Anxiety

35 81
Avatar for Giddyboy
2 years ago
Topics: Health, Mind

Anxiety is a mental illness that can affect a person's ability to function properly for extended periods of time. The most common emotions associated with anxiety are fear, nervousness, panic and feeling restless or on edge. When anxiety is serious, the physical symptoms can include chest pain, shortness of breath, sweating, trembling and an upset stomach.

The feeling of anxiety may cause you to feel like you're "going crazy" or that something terrible is about to happen. For example, you may feel like you're in danger and your body's strong physical reactions are a sign that you're losing control.


We hear about it all the time, but what does it actually mean?

Well, according to the National Institute of Mental Health, anxiety is defined as "a feeling of worried unease." They go on to explain that it usually occurs "in situations where you might have less control." It's the feeling of being out-of-control and unable to do anything about it – and it can seem paralyzing. Anxious feelings can be especially overwhelming when you're working.

According to the American Institute of Stress, "workplace stress costs US companies an estimated $300 billion every year." And employees report job-related anxiety in various forms:

Workplace anxiety typically falls into one of these three categories:  

(1) job-related stress , (2) performance anxiety , and (3) workplace trauma.

Job-related stress typically results from an imbalance between demands and resources ( Demands > Resources ).

Does anxiety affects our health?

Anxiety is a common psychological and physiological response to stress. According to a survey conducted by the Mental Health Foundation, around one in three of us will experience a mental health problem each year.

The condition can have many negative effects on our bodies, but did you know that it also causes physical symptoms? If worries, stress and anxieties are left untreated, they can have an effect on the body’s immune system and its ability to fight infections. It can even cause symptoms such as muscle tension, palpitations and exhaustion.

When you're anxious at work, it can be hard to articulate that to your boss or co-workers. You might be thinking things like, "I don't want to be a complainer, people will think I'm a weakling, or I'll seem like I have no idea what I'm doing.

Research shows that the negative effects of anxiety can impact not only our mental health but also our physical health. A 2014 study by researchers at the University of Cincinnati College of Medicine found that chronic stress may actually damage cells in the hippocampus (the brain's primary memory center) leading to anxiety, depression and memory loss.

Despite the worrying nature of this research, i am here to highlight some of the ways anxiety impacts our well-being, along with concrete tips to help you feel better and live a happier life.

Note: Anxiety is a complex disorder and different people experience different symptoms.


Anxiety is a very common topic among the millennial generation. One of the most common questions a lot of people ask is, ‘How do I get rid of anxiety?’ Everyone has felt some kind of anxiety in their lives. It can be a severe fear or just a case of ‘the jitters’ in the morning. The real question is how they can get rid of this anxious feeling? There are many different ways to go about getting rid of that anxious feeling.

It all starts with awareness.

This can be difficult because anxiety is frequently induced by a lack of understanding of the source of the fear. How can you be sure to change something if you don't know what's making you anxious? to have a better understanding of your anxiety, try to pinpoint exactly what makes you feel that way. Is it a certain situation or just general stress? Once you know how your anxiety manifests itself, you can figure out how to go about changing that feeling.

How to avoid anxiety:

- Exercise regularly. It has been found that people who engage in regular exercise are less likely to suffer from anxiety.

- Sleep well.  Stress can leave you feeling tired and exhausted, but sleep deprivation is often the culprit. Make sure you do everything you can to get enough sleep at night.

- Get educated on your condition.


Cue;

People who suffer from anxiety are often called "overthinkers". They are all the same person, but they've never met.

One is sitting on a bench in the park and feeling overwhelmed with uncertainty about everything.

The other is sitting inside her room and can't stop thinking about all the things she needs to do.

Another one is looking out at the ocean and cannot stop worrying about what could have been.

Another one is lying in bed awake at 3 AM thinking about conspiracy theories.

They're all looking for something to make them feel better, to make them feel that life is going to turn out to be something good for them.

One thinks that if he works hard enough it will all turn out fine.

Another thinks that if she finds the perfect partner, everything will be ok.

Yet another one thinks that if she just has one more round of drinks, she will forget how unhappy she is with her life.

Funny that some people don’t believe it exists, especially the aged groups here in my country. But it is as real as the oxygen we breathe in.


Disclaimer; This article is for informational purposes only and does not constitute medical advice.

28
$ 8.77
$ 6.01 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 1.99 from Anonymous user(s)
A
$ 0.15 from @King_Gozie
+ 18
Sponsors of Giddyboy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Giddyboy
2 years ago
Topics: Health, Mind

Comments

I always rely to God whenever I feeling down. He is my listener. I hope that those people who experience anxiety will find their way to talk to God or talk to people

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This piece is so informative, kinda reminds of the stress I've been through with my previous job. And now, I always on a journey to getting to know myself even better to be fight off anxiety.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really try to train my mind to control my anxiety by stop overthinking over the things. I'm not yet successful but it help a lot.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

nice article my friend, thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I had this anxiety everytime I feel so alone and also even in a crowded place, like where am I supposed to be. I'm not comfortable when my anxiety attacks I shut people out even my close one.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I also suffer from it. But I’ve learnt to control it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How sad.. when I read about an illness and I feel it's written about me...

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ouch. Make sure you take good care of yourself please.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is an amazing topic and a critical one too… I think dealing with anxiety must first start with the extreme things we feed our minds with and most times they are completely negative things.. overthinking needs to be handled

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yea right. But the thing with anxiety and the society we live in now is that they work hand in hand. Lots of pressure to finish a lot of things.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think I really do have an anxiety. I usually overthink a lot of things lately to the point that I want to do the thing of ending my life. God is so good that I am able to confessed my sins and problems to a priest last Friday. Right now, I'm still on the process of recovery.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I am glad you are recovering. If you need help, you can reach out to people. Myself included.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Through God's mighty glory my friend. Hmm.. Thanks for your suggestion.. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Working in a job you love or finding a job you love may be a partial cure, but there are too many unhappy people for different reasons.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

This right here is one big truth about the world we live in now. Too many people suffer from different things that make them unhappy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I battled anxiety during the 2nd quarter of the pandemic. It was extremely painful and it felt like you are drowning on your own emotions. I don't want to experience it again.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I know that feeling. I hope you are 100% now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We are the one must control our anxiety. don't let it control us.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

True.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

At some point I am dealing with it. It ain't easy but I hope things become better soon and I prayed that no more people will experience anxiety.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Everything will be fine. I wish too a full recovery.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Having an anxiety was no joke, I almost got this when the time I was infected by covid. I was alone that time and away from my family.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I hope you are totally past it now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am fine now Giddyboy, hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've begun to see anxiety as a normal thing since I literally experience it daily..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It shouldn’t become part of you. Learn to do away with it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A sad reality that some people call it as "drama" or just acting out :((

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Anxiety was a thing i used to do before, but i have stopped. I noticed it wanted to cause a whole lot of damage to me, i wouldn't sleep well, i would think all through the night, fear of the future would grab my mind, so i stopped it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Anxiety is something I can't avoid happening. Especially when I'm so much down and things seem to be out of control.. But still, we need to control it before it controls us.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Right. It happens whether we like it or not. Controlling it is all that matters.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Anxiety really can't help but destroy man mental health

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I agree your article friend that anxiety sy pain in our mind it can really affect our mind. It is true that what is associated with anxiety is the extremely nervous, strong nervousness and restlessness.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It really isn’t healthy for our state of wellbeing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I want to stay away from anxiety all the time in my life.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That makes two of us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago