What do I want to study?

44 70
Avatar for Ellawrites
1 year ago

It might be hard for some or most of you to believe this but the truth remains that:

It was this year I finally realized what I truly want to study.

Most of you would know through my previous articles that I'm a twin, my twin is a boy. Back then when I was younger, my dad made it mandatory that:

  • Whenever my brother goes to have an haircut, I must follow him.

  • Whenever I also visit the saloon for my hair to be made, he must follow me.

  • And we must go to school and come back home together. Infact anytime I leave him in school, my dad lashes me with some strokes of cane. Believe me, it was terrible, my brother always made me leave the house and leave the school late.

Anyways, due to the fact that I was still young and frail. Anytime I followed my brother to the saloon to have an haircut, I sometimes see the barber counting his money. This made me feel they were abundantly rich.

Fast forward to the day my dad summoned us to deal us some questions.

My dad had asked my elder; twin brother and I, a simple question.

What do you want to be in future?.

Such a great question right?. I felt highly proud of myself, I was so happy and pleased as I boldly said:

I want to be a barber.

My dad was bemused, I'm sure deep down, he would have felt my village people were following me.

Disclaimer: Not trying to say those people don't make their money, but there's a point I'm driving at.

I never knew what i really and truly wanted to study.

I was in primary section then.

I don't know about other countries but in my country, when a child is leaving Junior Secondary School to Senior Secondary School. S/he has to choose from these options, to either join:

Art Class.

Science Class or...

Commercial Class.

Choices are made based on what the person intends to study or be in future.

For example; you can't see an aspiring medical doctor in Art Class, neither can you see a wannabe lawyer in Science Class or a soon to be accountant in any of the aforementioned.

Now, I didn't join Science and Commercial classes because I don't know maths and I'm honestly not intrigued in knowing it. Maths is just not a thing of mine.

In Science Class, one would study:

  • Physics.

  • Chemistry.

  • Further maths

  • Maths.

  • Geography.

  • Economics...

Ahan, do you want to kill me!!!... The calculations are too much, I wonder why one has to further mathematics.

Well, I'm actually glad I joined Art Class though, else my regrets would have pilled up.

That was how I still had no idea even after I graduated from secondary school.

  • Six years in primary section.

  • Six years in secondary section.

Yet I had no idea whatsoever about my future.

Had I known:

I left secondary school in 2017, taught as a teacher in a school; for two years.

I had this weak mentality that I was too young to be in tertiary institution, I finally wrote jamb in 2019.

I passed jamb, but chose University of Lagos as my first choice... of course you guessed right, I didn't gain admission into the university.

My second choice was Lagos State University, I didn't even bother going for their screening especially because they don't give admission when placed as second choice.

Yaba college of technology was my third choice, but I never took their exams.

All hopes were placed in the basket of UNILAG. Well UNILAG threw my brother and I away.

A little addition:

Even during jamb registration. My mum followed my twin and I to the jamb registration center.

It was so bad... It was on that day, my mum and I deliberated on what I should actually go for.

Political science was the choice, especially since I actually got a D7 in my literature that year.

Continuation.

So no admission!!!... Ah!, I'll spend one more year at home!.

Infact my brother and I had given up so soon, my brother was already making so much from teaching, and he boldly told my mum he isn't going to reseat for Jamb.

Since UNILAG threw him away, and since that was were all our hopes were, he isn't interested in school anymore.

My mum was obviously not pleased; hearing her son say this. As God would have it, she did her best and got us admitted as "Part-time students" into Yaba college of technology.

But still...

I didn't know what I actually wanted to study.

My mum followed me on the first day I was to resume lectures.

I can't forget that day.

Me: Mummy, what am I studying?

My mum: That's your class over there.

Me: Ahan,what am I studying?, tell me, how can I just enter into a class without even knowing what it's all about.

My mum: just go in, you'll find out later.

I was utterly confused, I walked up to my elder brother and asked him, since my mum had refused to give answers.

It was then my brother said:

My brother: You're studying OTM.

Me: Really!!, Which kind of course is this?. What does it even stand for?.

My brother: Office Technology Management.

Disappointment was written all over my face, but can I blame my mum? No!, If I knew what I wanted to study, all these won't have happened.

This is 2022, and it's now I finally realized what I truly want to study.

Five years, gone and I'll still have to start afresh if I truly want to fulfil purpose.

Sighs...

Till we meet again in my next article and in yours.

Thanks for reading.

23
$ 1.15
$ 0.77 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @Tomi-Ajax
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 10
Sponsors of Ellawrites
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ellawrites
1 year ago

Comments

your ambition is amazing my friend, do you want to be a barber? I hope you're joking but every desire and purpose in life only depends on each individual maybe many close people will provide input and choices but the taste and desire is in our hands.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

No ooh, I don't want to be a barber anymore ooh.

Thanks alot rean

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha this is a mix of humour and seriousness. I enjoyed this, Ella. You and your twin you are gum body hahahaha.

Yes, it's normal for you to be confusing at that age to think you wanted to be a barber. There is a way we think those who dress so well and those who earn so well (as we see) should be the path we want to follow even if it's not what we wanted. At that age, we rarely know what we should do and that's the truth. Even when you tell them you would love to be a doctor, the reality would set in on you and when you get to Secondary School, you will quickly find your bearing. She said she doesn't like math ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ... You see? That naturally narrow down your choices.

Most parents want us to have a pick and I still keep saying it, I don't think I would ask any of my children what they want to study. I would rather ask them "What problem do you want to solve?" If I know the end product of what they want to solve based on the reality of this world, then it's easier to know what path to put them on.

$ 0.04
1 year ago

Lol ๐Ÿ˜‚ this comment cracked me up as usual ๐Ÿ˜‚ but at the same time there's alot of truth in all you've said... I'm guessing I was only reacting the way I was meant to react when I said I wanted to be a barber. Lol...

Wow!, So much sense in this Sir, me, I have tapped from this ooh, I'm definitely going to ask my kids this question too. Thanks for this great tip Mr Ola ๐Ÿ™‡๐Ÿฟโ€โ™€๏ธ

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Anytime my darling and I am so glad this helped. Thank you so much. ๐Ÿ˜˜๐Ÿค—

$ 0.00
1 year ago

One should always give priority to one's own opinion. You should read whatever you like to study. Sadly I could not read about my favorite subject but I am reading it Alhamdulillah.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You're right dear, sorry about this dear

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have always wanted to study something connected to banking and financial management :)

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Wow!! Hope you achieved this dream?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

And I was just imagining those scenes ๐Ÿฅณ. My own case was straight forward...it was admission that gave me what I studied, Trust our ADMISSION system na.

I came out from science class with good background in PHYSICS and maths and biology, but chemistry was 0% due to lack of teachers. I didn't bothered much on going for the so called "medicine" due to poor chemistry, so I moved to engineering and admission stylishly landed me to civil...the grandfather of calculation.

OTM is a good course, na them get office๐Ÿ’ฏ

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's true Shar, they have a way of selecting courses for students.

Lol, I'm glad you're studying something that drives your passion.

Yeah it is but not just for me.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There is always a chance to start all over, it doesn't mean you were wrong at first. It happens like that, and now that you have fully realized what you want, then no more delay or obstruction.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Sighs...

This is true dear, I'll start all over, hopefully I'll get it right this time around

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My dear Ella, I completely understand you. Unfortunately, we have to choose a field of study when we are very young, and our plan with ourselves and our interests is still unknown. And finally it's too late for us when we realize what our interests and talents are.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes dear, too bad. I actually wish I knew this earlier

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I still remember visiting the hospital with grandma and I saw the beautiful nurses and cute doctors all dressed up, I was so captivates by their smartness, I told grandma, I wanted to be a doctor. When I went home, I told my dad and he asked me why, I said so grandma won't have to go to the hospital anymore. I will always treat her and every other person when she is sick. 10 years later, am a doctor and am glad, I made my choice early. Dear friend, it is never too late to start again.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Wow! This is really beautiful dear Wrinkle. I'm glad you achieved and you're happy with your childhood dream.

Thanks alot for this dear, I'll start again. This was highly motivational and I appreciate it

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I was once like this ๐Ÿ˜‚Throughout my stay in Secondary school, I never knew what I was going to be. I was in art class too and I am also a twin. It was after I graduated from school I started thinking. I am just kind of happy now that I have realized my purpose on earth and by the grace of God, will end up becoming who I am to be.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Wow! You're a twin and also an art student, awwwwwn, that's really lovely dear Temmy.

Awwwwwn, cheers to that dear, I'm glad to hear you say this. And thanks for stopping by here dear.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes! I am ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ’ƒ. It's nice meeting you ๐Ÿ’•

You are welcome

$ 0.00
1 year ago

In half of cases it is influence of parents means sometimes you decide to go to some fields but parents prefer science fields.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We are somehow alike, I barely know what I want or not sometimes I feel like going back in time to choose art department. Not that I don't like science.

But the only difference in our stories is that my mum or dad didn't follow me around ๐Ÿ˜‚

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Wow!!.. I can relate totally.

Lol, Peele ๐Ÿ˜‚ Low-key, I guess she followed me around because I'm a girl and also the last born

$ 0.00
1 year ago

When I was in secondary, I was just in art class and when my school mates are saying what they wanted to study, I will just be listening to them, if they asked me, my mind will just fly away cause I just don't know of any, even after secondary, I just felt like is better for me to be a shoe marker, well, God being God didn't let me, I was 18 years before I know what I needed to be, felt like I started it not quite early, but I am already here, though most people have more knowledge than me about it, that shouldn't make me give up on it, I am keep growing and that's what matters a lot.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Wow! This experience of yours really got to me๐Ÿฅบ especially because I can fully relate to this.

Better late than never, I guess... I'm glad you're gradually reaching the target of fulfilling purpose.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, better late than never.

We might cross paths in the future sha ๐Ÿ˜…

$ 0.00
1 year ago

do not give up . never too late for anything. read whatever you decide to read

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Awwwwwn, thanks alot dear friend. I appreciate this, I won't.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

๐Ÿ˜Ž๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ˜˜โ˜บโ˜บ

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I can imagine the kind of look your dad gave you the day you said you wanted to be a barber ๐Ÿ˜

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Lol ๐Ÿ˜‚ Honestly it was a terrible look he gave

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Okay this is a first for me what does OTM entail ?

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It mainly studied when one wants to work in an office, be it as a secretary, manager, clerk, administrator and the likes.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well after all the confusion and all other thing . Am glad u now know wat to study

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes dear, I'm glad I now know it too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If you don't mind me asking, what is it that want to study now?

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Lol It's related to writing

$ 0.00
1 year ago

More than one course is related to writing.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Chuckles, it means that you should be your brother's keeper and that is what is expected of every twins and even brothers or sisters

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Lol, yes dear, this is true

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This story reminds me of my elder brother that told my dad that he wanted to be a farmer oh how we laughed so loud๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚well now he's a graduate of mass communication. No time is too late as long there's life and a will. Give this new resolve all of you, pass the required process, be prayerful and it'll all fall in place. Congratulations in advance๐Ÿ˜Š

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Lol ๐Ÿ˜‚

Awwwwwn, thanks alot Venvie, I really appreciate this

$ 0.00
1 year ago

When I was young I really want to become a teacher but now that I'm matured already, I doubt if I can be a better teacher.

But, it's was just a young dream, for now, all I want to do is writing.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Awwwwwn โ˜บ๏ธ teaching is also cool dear Winx.

If your passion is still there, you could write and teach at the same time.

$ 0.00
1 year ago