Noob Exploring Upwork

33 66
Avatar for Eybyoung
1 year ago

I opened my Upwork account last year and just like other blogging platform I abandoned it after I was disappointed as I got rejected twice in approval of my account. Last month, I opened it again and searched possible ways how to improve my account to get an approval. Gladly, I found a way in YouTube guides and my account was approved, finally.

I wanted to find a job that'll generate me fiat income, so I don't have to be stressed with my cryptos, at least if I needed money, I can have it when I have an income in fiat not in crypto. I don't want to keep selling at loss whenever I needed money, so the urge of finding freelance writing gig is always pushing me. I also wanted to test and prove to myself that I am more than just a “crypto blogger” that I can be a “Copywriter and Content Writer.”

Noobie Exploring Upwork

After getting my account's approval I tried sending proposals, I've already sent 4 proposals for now. Before I sent my 2nd to 4th proposals, I keep searching how to make it properly. Mostly job posted needed work samples, good thing I am a copywriter in SuperUMAn so I make all of my written content in there as my samples.

I was given 55 connects only, and I already drained the connects into 33 as of now.

Got an interview

Out of 4 proposals I got an one interview yesterday, the client ask me about my rate in 1000 words. As noob, I don't know how to price yet, since it would be my first time so I just humble myself and told the client they can name the price and I'll grab it since I want to build my Upwork profile. Upon searching, 1000 words content ranging $75-$200 but I didn't say it..

The client told me that he'll give me a test, a paid test. I gladly accept it just for the sake of new learnings and experience. He then forward me to the one who assigned me the task.

After some discussion the client send me the task, to write 800-1000 words SEO article. I wrote and submit it right away, sadly it wasn't very good. It didn't pass the 95% score..so the client order me to rewrite and I rewrite everything, then submit but still the same. I was really disappointed with myself, I doubted and felt so bad.

The task is quite hard to me since I'm not a skilled SEO writer, I just put in my application that I am familiar with it lol, I guess that's the perks of being trying hard.

I already give up and told the client that it's fine of they won't pay me for the test, I accepted that I am not the best fit for the job. I just think it's for experience and that I should master SEO skills first but he said, they would love to work with me. He said he'll send new requirements today or until Monday. I don't know if it's true, what do you think? But I don't think clients are shit talks eh? Or not sure since it's my first time in Upwork.

Congratulations on your first job!

As I was checking my account today, I've seen an offer and click it. It was the one I work with, I already done writing twice yet I didn't know I was already accepted. I thought it was just a test.

After accepting it, I got this message. Congratulations on landing your first job!

I was like “Oh? Was I really hired?” lmao. I didn't know it, haha! I mean I've done all the writing and just see this lol, noob at it's finest. I didn't understand when the client said “I uploaded milestones” haha!

Anyway, I was happy I got my first client but I'm also disappointed with myself because I didn't do a good job. But like I said if this client will give me chance then I'll do my best to do better.

Until then, I'll keep learning. This is why I am not so active with any of my blogging site as I was busy learning how to be a freelancer.

I know that beginning is always the hardest, so I'll just endure and be patient. I know if I won't give up, I'll reap the fruit of my efforts later. It doesn't matter how long it will take to master my writing skills that clients needs, I'll keep learning. If others can do it, why can't I?

Thank you for reading!

16
$ 5.31
$ 5.11 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
$ 0.03 from @Ruffa
+ 6
Sponsors of Eybyoung
empty
empty
Avatar for Eybyoung
1 year ago

Comments

Hi! I think the the 200 dollar offer for 1000-word articles are for US based employees. For some Filipino freelancers, a SEO article has a minimum of 20 dollar rate. Nevertheless, you can try learning SEO through various tutorials online and by checking Google with your niche's keywords using various tools - there will be a learning curve but you'll eventually the hang of it.

Congratulations on your first Upwork job!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh, I see thank you..I'll try learning more about SEO.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Congratz

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Congratulations, Eby... I can remember opening an account there 2 years ago I think but I didn't take it seriously. I set up the profile but didn't do much about it. I guess I didn't have enough knowledge on it and I didn't take it serious. I might have to dust it up again.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You can revive your account there, just so challenging finding client 😄

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😂😂🤣 I will give it a shot and hope to God I get lucky. Thanks a lot, Eby. 🤗

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha go, we can do it.. We are not just a mere blabber we can write for clients 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

🤣🤣😂😂 Ebyyyyyyyyyyy

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I want to try freelancing as well ate, mahirap po bang maghanap ng client if you don't have any experience with everything? Or you need to build your knowledge first sot that you can acquire clients easily?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Build your knowledge first sa dami nang applicants you need to stand out..kaya kung may pera ka avail trainings sa gusto mo pasukin..lalo pag wala ka experience

$ 0.00
1 year ago

And now, it seems like I need to update my upwork sis, inspired by you. Congrats sis and fighting!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Go, sis! Let's do this.. Fighting!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sabi sayo e. Mahahired ka dyan. Congrats Eyb.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
1 year ago

Thanks Yen, pero trial pa lang yan..pero okay lang for experience ba hehe tulad sayo. Congrats satin, laban lang sa pag pursue nang freelancing 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Good that you tried and got approved on Upwork. Many new users give up after failing two, three, and more times.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, if I were in my case I'll take a rest but won't give up .. especially that writing is my passion.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ako na no ide din sa SEO writer aguy hahaha. Pero congratssss yiehhh. Tuloy tuloy na yaan.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

SEO yung magsulat content for website na magdadala traffic sa kanila yung unang mag appear sa Google pag may nag search, mdjo mahirap yan sa dami ba naman professional writer eh 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Congratulations sis

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks sis.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I was about to apply as SEO writer yesterday sis but I got scared and had second thought I don't know anything about the job though it says there writing any content whatever the client needed. Eventhough I love writing but I need to have atleast small background on content writing cause I have none aside here. I never done anything like that before and i have second thought since it's full time. I hope you'll share your experience here soon.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You have to learn it first sis.. ako nga na mdjo familiar naman about dyan pero hirap pala haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo nga sis ehh naku baka mapasabak pa hehe I do hope magshare ka Ng journey mo dito tungkol sa new work mo.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Pag successful sis mag share ako..sana lang para makatulong din sa gustong mag freelancing

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I hope and pray sis. Good luck sa new job and congratulations by the way 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Diha sa upwork ngstart akong amo sis as a freelancer. Naa sad koy account Ana pero wa nakoy update2x sa ahong account. I do freelance job mostly nga data entry ra pero nakatry ko ug work adtong medyo complicated nga work sa akong boss. Mao ny work sa akong amo until now. Same na sila ug work sa iyang Bana.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Pwd man ka japun sis mag data entry sa Upwork lalo na pag may experience ka na ayos na kaau na

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lagi sis try nako balik ug open akong upwork basin diay swertehon makakita ug client

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Your the one that one of the writer here in read that I follow since I've started. I'm sure you can familiarize everything, just keep pushing.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks for following sis, I hope so that I'll get familiar with the job sooner so I can make progress on this freelancing journey.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

When I was 15 I worked at odesk.com now that site rename upwork. Glad to know you got hired, Stick with Upwork will do much better in the future

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh, it was former odesk.com? I'll do my best.. thank you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah it is, one of my friend earn almost 2-3K USD per month from upwork He is a graphics designer

$ 0.00
1 year ago