A Writer's Block

28 47
Avatar for Greatwolfman
2 years ago
Topics: Writer's Block

I never knew this was a thing until today. All through the day I've been trying to post a new article, I have a lot saved in my draft but none completed yet because I don't seem to be able to write anything.

I feel like my thoughts are lost in limbo just floating endlessly unable to evolve into words that I can put down. I'm sure most of the writers here can relate.

So, I came up with an idea inspired by Frederick Taylor who used Science to solve Management problems over the decade. My head is like a production factory and I do not like the rate at which it is currently working, I really need to get my production flow back on. Writing about my difficulties has helped me in the past such as my article on heartbreaks and last paper syndrome.

Step 1- Identify the problem

Writer's block according to Wikipedia

Writer's block is a condition, primarily associated with writing, in which an author is unable to produce new work or experiences a creative slowdown. This creative stall is not a result of commitment problems or the lack of writing skills. The condition ranges from difficulty in coming up with original ideas to being unable to produce a work for years. Writer's block is not solely measured by time passing without writing. It is measured by time passing without productivity in the task at hand.

As a scientist, the first step in finding a solution to a problem is first understanding the problem. I have taken my time to check Wikipedia on a thought on the matter. I sure hope I get my creative juice flowing again as soon as possible.

What do you think are the likely causes of this problem?

Step 2 - Identify the probable causes

The second stage is a key aspect to solving this problem, once you can identify the cause of a problem you will be able to mitigate the problem and proffer a long-lasting solution.

Woah, what just happened, I'm actually applying principles of risk management to a real-life problem. For those who didn't get the joke, it was a topic from courses I did last semester.

Cause Number 1-Distraction

This is the number one cause of this problem. I find it very difficult to write when I'm being disturbed or in a noisy environment. I would often lock my room's door just to get the privacy I need but somehow my assistance is always needed for the most absurd of things.

Imagine getting called out of your room to look for a remote that is right there on the table. Very annoying isn't it?

Cause Number 2- Lack of Ideas or Inspiration.

Lack of Ideas isn't what is causing the block for me, I have a lot of ideas just floating around. Unless of course having a lot of ideas at once prevents the free flow of fresh ideas. Maybe that is it.

BCH is my major inspiration for writing, I want to earn more, and to do that I need to be ready to put in the needed effort. I don't think this is the reason behind this writer's block I'm currently dealing with

Cause Number 3- Depression

Emotions trigger creative responses, they inspire people to genuinely express themselves in the most unexpected of ways. Writers in love would be able to write about such feelings easily. Writers going through emotional roller coasters are also good with expressing their thoughts...and there is me.

I'm currently experiencing a phase of complete confusion. There is something I have been trying to write about all day but can't seem to express myself well enough. I'm holding on to something I shouldn't. I thought the past was the past yet it continues to haunt me.

Okay, this is definitely what is causing this block.

Do forgive me if I don't point all the causes out, this is just regarding myself for now

Step 3- Finding solutions

The solution you apply has to relate to the problem at hand although some solutions are just universal.

After identifying the problem and finding the probable causes, it is time to find solutions.

Solution 1 - Writing

Is it not ironic solving writer's block by writing even more?

That's the trick, it might not make sense at first and maybe even feel forced but if you are writing about an issue you are facing as though you are writing to yourself, it helps break down some of the tensions built up.

Writing seems to solve most of my problems, it creates this sense of clarity if that makes any sense to you. I was having an issue with writer's block, I decided to write about it and now I'm feeling my creative juices flowing again

Solution 2 - Taking a break

Too much of anything is not good, the body can only handle so much before it needs to rest. An off-screen time can help. Take a walk with your dog down the street, visit a friend, sleep. There are many things you can do to take the much-needed break.

I hate going out, I find social interactions exhausting, I feel a lot satisfied being alone talking to myself. This is a problem since I need to be able to get out of my shell once in a while and relate with other people.

Taking breaks doesn't necessarily mean resting, it simply means performing an activity you are currently not practicing.

Anything to break the cycle you have currently found yourself is healthy and should be able to get those ideas flowing again.

Solution 3 - Reduce the load

This isn't a common solution and I'm no therapist but this I do know, we often carry loads that aren't ours to bear, holding on to things that aren't ours anymore.

You may call this selfish but before you can be of help to anyone, you have to help yourself.

A man who is blind can not lead another blind man, it is common sense.

When you hold on to unnecessary things, you find yourself in an emotional mess worrying over things that aren't your cross to bear. You need to let it go.

Solution 4 - Go to a quiet or peaceful environment

If you are like me and find it extremely difficult to focus in a noisy environment, then I suggest you get a quiet place to write. How can you not express yourself if the environment you have found yourself in is quite peaceful and quiet eh?

I didn't plan to make this article long, I was only seeking to solve a problem and just like that I have produces something helpful, not only to me but also to fellow writers out there experiencing something similar.

Step 4 - Review

I hope this has been as helpful to you as it has to me. I don't think I will be able to sleep tonight, I want to complete the articles that are saved in my draft now that the flow is back on.

Was this helpful to you?

Sponsors of Greatwolfman
empty
empty
empty
If you haven't, do check out these amazing sponsors

Lead image source from Unsplash

16
$ 7.68
$ 7.27 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
+ 10
Sponsors of Greatwolfman
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Greatwolfman
2 years ago
Topics: Writer's Block

Comments

Writer's block can be very helpless sometimes. Here I was thinking I'm the only one, I guess now I know better.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good article, this will serve as solution to many of writers

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've been dealing with writers block too, I was here all day searching for a topic to write on, but the inspiration aren't coming, after reading your article, surely I now know where problem it's coming from .

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I'm glad I could be of some help to you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mine is caused by being busy, I can't multitask, once I'm stressed, I won't be able to think hence write or complete my drafts😩

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You should take a short break and get back to it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am actually on writer's block mode at the moment.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Weird thing is that, opposite was within me. I can't focus on silent environment my mind works on stress and noisy one. 😬 So rock sounded music is therapy for me to more focus in writing, and noisy people was like a. Orchestra to me. It's real thou, I think Im mutant LOL.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

This is rather odd but then again we all have different thought process and I think that is really cool. I wish I was more like you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is a usual condition that will happened to most writers depending of it's causes why the writer is experiencing writer's block. For me, even if I'm not a professional writer, I'm just a newbie here, i also experienced the same thing. Distraction and lack of ideas about the topic can hinder me to start writing my article. Good day,thanks for this

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are welcome, I am glad I could be of help in your writing journey

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You just came up with a full article though and loaded, if you could come up with this then you shouldn't have problems with the other ones....I know its hard to write, I procrastinate all the time and it leads to me abandoning my work and the case in 1 and 2 also my problem. Your solutions are actually what I have been doing and it worked great....

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yaaay... I guess Frederick Taylor's scientific management principles also apply in writing too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True. Sometimes, the solution we need to overcome Writer's block is to write more. Let your pen spill the things that are running in your mind

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You read my mind, I couldn't agree more

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree with you all these causes leads to the writers block,but luckily I haven't experienced it yet.But the solution you mentioned above would be really helpful if ever have to pass through this situation.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahaha....well, at least when it does happen you have the solution ;-)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Most of the time I get writer's block because of depression, ideas entering my mind just destroying my mood so even though I tried so hard to write a lot. I'm having a hard time finishing one. And because of that I just take a rest I'm not pushing myself to write. Just releasing some stress on me and tomorrow I can write very well

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, it is really important to take a break, rest, just relax

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm having this block if I'm tired and distracted lol

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Distraction is a major cause for me too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for laying this out here :) It will be a great help to one like me who often run out of ideas to write about :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are most welcome, it helped me too as I was writing it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This will surely help me out cos most I feel distracted too

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I'm glad I could be of some help to a fellow writer

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Cause number 1 and number 2 are always my challenges in completing an article. I have lots of distractions here in our house. It occupies my mind a lot and hence I even struggled in finding inspiration. I'm lost of topic most of the times.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I can relate, it can be really hard to focus when the place is just noisy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

super!. Imagine you have 3 kids that's always in the background :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago