parents are meant to guide you through your chosen path and not change it neither should they impose one on you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Right parents should not impose their will on children in the matter of studies,I am glad your parents never stressed any of their kid and give them the liberty to choose what they want.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are right on this and I wouldn't want to argue the percentage given cos in the end the child will have to face the end result.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I find it funny that your dad wanted one of his sons to be a soldier; I guess none of you are ready to die for the country...🤣🤣

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Die wetin?😂 i don't even have the power for their rigorous trainings.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I usually feel sad when ever I hear stories similar to this, of how parents force their children to do things that they do not feel like doing. Its really sad.

Why not allow people take their life into their own hands and make out paths for themselves. I hope this changes soon else a lot of graduates will just come out of school and hate school.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was always lucky that my parents let me choose for myself. They guided and advised me, but the final decision was mine.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Some parents like to order their children's lives, so that they'll be proud of them even if the child is not happy with the decisions

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A parent’s main goal should be for their child to live a long, healthy, happy life. Your happiness and health are in jeopardy if you spend a good 40 hours per week doing something that makes you miserable. Even if it’s tolerable or even rewarding, you will be missing out on a higher level of happiness you would have achieved pursuing what you wanted.

Yeah they are our parents they supported us when we needed so their opinion need not be totally discredited.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That friend of your need only motivation come from his parents but sad to accept they are not supported. As his friend, you should motivate him to do what he wants and prove that he can be successful in the path he will take.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am so thankful for the kind of parents I have they don’t force me to do anything I don’t want to not even career path some might say I am spoilt because of that oh well that’s their opinion

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, the title was perfect. Btw, the choice really does matter. I was in college when my parents force me to join the army but I failed a selection test. now, I am doing software engineering of their choice. It was again not my choice. Let's see what will happen.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think this is something most parents struggle with. Most parent would do anything, be anything for their kids except letting them be who they actually are and do whatever it is they're interested in. I try not to be too hard on parents like that because let's face it, they are only that way because of how they were raised by their own parents coupled with their own life experiences. It's like a unending cycle. Nevertheless, the struggle is real and the sooner they break the cycle the better it is for everyone involved.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sana talaga mabago na tong culture na ito. Yung iba pa nga ginagawang investments mga anak nila.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

All parents desire for their own ways. Because they to ensure the future of their children. I don't have problem with this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well I wasnt opportune to live with my parent so that got me a lot chance to make choice and thank God I’m making it the right way

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I actually wanted to be a lawyer when I was a lot younger, but it was because the admission came for sciences instead of act and I grew to live science even more even though that envy still is there...

It's now a do or die affair from parents, it's has a negative effect on the children... how would someone pick to be in medicine and completely hates the site of blood... crazy..

I love this brother

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Choosing a career to follow should not be against the will. Because you're right, it is only the person who will suffer the consequences. I really don't like those parents living their dreams through their children. That's one main reason for depression and suicide cases of many students nowadays.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A career is part of freedom and no one should be forced to do what they don't want.

Omowunmi did the same, she had the freedom but followed her friends to the science department but she ended up regretting it. I don't buy the idea of a parent choosing career for their wards, all they need to do is to guard them on the path they want to walk.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Most parents consider their children as their retirement plan. An investment that would yield a return in the future.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is what I tell to my mom, when I enter college. I am the one whose studying then I should be the one choose what carer I want. And my mom let me choose what I want. Not to insult them but I'm just telling the truth.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It's good you take your stand now before it's late.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't understand why parents pick for their children; the child is the one that will be facing the consequences (positively/negatively) at the end, so it is better they pick what they love.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly! Let them pick themselves and feel the gain or pain themselves

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Some people arent allowed to decide for themselves, but even when we are forced to take a path and there is nothing we can do about it, we should try to make the best out of it

$ 0.00
2 years ago