Loans: Best way to destroy friendship

34 127
Avatar for HappyBoy
1 year ago

The word loan is derived from the word to give which means “to give something in order to get something in return”. However, in the case of lending your friends money, you will not expect something in return. You may be expecting a thank you or not but you surely expect them to return the exact money lent out back except if stated otherwise.

Everybody has needs sometimes and when these needs arise, we make sure that these needs are met. In this period when money is scarce, people sometimes have to resort to borrowing as a means of getting money. There are several ways of lending money to people but the most important thing is to have friends or family members who will pay you back.

I stumbled on this post (Picture attached). A guy was asking a friend for a refund of the money he lend him. For over 4 years he refused to pay back and even blocked him. The guy was frustrated and he asked for his money but instead of begging or promising to pay it back, he was rude by calling the lender a “lunatic” and even promised not to pay it back. Such effrontery!

Screenshot from Gistreel's FB page

Personally, I've experienced it too. Mine was even Bitcoincash, I used to borrow my friends SBCH to invest in various SmartBCH projects and many of them made a profit from it but when it's time to return it problem starts. I ever ask for interest or an increase when the value decreases, all I ask for is the exalt BCH I lend out in satoshi. Imagine someone saying he has forgotten the amount (in satoshi) he borrowed. Some even say "Can't you just forget it? Just 0.5BCH that you borrowed me, you're asking for it".

They don't know how long it took to get 0.5BCH, or how many articles and hours of engagement it took. Maybe they know, they don't just care, to them "borrow" is synonymous with "Give". This has put a strain on my relationship with many.

Loans are one of the most common ways people borrow money. However, one of the easiest ways to lose friends is to loan them money. This can happen when you loan friends money and they do not pay it back. For example, try giving your friend $20, which he or she can pay back whenever they are ready. The probability of them returning it, however, is very low.

When they don't repay your loan it brings a lot of heartache and pain to the giver. It kills a friendship when one lends another person money, but that person does not return as at when due or starts putting up an attitude after lending the money.

This can lead to bitterness and resentment from the person who lent you the money. In fact, this might even lead to the end of your friendship. The reason behind this is that you will always remember them for not being loyal or for taking advantage of you.

To protect yourself from scams or frauds, carefully select a friend you would want to lend money to. Not everyone is honest and not everyone will return your money. Therefore, there are some ground rules you should be aware of when lending friends money.

-Firstly, when you loan friends money ensure that you have official paperwork signed or a receipt showing this. This is just to make it official and serve as evidence that you have paid them money.

 

-Secondly, do not loan your friends large sums of money. A general rule is just not to lend out more than 50% of their annual income. If the friend is struggling financially, then it might be time for you to extend a helping hand without expecting them to pay you back. Better to just give the amount you believe you can spare than loan out a huge amount they won’t return.

-Thirdly, if at all you must lend money to your friend or family member, ensure that they will be able to pay you back in a short time. They should repay you early than late. Also, ask yourself - “Can this person return this money back? What work is he doing or is his source of income enough to pay back?”

 

Conclusion

In fact, the history of friendship has not been so friendly when it comes to the borrowing and lending of money. Sometimes, it is not only money that gets destroyed. Even marriages have been broken because of money. Shakespeare had said: “A loan oft loses both itself and friend”. So before taking loans from friends or giving out loans think twice.

Thanks for Reading! 💸💚💸

Special thanks to @Gutiman18 and ate Jane for the sponsorship. 💙💙💙

33
$ 5.56
$ 4.46 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @Captainkay
$ 0.10 from @King_Gozie
+ 27
Sponsors of HappyBoy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for HappyBoy
1 year ago

Comments

What a true and beautiful subject you have talked about. I needed money recently. I borrowed it from a friend. but my friend got mad at me because i couldn't pay on time and our friendship is over

$ 0.00
1 year ago

lending money is like saving money in dry bamboo.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Omo, for real, it's not right for someone to just decide not to return the money they borrowed, I know someone that we all are supposed to do a song some years back and as usual, we are supposed to donate money for the studio section, he didn't have money then and the other guy was getting impatient so we talked and I agreed to cover for him and he will pay me back the following month, Omo, the money was small but this guy didn't pay me, the worst part is that we all went for a show together and this guy was ordering shisha and other things, money that he was supposed to use to pay me he uses it to be showing off.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Omo 🤣🤣🤣 spending money lavishly while you owe someone. Human beings en .

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's unfair of the person to act in such a way. You can't because someone else is owing you refuse to pay back to another person who loaned you money. Where is the trust and loyalty?

To me, I am always afraid of loaning people but I can give what is in my capacity without expecting it back. Even if I need to loan you, I must be sure of what you are using it for and also know you will pay back at the said time.

Give but don't loan what you can't afford to lose.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Exactly! It's better to just give the little you can than borrow them something huge you know they won't return.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I really hate people like that, they are good when they ask to lend our money but they act like a stupid when we ask them where is it

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Better establish an agreement with your friends that you don't let them borrow money from you under any circumstances. This would protect friendship

$ 0.00
1 year ago

As a rule, I never borrow anybody, no matter who, whatever I can't afford to loose. People find it difficult paying back a debt. So if you ask me for 100, I might just give you 20. That way if you don't pay back, I don't really feel it

$ 0.00
1 year ago

omo, that guy was wicked and heartless cos how will you refuse to pay someone hard earn money? its good we know people we can lend money very well before we do that.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Exactly! See the confidence with which he is talking. You owe someone and you're putting up an attitude.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have even determine I'm not going to lend people money again. Omooo! My eyes have seen a lot. There was this female friend of mine i lend money to sort out something when she was in the university, she has graduated and finished her NYSC now she has not returned my money. Every time she always dodge me.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Humans will always be humans. Ungrateful and wicked!.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This reminds me of a friendship that took me years to build. She was in deep trouble and needed financial help, prior to this, she was struggling with her finances but I never considered that. I had to help even though the money was much. To be sincere I lost her. She stopped taking my calls, rude on social media and finally, she left the city. I was heartbroken, then I promised to always consider financial strength before helping anyone.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That's it. Once you decide to help they start ignoring you. They make you regret helping.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

When time for payment is due I guess

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I prefer to give money to a friend or family than to loan it. If I don't have enough money to give you without expecting it back, then I don't have money to give.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

To even lend money or borrow anyone right now is hard for me. I borrowed a friend 2k just for her to complete a money she needed, I told her borrowing and she promise to pay back the next day. I called and she said she has already, but I didn't see any money, ok send me receipt, she said she used ussd, ok go to your bank and make complain.. The next thing she said was, why am I troubling her because of 2k, she has sent it and it my bank that I should go make company to, it pain me I shouldn't lie o. Now people think I'm just stingy because its hard for me to lend out money anyhow even if I have enough. This isn't the first time.. Their wickedness made me like this

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Imagine! She's lying. When they want to borrow the money they're always humble but after getting it they become rude.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Exactly, wicked people

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The girl don use am for you 😂😂 Wahala dey aswear. There are some people that will just turn you into something else

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Swears...😭😭😭she use am for me... Till date I haven't collected my money

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Omo just imagine on top my own money again ? Ah you are right if I give out money to a friend that is not really my friend I usually just zero my mind on it if it comes back good if it doesn’t fine!!

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That's better jare, I've learnt my lessons

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's madness. How will someone tell me you don't have any reason to return my money even after four years? Though I would even have forgotten it but the same will not repeat itself.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is really bad brother when we give loan to someone he shall return it on due date. Sad to hear it happened with you as well.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I've witnessed a lot of friendships being broken because of loans. The trust with the person who borrowed is not easy anymore to bring back.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

0.5 is a huge amount.. It may not be a while BCH but it's valuable and you exerted effort to earn it...

$ 0.02
1 year ago

This is truly a bad behavior to owe money, and later deny to return it. Such people are really called wicked.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

i am shocked to what the conversation happened. he refused to pay because others don't pay him too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That was so uncalled for😂😂... It's the guts to state is reason

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Exactly some people turned their faces while returning the loans even some of friends also did this with me.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

As a matter of fact, I have as a principle never to borrow and never give loans. It saves me much trouble. I have seen loans destroy much for people around me.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Same.. I don't want to borrow as I don't like thinking about debt to pay . i don't like to give loans as I don't like asking for the payments.. I rather give than give loans

$ 0.00
1 year ago