Adventure of Flavors

16 34

I love trying out new foods not just from my country but also from different parts of the world.

My passion for anime and manga has inspired me to become a Japanese food fanatic. I was able to try some of it because of globalization, despite the fact that some food and beverage products were made in the Philippines. Well, I know that some of the flavors I get from the food I tried may be a poor imitation of the authentic, but I was still excited to try it. Takoyaki, Sushi, Mochi, and Ramen are the most familiar foods to me, and I usually order them at restaurants that serve them, such as Tokyo-Tokyo. But my curiosity doesn't stop there; it takes over and I've been purchasing products like these online.

But before anything else, I'd like to extend my gratitude to my sponsors for their support, and you can visit their accounts to read the interesting pieces.

Sponsors of GelayyLumiere
empty
empty
empty

It's the candy featured in Studio Ghibli's Grave of the Fireflies; this one cost me nearly 200 pesos; I know it's expensive for just candy, but the satisfaction of having it was unforgettable for me. It was a fruit-flavored candy that was no different from the candy we have here in the Philippines; what makes it so valuable to me is that it feels like I am already experiencing the excitement of a little Setsuko for having that candy in the movie.

I also purchase natto, which is currently on-trend for those people on Tiktok. According to Michael Shimizu, a half-Filipino, half-Japanese Tiktok influencer who I followed, this soy fermented bean is healthy and although it may taste a bit bitter to those who are used to eating it, they claim to love it, those who are not used to it would undoubtedly find it unpleasant. It comes in a set of three and cost me about 100 pesos. Despite Shimizu senpai's admonition, I still buy it and I'm eager to give it a try. I merrily tried it with rice as soon as I got my package, and to be completely honest, I totally regret it. It doesn't taste good, has a slimy texture, is bitter, and leaves a strong aftertaste in your mouth. Senpai was correct. Even though I don't particularly enjoy the taste, I must force myself to finish the remaining natto because throwing it away would be a waste. Even after trying to flavor it with soy sauce, I still wasn't pleased with the way it tasted but thankfully I was able to finish all those three natto.

It's quite a hassle if you've ever purchased food you didn't like, but I'm still pleased to try it even if others don't like the taste. Trying new foods was like riding a roller coaster road, it's a risk to take but I'm willing to take that risk just to be able to explore different foods and beverages from different places. I don't currently have a budget, so I don't buy the products I want first. Instead, I'll prioritize saving for the time being, though I'm eager to try new foods soon.


You can check a few of my previous works here

Disclaimer: I am neither a psychologist nor a financial advisor, and all of my pieces were done for entertainment purposes only. What I've written here is merely my personal opinion, and any statements made are based on my personal views and should not be taken as fact. Always do your due diligence.

Support and Follow me here:

https://read.cash/@GelayyLumiere

https://noise.cash/u/Gelayy

7
$ 0.22
$ 0.14 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @LykeLyca
$ 0.02 from @Momentswithmatti
+ 2
Sponsors of GelayyLumiere
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Nice! Gusto ko ma try sis!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Try nyo din po mag-explore g iba't ibang pagkain sobrang worth it po kapag may nagustuhan kayong pagkain

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I hope I could visit Japan for real to taste the authenticity of its flavors!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Naiyak ako sa movie na Grave of Fireflies huhu! Di kinaya ng heart ko. That candy reminds me of that movie too! Isa sa favorite Ghibli movies ko rin is yung Princess Mononoke.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

At least masarap tingnan. Hehe. Try ko din yan pag may enough extra money na huhu

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Dito sa lugar namin wlang Japanese/Chinese resto pero pg dumadayo kami sa dvao tska pa kami mkakain ng gnyan hehehe. Pero yoko sa sobrang spicy di ko kakayanin.. Yung totoong ramen gusto ko tlga matikman.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ayaw ko talaga sa tokyo tokyo, yung unli rice lang naenjoy ko jan yung may bento meal. Hate ko yung ramen nila sa totoo lang mahal for its price and mas masarap ka pang matitikman na authentic ramen sa iba. Feeling ko di worth it ng pera kumain dun, except sa unli rice Hahahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lagi ako dumadaan sa Tokyo-Tokyo pero di pa talaga ako naka try kumain diyan pero marami na akong natikman na Japanese foods langga that's why I love it so much. One is the Takoyaki and Ramen. These are my favorite.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

i was able to go to tokyo back in 2019 and food is quite expensive but we were able to get a taste of authentic ramen..its so delish!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hoping that I could also go to Japan near in the future

$ 0.00
1 year ago

if you set your mind, you can achieve it! go for it sis!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yung nabasa ko yung ramen si naruto agad pumasok sa isip ko hahah😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Actually my ramen shop dito sa kalapit city namin they offered Naruto Inspired Ramen hindi ko pa naiitry pero gustong gust ko syang puntahan haha nagbabakasakali din ako na baka nadoon ang Rock Lee ng buhay ko hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahahahah bat namn si Rock Lee kung pwedi namang si Sasuke hihih mas pogi daw yun haha.

Dito sa amin walang ganyan ehh. Sarap cguro yang ramen nayan.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nahh haha I think mas cool ang character ni Rock Lee at ang cute nya

Sobra po iba sa tipikal na noodles lang

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang OA ni Rock Lee kasi minsan, parihong pariho sila ng teacher niya🤣🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago