May, a Month To Remember

Avatar for Ellehcim
2 years ago

To leave or to be left behind? If you would be in a tragic love setting, and choose between the two, on which side would you want to be?

I just finished watching this Korean Drama today, actually, minutes before writing this one. I have thought of not publishing a blog today and just succumb to the lingering sadness the last episode brought me. I thought everything will be okay at the end. I am absolutely wrong. Korean Dramas are the proof of that.

If I only knew this drama would have a heartbreaking ending, I should not have watched it. Or maybe I still would? I don't know, the lead actor is one of my favorite K-Actors ever.

Photo by Lee Do Hyun posted on his official Instagram account.

Lee Do Hyun is his name. And yeah, there is something about him that I really love. Aside from his looks (obviously, duh? Haha!) He has remarkable acting skills. He always plays his roles well that those characters he played would leave a lingering effect to the audience until he goes into a new one.

I was first caught by his role in Hotel Del Luna, another masterpiece in all of the Korean Dramas that I watched. He's the second lead in that one, and (please watch if if you haven't yet, it's a really good drama) until now, the character he played there stays into my heart and still gives me "fictional" pain (whatever should I call it? I mean, it's just a fictional character but I am still affected LOL, don't mind me).

I went on watching another one which he played the lead role. Eighteen Again. Goodness, I could make an article just about this heart-touching drama. Lee Do Hyun's acting there was such a "Chef's Kiss" and I started liking him so much from then on. I also watched him in his part to the Kdrama titled Sweet Home, where he nailed his role again. Seriously, this guy's a gem.

And now, the one I am talking about for real. I am sorry for blabbering nonsense before this. I am sure some of you skipped anyway, right? Just kidding, read on.

The title of this drama he starred in as well, is Youth of May. It's interesting how his leading lady here is the one he used to work with in his previous drama Sweet Home, but as her little sister. Directors must have seen their chemistry to act as lovers so they gave these two the main roles. Her name is Go Min Si in real life.

Source: Wikipedia
An overview of the drama plot.

This Korean Drama inspired my blog today. The question I stated earlier. Have you thought of your answer already?

Alert: I am sorry if what I am about to say will be a spoiler that would enrage y'all.

Throughout the drama, especially in the later episodes, the prayers of the two main characters of them are subtly, but surely made clear to the audience like me. It was so subtle that I did not expect it would affect the wholeness of the story.

You see, in one of their scenes in the drama, Hwang Hee Tae (Lee Do Hyun's character), said that he prays to God, that when both of them experience struggles, he prays that he should be the one to suffer more than the woman he loves.

Edited by yours truly.

Myeong Hee (played by Go Min Si), on the other hand, prayed that if something unexpected happens, may the one who'll be left behind not be overwhelmed by the sorrows of being left alone.

My own edit as well. :)

Now, let me give you time to guess, who left first. Myeong Hee, or Hee Tae?

I told you, this is a spoiler. You've been warned. Again, I apologize. It still hurts thinking about this drama. Why am I fond of watching stories like these, ones that took place when there's no absolute freedom yet? One where loving freely ain't possible because the country is in chaos yet, and love seemed to be a luxury. Maybe, I just love hurting myself.

Yeah, Myeong Hee eventually leaves first, leaving Hee Tae suffering at her loss, until he grew old. I did not know their prayers mattered that much, but I am glad I still noted it quite well.

Hee Tae indeed suffered the worst, because he was the one left behind. This is how his prayer was answered. He was able to get by and stayed strong, however, because Myeong Hee prayed for it. Both of their prayers were answered in a way I can't fully explain, but I thoroughly understand. I understood it well, so much that it hurts. Laugh at me, but it really did affect me. It made me somehow remember this quote "Be careful what you wish for.."

Okay, I said I would write this without crying like a stupid again, so let me finish it here. I would probably still think about this one, like how I always did with the previous dramas I watched with tragic endings. Whew.

I mean, what if they both prayed something different? Would things have been different? Maybe they should have prayed something like "I hope we'll stay strong and overcome all hardships and dangers together. I pray that we'll grow old, achieve our dreams together, and have a happy family despite this chaotic time in our country." What do you think?

I am like this. Absolute fool. I know it's just a drama and a fictional plot, but I always wished a different ending. I always wished a re-writing of the plot. It feels miserable to just see things ending that way, and to think that this setting also happens in real life, is heart-piercing. Yeah, this fictional story took place in a setting of May 1980, 41 years ago. It is called "Gwangju Uprising" and it really happened in South Korea.

Source: Wikipedia

It is a love story that took place in an unfortunate time. They were both caught in a tangled timeline, where everything must have been against their love. Yeah, a creative story given life by the writer, but who knows? Lots of stories took place that time, and there maybe tons of painful love stories just left hidden by the mess of that chaotic past. It's this fact that hurts me. The people that died, the loved ones they left behind, I wonder if people who lived 41 years ago and experienced this could still remember, and somehow relate to this drama. I wonder how those people are right now, the ones left behind. They might be just children that time, or teenagers, or born in that year. I don't know, but I am sure it was traumatic.

I can still say I am lucky to be born in this generation, where freedom, or major political, and national issues in our nation are not that big of a problem anymore. Thanks to the heroes of the past that sacrificed their lives, even their own love stories probably, for a bigger cause, one that this generation is enjoying right now. Watching shows like this one reminds me to be thankful of the people of the past, and at the same time, sorry. They did not wish to be born in that specific time, and they had no choice. I don't know. Let's not cry, Elle. You're being drama-drama again.

What's your answer to the question?

I can't wait to see how you'll respond. I haven't revealed mine yet, but I will let you know once we converse in the comment section below.

To those who've watched this, I hope I was able to share some of the feelings you felt in this. Or to those who have not watched the ending yet, or haven't watched the ending, I, again, apologize for this spoiler. It's the only thing my mind and heart wanna write about.

If you notice my previous story as well "Unfinished Prose" , Part 1 and Part 2, tht story is inspired by some of the parts of this drama. I made some changes to the plot and adopted it into the modern setting. At least in mine, it has a happy ending. I wrote that one not knowing the ending of this drama yet, just to share.

Anyway, one thing's for sure. Because of this show, I'll never think of the month of May ever the same again.

Until Next Time!

-Elle β™₯️

  • Lead Image is an edited picture of mine from a screenshot in one of the episodes.

p.s. Surprise!

15
$ 7.99
$ 7.47 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @wakeuplincs
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 8
Sponsors of Ellehcim
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ellehcim
2 years ago
Enjoyed this article?  Earn Bitcoin Cash by sharing it! Explain
...and you will also help the author collect more tips.

Comments

Since it is hard answering your question I would just like to express that all I wanted is to binge watch Korean dramas. Hahaha. Including those you reviewed. But not this year. That's my tragic situation hahaha

$ 2.00
2 years ago

oh, what happened? I hope you're getting by just fine. Love your new dp by the way. Hehe. I will check new dramas bevause I know I will contonue thinking abt this one if I don't dostract myself. LOL

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nothing, just that I needed more time for other things.

Thank you! And for the 2 dollars! Wow!

I will just read more reviews from you. Hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My pleasure hahaha! Will try to do more if I can. πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will have to write down titles at matatabunan tong mga articles soon. Baka tamarin ako maghanap.

Go go go!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako din naman natatabunan, lalo pag ilang oras akong di nagbubukas dito sa read. Hahaha. Kaya natin yan!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oh..tragic endings are not my type of tea.. i want happy endings always...

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, same. I wanted to say bad words to whoever wrote this actually LOL, just kidding. Why make this story as painful as it is? We all want a happy ending!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

as painful as it is? We all want a happy en

hehehe

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wala akong balak panoodin to, di pa nga ako nakaka move on sa Moon Lovers Scarlet Heart Ryeo. Kaya pass, and about naman sa question: Ako na ang unang aalis. Ayaw kong masaktan, mas maigi ng mauna akong mamatay kesa maiwan at tiisin ang sakit ng unti unting pag alis ng mahal ko sa buhay.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Agree ako sa point mo. And yes. Yang Scarlet na yan, huhu. Dami kong iniyak din dyan. 🀧

I did not expect it to be tragic ending talaga, because I heard that it's only love between two almost graduating students! Like dang! I thought it would be fluff and all! Nascam ako. Huhuhu. Pighati, kirot.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Diba diba, kaya nga tayo nanonood para makalimot, malibang tapos ganyan sila. Isa pa yamg Uncontrollably Fond na iya. Mga wagas magpa iyak. Dami kong uhog na nailabas jan huehue. Kaya sabi ko never again, maigi pa mga action comedy huehue. Na spoil na ako jan sa Youth of May sa fb ee duguan kasi si girl nakita ko.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oo. linsyak kasing halos puro martial law dati, ano? Kawawa mga inosenteng tao, dahil sa mga nasa pososyon na hayok sa kapangyarihan.

Nararamdaman ko na sobrang masakit yang Uncontrollably Fond. Yan ba yung sila Suzy ang gumanap? Masmadadama yung sakit kasi lumaban talaga sa cancer yung lead guy dyan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I would rather choose to be that someone who left. I may sound so bad but I can't let myself hurt so much because of love.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Actually, same. As selfish as it maybe, I would rather leave first. But putting this question aside, would it be better to both leave this world at the same time? So no one has to leave, no one has to be left behind. Love is beautiful, but there is also incredible pain along with it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That can also be. ☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'll gonna save this so I can watch the drama haha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes! Please watch it and let me know what you think.. Sorry po for the spoiler though. πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

thk for you experience

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for reading as well. :))

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Because i am selfish... I'd choose to be the one to leave. That is the answer "at the moment" ... Hmm i am not sure if it will be the same answer for any other possible scenarios though. . .

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I love how genuine the answer is. Thank you so much for sharing it. And for reading this one.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've been left by my loved ones twice (My mother and father) and it's hurt so much that I wished to just sleep and never woke up again. And just by imagining that the love of my life will leave me is heartbreaking. So to answer your question, maybe I'll write an article about it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hello, dear friend. I apologize if this trigered those sad memories of yours. I will definitely look forward to your article about it. May I request to be mentioned by you, so I could read it as soon as it's published.

Thanks for being here, and sharing your experiences.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, I will definitely mention you when it's done.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's nice to know. Thanks a lot again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I watched the movie hotel del luna since my gf is so fond of it. And yes, that's a nice drams series. But this one, the main topic, I have never watched this. I will let my gf know about this so we'll watch together. Hehe

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh yes, please. Please watch it and don't tell her the ending yet so it won't ruin the whole watching experience. Sorry, you've read the spoiler though. πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, I will not spoil her with what's the ending. Haha she might spank me

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, I also hate being spoiled, (but I did it here LOL, sorry! πŸ˜‚)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Although I didn't watch it I like your explanation and I love how the writer connected this drama to reality with the incident. πŸ‘Œβ€οΈ

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes. I have this strange attraction of fictional love stories that are set up in some historical time in the past. I don't know, I just find it more relatable and closer to reality that way.

Thabks for reading. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I already watched that and the ending part is tragic. It left me broken hearted. Whatever the ending is, I appreciate this drama as I watched it at night at Viu.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Indeed. It seems like all the troubles they went through in the episodes, just bottled up in us, and then the writer supposedly gathered all possible heart-wrecking scenes to compress it in the last episode, to leave our eyes bawling. I am personally mad at how it ended abruptly like that. No one deserves a story like that, let alone Myeonghee who has always experienced hardships throughout her life.

Look at me taking these stories seriously. I am so bad at moving on with sad dramas like these. LOL

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I feel you. I was going through something while watching this drama but I still don't give up, yet it leaves me broken

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We love pain! πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago