Get it Straight: No Distractions

9 18
Avatar for Gianna-B
1 year ago

"The worse distraction comes when we build our focus".

From my personal experience, there have been days when I chose to be serious with my time. Those days, I would make plans and set a guide to get what I wanted. At first, I see myself starting well and focused, but at a time it happens that I already skipped the plans and got derailed for unknown distractions that come unnoticed. When it happens like this, I sometimes lose the vibes to continue again and before time, I give it up.

All this happens because of distraction. Distraction from my environment and from myself. If I had a strong focus, I know I would be distracted but not to give up. I would have stood firm, up and more focused till my plans are fulfilled. This is how my life has been, especially since my childhood days. Those days, I did so well in class and performed brilliantly in my grades but for so many times, I have made up my mind to beat the best student in my class.

Every new session, I keep assuring myself that I would beat the best and take the crown. I make personal time tables to keep my mission focused. I will always start with a high confidence and lessen my time with extra curricular activities, all in the plan to beat the best. As time goes on, just after a few weeks to a new session, I gradually begin to lose it. The plans I have made, the extra curricular activities I have withdrawn from and even the reading at an hour every night all began to fade away.

At the end of every session, I would always be among the best but not the overall best. After seeing the results of the ended session, I pick up another challenge to be the unimaginable best in the next session. That was how my primary school days kept going until the final year to graduate. That year was the year I broke the yolk and shook the table differently. By then, I took a serious check on myself and found out what my problems were and tackled them one by one. I set the final goal and gave in everything I could and at last, hyper focused solved it for me. I beat the best with a higher level of grade. It was unbelievable for me and even the teachers and students. Till today, the school holds my record.

What my problem was.

When I checked myself after so many failed plans of being the best, I outlined all my distractions, majorly to the minority. The list includes:

  • Spending too much time watching the television

  • Always playing at home with my cousin and friends, even after dinner.

  • Involving so much in school sports and extra curricular activities..

  • Sleeping and talking too much

  • The friends I keep around me and lastly, the time I spend on my books.

After realizing all these, I made it clear that I am ending all my flaws. I wrote them down and put them on my reading table. Every day, I go through it. It wasn't easy for me then but now, it is because I have known all my distractions and I can see what I am fighting. That was how I stayed hyper focused and won the final prize that lasted forever in my heart.

Hyper focuse

This morning, I came across a post by @Amjad_Ali_Waince I got so inspired by his article. It reminded me of the past failed promises and goals I made myself and how I have been derailed so many times by unnecessary distractions. He really made good points in his writing.

Hyper focus is so strong that with it, one can possibly achieve everything. There are things that still distract me presently even though I know them but chose to continue with them. One of them is social media. I am not a social media content creator but I earn too many fan badges by following up the content creators. I spend so much time and data on social media, having fun and entertainment. The time I was supposed to wash my clothes with was spent on social media watching funny and dance videos, getting busy but doing nothing.

These days, I have made up my mind to put that in check and with the same method I used to beat the best, I would use it again to check myself before wrecking myself.

Image source: taken from unsplash.com

Conclusion

If our devices which are always a distraction are built to perform a particular task when operated, why not we the users have focus and finish what we want without being distracted. Humans invented things to help them solve their problems but sometimes these things invented prevent us from reaching out goals. They can ba a huge distraction when used wrongly.

When the inspiration for things comes, we welcome it and get set to make things happen but along the way, we miss it. This can happen to anyone and it is our responsibility to fix it. It only takes a self conviction to take a recall and find out what has happened and what is happening.

There are distractions at home and even in our work places, it is left for us to fish them out and put a stop to them, thereby excelling in a great way by being hyper focused. To get it straight and not be distracted, we need to be hyper focused. Apply it in everything and find out that whatever distractions that comes around will only strengthen your focus.

Thanks for reading lovelies. I wish you all readers and subscribers a lovely week. See you in the next article and bye for now.

@Gianna-B, 2022.

Lead image credit: Taken from unsplash.com

8
$ 0.39
$ 0.35 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Bisolammy
$ 0.01 from @Wrinkle
+ 1
Sponsors of Gianna-B
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Gianna-B
1 year ago

Comments

Guilty of it when I use my phone not to accomplish my goals but to have always my leisure

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I get distracted easily especially when am trying to study. That's when I will remember I have messages or videos to watch, which I may end up not even watching them.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nice if you to control it. It happens to me too

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My major distraction is my phone and I'm trying as much as possible to limit it. There are times I have to keep some apps in the freezer for some days so as to be able to focus on whatever I'm doing.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Phone is really the biggest challenge 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Distractions are everywhere, I guess it's how we handle them. So sad that I'm so easy to be distracted anyway hehe.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I am too. Distraction must always come 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sometimes I promise myself to be focus but at the end of the day, I will get distracted. Like you said, watching tv is one of the ways to get distracted like I'm doing now

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Distraction must always come dear 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago