The talk

33 54
Avatar for Greatwolfman
2 years ago
Date: Friday, 12th of November, 2021
Published by: Greatwolfman

Yes, it is exactly what you think it is, one of the most awkward conversations parents ever hold with their children. I can see that you are already smiling, I'm not so sure as to why but I do know I will have a lovely time writing this piece.


I would love to take this time out to appreciate all my sponsors for their all their support on my journey as writer.

Sponsors of Greatwolfman
empty
empty
empty
Check out my sponsor's block

Now, let us talk about THE talk, a discussion every parent will or would say their offsprings. I have always imagined what it would have sounded like.

Mummy, where do babies come from?

I can vividly remember asking my mom about this back in my early days when I was still a preschooler.

Oh, by the way, if a little one ever asks this question, what would your answer be?

This is one of the first lies parents tell their kids and innocent kids like us would believe every word.

Babies come from the sky

My first idea of where babies came from was the sky, and I believed it when my mom told me. It seemed the most reasonable explanation at the time since we were also made to believe babies came from heaven, heaven is up in the sky and hell is deep below the ground, if you match hard on the ground or throw stones to the ground, the Devil would feel pain. Most days, I would spend my time looking at the sky, and I could see babies in the cloud.

Mummy look, God is making babies

Now that I recall this instance, I just feel so stupid but no one would have noticed it because I was so adorable, you better believe it.

Babies come out through the mouth

Mother was pregnant with my little brother, I didn't know how the baby fell from the sky into her stomach, so I was really curious.

Mommy, when are you taking this baby back to his house

I don't remember saying this but mom reminds me now and then how adorable I was as a kid. I was excited to be having a little brother, but I was still curious where the baby would come out from. I had only two answers, either mother would vomit him out through her mouth or take a shit and push him out.

So, it wasn't a surprise when Mother told me the baby would come through the mouth, I'm sure I felt like a young Sherlock Holmes solving that mystery.

Mommy gets pregnant when Mommy and Daddy are too close to each other

I believed this until I got into High school, even after I knew the truth, a part of me still took precautions. In their defense, they were not lying, they only condensed it so I would understand. At least this is what I choose to believe

This was a lie my Father told to prevent me from going towards girls trying to seek a relationship because he believed it would only end up as a distraction and my studies were far more important.

It worked to an extent, I still had my little crushes from time to time, and since I didn't want to be a daddy at my young age, I would keep my distance.

My High School had a chair and table for each student, it was big enough to fit two kids and I was okay with it unless the other kid was a female.

You can imagine the shock I had in class when we were taught Reproduction in Basic Science. I don't think it was so professional to include such a topic too early like that or the fact that my Basic Science teacher laughed a lot as she tried to answer our questions.

You can imagine the shock I had when I learned the truth. The truth did not set me free. I got home that day and I didn't know what to say to my parents, should I be angry or happy? I felt so ashamed of learning the truth.

Closing thoughts

How old were you when you discovered the truth?

These days parents don't bother to have THE talk anymore, the world has grown so much and basically every answer to every question can be found thanks to google. I guess that is why a child should grow with both parents but that is not always the case, the Mother will teach the girl child girls stuff while the Father would teach the boy child boys stuff.

I'm sure everyone here knows where babies come from so I won't bother saying it. I also understand now that what I was told were not lies but little fragments of the truth, enough to satisfy my curiosities and keep me from discovering the truth. Most kids today don't even get that luxury, they learn about everything on their own.

Oh, don't get me started on the time Puberty set in and my voice started changing and we started noticing hair in different places except my chin of course. I'm glad to see I now have beards growing. I will make a silent prayer for the grown-up guys who are still waiting for their first strands of hair, one day.

I hope you found this article interesting and shared a laugh or two. Ignorance is bliss, my friends.

Lead Image Source: Unsplash

Plagiarism Check

16
$ 4.23
$ 3.88 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.07 from @Lovelyfaith
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 7
Sponsors of Greatwolfman
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Greatwolfman
2 years ago

Comments

my won question to you now, since you have hairs in other places why is your chin not having? lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…i don't think I have ever ask my mom all these. Well, small children can be funny and I know some kind of silly questions I do ask her and others too when I was still small.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Gaftekloriginal, so you are also one of those kids who learnt about it on their own eh.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…no na, I didn't bother to ask or learn it until I was mature to know that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My mom said I was adopted, she just sees me in a trashcan hahahaa I was in verge of crying that time but she look at me then laugh hahhaha she says that from head to foot I'm look like her so why bother ask her where I came from hahaha.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahaha, that's not fair on mom's path, she should not play with your emotions like that but she did give a smart reply though.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mommy never hid anything from me oo. Although she told me in a way a child would understand. Mom is my greatest teacher.πŸ˜‚

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Wow, mom is awesome, I hope I'm going to be able to tell my kids someday.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Just like on this movie "Boss Baby:, babies are come from the skies hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was in grade six when I know that babies are made when the egg cell and sperm unite. Though I don't have an idea how it happened. I also thought babies comes out from my Mom ass like popp!🀣🀣

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I thought about that too, but the idea of a baby falling into the toilet seemed awful.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! Very hilarious!! You can just imagine how ridiculous their answers always are. I can't even imagine answering that question for a child myself. Wow! That must have been very awkward for both parties.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It was indeed awkward but I think it was on the parents than the child

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Our parent lied to us because our thinking are not capacable to understand adult thing..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Being close to ones parents attracts a lot of blessings but i guess i wasn't close to mine at all as my father would always want me to behave like a man even when i was too ypung to behave like that

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Some parents believe that is the best way to make a child strong.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha nice article thoughπŸ˜‚. Just that I wasn't that close to my parents right from the onset to ask this questions. I mostly grow on my own while my parent were always busy with work.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That means you had to find out on your own, I can't even begin to process it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maybe someday but it's going to look awkward because I'm a fully grown adult now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You always hyping yourself that you are adorable when you were a kid is one thing I can't stop laughing πŸ˜‚ πŸ˜† about.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It not just hype, I've got pictures to prove it πŸ˜„πŸ˜„

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So funnyπŸ˜‚ It's the lies we were told for our own good. Knowing the truth now only makes one laugh and cherish ones parents even more.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I'm trying to imagine what I would have said if put in their shoes

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Because before our parents don't want to tell the truth, because we are still in a young age and will come the days when we grow up we understand the truth.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That is actually a really smart way to look at it, we learn the truth for ourselves but a little heads up is not such a bad idea though

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It would sound like I'm dumb but I got to know this when I was 14. I knew people come close, they kiss but never know about the intercourse and the aftermath. hahaha...It blew my mind. Anyway, now my son is 4.7 months. He asks me similar questions and I give them according to his understanding. Not like from the sky or something. I will let him know before 10 for sure.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That is awesome, let him know but in little bits, a part of me is glad I didn't know about it at that age

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Can't stop laughing.... I was the child of these questions. Still thinking of those days. Thanks for reminding those.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Anytime friend

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The curious mind of a child is fascinating. I'm glad I read this. It's wonderful to remember how I cried telling my dad the teacher lied to me. You arrested me with your captivating sense of humour. It's been a wonderful read. Thanks a bunch.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I was going to start doubting my teacher until I saw it fully explained in the textbook.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ the first one I heard too was mouth too and I can't believe I actually believe them.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I also believed it

$ 0.00
2 years ago