Do You Even Care About Looks Before Liking Or Dating Someone?

84 112
Avatar for Eybyoung
2 years ago

Disclaimer: Inside this article is my personal preference and opinions, I don't intend to discriminate (black people) as Asian people are into white (but not all) or to encourage people to have the same opinion. Nor I discriminate those who have physical deformities, I highly respect and salute them for being strong despite their appearance. Read at your own risk.

In dating, I think most care about pleasing personality first before minding the attitude, I mean we were attracted to looks first before knowing attitude. For me I tend to go out with those attractive ones before, I care about looks because I am not that beauty queen type, so I have to find a good match of genes to pair with mine to have good results lol.

My motto before was β€œAlways think about the future generations looks, especially your child”. I admit I don't go with guys who are less attractive than me, I was thinking what if he impregnates me without plans, I care for my future child's appearance.

Why do I care about looks?

First off, my future child's appearance is my concern, and why I am so concerned with my child's appearance?

When I was younger I look very ugly, I am untidy because I used to work on the farm with my mother. We used to plant corn, sugarcane, rice, sweet potato, etc. I was exposed to sunlight causing my skin to darken. I don't have nice clothes to wear because we are poor, we cannot afford to buy new clothes from time to time, no skin care and etc.

Because of that, I look ugly in the eyes of people, and.. more reasons occur why I was concerned with my children's appear.

To avoid being bullied

I want my child to have a pleasing personality, so they will avoid getting bullied by people because they are ugly.

Some people are ruthless, bully, and judgemental, when you look uglier or have physical deformities they'll make fun of you.

Some will make you laughing stuff just like those people who make fun of other people on social media because of their physical disabilities.

To avoid being the primary suspect of a crime

Some people will accuse those ugly people first if there are crimes that happen or even if there is no crime yet, they'll suspect you already that you'll do worse if you have an ugly appearance.

It's like your appearance has been the basis of trust or your character in general, some will think you have an ugly face then probably you'll have an ugly character as well.

Most people will point their fingers first at the ugly ones compared to those who have pleasing personalities.

People will like to accompany those who have pleasing than those nonpleasing personality

I remember my cousin before, she used to deny me at school that we were cousins because I was untidy as I don't have nice clothes to wear and my skin is darker.

When we have relative reunions, they'll call me β€œlagum” it's a Visayan word for black or untidy (well this is just in our country as Asian mostly likes white people) but I don't call black people ugly. Forgive us, it's in our culture that we are into white because we we're conquered by Spaniards long time ago, and that our native believe that white and having long nose are handsome and beautiful.

Usually, my friends when I was still a grade-schooler, are the same as me. Those who have a darker complexion and don't have nice clothes to wear.

Some people who believe they are pretty don't like to hang out with us who are untidy in their eyes.

Pleasing personality have more opportunities

This one hits you when you're already an adult finding job or any opportunities, in our country it always requires a pleasing personality. If you are not pleasing in their eyes you will not be qualified especially if you are applying for a certain position that requires beauty.

If you have a good height you'll have many opportunities even if you didn't finish a bachelor's degree, I encountered this when I was applying for a job in Manila.

If you are pretty and handsome opportunity is always there but if you are less attractive, don't have a better height, fair skin color complexion you will always be discriminated against. That's the harsh truth of reality, especially if you are not born with a silver spoon pleasing personality is an asset to have more opportunities.


Closing Thoughts

So I will be blunt to admit that I matter physical outlooks because I want my child to have plus when they grow, to avoid getting bullied, and to have more opportunities in life. After all, we are not rich, that we can provide an opportunity to them. They will look for it and make their own fortune, and I think having beauty is a plus.

I even think finding afam (foreigner) before so I can have a good offspring lol. But I was never single since 18, so no more space for afam πŸ˜‚ but I did chose a carrier of genes that is good enough to pair with mine.

I know beauty is relevant, we all have unique beauty but I want my child to be on the majority standard of beauty so they'll never be out of place, or they can compete or have a good spot in the society, although we should not mind society we can never deny the fact it can affect our growth.

If ever, I've got a special child (with some physical problems or anything, I hope not) I will do everything to protect them, embrace and love them. But as much as possible I want them to be normal, so they'll not suffer much in this cruel world. In Jesus Name, Amen.

So how about you? Do you matter physical appearance before liking someone?

P.S my noise. The cash guide is still in progress, so I'll publish this finished draft. Thank you for reading!

Date Published: August 31, 2021

33
$ 15.71
$ 14.76 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Jane
$ 0.10 from @Crackers
+ 18
Sponsors of Eybyoung
empty
empty
Avatar for Eybyoung
2 years ago

Comments

I think most of us can relate to this especially during childhood days where we feel insecure to those who are blessed with beautiful faces and skin. It is because of the society we live in, where those who are gifted mostly in physical appearance ang mostly umaangat.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo kasi nman satin may discrimination talaga lalo na din sa pag apply nang trabaho.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think looks matters as of this days but still there are some who don't love someone basing from their look... pero yeah ..kung makatagpo man ako ng isang diyosa sa kagandahan at ugali di sige..😊.tatangi paba ako kung tadhana na ang lumakda sa aming pagsasama

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahhaa oo nmn aba kung maganda na itsura at ugali chosy pa ba tayo haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When I'm full of money I'm beautiful to everyone 100%

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is really truth because that is what is happening these days. Nice article dear keep it up.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much, yes that's what's happening nowadays actually.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako yung mga crush ko ang gu gwapo pero when it comes to choosing a partner di naman ako nag ma matter sa mukha or physical aspect..i am more on personality tapos plus points nalang ang looks kung meron

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Akin, kahit ano itsura ng baby ko soon okay lang, i just want my child to raise in a good way, yung halos di sya mananapak ng iba kahit tinatapakan nasiya. Pero oo gusto ko rin cute baby konsoon

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kawawa nmn yung anak mo pag ganyan dapat turuan mo rin makipaglaban sa buhay pero yung nasa tama lang. Masasabi mo lang yan siguro kasi wala ka pa anak pero pag meron na masakit makita na sinasaktan nang iba anak mo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

For me dinaman ako after looks pero nakakatyempo ng mga may ichura haha. Concern ko e baka ako yung kamuka tapos madisappoint jowa ko hahaha.

Nung ultrasound ko nga inaabangan ko tlga Yung ilong hahaha at ayun nga namana ni anak ilong ko πŸ˜‚

$ 0.03
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Hahahaha yun nga iniisip ko eh. Nung ako nga paglabas nang anak ko yung ilong nya tulad sakin nung maliit pa sya jusko, mga lahi nang asawa ko mapanlait pa nmn kasi mga matangos nga ilong nila., Buti nga nagbago ilong nang anak ko haha

Hilotin mo ilong nyan pwd pa yan kasi bata pa para umusbong yung parang buto ba 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same hahahaha. May narinig pa nga ako noon malalahian daw ng pango haha. E ngayon kahit pango anak ko tuwang tuwang naman sila kasi matalino πŸ˜‚ pero Yung pagkapango nya diman tulad ng sakin may hulma Naman konti hahaha. Sabi ng asawa ko magbabago pa Naman daw yon πŸ˜‚ Hindi nawawalan ng pag asa πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Hahaha oo malay mo magbago same sa anak ko nagbago naman. Kaya nga sakin din tuwang tuwa nmn sila sa lahat nang apo nila anak ko pinaka advance

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Back then my crushes are out of my league, boy next door handsome varsity type of guy. But growing up and after getting to know people, attitude matters most. But then i still get hurt with people not looking so good so now I tend to go for both hehe

$ 0.03
2 years ago

To be honest, most of my crushes back then are good looking and handsome (that's why they didn't date me cause I'm too ugly to be with them πŸ˜‚). There's this song that says "humanap ka ng panget at ibigin mong tunay" (Find someone who's ugly and love him truly), but I disagree with that because what if I ended up with that person, what will happen to my kid? I want to have a cute, handsome/pretty kid in the future so Iconsider the physical aspects of a person before dating him.

$ 0.04
User's avatar sc
2 years ago

Same haha, I am just too bold to get good looking guys back then haha. May edge nmn talaga pag may hitsura ang tao eh magpakatotoo tayo mas marami talaga opportunity ba haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True hahaha kahit pa sabihin mong may mga tao na di nag jajudge base sa physical appearance. Kahit nga mag apply ka ng work, kung alin ang mas maganda o gwapo sila yung madalas na mas kukunin kesa sa panget na madaming qualification hehe reality of life

$ 0.00
User's avatar sc
2 years ago

Ako din Ma'am.. hihi Yung napapaisip talaga ako na sana medyo kasinputi ko yung baby ko soon.. Pero, bet ko naman din talaga yung Moreno.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

parehong importante for me :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

ung future appearance ng child talaga ang importante...

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Anla haha yung future offspring talaga ang nagdala. Haha awesomeness. Pero idk if I look into looks. Pero wala pa ulit ako nagugustuhan haha 🀣🀣 last time na nagkacrush ako ay highschool pa at yon ay dahil matalino siya haha 🀣

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes true if you are ugly you will be the aople of the eyes of everyone, I experience the same coz Im ugly, flat nose and etc, but good thing I can say that I have my beautiful baby, and I hope she will not bullied when she grew up.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

hahahaha, I like how you care about 'your finished product'

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's true... Believe it or not.. looks matter these days... (Unfortunately).

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah, I agree. It really matters a lot nowadays.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When I was in my teenage life I prefer good looking guy but as I get older I prefer the good attitude. I had an ex bf before who's not good looking but he is sweet. I told him you have to remember that I fall in love with your attitude first before I fall in love with the way you look.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I feel so guilty but yes, I prefer the looks talaga. Wapakels kung barumbado hahaha... Jk the attitude still weighs more than the physical looks. It's just that, we are attracted first by what our Eyes see diba?

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, I agree. Attitude will weigh pa rin in the end but yes mas una tayo na attract talaga sa looks.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We really cannot deny the fact. But in the long run, when we knew already what kind of person is that someone we liked, we'll be able to weigh things diba. If that person deserves our attention. Ofc, we have to make ourselves worthy to have by someone also :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Most of the boys, look talaga. Kahit ako sa looks ako naaattract kasi yung nga unang nakikita. 😁 Pero as time goes by, mahalaga parin ang ugali

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Oo nga haha, sa una looks naman talaga then in the later ugali pa rin talaga ang mas matimbang.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Korek po. Pero babalik din sa looks heheheh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha cycle yun eh πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Looks doesn't matter to me until now that I read your article. It makes me realize some things.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

What did you realize?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That I need to look after my child's future as early as now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes because you know the world is cruel tsk

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're right particularly when you mentioned about pleasing personality has an edge, it cannot be denied here in our country, between two applicants one is a cum laude and the other is a average graduate of the same field but has a complete package in terms of pleasing personality, then the average one may get the job. Good thing that we have now BPO wherein beauty is not really the first requirement but rather your wit and fluency.

$ 0.04
2 years ago

Yes, in BPO looks does not matter because they don't face any customers or client but when a job needs to face people pleasing personality is a big plus.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

First of all, outer appearance is important, then inner beauty is important. I prefer this for myself at first, not for my child. In situations like this, I like to think short term rather than long term.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I think long term, it's not really for me.., for my kid.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Actually, when I think about it, it is a no for me. Pleasant looking yes, but it does not have to be pretty or something like that.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Well, I respect your point of view it's just that in our country pleasing personality or good looking is somehow an advantage.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I just suddenly remembered what is viral at the moment the good looking priest that capture as hunk LOL, memes spread saying his gene was "sayang" and lot more comments. That's refected us, sometimes we really need to looked good, even jobs needs us to be good and also I believed its because of what we seen in internet and TV those influencer are good and fair looking so maybe thats made in our mind to looked at the appearance first before inside, hayst hirap talaga ng pogi, salamat nalang ako di ko natry hahaha LOL

$ 0.04
2 years ago

Hahaha natawa naman ako sa salamat at di ko na try 🀣

Anyway tama ka minsan na impluwensyahan yung paningin at paniniwala natin sa mga nakikita natin sa tv or social medias.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I guess this is your entry for the prompt Beauty.. πŸ˜… you should have included there. .

Anyway, I grow up ugly and too dark too πŸ™ˆπŸ™ˆ my grade school classmates were bullying me because of that.. But it never happens anymore when I was in secondary... Beauty doesn't matter to me.. Until I stepped into college. You know teenage life. More insecurities will occur. .but in never been bullied because of that. lucky me not to experience bullying because of ugliness...maybe my classmates were just kind to me πŸ˜…

In general, I don't care about looks since I consider myself ugly. What matters to me is the inner beauty.. Because physical beauty fades as we age..

$ 0.04
2 years ago

Oo nga noh sayang di ko na add na yung promt pala ito.. pwedi na. Haha

Maybe your classmates are kind ako kasi transferee lagi kaya wala talaga ako regular na kaibigan kaya prone sa bully pero nung grade school lang nmn nung highschool na ako until college kung ano ugali ko now ganon na haha wala nang bully sakin. Kaya sinabi ko talaga sa sarili ko di ako pwdi mag asawa nang mas panget sakin kailangan maganda magiging lahi namin haha ayoko maranasan nang anak ko ma bully.

Oo importante pa rin nmn talaga ang ugali kasi ang physical beauty nag fade pag matanda na tayo, pero swerte namn ako di naman pangit ugali nang jowa ko hahaha kaya plus na πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha.. Mga bata tlga sa grade school ang mahilig mang bully haha.

At lalaking mabait anak mo dhl mabait naman pareho parents nya.. Plus na rn yun hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

To be honest, I dont go for the looks. I do prefer the way of talk, respect and thinking of the other person. If that suits me, I would love to go on date with the person. and yes, intelligence do matter

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I respect your preferences, we all have different perspective and reasons as well why our preference is like that and I already stated mine.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay ako eh mapili talagaπŸ˜‚. Jusko ganito na nga itsura ko eh kukuha pa ko ng, alam mo na. Paank na lang yun anak ko di baπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚. Kaya halos lahat ng ex ko eh papable talagaπŸ˜‚

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Haha oo nga eh, ganon din iniisip ko yung magiging hitsura nang junakis baka magtampo paglaki pano sila ginawa 🀣🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha, korek..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is so me ms. Eyb. I think we think the same when it comes to our child's look and how their looks can affect their future. 😁 i go for looks first then attitude. MGpapakatotoo na ako

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hahaha at least may same preference ako, oo nmn magpakatotoo na lang talaga kung yun nmn talaga unang tinitingnan natin.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Korek!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well, i would say it's the looks for me first then personality. So people would say it may seem shallow but I've got beauty bias and I own that. I don't think anyone can help who they're attracted to.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes I agree, we cannot help or stop whom we are attracted with.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako i admit physical appearance talaga ang una kong tinitingnan kaya nga gusto ko porenjer ee with blue eyes. Same sa reason mo, di ako maganda so dapat bawi sa magiging partner. Alam mo naman ang porenjer di sila talaga namimili huehue. Kaya ayon, pero awan lang if same pa rin ba sa gusto ko noon ang gusto ko ngsyon. Ayt bahala na, di nga pala ako magaasawa wahahaha

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hahaha kaya nga, kasi di nmn tayo pang beauty queen hanap talaga nang maganda ang genes hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wont oppose you about the looks because its your personal choice ang preference and i also see your point to why it matters to youπŸ‘β€οΈ

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you for respecting my preference 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo nman every person has their own preference at dpat irespeto yun😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't po, what i look or like po's what inside, lol, his heart n attitude, outlook in life as well po, the first guy i met 4 years ago's black but he's good looking po, same with My KJF here now po, lol, i don't go for looks, i go for his attitude or what's inside of him po, lol

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hmm I see bheng, hehe we all have different perspective anyway hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Opo, miss eybyoung, lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sis, whether anybody agrees with me or not, from my personal experience, am gonna say one thing, your child shares DNA from both mom and dad, and I would definitely prefer good looks and smartness both... because I made that mistake once in this life πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ€£ lesson learned, it is very important to check the person from where your baby is going to come down because you dont wanna suffer in future πŸ˜…πŸ˜…

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hahaha same I prefer good looks and smartness too. I don't want my kid suffer too πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You really have some good point on this most especially of the appearance of your future kids. But we can't control love. Hehe.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah, I believe on that too but I did fall in love already haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

..me too before after my 1st failed relationship with my 1st child's Dad, I preferred to find Afam too..lols.. It's a dual purpose for me before, it's to have a beautiful race and and to have a good life as well..but well it's still God's plan to put us with someone we deserve more so I ended up with my hubby, he isn't that handsome but in my eyes he's the most handsome in whole world, charot.. wala lang talaga akong choice... 🀣🀣🀣

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hahahhahaa natawa ako sa wala na talagang choice, maganda ka nmn sis kaya keri na ang lahi 🀣 di na sila magtampo hahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

..ahaha naman sis jan ako proud..thank God gaganda ng mga junakis ko 😊 kahit mga abno tatay nila 🀣🀣🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I had smiled reading this. I used to be so ugly and burnt by sunlight before. Even during college but I wasn't bullied because I fight back. I had this small but terrible awra that no one dare to bully 😁😁 you are very reasonable person I guess. I hope you could find want you wanted.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hahaha mabait kasi ako before when I was a kid 🀣 I am always target with bullies. Hehe I already find it nman and I am satisfied 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow congrats πŸŽ‰ dapat padamihin lahi para Hindi sayang.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Jusko hirap mag alaga eh πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ isa pa nga lang ngarag na ako 🀦

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha go momshie kaya mo Yan.. fighting πŸ’ͺ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe. True minding physical appearance is a choice pa din hndi naman sa pagiging choosy, pero dapat naman talaga diba? Kasi habang buhay mo yan makakasama e lalo na sa pag gising mo sa umaga ganern. chos! Tsaka kanyahang buhay 'to bahala yung ibang nagsasabi jan na choosy! Hahahaha galit na galit Ate eno hahaha

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hahahaha oo nga kanya kanya preference naman yan, iniisip ko kasi talaga magiging anak ko kaya mahalaga sakin appearance habang buhay nila dadalhin mukha nila hahahhaha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lalo na ngayon,ang mga racist yun pa yung mga alanganin jusko! Hahaha ayoko mabully junakis ko

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha kaya nga na experience ko yan 🀦 sino pa mas pangit satin yun pa mapanglait haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago