I was lost, but now I'm found

26 48
Avatar for Greatwolfman
2 years ago
Topics: About a dream
Date:Monday, 20th of December, 2021
Day 20 prompt: about "a dream"
Published by: Greatwolfman

What you are about to read is based on my personal experience, it tells the tale of the night I almost died. This was recent, it made me wonder if I was ever going to see the much anticipated new year. Do I have your attention now? I haven't been able to derive a satisfactory meaning from it all except for the fact that I'm still alive.

This isn't the first time I had suffered from such nightmares but this time was more intense, you are about to find out why.


It was just like any other night, I had gone to bed early because I had a really busy day, so after a quick shower and warm meal, I turned in for bed. I never knew that it would mark the day I wouldn't be forgetting anytime soon.

I woke up in the living room, wondering how I got there, did I sleepwalk again? I noticed no one was at home, so I went out to find out what was going on. As soon as I opened the door, I found myself in a strange place, covered with sand like a desert, the sand spanned for miles and there was no one in sight.

All this while I didn't know I was dreaming, so I wanted to return home to inform everyone of this weird phenomenon but my house was gone. I couldn't find the door through which I exited to find myself in this land.

At that moment, I became conscious that I was dreaming, now I may have mentioned this earlier, it's not the first time I've been conscious in my dream, oftentimes I easily find my way back when I want but this time, I was lost.

I had this consciousness that if I could find my house, I would wake up. There was no one to ask for help as I trudged the sandy soil looking for a way back. I walked for hours, the longest I have even been in my conscious state until I came across a hill with a gate.

I knew this was my mind creating images to serve as a guide but it freaked me out, I tried to open the gate but I still couldn't. I managed to climb the hill and decided to jump down hoping the shock and pain with send me back to my body but it didn't work. At a time, I started to wonder how many hours must have gone in the real world as I broke down in tears for fear that my parents would have found my lifeless body and properly weeping.

I wondered if there was still hope of getting back to my body before I actually passed on, I closed my eyes to try and regain composure, but as soon as I opened it, I was no longer in the desert, I found myself in a church gathering, the pastor was calling out names of people who had graduated from an exam, I was a part of the soon-to-be graduates because we were all wearing graduation gowns, but when my name was called out to come and dance as others did after hearing their names, I discovered I wasn't dressed well, I was still wearing my black boxers and T-shirt that I had worn to sleep, I didn't have any suit and tie worn like others or a shoe, I was barefooted, so I didn't come out, I was too shy that I didn't quite fit in so I left the gathering shamefully.

As I took to the exit, I found myself back at home, It was night again and I thought I was finally awake, except I wasn't, I went to my parent's room, there were still asleep. I went to my room to find my body, but I couldn't find it, I paced all over the house looking for my body. After much trial, I closed my eyes again and tried to wake up from this nightmare but I was so tired and I felt very weak, but I kept on until I slowly drifted off to my body.

I gasped from the bed as I finally woke up, I was having an attack, I was literally choking to death. I don't know how long I was dead for but I was certainly glad to be alive. I rushed down to the kitchen to drink some water as I tried to catch my breath. It took me a moment before the whole dream started coming back to me. I knelt and thank God for giving me another chance. I don't know why he saved me but it definitely means my purpose in the world hasn't been completed yet.

Most people don't make it back, it's not uncommon to hear of people sleeping and not waking up. I'm glad I wasn't one of them. I have been trying to process this thought for days now, but today, I finally had the courage to share this story. What are your thoughts on this? I would love to read them.

Treat every passing day as if it were your last because death can come anytime and most times without a warning which is not necessarily a bad thing, how else do you go back to Paradise?

Lead image Source: [Unsplash free images]

20
$ 5.60
$ 5.16 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @JustMyRambles01
$ 0.05 from @George_Dee
+ 8
Sponsors of Greatwolfman
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Greatwolfman
2 years ago
Topics: About a dream

Comments

Thank God it was a mere dream. We pray for God's protection daily

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Damn! That is some weird dream right there. Glad it was just a dream.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

If you're conscious about your dreams, you're called a lucid dreamer... I think it's cool... I know what it is to wake up choking... But it happens only when I'm relapsing (the whole thing with schizophrenia). When I use my drugs I'm mostly fine...

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Is there a pre-sign before the relapse?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes... For me it's the nightmares, and intense irrational fear of anything or everything combined with loss of sleep... In the event that you sleep, the nightmares are there to bring me back... Lol...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Our subconscious mind is still a mystery. It deals with some unexplained things and we dream weird or hallucinate.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It's a mystery indeed, still trying to understand it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow. Bro I'm glad you're back. Ry glad you made it back ti the land of the living. God has a purpose for bringing you back and that purpose will be manifested soon.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

God has a purpose for every single one of us

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You scared the living out of me. I’m glad you are here today. Don’t stop praying!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Writing it was even difficult because I had to replay the memories

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, like from the song amazing grace.. We thank God for the sufficient daily grace unto our lives

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It can be scary at times, you must have thought it was real. Those dreams are always so vivid

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Even when I knew it wasn't real, it didn't make it any better.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice article, we have to thank God every morning we wake up feeling healthy

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It's only by his grace that we are alive

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Let's thank God for your life o. I'm glad you were able to come back. Did you tell your parents about the dream? I feel like you should.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I told my mother, we just prayed about it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks God for life! And that’s just why we have to be prepared for death at any point in time.

Nice having you here today with us. It was indeed a terrible dream

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You just survive a big deal bro, I was actually having a lot running through my mind while reading the article. You should definitely thank God for sparing your life.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Every day I wake up, I always thank him

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Omo we thank God for your life. I have heard cases like that and they pass away from their sleep. Nowadays I don't even know if I dream cause I don't seem to remember😅

$ 0.03
2 years ago

We all dream, it's a natural process, trying to recall it is the challenge most people face

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That was scary, I'm sorry you had to go through that. I also do know that some people don't make it out alive when that happens I'm glad you are okay though

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you very much

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometimes dreams doesn’t seems true and sometimes it seems like it’s going to truly happen. Thank God for life that you are able to wake up from sleep.

$ 0.03
2 years ago