Therapy Session: Moving on

28 54
Avatar for Greatwolfman
2 years ago
Topics: Therapy

This piece is dedicated to everyone who is going through a tough time and has lost someone they cared about. I thought long and hard about what to write today and this just seemed to fit in all the right places. This article is about something I'm currently dealing with so I hope it's as much importance and usefulness to you as it is to me.


Image source: Unsplash

Therapist: Greatwolfman, how are you feeling today?

Greatwolfman: I'm an emotional mess and it's worse than before. I hate the world

Therapist: "Hate" is such a strong world, do you mind talking about it

Greatwolfman: I don't think I can, it's hard as it is just thinking about it

Therapist: I know it's hard, but when you share your thoughts it helps lighten the burden.

Greatwolfman: Okay, where do I start?

Therapist: How about you start by telling me how you are really feeling.

Image source: Unsplash

Greatwolfman: Alright, uhm, I am back to the dark place once again sitting and dining with my demons, I guess there is something really comforting about it. It almost feels like home, I drown my pain and sorrows in sad songs composed mentally with no lyrics, no word could ever be enough to fit into such a sad tune.

Daytime comes and I have to fake being happy, my face even hurts from forcing smiles. "I'm okay" is all I can say but deep down I'm hurting, it still feels like dreaming. It hurts too much.

No matter how hard I try, I can't seem to find a reason to smile, I bury myself watching some tv shows, just to make me forget but nothing works. I don't want to go out because everything I see only serves as a reminder of what I will never have again. Every happy face reminds me of what I had

Now I know I won't ever be able to recreate those memories, it hurts even more. It feels like I'm in the middle of a wide ocean with no land in sight. I just feel lost.

I still see him, I still haven't gotten used to not having him around. It feels like a dream and any moment now I will wake up and give him a big hug again. It has been a really long time since I felt this way. I wish I could have done something to save him.

Image source: Unsplash

Therapist: I see, that is a lot of emotions to deal with all at once, why don't we take it one by one?

What you are feeling is perfectly normal, I would be worried if you didn't feel this way after this big loss. I'm also glad that you came to me for professional help.

We all get lost sometimes, at such times we must try to find the light in the dark. Your family and friends are in a good position to help you through such times. You need to be reminded of the good things you still have. Instead of giving all your focus to what you have lost, look around you and take note of what you've still got. The loving family and the supportive friends, and hey, you got me too.

Everything happens for a reason, maybe we do not know why but God knows better. His time was up, and I'm sure he would be happy if you let him go now. Instead of focusing on the painful memories, take comfort in the happy times you shared.

We all have our unique way of dealing with losses, if you need time to do this, you are allowed but don't put your life on hold just because of a hurtful experience, we do not live forever, and time waits for no one. Life is one long roller-coaster filled with a lot of experiences. You will experience love, pain, joy, excitement, and many more.

A wise lady once told me

"Death is the beauty of living"

@The.Ada

The moment you accept that death is only a part of living, you will be free.

Here is my advice to you son, you go out there and you live your best life, do it for him and more importantly for yourself. It's time for you to move on. He might be gone but he lives on in your memory, tell his story.

Time does heal wounds. Although the scars might remain, it's not such a bad thing. It is through pain that we are able to grow and come out, even stronger than ever. Don't worry, you will come out of this just fine.

Bell rings

Therapist: Right on time, looks like our time is up, I will give you some time to process these thoughts and let them sink deep.

Greatwolfman: Thanks for the time, I feel a lot lighter already.


Talking to yourself might seem weird but when you've got an imaginary friend like I do who also happens to be a Therapist, a wise one, plus, I don't have to pay any fee, it sort of feels right, you know?

Well, this is me and this is what I have to say. I feel better, I hope you do too. Greatwolfman, It's time to move on.


Lead image source : Unsplash

15
$ 4.95
$ 4.64 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.04 from @Princessbusayo
$ 0.04 from @King_Gozie
+ 10
Sponsors of Greatwolfman
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Greatwolfman
2 years ago
Topics: Therapy

Comments

Sir this is olawale4967 and I am using my new account to send this message to you sir. I took your advice into consideration and this is my new account I'm using to communicate with you sir.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's good, you can also try and send a short message in your old acct so everyone would know

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How will I do that?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Okay thanks

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's always nice to share your pain rather than keep it to yourself. I hope that what you will overcome the storms in your life. Fighting @GreatWolfman! 💙

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you so much for the words of encouragement

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I lost my grandparents and I will apply these to them. Well, I think I should also consult a therapist but you did a great job in the conversation.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You were in distress but therapist gave you a good advice to cope up with this situation. I am glad to hear that in your imagination you find a way to get relief from negative thoughts.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I guess being able to talk to yourself has it's own benefits

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bro I felt the whole of this article like it's a movie, I was having my lunch but I had to pause it to read your article because it felt so real, does not feel like a narration at all, it felt like it is just happening....why don't you consider going into acting or script writing because you will really make it in that aspect. I trust you, you've never let me down. Nice nice nice article 👏 And my condolences to the loss of your dog Harmony. Thank you.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I don't think script writing is for me yet...this was just me pouring out my emotions. I needed to let it out before I do something I end up regretting. My own version of therapy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is for you, you're just not ready yet to embrace it. Take your time, by the time you're ready I know one day you will remember I said it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Until you get to that point where you feel the world is collapsing on you, it may be difficult to understand what other people go through in their tough times.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That is true, you are right

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I usually talk to myself when I felt something just to release the negatively.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It really helps

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Most times I talk to myself and people, especially my friends often think that I'm crazy, I guess they don't know that I'm having a board meeting.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Some people don't just get it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

thank God for the therapist session hope you feel better bro i don't wanna see you depressed, who will now motivate nah

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I will be better with time

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ouch! That's very painful o. Well, I pray everyone who has lost a dad or so in death should find some encouragement here

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah I lost my dad some years back and I can assure you, I've been lifted with this piece of a write up by you. Thanks a lot

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I'm happy that my work has helped you positively

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If only getting a therapy here is not so expensive, I would definitely have one. I always overthink that is why I'm trying my best not to. I'm keeping myself busy to avoid it. Thank you for this and let's keep fighting!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah, we keep fighting

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can really apply this on dad's passing away.. not a day goes by that I do not think about him :/

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I know how hard that can be, I'm sorry about that. Thank you for the big tip, I appreciate it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Now I think I really need to consult a therapist.

$ 0.02
2 years ago