My Upwork Journey Finally Begins

54 98
Avatar for Eybyoung
1 year ago

I've started my Upwork journey finally Noob Exploring Upwork, I thought the client who gave me a paid test which is $5, already ghosted me. Although, the guy said they would love to work with me. I am still doubtful because I was a bit disappointed with my test result as it didn't pass on the percentage score they required.

But maybe the client witnessed I am active and that I am eager to write as I submitted the test article right away. The guy said he'll give me “new requirements” by Monday. I thought he was just kidding as he didn't send details right away, to my surprise he sent it at 10 PM last Monday.. my client was from Canada.

After he sent the details I asked him if there was any deadline and I was awed that he wants me to send it in only a day “Wtf! Am I a writer machine!?” I asked for two days, as I was thinking I can do it for at least two days.

He sent me 10 topics including the SEO keyword. Five of it has 1000 words minimum requirements while the other 5 have 800 words, imagine that. it's 10 long articles!

After I started writing, I estimated the time, I estimated edited that I can't finish it until Wednesday since he sent the details a little late. I just said I'll do the best I can to finish all of it.

Just yesterday, he asked for an update I told him I only finished 6 articles. Then, I sent him the folder of the 6 articles in my Google Drive. He did not reply, I asked him if he saw it already or not and he said to me this morning,

“Hi, all content is good!

But you did not insert keywords as I told you in doc”

I was happy, although he said I did not insert the keywords, maybe he missed it. I edited all. Some keywords must be mentioned only twice or 3x so it's not much work. I was happy that my contents are already good.

I did search how to write SEO content, making my written outcome better than my paid test. I was glad, my efforts in learning has good results.

So, I edited the 6 articles and did research again about “How to insert SEO Keywords properly on content ” and boom, I've learned a lot.

I've learned there is LSI (latent semantic Indexing), Stopping words, and what Meta description is!

I've learned that SEO (Search Engine Optimization) content titles should only have 50-70 characters that can be readable in SERPs (Search Engine Ranking Pages) and that Meta description has maximum 160 characters only.

Lantent Semantic Indexing are the ways to insert keywords but not the exact words, like you have to write few different words before inserting keywords.. it's like inserting keywords separately.

While stopping words are the words you'll insert on the keywords given so it doesn't make any wrong grammar or doesn't looks like a typo words.

The client said he doesn't like the LSI so I just insert the keywords as it is but added stopping words so it doesn't make wrong grammar or doesn't look like a typo words.

Actually, the pay is very cheap. But I grab it for the sake of learnings and experience. It was my first ever client as freelance writer and in Upwork. Finally, after this experience I can confidently say “I am an experience SEO writer” on my next client hunting.

Beginning on pursuing something is always hard, but like pro freelance writers said “don't think about earnings first when you are starting, think about learnings and experience in the process.” Some even started doing free work on others just to get experience while I got paid a little while learning.

I thought the client was a beast, but they were just actually accepting whatever I can finish as they didn't say anything when I said I only finish 6 instead of 10. The client already uploaded new milestones for me, once everything is settled they'll pay me.

Well, writing 6,113 words in two days is already considerable. Writing unknown topic and just basing on site content is not that easy. You have to read the site content and construct your own content. It was a lil bit tough thinking the deadline scheduled given was tight.

I am not SEO writer, everyone knows that but on my application I said “I am familiar in SEO” which lead me to finally learning it on the spot. Want to learn new skills? RESEARCH is the key!

After mastering SEO, I'll proceed on learning how to be a Pro Copywriter. I'll take everything step by step!

Until then, I'll keep learning and honing my writing skills to find more clients in the future.

Whatever you like to pursue, always believe in yourself and never give up. Start from small, sooner you'll be able to handle bigger project when your skills are fully ready and mastered!

I thank God for all the wisdom and knowledge He gave and will give to me!

31
$ 8.12
$ 7.59 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @PVMihalache
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 13
Sponsors of Eybyoung
empty
empty
Avatar for Eybyoung
1 year ago

Comments

That is awesome and great job. How much you got for the whole job ... I don't have any account there but I heard it need you to buy something (don't know name) that needed for sending proposal... Is it? By the way Congratulations for the step in to Upwork.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Good for you. It is very difficult getting clients sometimes.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So mao diay nay mga meaning ana nila diay..now I know thanks for the info madam and good luck sa new journey nimo

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Was it $5 per article? Honestly, for starters, the minimum pay is at least $10. And yes, businesses often ask freelancers to create 10 to 15 articles in a day which isn't honestly workable. Nevertheless, I am glad that you are trying different things and was working your way to learning more. Wishing you all the best!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you, yeah..I know the offer is quite low. But for experience it's better than nothing since I'm not that skilled yet

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I used to be a SEO content writer back in the days. I started in 2009. Is that $5 for 10 articles? I started $1 per 100 words.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's $5 per article only 🤦 but I just grab since I don't have that experience yet.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang dami abusive clients dyan na they will ask for a 800-1000 word articles X 10 as you mentioned with 2 days turn around time.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Galing nakafirst step ka na. Sakto talaga. Never mind the pay at first sa mga susunod lang kapag makapagdemand ka na. Besides importante talaga magresearch para mas mabihasa tayo. Enjoy your upwork then. God bless.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Congrats! Ang galing nman. Learnings nmn tlga dapat inuuna bago $. Unti-unti lang, enjoy mo lng ang journey. Next thing u'll know u'll be earning 6digits dahil mamaw ka na tlga.yiiieeh

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo kasi di pa naman talaga ako skilled writer.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha sana nga marating ko yang 6 digits soon 🤣 sa ngayon sa Tig $5 na lang muna hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Heheh kaya yan😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Uyy congrats sis. Good job for a newbie like you. You are indeed passionate about it cause you are very eager to learn about them. And I learn from you, just now I know what's the meaning of SEO and become interested in learning about it and how to write content for SEO. might be useful in the future.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, you can practice SEO writing and post it here then.. you can use it as your reference soon if you like to pursue freelancing.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

In 2017 I opened account on upwork site and tried here for several months but my patience is little so I couldn't last long there. But to be honest, I didn't have much skill at that time. I hope you do well there. Best wishes.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kaya cguro di ako nagtatagal sa ibang blogging platforms kasi yung earnings agad nasa isip ko huhu

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Dapat di ganon, kasi when you expect big earnings..mawawalan ka nang gana pag di na meet earnings expectations mo.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Aweee. Baby steps sis. Hindi mo mamamalayan ang panahon easy na lang yan sayo.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo sis baby steps talaga, I'll just enjoy my baby steps 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have created my account in upwork too, just this day, hehe, I don't think if I can have client, I am on research about everything, just like what you've mentioned here. More clients to come for you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Just take it slow, finding client is hard especially if it's your first time talaga.. ako last year pa ako nag open account dyan last month lang ako nagbalik haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Congrats! Keep it up! Easy peasy lang to sayo. :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you MJ, finally nasimulan ko na rin ang Upwork journey ko haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

dagdag ka busyhan mo na yan. :) enjoy sa journey. :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

UPWORK is fun. Enjoy and learn a lot. !

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you Pichi! I will.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Naku kayang kaya mo yan madam

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hehe yes madam, kakayanin.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Did he pay you your payment?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes he did

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nakakabilib naman ma'am eybyoung. Yung hindi ka nag focus sa pay kundi sa learnings na matutunan mo kasi it helps you to improve yourself. Nakakaproud po. ❤️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo sis needed ganyan mindset pag nag umpisa pa lang pag pera kasi e expect agad masasaktan lang tayo haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Totoo yan ma'am eybyoung. Dapat yung ganyang mindset ang dapat ma'am.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I hope you could share your experiencess soon on how to be an SEO writer eyb. Congratulations! May you have a grear upwork journey. You are amazing.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sure, I'll try to outline an article how to be a SEO writer soon☺️ thank you so much!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Woah, I love your mindset sis. Mahirap talaga sa umpisa but with patience, consistency, and determination, you can make it. ❤ Fighting!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you sis, kailangan talaga ganyan para di susuko agad haha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

tungod nimo sis ako jud gpaningkamotan nga marecover akong upwork account ky mgtry2x napud ko ug apply2x basin diay makakuha ug client

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Go lang sis, research more pano magsulat mabuti. Kaya mo yan! 💪

$ 0.00
1 year ago

sa data entry lang ako sis di ako magaling magsulat sis hehehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ahh okay hehe sige sis, kaya mo yan! Fighting 💪

$ 0.00
1 year ago

sige sis..bisan ginagmay ra gud nga income basta naay pandagdag

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True sis, di ka naman mag trabaho sa client boung araw eh kaya okay lang kahit onti pandagdag na rin sa income

$ 0.00
1 year ago

yes sis.naghahanap pa ako ano ang aking cover letter pag nag apply .

$ 0.00
1 year ago

10? Ang dami..buong araw ko ata yan isusulat x🤣.. Goodluck syo..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo pero di naman pala tlaga need ipasa 10. 🤣 At least nakasulat ako anim haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Madami prin haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo ..pero okay lang for experience. At least may client na ako hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow congratz

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Congratulations sister.. Keep it up and Go ahead.. Best of luck for you

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you so much!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Congrats on your first client! Planning to also be a VA but I got a full time job which makes it very hard for me to do so but I am glad seeing someone fulfilling being a VA. To more clients to come! Cheers!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you so much! You can always pursue VA whenever you like anyway.. there's no limits on that.

$ 0.00
1 year ago