More Than Just A Name Tag

70 130
Avatar for Ellehcim
2 years ago

"Talk to me about your name, and about you. I want to know the meaning and significance."

Image From Unsplash

Have you ever wondered about the meaning of your name? Some of you may have asked your parents (of course, LOL) and their answers must have surprised you, or touched you in some way. Well, whatever, my name was something I just mentioned. Whatever.

I ain't saying my name is Whatever. But, yeah, can I say that my name is Michelle for some silly reason? Yes? Okay, thank you so much.

A fellow writer here, @King_Gozie , asked me about this recently. You know, that short post where I asked for your help. (Raise your feet if you know it!) As I've said, I'll answer all the questions I was not able to include in my interview-themed blog yesterday. I will start today.

Thanks for this interesting question, King_Gozie.

I remember asking my mom randomly what the meaning of my name is. The history, in short. My older sister's name is Mary Grace, and the reason is pretty much explainable, I guess. She is a blessing to our parents, and mom has a "Maria" in her name, so she included it to sis' name; thus the product, Mary Grace. What a beautiful name.

My younger brother's name, Melvin, is from a celebrity's name, as far as I remember. Mine, I am actually shy to ask it again. So, I'll just try to explain it as how I remember it.

My name is supposedly not Michelle. It should be Jessi, a name may parents got just from watching their favorite sports channel. Jessi is a name of the usual sports reporter that they watched on TV. They thought it's a beautiful name, so they planned to give that name to me. Whether I am a girl, or a boy (which they did not know yet that time), it would be fine.

However, at some point they wanted to make their children have similar initial name letters. Therefore, mine should also start with an M. They were successful though as you can see. (Haha!)

Michelle is another celebrity name they found beautiful. Moreover, it would be easier to write and remember. I apologize that I am not also knowledgable of who exactly that celebrity is, but I hope I still explained it nicely.

I personally like my name. It's like a name that suits me really well. I also like writing it, especially in a cursive manner. About my nickname, as surprising as it maybe, no one calls me Elle in reality. Except here in read, of course (maybe because I used a reversed version of my name here). Instead, people usually called me Mich.

I actually got curious, so I did some research about my name meanings. I will put a single explanation of the similar result that I found:

  • Feminine version of Michael

This one gotta be obvious, haha! I also know this already, but just in case some of you may not know.

The name has both French and Hebrew roots and is the feminine version of Michael, meaning "gift from God" or "who is like God."

-sheknows.com

I love how it means being "Gift from God". Really? I guess I am a gift to my parents, (even I am a headache to them sometimes. Peace!)

Even if you'd try to look it up, I guess we're gonna have the same results. You may want to research about your name. Who knows, you may find interesting facts about it. Mine, I think, is pretty common, so I easily found it in the internet.

About Me Again? Why not.

You may have known lots about me, especially if you visit my works regularly. So, what I am telling you are things I may not have mentioned yet (at least, as how I remember it).

  • I hate gossips.

Yeah, even you'd try to make an excuse about it, that it ain't really gossip, but you just wanna talk about it, whatever. Listening to other people talk about someone is a waste of time, don't you think?

I personally think I won't gain anything from it. My friends know it. When we go home, I wear earphones. Music is life. (Laughs). Anyway, that does not mean I ain't interested. If I am, I just give in to my curiousity for a bit, then lose interest again after a minute. I don't know, it just ain't my style.

  • I am weak when it comes to patience and self-discipline.

Is it surprising? I don't wanna be harsh to myself, but this is what I see. In fact, I always include these two things in my prayer. To develop patience and self-discipline.

First, patience. I am impatient, but in a limited sense. I am not like that hot-tempered hag you see on a store or something, not that. I grow easily annoyed, and I mean, PISSED OFF at slow internet connection, laggy devices, people who likes to argue on nonsense things, and inconvenient stuff. Really, even I wake up with a good mood, these specific situations can easily make my blood boil. That's why I work on this everyday. I try to inhale and exhale deeply, multiple times, before I actually throw my phone for lagging (that happened a lot, in the past), or almost curse, or mutter a string of bad words (not really curse words, but adjectives not pleasant to be heard).

Second, self-discipline. Look, it's ten minutes past ten now, my scheduled sleep time. But because I was distracted by the television show, I am writing late. I won't do this tomorrow. Sigh.

To-Do lists helped me practice self-discipline and I can see I have improved much compared to my past self.


I am not actually confident to say that I am a good person.

I am not at the other extreme though, like being bad or delinquent. Maybe, something in between. All of us have that dark, ugly side that we choose to not bring into light, and I also have that.

I can't say I am a kind person, just because that's how I am to other people. Because I know I have resented myself many times for hurting my loved ones. During those times, I know I am a bad person that only thought of my feelings, and neglected theirs. I also get annoyed at some beggars I see on specific days, having some thought, for example, that they can work, why do they beg for other's hard-earned money? Some bad thoughts like that.

I ain't saying these things because I am proud, but to reveal that I am not fond of this side of me, as well. There are times I don't say good things to mom's noisy cat, or get mad at our dogs when they brk nonstop (when I should think forst of their reason).

I feel embarrassed saying these, but it is the truth, and it must be said. There is always something I regret everyday, and I wonder when will a time come I will not have regrets anymore.

Did you get to know me more through this?

I hope I was able to carry on nicely, this question of King_Gozie. I have shared something about my name, something about myself, as well.

I am shocked I just started writing things I am not proud of, but it feels like a burden has been lifted because I got to be real again through writing this one. I hope you'll still stay with me, even you've known these not so nice things about me.

Before I forget, let me give a late greeting to BITCOIN CASH' birthday yesterday. I just knew about it yesterday through some reading, but I hope I can still express my greetings and gratitude.

I am thankful I got to know about BCH, along with these two platforms, read.cash, and noise.cash. I was introduced to something where I could gain the "real-est" concept of financial freedom and security. I hope I am able to share the love of BCH through my simple acts of giving back, through this platform, and noise.

A little more time, and it's already 11 pm. One hour past my scheduled sleep time. Oopsie. Promise, I'd start earlier tomorrow, so I could sleep earlier. Self-discipline, Elle!

Until Next Time!

Thank you in advance for supporting me in my humble journey. My sponsor block is always welcoming of new people to fill it!

Come start writing and earning here, if you haven't yet!

https://read.cash/r/Ellehcim

I am also on noise.cash. Same username, let me know and let's talk there!

https://noise.cash/u/Ellehcim

To God be all the glory.

  • Lead Image from Unsplash

19
$ 10.49
$ 9.39 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.25 from @King_Gozie
$ 0.20 from @JLoberiza
+ 12
Sponsors of Ellehcim
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ellehcim
2 years ago

Comments

I do not see it as bad for thinking that way about the beggars. My dad and I also have the same sentiments as well. We either give them food but we really like to help the people who sells sampaguita, banana chips or any other things. Plus some beggars only use the money for rugby or they are being run by syndicates.

I think I have already shared about the etymology of my name before. ๐Ÿ˜‰

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah. Better give them food than money. We don't know where they'll really spend the money.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

HELLO Ellehcim, I liked your article, you gave an important approach that every parent should consider, at the time of choosing the name that will take a child at birth. It should not be taken lightly, as it will be with him/her for life. In the worst case scenario, a poorly chosen name will mark the child forever. I invite you to read one of my articles, https://read.cash/@rodriguezpct/tips-for-studying-in-confinement-2a30da14, where I make brief reference to some of the assailant characteristics in 4 types of personalities. I hope you can identify yourself in some of them, I think you might have a mostly melancholic personality type, you tell me later, ok. On the other hand, when you say that there is always something you regret every day, well I will tell you that when you start to have confidence and believe in yourself, to accept that being wrong is not bad, it is part of life, to correct.Ask for forgiveness when necessary and move on. This is the key to live in peace with yourself. Good luck!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Awww. Thanks a lot for reading and sharing your thoughts. I will read your article, thanks for recommending. ๐Ÿค—

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When I was still pregnant, I took all the time I needed for my baby's name. I created two, if the baby is a girl then if a boy. My baby's name means God is gracious and gift from God as well...

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes! when I become a mother, too, I would make an effort to identify a beautiful name for my child.

Thanks for visiting, Jean. โ™ฅ๏ธ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

welcome!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Mine was a combination of my parents. I really like my name because I haven't met a single person having the same name as mine. Let me know if you know a person who's name is "Neilfie" ๐Ÿ˜

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah, really unique! It's a first to me seeing that name. Nice to meet you, Neilfie! ๐Ÿค—

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, I could really tell I will never be hit on NBI haha. Btw, nice to meet you too ๐Ÿ˜Š

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh. Mine is a hit sometimes.. ๐Ÿ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha I met a lot of Michelle most of the time ๐Ÿ˜

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is not that surprising anymore! ๐Ÿ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha true. Different Michelles, different stories ๐Ÿ˜

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah. Makes life interesting and unique. โ™ฅ๏ธ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

๐Ÿ˜‡โ˜บ

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I really like your name Mich/Elle.๐Ÿ˜Š Mine was from my mama and papa. REN was from my papa and ELYN from my mama..hihi ๐Ÿ˜

But mostly, people called me "Dang" or "Ren" or "Lyn".. SKL sis.๐Ÿ˜…

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I understand the Ren and Lyn, but where did they get Dang? Hahaha! That's not related! ๐Ÿ˜‚ Anyway, still adorable. Thanks for reading!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahahah.. I don't know Elle, but I just let them be. If that makes them comfortable thou..๐Ÿ˜

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Agreed. If you are happy with that, it's very fine of course. โ™ฅ๏ธ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like your name, Michelle! ;) Thanks for letting us know more about you. Sure, you are a good person, although sometimes you can be selfish. We all are selfish sometimes, but good people recognize when they are. And it's always good when we write things that make us uncomfortable because after doing so, we feel lighter. Saludos, Elle!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hello there! You made me feel happy because of this. Thanks a loooottt!! โ™ฅ๏ธ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are welcome!!! ๐Ÿค—

$ 0.00
2 years ago

๐Ÿค—๐Ÿค—๐Ÿค—

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I prefer calling you Elle. Nagdecide talaga e. Finally, confirmed na talaga na Michelle talaga, Ive been thinking if ginagamit mo lang ba yung reversed na name or yun talaga, so yun nga. ๐Ÿคฃ

Relate na relate ako sa pagiging impatient ay. Bat ba ganto. Ang daling mainis. Ganon.

Pero, good to know more about you here Elle. ๐Ÿ’—

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha! Nakasanayan na ba ang ellehcim kaya di na weird pakinggan? ๐Ÿ˜‚ Maramin g nagulat din about my username. All this time akala ko halatang halata na I just reversed the spelling of my real name LOL!

basta mabagal na internet, I am throwing hands! Lalo pag naiinterrupt panonood ko ng RUN! BTS or TXT X TO-DO! ๐Ÿ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sobrang nakasanayan na talaga. Di ko talaga inexpect na yun yung real name e. ๐Ÿคฃ Actually feeling ko, pero parang hindi din e. Ayaw ko mag assume.

Ay trueee! Hahahaha kahit 1 second pa lang nag lag galit na e. ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha! Sayang kase oras! ๐Ÿ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay totoo din. Yung enjoy na enjoy mo na din painapanuod mo e hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo! Tuluy-tuloy na yung tawa tapos biglang huminto? Parang nagpause din yung tawa ko eh. ๐Ÿ˜ญ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahahahahahahahahahaha naiimagine ko pano ka magpause ng tawa. ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Asus ikaw din naman ๐Ÿคง๐Ÿ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha ay sobra. Naiinis nga ako talaga e.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It's nice to know you more Elle- a gift from God. You are a blessing to your parents ๐Ÿ’— and also i will google my name now hahahaha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks a lot! You're so sweet!

Ang goodness, if your real name is Bread Champ, I'm throwing hands. ๐Ÿคญ๐Ÿ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, Michelle is the feminine version of Michael. My name was a combination of my Tatay's and Nanay's name. The first 2 letters was from my Tatay and the last 4 letters was from my Nanay.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wow, a nice combination! Thanks for reading , and sharing something about your name. ๐Ÿค—

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice to know a bit about you, Michelle. That's a wonderful name... Now, you just reminded me of a tour guide who introduced himself as Michael but warned us that... He will punch us if we don't call him Michelle at night. ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha! This made me laugh! Thanks for sharing! Don't worry, I am Michelle both day and night. ๐Ÿ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I got to know more about you by this article ๐Ÿ˜Š.. This is an interesting topic..about knowing the meanings of our names..for me I don't know yet the meaning of my name.๐Ÿ˜… Goodmorning po.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Try searching it on the net! Hahaha! It maybe fun!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello Feminine version of Micheal. ๐Ÿ˜ you got a nice name, not doubt but you are more beyond that. You, yourself are beautiful already. ๐Ÿฅฐ

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh, wow thanks a lot, Mari. You are indeed beautiful too. โ™ฅ๏ธ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you! ๐Ÿฅฐ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No worries. โ™ฅ๏ธ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's creative that you spelled your name backwards. Your parents gave a lot of thought about your names. They even have to decided to have it all start with M.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah! That's why we are triple M siblings. LOL Thanks for reading! โ™ฅ๏ธ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There are meaning to our names and we must also be conscious of the names we give to our children. My name is "Oluwabusayo" I bet you can't pronounce it ๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿ˜… don't bite your tongue though ๐Ÿ™ˆ๐Ÿคฃ

The meaning is "God has added more Joy". That is beautiful right? Thanks for explaining more about you..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wow, I love the meaning of your name! You are indeed a joy to people around you. โ™ฅ๏ธ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think i got to know your name is Michelle from Zellypearl's post sometime back. I've always wondered what Ellechim means prior to that๐Ÿคฃ. By the way my favourite teacher back in primary school is named Michelle too. Reasons for that i never got to ask.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

My name is pretty common, as you can see hahahaha! Yeah, I spelled it backwards just for a change. ๐Ÿ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

what a nice meaning to your name, you have a beautiful name it is,,

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh, thanks for that. ๐Ÿค—

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a nice meaning of your name. I just figured it out recently that Ellehcim is actually a reverse version of Michelle. Lol.

Anyway my name Peter means: Derived from Greek ฮ ฮญฯ„ฯฮฟฯ‚ (Petros) meaning "stone".

More info about my name can be found here:

https://www.behindthename.com/name/peter

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh, yes, in the Bible, I think it is Peter who was named like that because of the way he answered Jesus' question. I am not sure but it's as far as I can remember. Let me read the link you shared. ๐Ÿค—

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Getting to know more pla to..hehe..same tyo hate ang gossip..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Opo, nakakaumay makinig pag-usapan ang buhay ng iba. Ayoko din kasi gagawin yun sakin, kaya po siguro ayokong gawin din sa iba. Tsaka nakakapagod makipagdaldalan, sa totoo lang po. ๐Ÿ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pareho pala tayo ng name๐Ÿ˜Šang ganda ng meaning๐Ÿฅฐ

$ 0.01
2 years ago

True. Hi, ka-tukayo! Hahaha! Sikat pangaoan natin eh. I even experienced having a classmate same name as mine. ๐Ÿ‘Œ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako din eh ,nagkataon nga tukayo 3 kaming michelle sa classroom namin๐Ÿ˜

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabe, tatlo talaga? ๐Ÿ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Name expressed your attitude and behavior as well. Your name Jessi is good regarding to a TV program and good remembrance for your parents as well. My name is zeshan its mean a person with high status by God.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah! Hi Zeshan! I always liked your name. :)

thanks for reading!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Napakaganda ng meaning ng name mo. Yung akin hirap hanapin eh. Rare siguro masyado name ko.๐Ÿ˜ It's nice to know you more.๐Ÿ˜Š

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks Yzza! Yours seems like a modern name. Maganda pa din naman, of course. Thanks for reading! <3

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm so excited you chose my question, I loved this so much....and I observed your name is spelt backward..

i got to know you better, you came out real and open to us you've got a cool name though... I will address you as Mich from now ๐Ÿ˜Š I hate gossips too and you may feel you aren't a good person but you are. Thank you

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Aww thanks for this. I feel like other amazing questions woild be such a waste if I did not answer them, so I will take them on one by one! I am glad you enjoyed this. Thanks for reading! โ™ฅ๏ธ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! I also agree that your name suits you well. so it means gift from God ๐Ÿ˜‡ I did not ask my parents about my name since I discovered it myself. John was taken from the bible.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, John. A beautiful name you have. Thanks for reading, and beautiful words. :))

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks you, too ๐Ÿ˜Š

$ 0.01
2 years ago