Sleep Paralysis in my Nap

23 44
Avatar for Grecy095
2 years ago

February 10, 2022

Good day to all my readers here in RC. Yes, RC is short for Read.cash from now on, let's use that initial, haha. I want to share you something and it has been happening to me since Monday. Every 12 in the afternoon, since it is break time, I find my time to take less than an hour nap. I took a nap last Monday in my cubicle. I was sleeping while sitting and my head is down in the table with a pillow underneath. As I dive to deep sleep, later on I cannot move. I am aware that I am fully awake but I cannot move. I fight it by moving my arms. I know my eyes are moving as well but the only way to really wake up is to move my arms.

Last Tuesday and Wednesday, it happens on the same time. I think I woke up feeling tired because I was battling that over and over. And just earlier, the same time of nap, battled it for four times and good thing I able to survive again. I am worried because it is happening for 4 days now. It happened to me before but I was lying down in bed, not sitting and napping.

Sleep Paralysis

I made a research and Google says it is still sleep paralysis. Sleep paralysis is when you are fully aware of what is happening in your surroundings but your eyes are shot and you still look sleeping. During the sleeping stage our brain sends signals to our muscles in our arms and legs that relaxes them. I am not sure if this is for us to have a deep and relaxing sleep. Because of this, Muscle Atonia happens, in which you remain sleeping but with rapid eye movement. You are aware of what is happening around, you can hear it, you are awake but you can't move.

Why do we have Sleep Paralysis?

Sleep paralysis only last for a minute. It says that when a person having sleep paralysis never wakes up, they had a nightmare that leads them to death. We get sleep paralysis when we change our sleeping patterns. For example, when we used to sleep very late and then we adjusted it to very early sleep, we will experience episode of sleep paralysis. A change of shift or work, like when you are on a morning shift and suddenly you shift to a night schedule, sleep paralysis will likely to happen.

Specifically, what is happening to me is called Recurrent Sleeping Paralysis because it happened for 4 times now. Normally sleep paralysis happens all the time. When we are on REM stage of sleeping, we mostly have dreams on that stage. Sleep paralysis happens when our brain relaxes the muscles in our limb to prevent us from acting what is happening in our dream and also to avoid us for being hurt from it. Sleep paralysis happens when you become aware of your surroundings but you cannot move. Normally, you can move in less than a minute because the brain will say so. It means sleep paralysis stage will end in less than a minute that you are awake.

Take note of the Specific Cause of Sleep Paralysis

Changes of shift of work, when you change your work schedule from morning then it became night shift. Sleep deprivation is one causes. If you haven't sleep for a days, or you only have 3 hours of sleep that should be 6 to 8 more hours , you most likely experience sleep paralysis when you sleep. When you wake up, you feel like sleeping again or will feel heavy or tired. Narcolepsy and Obstructive sleeps apnea are one of the causes too.

Symptoms of Sleep Paralysis

Hallucination - when you see black monster above you in bed that will try to hurt you but they will not hurt you as they are just part of your hallucination.

Inability to speak - you know you are shouting and asking for help but no voice is coming out of your mouth

Paralysis in your limbs and muscles - you cannot move your whole body at all

Suffocation - you feel you cannot breathe because you are panicking

Panic - when you are aware you cannot move and you are uncomfortable you will start to panic

Fear- once you are aware that you cannot move you will start to get scared

How to prevent Sleep paralysis?

To prevent it is to have a good and proper sleep. The normal sleep time for adults are 6 to 8 hours of sleep. Find time to schedule your sleep and improve it. Stop using gadgets 30 minutes before you sleep so that you can have your comfortable sleeps. It is rumored that the radiation on phones can prevent you for having a good sleep. Make sure you are relax so an activity before going to bath like a warm bath is advisable. Relaxing the muscle and mind helps you to get a deeper sleep. Lastly, prepare your bed before sleeping. Make sure that it has lesser lights and quiet.

I remember that I changed my sleeping pattern lately. I know I am did change the time of sleeping but I changed the time of waking up. I wake up two hours earlier on my schedule last month. This made me have a shorter sleep hours everyday. I guess my sleep paralysis causes by having a shorter sleeping schedule. I should find time to adjust my sleeping time more to have more sleep.

Take note, it can be diagnosed. Doctor will evaluate your sleeping patterns and will make two test, one is Polysomnogram and Multiple sleep latency test.

Sponsors of Grecy095
empty
empty
empty

Before I end this article, let me share the support of these amazing sponsor in my journey as a writer here. I also want to acknowledge the help of my readers. Thank you guys.

Images from Unsplash

9
$ 2.97
$ 2.87 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Micontingsabit
$ 0.03 from @GarrethGrey07
+ 3
Sponsors of Grecy095
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Grecy095
2 years ago

Comments

Nako kung kulang sa tulog maapektuhan memory and brain and all. Kung may shift din sa pagtulog may risk din ng sleep paralysis. Nakoo. Be careful talaga dapat

$ 0.00
2 years ago

delikado na nga ako sis kung tutuusin kaya dapat di ko na sinasawalang bahala

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lagi po akong nagaganito lalo po sa hapon :( Yung pag sumisigaw ako hindi ako naririnig huhu. Lalo na pag pagod ako, pag naggaganito ako e nagpapray ako. Madaming beses ko na to na experience.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako din, sumisigaw na ko pero wala talagang nalabas na boses. Pinaparalyze pala tayo, minsan nahuhuli ang utak sa pag gising sa mga muscles natin hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya nga po e. Ang ginagawa ko nagiimagine ako na nahuhulog ako para magising yung utak ko hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Isang beses ko pa lang naexperience to and ayaw ko na. Feeling ko patay ako huhu. Advise ng bestfriend ko since lagi nyang naeexperience to is wag daw labanan kasi magmagreresist ang body parang ganun and if kaya mong mapractice to control your dreams dn daw (yan dn sabi ng husband ko).

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pano mag control ng dreams? Sana magawa ko din. Ako ang ginagawa ko nag tatry ako galawin paa or kamay ko. Nagagawa naman pero sobrang hirap labanan

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sis di ko dn alam pero possible naman daw sya. Di ko pa natry dn kasi di ko pa ulit naexperience.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So far, isang beses aplang ata ako naka experience ng sleep paralysis ate and ayaw ko na talagang ma experience yun ulit.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako madalas mangyari sis, lalo na pag pagod na pagod ako na kulang sa tulog, kaya minsan di talaga ako natutulog ng mahaba

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I often experienced the sleep paralysis before, usually whenever I am on GY shift at work. It's scary and feels so real. I even thought that it really happened.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometimes I even dream that there is a monster above me and trying to hurt me but I pray when it happen

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have been feeelingbit a lt too. Maybe because I was sleeping late sometimes. When I do, prayer is only the one that makes me wake from it. Its really scary experience. Sometimes I think of giving up but I'm afraid what might happen when i give up on it, I might die, I think

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree praying will really help us overcome this. A lot of prayers and having a complete set of hours of sleep

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You must be stressed and your body's overworked. I also experience episodes of sleep paralysis when I am stressed at work. Especially, when I get to sleep thinking about the problems at work, family, etc. It's really traumatizing to sleep back when you experience it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes sis, I am always stress because of work and overwork, yes, most of the time because I am still working during daytime and nighttime.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You should take it, slow sis. Find time to relax to free your mind.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Just wake up whole night. Simple way to solve the solution 😜 Just kidding.. Such informational theory you had . it's really serious issues. Because peoples also dying by this sleep paralysis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, they acknowledge that they had sleep paralysis that lead them to have a heart attach or acute pancreatitis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When my father is still alive, he don't allow us to sleep while seating as he says something bad will happen and yeah it's sleep paralysis, so you better don't do it again as it's very scary.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I take a nap during office break and it hardly happened to me before. There are causes and I just need to adjust to my sleeping schedule.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is very good and accurate, my dear. A lot of people go through the same thing without knowing what is happening to them, but your article will help them very much

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you sis. It happens to me all the time so I research why it happens. When i found it out, I decided to make a post to make other's known.

$ 0.00
2 years ago