Solar panels as windows???

82 99
Avatar for Hanzell
3 years ago

I’m not sure if this already got news globally or not but I really wanted to share this more in hopes of it getting more attention

So I’ve always been a fan of solar panels since they provide way more benefits now more than ever since aside from giving yourself the freedom from electric companies who still heavily rely on petroleum or even nuclear energy to use as an energy source, this alternative would be great for having a decentralized form of energy as well as a way to reduce your bills. Now imagine if these solar panels were used as windows, or as screens on all your gadgets. Imagine basically free electricity as Nikola Tesla wanted but in a greener approach? This would definitely eliminate the guilt of using electric vehicles, of depleting the petroleum reserves and if ever, for the possible power shortages in the future

Here, it’s a transparent solar panel which was developed by a research team in the college of engineering at Michigan State University. Its transparency is its major selling point seeing as it can be multi functional and can be used on almost any glass surface that people can imagine, and it could be the key to producing self-charging gadgets so that we would never need to worry about battery life when we’re out.

But how does this work?

First, I’d like to talk about why this has never been done before now. You see, traditional solar panels are usually darkly tinted or are black glass because black absorbs all wavelengths light has. Black is the ideal absorber of energy (explains why it’s hotter when you wear black clothes) so for a solar panel to be clear, that means no energy will be absorbed because light will just pass through.

To answer to that problem, the research team made use of an organic salt called transparent luminescent solar concentrator (TLSC). This material deviates from the traditional solar panel but then it works! It mostly absorbs wavelengths from the ultraviolet and infrared light. That energy absorbed is then converted to the infrared region. Energy from the infrared region is what comes off as heat but then its efficiency to be used in every household is just not there yet. Hopefully in the future, they can improve the efficiency of this device and make it a step towards truly green energy without the need to change how our building structures are usually designed

 

this is the official paper for those interested

https://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/abs/10.1002/adom.201400103

I just simplified this so as to make it easier to understand. Also this is because of my previous elongated discussion with @Cryptonoob and @bheng620

45
$ 1.07
$ 1.02 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Mictorrani
$ 0.01 from @ellimacandrea
+ 1
Sponsors of Hanzell
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Hanzell
3 years ago

Comments

I need, I need

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I also do :""" i need electric cars to be guilt free

$ 0.00
3 years ago

😂😂😂 for real?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes. I hate the emissions from standard cars then electric cars still make emissions but indirectly so if this happens then there won't be a problem with gas or stuff

$ 0.00
3 years ago

😂😂I need one too

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wonderful article and fascinating how the technology is evolving. Who knew that in some years we will have solar windows that would not look different but will be way more useful. Just amazing

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Right???? This is my ideak future, honestly. It's way beter than electrically powered ones because i really don't see the use of electric cars when they still consume petroleum

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have a friend he does research on solar panels for industrial applications and recently his research got some really good funding

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I hope he sees this research too though. But what materials is in his research? I'm fairly interested in that

$ 0.00
3 years ago

He is actually creating some drone tech to test solar farms for any issues. Not really sure how that works.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Where is his research based? Because i think solar farms were mostly the ones in arab countries due to land mass limitations

$ 0.00
3 years ago

True it is based in Qatar. There is a remote location where they have solar farms and they are building more

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Solar panels is good n some province's already using it, the emergency light i bought at shopee had it n my mom put it when the sun's up to charge it n nice article po n my name's being mentioned po, lol, but i don't mind it po :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I see those a lot too, though it's still using the outdated technology but it's still something. What would be nice would be the freedom fron the petroand the nuclear plants though

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, hopefully it will happen soon so the earth n nature will be free from pollution po

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I've always envision what would the world be like if it was more like solarpunk-ish. I bet the world would be less polluted and livable as renewable energy can totally be healthy, and not to mention "less costly" to us, living organisms.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I agree. It's a far better and nore ideal world for me. Plus the need for petroleum could eventually be eliminated if this technology gets improved more and the efficiency be raised

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That will be a great news . More people can be encouraged to use this renewable energy and also it is eco friendly.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Ohi
3 years ago

I hope so since i hate having to pay such high bills every month

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Omg. Am I the only whose okay with the slightly tinted glasses as windows? But anyway, THIS. IS. SUCH. A. GREAT. IDEA. I can't even stress how great it is. Nuclear and other types of power plants providing electricity is already a big disadvantage to the environment, imagine every household not needing it anymore. Wow. If this will be successfully invented, I think I'll be totally happy to leave my children in this world. Wow. I'll definitely invest in these ones in thule future. I was sleepy but not anymorw after reading this hahahhaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm glad you see my excitement with this! I would also definitely invest in this when it comes into the market. The prototypes they have are still at such low efficiency but i swear, if they perfect this to the level of current solar cells then it would be revolutionary!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I hope we'll all be alive by that time tho hahahahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I like solar panels too and I can imagine how useful these would be in tropical climate houses where the sun shines the whole year through. Although, I do hope they can keep the cost down so that many will be able to install and benefit from it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The cost of these were made to be fairly cheap so that it can be used for mass scale reproduction if the time ever came. I was also looking at other solar panel studies and i found some that were made from almost any kind of waste and biomass material. It came in line with my research and i found it really cool

$ 0.00
3 years ago

yes, we offered these kinds of solar panels in one of the campaigns I handled. But there are few factors to consider before you gets eligible for these solar panels.... We pre-qualify them if they are eligible for these solar panels. It's a little trickier than those solar panels installed on roofs.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

So they were launched there already? Yeah it's trickier and it needs a lot more maintenance and regular cleaning compared to your typical solar panels plus the need to install a harvester and energy storage too but overall, this would make a huge step and self charging materials though

$ 0.00
3 years ago

No we're catering some states in US.. Nevada's one of them...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is great alternative source of energy. 💓

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Right??? I really loved the idea when the research first broadcasted

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This would be the breakthrough we have always wanted .I am a big fan of noiseless production of electricity and this would definitely help reduce cost of electricity

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Electricity and pollution if i might add. Because i can really see a green future if the research kept getting innovated

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Keep sharing

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Will do!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

How amazing our world can be if we use electricity using solar energy. I hope they'll be able to improve the efficiency of the product and its cost to be maintained is not high. Your article is informative well done😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I agree because last time i checked, the efficiency was still at 4% which is still a bit low compared to your usual panels that go from 7%-15%, depending on how tinted the glass they use is. But that 4%is a big deal already though!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, that 4% is a big deal because it'll go higher and higher in future, i hope when that time comes there are still trees and our earth can still be save and slowly healing

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well there's still seeds that can be planted. Improving this doesn't seem too far down the road since the project receives good funding though. So hopefully soon this gets more popular

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I hope so too, and yes a lot of seeds can be planted but only few volunteered to do so

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well a few is way better than none and those few will be enough to make such a huge difference

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Indeed, but i hope people who danger the earth as well as activities that give harm to our nature will soon decline, and invention like this will be prominent.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I hope so but i think that part is a matter of teaching within the family and the community. Let's just hope for the better on this

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes it all starts in ourselves. I had a great time exchanging thoughts thank you😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

nice invention

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It is, isn't it ^-^

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very interesting scientific article. Even if transparent glass-solar panels are used, it would not be sufficient enough YET to fully power your home appliances or electric vehicle. Such invention would be costly, the panels and the battery.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I've seen studies working on converting waste materials into nanoparticles which can be used to coat transparent solar panels, that falls under my current research area but then it's true about the battery at least. That part would be the costly part. Still though, if nanotechnology took part in improving this technology, it could be far more efficient than the standard panels we know. Plus this research was from 2014. I just wanted to present it as awareness that there's such a thing

$ 0.00
3 years ago

When I went to my boyfriend house in the mountains and they use a solar panel for electricity. Though they only use it for lights and charging cellphones.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's still a big save on the electricity bill though :"" and so cool! I've been wanting to make and install panels at home but my mom thinks i might blow up the house

$ 0.00
3 years ago

😅😅😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

We have solar panel for street light, lawn and backyard. It really helps during brown-out and electric bill. I hope this new study would be a success beneficial for many users without hazard for life and property.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I wish the lamps here would be able to do that but it still looks far from happening. I'd love to see this technology happening in the future

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Congratulations on that excellent idea that is spinning in your head, very good idea, friend Tesla.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

But I'm not tesla 😯😯😯

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Is it affordable by normal citizens? Solar panel batteries are too expensive plus the panel itself. And by that transparent panel it will I think cost more?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Not really. Sure the battery will cost more but I've been looking into nanotechnology and so far I've seen solar panels being made from waste biomass so that answers the cost for the panel itself. I've seen that the surface material wouldn't cost much, just the glass will be the main material to buy after though not much publicity is given to it yet

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ah I see. I am very interesting to its update. ♥♥♥ I hope soonest. 😍 I will save our electricity as well help our mother earth.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm also hoping it gets to be updated soon because having to be able to help reduce waste and air pollution while generating electricity. I think that's a win-win in all ways you could look at

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It is a great invention and open for future innovation..thank you for sharing his ma'am/sir truly this platform is 100% helpful.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Technology is evolving and man is growing rapidly. It is a really great invention, but will it be made affordable?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This one isn't that affordable but that was a research in 2014. The recent studies on transparent solar panels that make use of nanotechnology is far more affordable since those are mostly generated from biomass waste

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It would greatly reduce the ozone depletion cause by the harmful sources of energy. If countries adopt it into their system

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I agree. I'm hoping it would be the answer to the petroleum wars that's happening too. Hoping it would be the reason why petroleum would become obsolete

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Though there would be huge economic crashes especially for countries whose major export is in oil, but I hope it works out for the best

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well there's that but then i don't think change will happen that fast so i think it will allow them time to readjust their economy to focusing on something another sector besides oil

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Lol. I hope they do

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Interesting article with great idea...... Keep it up bro.....

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you bro XD

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It is one of the breakthrough in modern technologies I reckon. What about the trials of it in the real world? Have they performed any or is it still in the experimental stage?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

There were practical trials done since this one was a research in 2014. The innovations done on this haven't reached practical trials yet though but those look really promising because of how they make use of nanotechnology

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I want electro to work 7pm I am working on the first week of the month and the first time I am going to to be there for the first day or so on late afternoon I am going to be more likely to be back for the last few weeks but I will try and come back to work

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What???

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I dont think so

$ 0.00
3 years ago

How so?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice info! Im thinking to the future to have solar panel in the house to save electric bill

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I also plan to but maybe in the nearfuture and when they innovate this project more and more

$ 0.00
3 years ago