Self control

34 77
Avatar for Gaftekloriginal
2 years ago

Self-control is the ability to control yourself, to be able to act according to reason instead of emotion. This can be defined as the ability to moderate one's impulses and urges and exercise restraint upon one's desires and passions.

The definition of self-control (or "self-regulation") has philosophical and scientific origins. In philosophical terms, it refers to the ability to control one's actions or behaviour in the face of temptation or desire. This definition can also be extended to control over one's emotions and over the ability to persist at a task. Traditionally, self-control has been seen as a virtue, as opposed to self-indulgence.

Self-control may also refer to the control one exerts over oneself, on behalf of other people, or behalf of an organization or country. Self-control can also be linked with personal ego strength.

Every one of us has in the past and continue to live up a life. We go on and experience situations that go from bad to worse. But in this challenge called life, there are some things we can do to fight our way through the negativity and overcome it. Self-control is one of the characteristics that we can learn to develop and it will help us reach bigger and brighter goals in life.

Self-control is the ability to control one's emotions, behaviour, or appetite in the face of temptations and impulses. It is mental toughness. Self-control requires understanding and accepting the consequences of one's actions. Self-control is important in developing habits that can contribute to success in life. The following are some examples of self-control: resisting the urge to spend money; not eating sweets; avoiding substances that alter mood or behaviour, such as tobacco and drugs; not using dangerous or destructive methods to express anger.

Self-control is the ability to control one's emotions or actions in the face of strong impulses toward behaviour that is contrary to one's values, goals, or interests. It involves inhibition, effortful control, the ability to think before acting, and the ability to resist temptations and distraction.

Everyone has a little self-control inside of them. The question is, how much? "Self-control" is the most common trait cited by people who describe themselves as ambitious.

The ability to be a self-starter - an inherent quality in so many good leaders - is a function of self-control. The irony is that when I was writing this blog post and thinking about ways to give myself and others an exercise in self-control, I made and ate an entire (gorgeous) doughnut with chocolate frosting and sprinkles๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿ˜….

We know self-control is a great skill to possess. It allows us to keep our composure in stressful situations, remain focused on hard tasks and not act on our every desire. It's one of the cornerstones of self-discipline. But how exactly do we cultivate this skill and how do we develop it?

An article was written by the experts at More Than Good Intentions. They suggest that the first step is to have an awareness of your actions. This means being aware of the times when you lose control and the things that lead to it. Self-control is the ability to be able to control oneself, especially one's actions and behaviours. Self-control can be defined as the ability of a person to inhibit their impulses. It is related to having self-discipline and self-restraint. Self-control is generally believed to be learned, though genetics also play a role in one's ability to self-regulate.

I can't tell you how many times in my life I wished I could stop myself from saying what I shouldn't have or should have just not given a damn. I can't tell you how many times in my life I wished I could stop myself from doing what I didn't need to. Those are moments of weakness. Moments where you don't control yourself or your life. I was just like you, a kid looking for someone to tell them how to live their life, how to deal with their issues and problems, why things happened to them and why they happened the way they did.

Self-control is the ability to control oneself. A person with self-control is usually able to achieve their goals and is not easily discouraged by failures, obstacles or criticism. Indeed, through self-discipline, a person gains control of his or her desires and impulses, rather than vice versa โ€“ thus making them much more likely to succeed in any field of endeavour in which those goals are important.

Self-control is related to the concepts of patience, self-regulation and discipline (which can be seen as different aspects of the same thing). The concept overlaps with internal repression and behavioural inhibition, although not all psychologists agree these are the same thing as self-control. In modern psychology, disinhibition may be considered as a part of executive functions.

Thanks for reading and remain blessed.

Bye for now ๐Ÿฅฐ๐Ÿฅฐ๐Ÿฅฐ.

5th January 2022.

26
$ 4.67
$ 4.22 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
$ 0.05 from @ZehraSky
+ 11
Sponsors of Gaftekloriginal
empty
empty
Avatar for Gaftekloriginal
2 years ago

Comments

Self control is what defines a man. Most times we are referred the way we are seen outside. If you can't control your urge when faced with alcohol, definitely an "alcoholic tagged" will be sticked to your name, you may not know instantly but people have gotten you with that already. What about money? Not all those that thief are followed by the spirit of stealing, some can't just say NO to hand and mind when they're about to collect someone's money.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is a really insightful article on self control... Well written friend...

$ 0.01
2 years ago

while I was still Small, I get angry easily without having a reasonable meaning of doing that coz, I can't even control myself. Luckily, as I grew older, I found out that everything turn good, that I can control myself and get rid of getting angry easily. That's when things started going well for me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Self-control requires a lots has being able to take perfect and complete control of one emotions, behaviors and speech. If all this can be controlled with knowledge and understanding one has itโ€™s full self-control/regulation.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes you are right self control is an important part of our life we need to be able to control our self in times of anger, happiness or anytime at all

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Self control is like an internal force we have on the inside that controls our outer person which is reflected in our behaviours that are aimed at others especially when they get us angry

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I believe that there is so much to do in reaching one's goals and objectives in life. Everyone in a way or the other has been a victim of the choice they don't want to make. Not falling victim again requires self-control and this is a choice to be committed to. It pays when you haven't done it before, as they say, prevention is better than cure.

Self-control is hard work but it becomes part of you when you are used to looking away from that which will make you fall, victim. So, looking away most time also helps you strengthen your self-control on matters of concern.

Peace โœŒ๏ธ

OkanlaDavid

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks for your contribution, I love this

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When you are at the table full of many different types of food and you eat the way you normally eat, that is also self-control, some people might start missing what they don't know and eat till there is no space in their stomach ๐Ÿ˜…

$ 0.01
2 years ago

๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿ˜…another angle with a great example. I love it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Self control has really helped me a lot, but it's not always easy when what you want to have a control over has already become an habit and you know, habit is more challenging to deal with, it will take more self determination to have self control over such habit

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You are right, is not easy to control one habit with just self-control, it requires determination too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

(Sighs) that's the trait I'm lacking.. Self control is what I need. I isually got upset

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You really need to work towards it, self-control saves us from many things

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If only we can manage our actions very well

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes and we ned to train ourself towards it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

One of my mantras this year ๐Ÿ˜Š

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I am happy to hear that๐Ÿค—

$ 0.00
2 years ago

thank you, Gaf!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are welcome ma

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I admit that I sometimes lose my control especially when I'm mad but I'll try to work this out.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I am glad you said you will work on it, you really need to

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree, self-control is a great factor in achieving your goal, whatever and whichever it is. Nice topic indeed!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you my friend, thanks for the engagement

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When I was in my younger years, I admit that I do not have self-control especially when I talk. I do not think twice before talking. Now that I am an adult, I should be sensitive to what I am talking about because not all people are tough. Great article!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You are right, while growing up, not everyone will be able to control oneself but when growing up, it is one of the attributes that should grow with us

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Most hard one. When you control yourself it means you are controlling your soul, your intense, your desire. Well written.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, self-control controls everything about us generally

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Anyone who doesn't have the spirit of self control is lacking and needs to pray for it. Because once you can control yoursekf, then you can have a smooth life.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You are right, self-control saves us from a lot of things, it makes our life easy. It takes prayers if we don't have it naturally

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's good to have self control as a virtue. And you have dealt in-depthly with the topic.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I know right, it's a great virtue

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You really hit it hard on the topic... How much self control do I have?

It's indeed a question everyone should ask themselves

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hmmm, a great question everyone should ask themselves, self-evaluation question

$ 0.00
2 years ago