Consumed By My Own Greed

13 69

We all strive for different goals in life as we hold on to our end goal of achieving the happiness that we desire by acquiring the things and small goals that we set for ourselves. For every adult, the cost of living could be a real complete nightmare. As for me, I was introduced to the concept of providing for myself without relying on my parents' wallets as a young adult little by little. I was still living with them and working on my degree as a college student, but after giving it some thought, I've decided that I need to earn for my own sake since it is part of being an adult.

But before anything else, I'd like to extend my gratitude to my sponsors for her support, and you can visit her accounts to read the interesting pieces.

Sponsors of GelayyLumiere
empty
empty
empty

I took a Bachelor of Science in Hospitality Industry, it was my dream to serve tourists and guests as well as to travel around the globe. Even if today's education went over the concept of virtual learning I still need to provide a lot of things as well as goods that I needed for my performance task where I needed to demonstrate a lot of things such as the proper way of serving wine and how a mother soup and its derivatives prepare. For these reasons I found many ways to earn such as having a sideline. In a long run, I already save enough to buy things that I needed as half of it was used as capital for my Gcash business and some of it was just stored in my savings account.

My sideline isn't exactly passive in financial terms, but I'm happy with what I'm doing to generate profits. Last month I was notified by my friend about an investment that she was into, it was a reverse betting platform that promises its user to gain 4% to 5% of the profit a day. Of course, I was knowledgeable in this kind of fraud. It was too good to be true to earn that much by just doing nothing. My friend shared her experience saying that this platform that she was into really pays out. Day by day I become more and more curious about it, I gave myself much time to think about it, and then here is where my risk-taker character comes in and decided to partake in that so-called investment.

LMB FOOTBALL REVERSE BETTING GAME

This platform was introduced to us as a charity investment, they showered us much information about them saying that this platform was established in this country and they went over that country before they reach the Philippines. To be a member of this "investment" a new user must sign in and deposit an amount which is at least 300 pesos (6 dollars). I was terrified at first, thinking that they could shut down the system at any time and take the money we invested in their platform. However, this fear of mine gradually turns into excitement as my profits increase day by day.

I was blinded by money, but I couldn't call myself a victim since I was the one who took the risk. I was easily manipulated by money, with my goal of saving for a washing machine for my mother. Providing them with a washing machine that would help them save time while working is one of my main goals, and this investment tempted me to spend a lot of money on it. It was my fault, I became overly greedy and lost sight of the potential consequences of my decisions. I've been feeling guilty up until today, and I regret entering such a platform knowing the potential effects.

This is a life lesson that I will remember and use to help me make better decisions in the future. I hope that this article has made you more aware of such fraud and always remember that there is no such thing as an easy money-making investment.


You can check a few of my previous works here

Disclaimer: I am neither a psychologist nor a financial advisor, and all of my pieces were done for entertainment purposes only. What I've written here is merely my personal opinion, and any statements made are based on my personal views and should not be taken as fact. Always do your due diligence.

Support and Follow me here:

https://read.cash/@GelayyLumiere

https://noise.cash/u/Gelayy

6
$ 0.09
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
$ 0.02 from @Momentswithmatti
$ 0.02 from @HermaniGinger
Sponsors of GelayyLumiere
empty
empty
empty

Comments

you. may charge it to experience dear.. we all go through that and then we learn

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indeed, and I learned a lot through that experiences

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Uy, naririnig ko rin tong organization na to. Andami na nga nilang na scam. Once na rin akong nabudol ng networking and it thought me a lot of lessons. Now I am applying that. Di na ako papaloko pa.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Learn from experience talaga, thankful ako kasi may nakuha akong lesson pero nakakapanghinayang pa rin

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have been there. I also done this kind of mistakes and we cannot blame ourselves as we only wanted to earn. The only downside was we didn't think about the kind of risk we participated as instead of avoiding being involved with fraud we still allow our greediness to manipulate us. We still wants an easy money. Well the experience still serves us a lesson and hopefully there's no more next time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hoping too that this would be the last to experience such fraud

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't know about that and I already stop believing in too good to be true. Even LEEFIRE , one that is about taking orders but you need to top up 500 to such amount in order to earn more. Up until now I haven't received my money that I withdraw

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's exactly what happened to us when we attempted to make a withdrawal, but they ran us the next day.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Was it proven as a Ponzi scheme? If not, then I guess you should try and see what happens. I wish you could buy that washing machine for your mom.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It was a kind of a Ponzi scheme, how sad that my goal would take much longer than I expected since I lost a lot in that platform's so-called investment.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lessons learned. I joined something like that in the past and I lost money as well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Now, why is this the case? You have to make decisions with a warm heart and a cool head. And calculate your risks at the at the start or when making any of any decision. And risk assessment is always analytics, mathematics and maximum disconnection of emotions. Plus a high degree of professionalism. That is, you have to manage your emotions.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Right, I'm still discovering my emotions, and I'm still having trouble making decisions. I've made compulsive decisions in the past that have gotten me into trouble, and I need to change that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago