Which came first? the chicken or the egg?

59 118
Avatar for Hanzell
3 years ago

This question is probably one of the most asked trick question to ever exist and is still in use even today. It's that timeless question of: "Which came first? The chicken or the egg?"

In actuality, there are multiple ways to answer that question.

From the biblical perspective, people will always say it's the chicken because a God created creatures as adults to procreate, thus why an egg will never come first.

From a smarty pants' take on the question, you'd probably get a question back as an answer like: "what kind of egg?" of course it should be obvious given the question but they have point. If you didn't indicate what kind of egg then on a realistic view, the egg will come first because first and foremost, there were prehistoric creatures that laid eggs even before the emergence of chickens.

But then what is the truth?

The truth lies in evolution. Evolution states that all existing life originated from a predecessor. This can either be in the form of cell repair, duplication or even mutation. Anything it takes to prolong existence! So on that note, I'd like to talk about the non existence of chickens 125 million years ago and the existence of what we believed were scaly reptiles that roamed the earth in those time. But contrary to popular belief, dinosaurs were no entirely scaly. In actuality, they were feathered creatures, based on further fossil findings.

you can see more of that here : https://www.nationalgeographic.com/news/2016/04/160405-dinosaurs-feathers-birds-museum-new-york-science/

And as time went by, and extinction started to take the species one by one, the smaller more omnivorous breeds fared the best.

Soon enough the creatures made more resemblance to the birds we know today. But that doesn't bring us to our chicken yet.

mentioning again about mutation, it can happen internally (from a mismatch in cellular processes and replication, etc) or in this case, externally. The mutation of having two different but almost the same breed is what actually brought us the chicken we know now. From the sexual reproduction of proto-chickens (half the basis of the real chicken) ca,e the first egg that actually harbored the very first chicken that was ever hatched. So to answer this in a the genetics based way, the egg has and always will have come before the chicken

22
$ 0.64
$ 0.63 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @kli4d
Sponsors of Hanzell
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Hanzell
3 years ago

Comments

Absolutely chicken. It is scientifically proven.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

In what way if scientifical?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What ? πŸ˜‚ What do mean?

If how come ? Because scientist found a protein(well I forgot the name of the protein) that is responsible for the egg to form. Whereas, this protein which eggs building blocks is only found in female chicken. That is why Chicken come first. πŸ™‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

But then there's the fact that animals evolve over time just to better suit themselves for the environment. Having a lack of the male population from huntingcould be an option in this and it's not proven that only chickens had this protein, their ancestors could have had the same protein too but not quite as accurate as to what the modern chicken has now

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is question is the start of unending arguments.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Definitely, that's why i thought about raising the question here as well and giving my answer to the question

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thats controversial🀣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Definitely but still amusing, nonetheless 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜… honestly i realy confuse who come first .nobody know that who come first.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It depends on how you'll answer, honestly. That's why it's a trick question ^-^

$ 0.00
3 years ago

yeah.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahahahah I remembered something from this. I have a different logic when it comes to this question "Which came first? The chicken or the egg?" , I am interpreting this literally from the construction of the sentence. You mentioned Chicken first than the egg so Chicken must be the answer πŸ˜‚.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Too philosophical boi πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ but the logic to that answer though- should tell my sisters that the next time this questions pop up, i think it'll get them mad

$ 0.00
3 years ago

HahahaahhaπŸ˜‚ answering it that way would end the argument quicker.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Knowing my sisters, probably not πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

My friend already told this to me. We have a heated argument about this and he won. I choose the egg. How silly I am hahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

So he chose the chicken??? But how did he win? πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yep. We are debating that time and he won hahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am still going to stand my ground the chicken comes firstπŸ˜€

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Based on the biblical view?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yea

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha I laughed at it, and on the one hand I thought too. πŸ€” What was the first? πŸ˜‚ I even asked my husband. His answer was chicken first. But my answer is egg. We were still arguing a bit about it. Haha. He asked me where the chicken came from? I said to the egg. He asked me again where did the egg come from? I said to the chicken. Then I said what came first? Eggs right? Hahahaha. Your article is interesting.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is why this topic is so fun, there's such a roundabout way of answering these things which get to people πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ glad you enjoyed arguing with your husband about it though πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah. Of course in our arguments about that is end, And I am the winner πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh? How did you win against him? No cheating with kisses? πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha he end up asking his self πŸ˜† And he said to me, Yes that egg if egg first.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha we used to fight in this topic for hours πŸ˜‚πŸ˜…πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
User's avatar Ohi
3 years ago

My sisters and i still do- that's why i decided to post my answer to them here to make them shush

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Woww...but a chicken has to be there first to lay the eggπŸ€”

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It was hatched though, by proto-chickens! They still had mothers but they were mutants of their families at those times

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hello. The chicken was definitely there first.πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ehh on what grounds?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Eggs Don't fall from the sky. So I believe the chicken was there first.😎

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well they appeared from mutation so they didn't fall from the sky

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hmm. That's good

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You forgot to mention life started in water before on earth or the sky... these creatures have eggs too. Eggs are not different from seeds and cells... πŸ‘πŸ’•

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I wasn't planning to go that far into prehistoric times and considering that someone was already telling me to sleep too, i only made do with the time i had

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It is good as it is. πŸ‘

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The correct answer is that life is a misery, so whether chicken or egg comes is also a misery

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well yeah since it's only people who are so obsessed with the idea of this and labeling animals by name. It creates more stress for them πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think chicken.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Why so?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

πŸ€”

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think it should be chicken first. Eggs won't survive without incubating and the chicks can't last a day without a mother.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

But then they did get mothers though. Proto-chickens so they were never full chickens 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Maybe proto-hen did care the chicks.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

They did 😊 it's an animal's nature to take care of their youngs for a while

$ 0.00
3 years ago

They egg

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Great article.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you ^-^

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I remember when my husband asked me that question. We are eating kwek kwek in Boni then he said who came first? The egg or the chicken? I said the chicken and my explanation based on the Bible. He said where the chicken came from? In egg right? I said yes and where the egg came from and I asked the egg that we are eating. Hey, where you came from πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ if that cooked egg answered from beyond the grave then omg- you'll finally get the real answer to this question

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You have a point but i am actually laughing while I read. You have a good way of describing things🀣😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Aww thank you. I kinda wanted to make it a bit longer because i wanted to talk about when dinos stopped being dinos and became birds instead

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think I'll wait for it haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm laughing when I read your article because the last day we arguing with my family about this topic πŸ˜…πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Really? See, the question never gets old. I'm sure you guys argue about this often too? (Like witg my family πŸ˜…)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's true sis πŸ˜…πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago