“Back in my day, we…”?

70 70
Avatar for Eylz2021
2 years ago

September 18, 2021

We all have different kinds of communities. How we grew up, how we play during our younger years, how we go to school, and even how our parents raise us. Kids nowadays are more advance than what we had when I was younger. The kid's generations now are more on gadgets. Online classes, online games, online research, and even some jobs are done online too.

In this article I will share with you how do we do it back in my days. How we enjoy the outdoor with other kids and how we live life back then.

Kids playing piko

source

Back in my day, we play piko (hopscotch) outside of our houses. Since we are living in a compound my cousins and I can freely play around the compound and one of our favorite games is this. We used different "pamato", my cousin likes using a hard rubber-like material used in flip flops, the other wants a flat stone while I like using banana peel. Why banana peel? Because it doesn't bounce when thrown on the ground. We had so much fun playing outside then, obesity among kids back then is not common since most are active playing ourside.

we go to library for research

source

Back in my day, we go to library when we have assignments. We do our research in the library because that's the only place where we can get the answer to all of our assignments. We learn to use book catalogue to find the books that we need. Our parent's back then invest in encyclopedia and dictionary for us to have reference books at home aside from the books that was given by the school. Kids nowadays are so lucky for they can they don't need to have encyclopedia or even go to libraries if they need to do they are assignments. They can find everything online, all they have to do is searched for the topic that they need and they will have all the resources that tooks us a lot of time to find back then.

video city

source

Back in my day, we can only watch movies in the cinema or we have to wait after 6 months before we can find the movie that we want in video city where we can rent a copy of the movie that is in VHS tapes or CDs. We can rent the tape for 24 hours and then we have to return it the following day for it not to incur penalty. If you don't have VHS player or CD player you cannot watch any movie unless you'll wait for it to be shown on Sunday night special where they play blockbuster movies. I remember we have a betamax player then VHS tapes player followed by CDs and now all you have to do is subscribe in Netflix and voila! you'll found movies that you want to watch.

source

Back in my day, we are already happy if we have a game & watch. The first electronic game that Nintendo release. My first hand held game & watch was the egg catching and then the octopus. Me and my cousins will fight over on who will use it first because we only have one unit to play with until such time that my Dad bought me a a new one. Another hand held game is the tetris and the brick game. Those days were really fun, days that we are connected with each other physically and mentally unlike now a days that people are connected online but rarely talked with each other in real life.

Back in my day, we have fun thru talking to each other face to face, watching the tv together, doing the house chores together and eating every meal together. We also do call each other thru landline phone but we prefer to be together in each others house or sometimes just outside the house playing different kinds of outdoor games. Those were the days when life are simpler.

What about you? What’s your “Back in my day, we…”? Share your back in my day story and don't forget to tag me and let's laugh together on our memories of yesterday.


Thanks for your time reading this article, if you enjoy reading it hope you're gonna click that button to like and subscribe. You may also drop a comment down below so we can talk for a bit.

©Eylz2021|#ClubBrokeBCH

Let's go for a #betterSeptember

All Original content unless specified otherwise ;)

24
$ 9.59
$ 8.64 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @Pichi28
$ 0.10 from @Bloghound
+ 17
Sponsors of Eylz2021
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Eylz2021
2 years ago

Comments

Very true Eylz, back in those days was such fun. No internet just living life to the fullest. Kids now are so lazy, no libraries no theatres as all are available in one click in the electronic gadget. I remember going to open theaters not to watch movie but to meet a good lot of friends such fun.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh! Nkaka miss mga panahon na un. Naalala ko grabe ako ka adik sa brickgame dati hahah! Napalo pa ako dahil nyan.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

hahahaha sobrang nakakamiss.. ako sa rubber band napalo lolz

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We are so separated in the world, physically, on different continents, different cultures, way of dressing, eating, etc. But we are human, and we know how to love. That is the most important. We are one.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

yep.. that is true.. . by the way.. may I know where you from?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Of course friend. I am from Central America. The other side of the world

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I sincerely miss my childhood and would trade my current life for my childhood without a second thought... major part of it was my dad and grand father were alive and life wasn't a douche bag towards me.. I miss my old days

$ 0.03
2 years ago

same here.... i'll trade my current life for those days... miss my dad, my grand father and my mom too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hugs :)))

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Medyo sosyal mga laruan mo noon sis heheh sa akin non holen,tex, tao tao na laruan,rubber band,pogs and mesdyo high tech na sa akin noon ay yung break game hehe masaayng msaya nko sa mg laruan n yun. Sa labas nman nilalaro nmain tagu taguan, step not. Mga ganun tas uwian na na may tuwa at hindi malilimutang experience sa araw na yun.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

meron din ako paper dolls nun hehehe pero d ako nakapaglaro ng holen at tex.. hahaha may memories din ako sa rubber band lol

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oo sis may pagkaboyish kasi ako noon kya yan mga laruan ko noon hehhe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakakamiss naman po talaga maging bata ulit. Laro laro lang like piko isa sa favorite kong laruin 😊.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

oo tsaka yung tumbang preso hehehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wahhhh, Piko, and some other laro like Chinese Garter, Tumbang Preso, luksong Baka and more. Ahhh, I missh those time 🤕

$ 0.03
2 years ago

sama mo pa luksong tinik hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ughh, namiss ko yung piko sis nung nasa Manila pa kami yan nilalaro namin sa kalsada. Dito kasi sa probinsya di msyadong uso eh.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

ay talaga... dito uso yun dati tapos yung kusong tinik at luksong baka hehehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naabutan ko pa ung VideoCity noon, kasama ko ung pinsan ko na magrerent sana ng cds. Ngayon netflix nalang ang pinagpapasahan haha. Sa library namin madalas pahingahan din at minsan may group study pa.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

taguan ang library eh... pag may activity na ayaw samahan... sa library magtatago lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

dati yung purpose ng library nagagamit talaga, pero ngayon ginawa nng tulugan hahah hays, those days na yung inaalala ko lang ang kung paano maka takas kay mama para hindi ako patulugin HAHA

$ 0.03
2 years ago

hahahaa oo nga ano.. tapos ngayon gustong gusto matulog sa tanghali d pwede lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I missssss this a lot. Piko talaga yung best game before. Buti pwede sa inyo iba iba gamitin na pamato po. Samin bato lang talaga e. Tas yung sa library, true din. Ang hirap pa maghanap kailangan by number. Pero nakakamiss talaga. Kaso di ko na natry yung about sa cinema.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Ang bilis kasi ng upgrade ng mga movie storage eh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo nga din po. Pero nakakamiss talaga yung nakaraan ay.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We had those same games with other names, we also played metras (marbles), in the evenings I collected colored congorochos (insects) to make racing competitions with them. First console game Pong, followed by Atari, it belonged to a friend, there was no way to buy those games at home.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I remember tying the insect by the head just to make it fly lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Back in the day, we go to our neighbor's house to watch tv. We go to the beach to swim every day during summer. We play patintero, tumbang preso, etc. all day during weekends. I miss those days.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Same here miss those days

$ 0.00
2 years ago

:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Masayang balik -balikan yong noon..Pero ang hindi ko lang ata nalaro nong bata ako..itong piko..ewan ko kung bakit.hahahah..Lagi kasing bahay-bahayan yong nilalaro namin tsaka yong patentiro...Minsan naman yong tagu-taguan..Naalala ko tuwing gabi at may buwan kami naglalaro ng tagu-taguan para daw mahirap hanapin.hahah

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hahaha oo pag gabi tapos biglang magkakatakutan

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahah tama po kayo.Minsan dalawa kayong magkasama tapos bibiruin ka ng kasama iiwanan..Nakakakatakot talaga pero masaya.😂😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Life was so different I remember my late 80's and 90's. These were my favorite decades. I played with the same things you mentioned and yes library was there for us to get information or to take out books. Nice nostalgic article.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yep my fave decade too.... when connection means get together physically

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Football was very common in my age group, we used to play matches among ourselves all the time.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Game for the boys 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Back in the day, I'm labot-hangin in playing patentero and bahay-bahayan. But now when my childhood friends would reminisce those days by sharing photos they won't tag me on it.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Why is that?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We also did those things, except for the library and Nintendo :D We climbed trees, we jumped over slopes, we played rubber bands, marbles, trucks, jumping ropes, lol!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hahahaha got a funny story with rubber bands

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Do share, lol!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My mom boiled it! Just because my arm is full of it from wrist to elbow 😂😂😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahahaha :D that's a good memory and very funny too hihihi

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabe antalino nyo po dun ah! Hahahha yung ginawa nyo pong pamato yung balat ng saging haahha. Diko po yun natry dati pero sigurado magagalit po mga kalaro ko nun dahil matatalo ko sila hahhaha. Nagkaroon din po ako ng brick game dati yung lumalabo na po yung screen pag luma na yung battery kaya kailangan bumili ulit ng battery nya para magamit at luminaw ulit hahhaha.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

hhahaha oo yung ang bilis maka ubos ng battery lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahha kaya nga po buti medyo mura pa po ang batteries noon di po katulad ngayon ang mahal na.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remember the days me and my sisters paying hide and seek inside the house and "bahay-bahay" and also "Tinda-tinda" sis... Nakakamiss yung mga araw na yun..

$ 0.03
2 years ago

oo naman... ganun na laro lang masaya na tayo nun

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo nga sis sobra talaga...🥰 Yan lagi ginagawa namin...😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In my childhood, I spent a lot of time outside playing with my cousins. I remember when my dad bought the first Betamax, and it was great to watch movies whenever we wanted. I watched The Sound of Music so many times, lol. And I remember getting hooked on Tetris for a long time.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

we really had so much fun watching the sound of music.. even up to now... i still love watching it. and yes the tetris! i was so hooked with it back then

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I haven't watched The Sound of Music in a long time. Maybe it's time to watch it again. ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naalala ko Yung video city na iyan Yung rerentahan mo pa Yung vcd haha.

$ 0.03
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

oo tapos pakasawa ka sa panonood ng 24 hours hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya nga haha. Elementary days yon e.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

I can relate to a lot of things in your writing and even though I'd like to write about this but I think it won't be much different compared to how kids nowadays did hehe.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

well... it's back in your days... it may not be much different but I'm sure you have those special memories during those days...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lols lols lols .. uh oh ... Throwback!! Ang saya!!! That library thing! Wah..it flashed back!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

yung magkikita kayo ng crush mo sa library hahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha... Lols. Crush ko di napasok ng lib.. nasa court parati.. maganda view ng court mula sa lib lols hahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ahahaahahanparang ung crush ko naman nun malapit sa library yung class room nila hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Back in the day, we used to go to the river to swim with my cousins, pick some shells, rocks, and even tadpoles. Back in the day, we play all day in the dirt (sometimes we pee on the dirt and make pancakes lol) Back in the day, we rose with the sun, like roosters and came in for the night when the streetlights turned on...I could go on....

$ 0.03
2 years ago

those are the hell lot of fun days... when we don't mind being dirty and still playing outside

$ 0.00
2 years ago

sobrang itim na ng shirt pag-uwi, sis. Puting puti lumabas eh hehe. I miss the good old days!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahaha tsaka hanggat may araw nasa labas ng bahay

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gone are the days . now naman, back in your day 😁 mkasulat nga kpg wala na maisip

$ 0.03
2 years ago

yep... gone are the days...sobrang ibang iba lang talaga yung noon at ngayon

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I cant wait to see other post like this maybe I will even write mine!!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

yep... why not :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago