Metamask: How to Recover your account?

47 137
Avatar for ExpertWritter
2 years ago

Last night, I can't open my metamask account. I use biometrics or finger print to open my account because I am lazy to open and type my password joke, I forgot my password. I am the type of person that I can easily forgot my password that's why everytime that I fill up some forms, I need to make sure that I copied my password and paste it to my notes but! To double my secure, I also find some paper and write it down but since I forgot to write my metamask password to the paper and to my notes

at first, I am doomed! Because, the finger print or biometrics of the metamask is not working well and I can't open my account!

My metamask app at the time of 2 am

And even in this morning, I even ask my friends to the group chat if they know how to add recovery phrases since there's no button to click to recover it. But they don't know too. They screenshot the recovery phrases part but I already have my recovery phrases but still, thanks to them for helping me.

  • I wonder if the Reset wallet is the key to my problem but, I'm hesitating because I'm scared that it will really erase all my wallet of my account and create a new one (I am just a first timer using this application).

I even search to Google How to do it but all of answers are you need to use some PC and since I am just using android phone, and all of the buttons that they click cannot be use.

So, I take the risk in this time. Like I cannot be learned if I will not take the risk so I decided to:

  1. Uninstall and install again my metamask application, this is the first one that I did.

  2. Clicking the import the recovery phrases

  3. After clicking the import recovery phrases you will write your recovery phrases and write a new password and re-write it.

After doing that 3 steps, Your account will be back to the first look when you sign up to metamask

After I recover my account with my recovery seed phrases it is still the same address but my token balances are gone even my account name.

Sponsors of ExpertWritter
empty
empty
empty

Now what we can do just so we can got back all of your balances in your different token wallets?

Steps how to get back all your missing token balances

As what you see to the image above, go to the settings > next is find the networks > re-add the SmartBCH network :

After you re-add your sBCH network, click the add token and re-enter again all the token addresses that you remember that it was in your previous wallet.

And thanks god irecover my account. I was so very nervous because I have $32 to my sBCH wallet and i don't like to waste all of my efforts to collect some tokens. 880000 $Kittens is not joke and $CATS too they are the most important tokens for me since I don't know about the other tokens yet.

After roaming to the metamask wallet, I found another way if how to import your account but I'm not sure if it really helps

That what I see earlier before I add the sBCH network. But again, I was hesitating to click it because I am not sure and I am afraid. I was very careful to what I always click because my balances depends to my action.

Conclusion...

To secure your wallet we always need to copy the recovery phrases or seed phrases if what we called just like in your bitcoin.com wallet. Make sure to write it down to your notes, many times so that you have a lot of back-ups when you can't open your account.

  • To find your recovery phrases: go to your metamask settings > click security and privacy.

and you should not only relay to biometrics or finger print if you will open your account you should always type your password so that you can always remember it.

This is not an advice that if it works to me you should consider it as a lesson too. Remember to always do your own search (DYOR) too so that, you can't blame me if it what happened to your account.

After what happened to my account, I learned my lesson and that is to always type my password so that I can always remember it because i don't like to regret and do the same mistake again.


My Previous Articles:

What happened to me after knowing about sBCH tokens?

If I will had $20 where would I spend it

Two hundred forty three days of writing

The Con Artist

Why Popularity makes people blind?

21
$ 9.74
$ 9.31 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 11
Sponsors of ExpertWritter
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ExpertWritter
2 years ago

Comments

Wow! Atleast you made it. I have my Mera too,have been write down my recovery phrases and my password is unforgettable so I'm confident that I'm not gonna lose my account..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also made my meta mask account yesterday and saved my phrase and also password email in separate place so I'm more chill and relax now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's good to know. My ghosh don't ever forget about your seed phrases and make sure that you secured it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha same! Halos lahat ng acct ko nalilimutan ko password. Buti nalang laging ninonotes ni jowa. 😁❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sana all may jowa HAHAHAHA

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Is KYC and Valid ID needed to verify an account on Metamask?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nope. Walang kakailanganin doon. Gawa kalang accoung mo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah sige, baka sa susunod gawa ako. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya ako basta pagka gawa ng account sinusulat ko na agad sa notebook ko gawa ng numero uno din akonh malilimutin ahahaha. Buti nalang narecover mo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya nga po ate eh. Buti nalang nga narecover ko talaga kundi paktay ka diha. HAHAHA 🤣 nagbabakasakaling makapag 1Bch ako doon aba

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Please can you help me with the contract address to $Kitten and BCH moon?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Here's for $KITTEN

0x7ebeadb95724a006afaf2f1f051b13f4ebebf711

Not sure abt the other BCH moon

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Okay. Thanks.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well its good to know you can recover, imagine if you couldnt and all that crypto got lost?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It will makes me depress if that happened my gosh I work hard for it just so I can claim a lot of tokens

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's why sis everytime I open my wallet to the other gadget I will not forget the screenshot just to secure my wallet if ever encountered a problem in logging account.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In metamask, you can't do that. Screenshot your passwords and seed phrases. Di talaga pwede kaya take down notes lang and or ilagay sa notes app

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I see. Im not familiar of matemask sorry :).

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As long as my seed phrase..kht madelete pa wallet mo. no worries dai.. Marerecover tlga yan

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yun nga po ate. Kaya lang yung po talagang kanina na nawala lahat wallet ko akala ko mawawala na need lang pala ulit, ulitin ilagay yung mga address ate. 🤧 Kaya kinabahan ako

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya sakin doble ingat talaga🤣 Copy ko yan tapos i SCREENSHOT ko pa para kapag need ko itransfer sa ibang wallet or kaya i recover yung account ko ei mas madali hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same here. 🤧 Ngayon lang ako pumalya akala ko kasi safe yung biometrics eh. Kaya diko na tinatype password ko

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Buti naman po na recovered nyo. Sayang talaga yung laman lalo na yung cats na token haha. Malaki na din value nyan.

Pero sana all may cats pa🤧. Ako na benta ko na nung mababa pa at wala nang natira🤧

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dapat kasi di muna binebenta. palaguin mo muna 🤧 sayang naman non.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya nga ehh sayang🤧

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I need some help. How can we transfer BCH in my metamask wallet? I mean I want to buy eben, cat token from my BCH then How cn I transfer BCH?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Okay Thank you🙇

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Huhu sayang talag $32 mo ilang oras morin yun pinaghirapan tas sumasakit pa ulo mo sa gc tas mawawala lang hahaha. Buti naman nabalik hinga na malalim. 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya nga eh muntik na ako nawalan HAHAHA 🤣 Buti nalabg magaling ako magkilatis ng mga ganto ate haha medyo nakabahan ako ng 50%

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is helpful for me for I too am not capable of remembering passwords. But but but. It may not work for me as you said so I should make or do my own research but really thank you for this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Do you already have your own metamask account now? Hehe yes. I advice you to Roam to metamask application

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ngayon pa lang kao mag-se-set up ate ng meta mask wallet hahahahhaha. Maybe this article will be helpful so save ko po muna ito haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Okay, bakit ngayon kalang nagset up? Sayang mga tokens na nag daan

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ngayon ko lang po nareceive phone ko eh. Parang late na po yata ako hahahahahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for the advice, gonna note it for future purposes. ✨

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe. Okay po but You can still do your own search po. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Noted.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Teka naalala ko wallet ko sa bitcoin.com di pala nakasave sa phone ko seed phrase nun haha Grabe parang ang hussle naman i add ulit yung SmartBCH network saka yung mga ibang token Kung ako yan baka staress na stress na ako haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Isulat mo na. Importante mag sulat ng seed phrases para di mawala mga pinaghirapan mo. Okay lang fast typer naman ako tsaka meron akong lists ng mga tokens addresses copy nalang tapos paste lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I did that thrice. Di kasi makaconnect yung metamask sa benswap so I uninstalled the app. As long as you have the seed phrases, there won't be any problem. Your tokens and balance are still intact. And that's what i like about meta. You can forget your password and change without a problem. That suits me since I am forgetful with my pass too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Right, It's more better than the bitcoin.com wallet, bitcoin.com is more strict than metamask haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha medyo nga e. Hahaha. Btw, ni buy mo ba yung Arg or from airdrop din siya?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

From airdrop. 50M nagbigay sila sa twitter late na nga ako eh pero binigyan padin ako coz nag ss ako ng proof na finollow ko sila sa twitter and instagram tapos yung 10M binili ko worth $2

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sanaol swerte sa mga ganyan. Mahirap talaga pag walang alam ayts

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sumali lang ako sa mga ganyan ate. 🤧 DI Din ako maalam sa mga ganto nagpapaturo din ako sa club1BCH

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakakahiya magpaturo🤧 di ko naman sila close baka magalit pa

$ 0.00
2 years ago