Relating my experience to life.

27 135
Avatar for Ellawrites
1 year ago

It was raining when I woke up yesterday, I needed to go to church.

Yesterday was the first Sunday in the month of June so I really wanted to attend church service.

I wasn't at home and the house I spent the night in, the occupants didn't have an umbrella. At a Point I even wanted to just stay and not go to church because it didn't stop raining till past7.

Delay

a period of time by which something is late or postponed.

Wikipedia

At around past7, I stepped out. There was no bike at first, so I had to walk down the road a little bit before I spotted a bike and its owner.

Fast forward to when i was in the tricycle heading to Church.

That was how the driver decided to branch to a fuel station to get fuel, there wasn't fuel in the first station. So he drove to another one and got fuel from there.

I kept looking at my wristwatch, church service had definitely started and here we were.

He got the fuel and drove off, he stopped again in front of a vulcanizer shop and pleaded that he wanted to quickly pump one of his tyre. I was already quite frustrated. There wasn't much time left, service had long begun.

To cut short the long story; i got late to church.

  • Praise and worship section was over.

  • Bible reading section was over.

  • Testimony section was over.

  • Payment of tithes and offerings' section was over.

I was quite lucky to meet the choir ministration.

What I picked from this experience of mine:

In the journey of one's life, you alone would determine if you'll give in to those barriers, setbacks or distractions or if you'll ignore all these delays and just keep going.

  • The Church Service represented TIME.

  • The Morning rain represented an obstacle to getting or attaining my goal, it served as a barrier; standing against me going to church or staying back because it was raining. A barrier that would have discouraged me from starting or enabled my procrastination. In life terms, this barrier is popularly known as Laziness and also known as Money.

Most times, we allow laziness draw us back, laziness would make us feel like...

...after all there's still a "next week Sunday."

Relating it to life:

It would make us feel like there's still time and time would always be there for us to get things done at our own pace.

  • The tricycle that kept stopping to do this and to do that; represents delays and setbacks.

It simply means that in one's journey towards attaining success, it might not always be a smooth ride, there would be delay, there would be setbacks, there would be good and bad days.

Lesson learnt.

Time waiteth for no man:

  • That it was raining that morning didn't mean service won't start when it was meant to start.

  • Or that because there was some delay on the way, time would understand and wait.

It's better to start going; even if the pace is slow, with time you'll get there.

Imagine if i had decided that because it rained(an obstacle), I wouldn't go to church anymore.

If i had stayed back, I would never had gotten to my destination, cause I gave in to the will of an obstacle(rain) and decided to postpone and go on the next Sunday.

In relation to life.

If you don't start, you'll never finish.

It's better to use a bicycle and atleast move, than to stay back because you didn't see a car.

In essence...

Life is a gradual process, even if the pace isn't fast, even if along the way there are setbacks or delay, as long as you keep going, you'll get there.

Don't just stay back because you feel money is a barrier, do something, look for ways to start, just start. The pace doesn't have to be fast at first.

With determination you'll get there, but remember:

Just like Sunday service didn't stop because i wasn't yet around, or didn't start because they were waiting for me to come. Always remember: "Time waiteth for no one."

So what you need to do, start doing.

What you need to stop, stop doing.

There would be times you won't see a vehicle to enter; you'll have to trek for awhile.

There'll be times the vehicle you entered would branch to get fuel or get its' tire pumped; you'll have to be calm and patient. What I simply means by this is that there would be times when you'll have setbacks, you'll be too tired to go on, you'll be stressed out and withdrawn. Let patience speak, but don't stop because of this, push yourself and keep going.

Just keep going, you'll definitely get there.

I didn't plan to apologise, (I feel like you all might be asking yourself why I'm always apologizing), but then I still feel like.

I'm sorry for not attending to the comments on my last article, I'll do justice to it today... sometimes the physical world mounts pressure on us and makes us less active virtually.

Till we meet again in my next article and in yours.

Thanks for reading.

19
$ 1.81
$ 1.25 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @Tomi-Ajax
$ 0.05 from @George_Dee
+ 14
Sponsors of Ellawrites
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ellawrites
1 year ago

Comments

The road to life is never smooth and delays will arise in our attitude toward our journey and the to never give up even with several setbacks. An educative article as always Ella

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If we don't stop procrastinating it will get things worse or hard for us because by the when we will decide to do it, time might not be on our side again. We need to understand that life is full of obstacles and barriers so we should not let that stop us from doing wat we are expected to do.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We will never have enough time! It is important to know how to allocate time according to what emergencies we have. We are subject to time and we need to understand that!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Can you imagine the beautiful lessons you picked from your experience?

Life has its way of passing the message across to us and it is left for us to make you of the lessons. Obstacles are part of our journey in life so as setbacks, we must prepare ahead of we want to get the best of life.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Awwwwwn, thanks Mr George.

Exactly Sir, we need to prepare ahead if we want the best from life.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My dear Ella, you wrote very beautiful and inspiring. We must not give in to the will of life obstacles. Life is a process, even if there are setbacks and delays in our way, as long as we keep going, we will definitely get there. We must not let obstacles and delays stop us from continuing.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks alot dearest Ellen, indeed we must not let obstacles delay us or stop us from achieving what we are set out to achieve

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I also felt the same way when it was raining and I was getting ready to go to church but because of my intention and faith in God I finally used all means to get to the holy house, this one lesson was an obstacle that couldn't prevent me from fellowship with God because I know that He is the source of all things.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I'm glad you went to church. Yes, exactly, God is the source of all things.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I was amazed how did you come up to that realizations. LIFE sometimes takes us to delays, but it can serve as a lesson to do better, and prepare early next time as much as possible.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes dear Winx, exactly. We need to prepare early next time, such great contribution from you dear.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Time really wait for no one. No matter how's obstacles we face to reach our destination and goals if we are late we miss them

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Oh yes indeed, time waits for no one.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Half of people like rain while half like summer. In rainy conditions you could work well but in hot summer this seems impossible.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Time and procrastination are two enemies of man, one can't exist without the other. It depends on how well you utilize the gift of time, that it will be of benefit to you. If time was really our friend, then it would have waited for us.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Beautiful dearest Wrinkle, I love this, you really nailed it. Thanks for this great contribution

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True words my friend. Time is everything,and also Time is existence. Have a wonderful day my friend. But I still don't understand this proverb which says " a stitch in time saves nine" Maybe someone can explain this to me please.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks Fiyin. It means that it's better to sort out a problem when it's still little than waiting for it to grow or increase before trying to fix it

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We should not give excuse for not doing what we are ought to do at the right time, we should not allow the circumstances of things to set us back, if we don't try overcome the obstacles... We will never achieve our dreams.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Beautiful! Dearest Mary, I so much love this. If we don't try to overcome those obstacles, we'll never achieve our dreams

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The reality about life.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

An excellent realization. There might be some sort of delays, but you'll still get there even if the process is slower than what you've expected.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Exactly dear Amy, it's better to keep up with the pace even if it is slow

$ 0.00
1 year ago

we expect that there are delays in our lives, but we do not know when and where it will happen. you have an amazing realization that i am happy about.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks alot for stopping by dearest pal

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This article speaks volume, I'm in awe of how you were able to relate your experience with life's journey, this is wisdom Ella.

In life, we truly need to not allow anything set us back, we must keep going.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Awww, thanks alot Honey.

Yes exactly, we should keep going, that's all that matters.

$ 0.00
1 year ago