What future are you preparing for your offspring??

29 62
Avatar for George_Dee
2 years ago

I would have loved to make this article a general one, I think it would have been great if everyone can work collectively to make the future a better place for generations to come but a lot of people would definitely prove to be smart and it would see everyone's effort put to waste.

There is a story I read when I was younger, a lot of Nigerians would know the story. It was from a book we used in school title "Ijapa Tioroko oko Yanibo".


There was a celebration that was supposed to happen in the animal kingdom and all animals had to be involved, they were told to come along to the party with a keg of palm wine each. They will turn everything in a tank and they can all drink from it.

The day came and all animals prepared for the event, they got their palm wine ready but the tortoise got small palm wine and missed it with water hoping that when everything is mixed together, they won't know what he did.

He got there and turned his content into the tank like everyone else, the celebration started.

It was time for everyone to make a toast, everyone filled their cup from the tank and after toasting, they drank up. The reaction on everyone's face was terrible, why?

The drink tasted more of water than palm wine, tortoise thought he was the only smart guy and in the end, he wasn't. A lot of people choose to play smart when their task is a combined one with other unknowing to them that there are people who think like them and in the end, their fake effort leads to failure.

What's the point of the story?

Joining hands to make the future great for the coming generation would be best done individually because a lot of people would relax since they ain't the only ones involved.

The problem many of us had today is a result of not getting the adequate help we needed to fulfill our dreams.

I once shared how I wish to become a pilot, imagine I had the support then. I should be flying across the world today but it wouldn't be fair to blame our parents as well because they also struggled just like we are doing now and it is left for us to break the chain or tie it to our offspring for them to continue the struggles.


The world has changed from what it used to be, things ain't going in circulation anymore because the population of the world keeps expanding every day.

We have outnumbered the opportunities available in the world and if things are like this today, what do we expect the world to look like in two or three decades from now?


It has always been my concern what life would be like for my coming generation and I believe that it is the same for a lot of people as well.

Unlike before when education was the only thing our parents saw as a way out of poverty, they believed it was the only thing that guarantees a better future. It still does but not for everyone, I mentioned earlier that the opportunities available in the world ain't enough anymore.

There is a huge competition out there now and I fear how tough it would get as time goes.

If you don't know this, read and understand that the best way to prepare the future for your offspring is by:

•Preparing opportunities for them:

I have seen parents who would say that they can only prepare for their kid's future after they have enjoyed their own life to the fullest. There is nothing wrong with enjoying life but what comes of you when you can run around to earn a living for yourself, what would you be expecting from the kids you never cared for?

You have countless reasons why you should create opportunities for your offspring.


During my secondary school days, I had a friend who is from an average family. The father owned a sachet and bottled water company, he placed his kids as head there while he went searching for more investment.

This friend of mine was able to have a branch immediately after secondary school and his brand became a big one before he completed his higher Institution Education. His father already created an opportunity for him while he can, today this same guy now has over 10 branches on the mainland.


Imagine the father says he wants to be dependent on the boy, do you think the boy would be worried?

That's not the case, the point is that his father created the opportunity for him to excel in life. While we were struggling to go to school, he was paying his bills and while we were looking for a job to make ends meet, he was already paying people salaries.

It doesn't have to be creating a business, there are numerous ways we can create opportunities for our offspring but investing seems to be my best move.

-In a world where things are going completely digital, I will choose to invest in cryptocurrency for my offspring.

-Having a physical investment wouldn't be a bad idea, a business, a company or a brand with a long life span should be considered.

-Purchasing landed properties that can serve as an asset to them as time goes on, we all know how land and buildings appreciate these days, it would be of great help to them in the future.

•Give them a good chance among their competitors.

I said earlier about the world being a competitive place and we must give our offspring something that would give them an edge over their competitors.

How can you achieve this?

Not everyone would be able to own a business or company but we can empower these kids with the knowledge that would be of great help for them in the future.

Empowering them with skills and knowledge is one way to achieve this, many people indeed make sure their kids are educated but how relevant is the knowledge they have gotten from school in this competitive world.

Recently, I saw this little boy doing a tutorial video on crypto trading, and the first thing that came to my mind was that his parents have prepared him for the future. That knowledge would be of great help for him and he has an edge over his peers who knows nothing about cryptocurrency.

Aside from crypto, there are lots of life changing skills out there but ensure it is a skill that would be relevant decade after decade.

Lead image

19
$ 8.56
$ 7.94 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @annayks
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 13
Sponsors of George_Dee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for George_Dee
2 years ago

Comments

No matter how tough it would be, I think it is an obligation of a parent to secure a decent education for their kids.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are right because it is the basic foundation to a bright future, other things would be built on it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wish Nigerian parents can read this, though most don't have the financial capacity to support their children, but giving them the right to pursue what they desire and creating opportunities for them is a form of support.

I hope our Generation will do better...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Every parents should secure their children education, like me I was thinking and hoping that I can give her the best education that she deserve because innovations are getting wider and highest form of education is what they are looking now:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Even though I don't have plans yet, but I'm pretty sure when the time is right, I will give my child the best life he deserves. Better than mine.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As a mother all my dreams and plan is for my son, sometimes i already forgot what things can make me happy but this time seeing my son achievement are my most happiness things in my life,

$ 0.00
User's avatar Amz
2 years ago

It's really better to plan our future offspring but I think its not proper that our parents are the one who choose what our supposed to do. Yeah there right its for there kids future. But doin this and there kids didnt want it, its somewhat like your taking the things there wanted to be.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gone are the days where education is what is needed. I won't lie, the basic education is good but we should not force them to be something they don't want to be. I said a few times that rather than ask them what they want to be, we should ask them what problem they want to solve. Once they have a shift of perspective which would come from knowing who they are, it helps.

Empowering them and supporting their course of action because some people recognize their strength earlier but most parents kill the dream like you mentioned about being a pilot and as I have often mentioned about being a footballer.

I had opportunities of doing my masters by myself but I kicked against it because I know it's not what I wanted and if my parents were alive, trust me, they would have forced it as usual.

Parents need to let go of control - that desire to be right and worry about what their friends would think.

$ 0.07
2 years ago

You are well on point, there are instances when parents would compulsory their child to do a particular thing that is against their will. This is one thing that has killed a lot of dreams in Nigeria, parents would rather force their kids to do something else instead of investing in what they are passionate about.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's so true and annoying. A massive dream killer. This is why we are far behind. We focus on the wrong things.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will enjoy my life first before I think of getting married. Cos' when I'm finally married, responsibilities may not allow me do things as I want anymore. My children's future isinpirtant so I wouldn't make the mistake of mixing it with my personal pleasure.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Smart choice, not allowing pleasure to mix with child is a good thing buddy. Have fun.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, you too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'll take note on this. This is a big help, indeed. Thank you for this :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remember reading that story back then in primary school, and the point of the story reminded me of one thing I hate in the university; group projects! Some persons relax because they know other people are in the group, and sometimes I end up doing the whole thing and everyone gets the same mark.

And yes, we should all make the future great individually and everyone is to use which ever method he/she seems fit to raise their kids. That's one of the reason I'm working hard now so I can have enough money to open up opportunities for my future kids

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Smart choice buddy, I pray every thing you have planned comes to reality.

Group project is something else ooo, I had to bear the burden during my time but it paid off because while defending the project the judges observed I was the only one talking and they decided to ask my mates questions and it became a problem.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Amen to the prayers, and I wish same for you

These days if we are given a group project and I end up being only the one that's serious, I tell the rest to either pay some money or they contribute to the project before I can write their name on the document. Either you contribute academically or you do it financially 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hummn. What a read

Life has gone beyond the old times when they read and get job instantly.

Sometimes when I look at those of us graduating from the university, the population and how the country is going, no doubt one would know that education doesn’t guarantee a better life

Yeah our parents tried and we should always be grateful to them. They gave us an opportunity to learn and then come to sense to think out of the box and see more opportunities than education alone.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

There is a lot to learn outside the walls of the school, education is not enough to make one successful these days.

We have more opportunities than what was available for them then , it is left for us to utilize it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I agree to that bro We pray God continue to help us all

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We shouldn't allow our children to suffer at all, if that is what happens in our family, we should try and break the chain by praying and hardworking.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It is important that we end the suffering chain in our generation, we should change our orientation.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree with you its the responsibility of every parents to make their children prepared for future and to create opportunity for them to grow. I am glad to hear the way your friend's father had made his son successful by creating another opportunity.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

If we all see it as a responsibility and take it seriously, the world would be better place to live in for coming generations

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A put a grin on my face when I you talked about the story, it's been long though, that was when in was in Junior secondary school. Lots of things to learn from That book.

A word is enough for the wise, I just wish the article can be pass all rounder so that everyone will see, at least we think about the future of our children this was, the rate at which poverty bombard the world now will be reduced, but not everybody think the same way.

Majority of parents want to be balanced before they will think about their children, what is even the possibility that they will plan for children future if they okay , at least they should start somewhere

If each parents failed in their duty, then when will the nation change if everyone thinking is the same thing, then the case will end up like that of tortoise. We keep on to follow the dark part with a blind hope, it's time to change our initiative and think about a better future for the upcoming Generation.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Nothing will be done or let me say, nothing will change if we don't take the steps the previous generation refuse to take.

It is important we prepare the future ahead for our children not because we might be relying on them later but they will also have something worth passing to the next generation after them as well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gbam! You hit the nail on it's head. A secure future start now , daddy , mummy come and see something 😂🙈

$ 0.00
2 years ago