Read = write.

30 56
Avatar for Ellawrites
2 years ago

Read = Write.

Learn = teach.

You'll be wondering why I wrote those words in that way. Fact and the truth is that: you basically can't write efficiently, if you don't read; just as you can't teach if you don't learn.

You must not forget the process.

There's a common quote that's still widely used, the quote states: "readers are leaders." It's just three words, but it carries in it; deep meanings.

  • To be great, you must read,

  • To pass a test, you must read,

  • To know or learn about something, you must read,

  • To understand something, you must read.

  • And to write more efficiently, you must read...

To teach a person well, you must learn by either reading or by paying attention when you're being taught.

A summary of what led me into writing this.

Lately, I've been trying so hard to communicate properly without making mistakes when speaking. My writings are slowly becoming prone to so many mistakes and errors. Funny enough; I know the reason and it's because I've stopped reading. I've not been reading much of books for awhile now and it's not helping matters at all. I bet if I go back to some of my old articles, (not on read, but on Facebook and Instagram) I would ask myself this question: can I still use my part of speech and figures of speech well enough?.

With that short illustration up there, I've come to realize that, to be a proficient writer, you just have to read, and keep reading. Learn more, understand more, keep reading and it will show in your writing.

We learn everyday.

What I noticed.

I actually noticed that whenever i successfully read a book to the end, my Grammer in English takes a new turn, it improves in ways I don't understand. Especially when the book I read contains alot of words I had no idea of.

In plain terms; it was when I read a book: "Redeeming love by Francine Rivers" that I saw for the first time; words like:

  • Perspiration.

  • Rummaging

  • Surfing

  • Scavenging

  • Lewd

  • Spiralling... And so much more, infact; hardly would I read a page of that book without jotting down words I know nothing of. Immediately I finished reading "Redeeming love" the inspiration to write a poem on "Poetic life" zoomed in.

Reading broadens and improves your knowledge on vocabulary. Through reading, you might just be able to place your words right.

It enhances your thinking faculty.

It helps you understand more about a topic, test, book or project.

It is a form of acquiring knowledge.

Good books helps in improving on your writing skills.

A quick one:

I remember when I was in the teaching business, I would have no idea whatsoever about the topic to be taught in class the next day,(sometimes) whenever I read on it, I find and see myself teaching with so much ease. And even the scholars easily assimilates all what I taught them.

Sponsors of Ellawrites
empty
empty
empty
Thanks a whole lot for your support.

Special Appreciation: I'm grateful and honored to have a new sponsor, @Olasquare thanks for trusting me on this and I hope not to let you down... I'm grateful for your sponsorship.

Closing Remarks: To be great in life, we must embrace and cleave unto books. Without reading, it might be hard for you to keep leading. We become what we take in, (books, words) especially when we believe in its' concept.

To write effectively, you must read continuously.

I hope we all enjoyed the first day in April, I was almost tempted to write about April fool's day, the people I fooled and what I told them that fooled them. On a second thought, maybe I should have written on it and probably saved this article for tomorrow, but oh well, the deed has been done.

Thanks for your support.

Thanks for reading.

16
$ 2.37
$ 1.91 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.08 from @Tomi-Ajax
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 11
Sponsors of Ellawrites
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ellawrites
2 years ago

Comments

When you read a lot you will be inspired by others writing and write your own book or tutorial this doesn't mean plagiarism but if you do not read at all you will write whatever ideas and bad quality of writing.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly dear. If one doesn't read, we'll write whatever ideas but our writings would be weak.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yesss, I can relate with this, reading broadens one's horizon.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It indeed does. Thanks for stopping by

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Reading is the first step in building our world of writing and also to know more about what is going on in our environments. One who stops reading or learning is considered dead coz he won't know what is going on in the world

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh my goodness that really great idea made by you. I guessed am your new subscribers and also your new friends nice meeting you Ella write please can you tell me your name on Facebook so I can get to know more about your writing content . You are right my dear when we read we understand more better . readers are leaders I guessed that my next articles here :,-)

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes dear, exactly! When we read, we understand more better. Awwwwwn! Yeeeey, I'm your new subscriber too. Thanks for your support. My Facebook name is "Tayire Dorcas"

Awwwwwn, that would be lovely.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Reading improves our communication and writing skills. I hope you will continue to read and learn. Learning lasts a lifetime.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly dear, I sure hope I would. Thanks for stopping by.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, Although I saw this late, I must confess I am aligned to it's context. You are a hundred percent correct, the more you read the more you can write, and the more you learn the more you can teach. Strange words there, lemme go check my DictionaryπŸƒπŸƒπŸƒ.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly!! Lol πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ thanks for stopping by

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Writers are readers. There is no shortcut. I was a voracious reader, but that changed after I had my kids. I don't have much time to read in between raising the kids. And because of that, my writing skill suffers too. I used to be a better writer, but now, I am not so happy with how I narrate and communicate ideas. I try to squeeze some time to read at least 15 minutes a day, but I don't think that's enough. Oh well. By the way, Redeeming Love by Francine Rivers used to be one of my favorite books. I read and re-read it several times years ago. Her other books, like Lineage of Grace series, are worth checking too.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes! Indeed they are. Awww, I really can understand how busy you'd be. Raising children to be better people isn't a day's work.

This is what's happening to me also, the way I communicate ideas has drastically reduced to the barest minimum... I don't have a good reason for the slack though. With the effort you're putting to it, I'm sure you'll bounce back up soon enough.

Redeeming love was so interesting, seeing you've also read it, is awesome. Oh thanks alot. I've definitely copied that.. I'll check it out. I appreciate this ma'am.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh now I remember, do check out her other series - The Mark of the Lion series. This series strengthened my faith so much, that I re-read it several times too! LOL.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wow!! Thanks alot ma'am. I'll check it all out

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The only reading I get is from read and noise :D Good luck with your reading!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm sure you gain a whole lot from reading articles also.

Thanks πŸ™

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I get to learn from you guys especially different cultures all over the world :) At least those are here in read :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh yes! That's indeed true... We do learn from you too... Ranging from your cultures, food amongst all others.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

nice article

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Reading books help a lot, I have noticed it too but it has been a long time since I did that now

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah it does... Lol, same here; we are definitely paddling in the same boat.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I guess I started writing when I became engrossed with different books I have read, most of the time, I read war novels and crime novels which led to me having the big imagination of writing such kind of article

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly!!! One tends to be what one takes in... You read mostly on that niche and that's why you write mostly on it. Kudos to you, I really want to be engrossed in books also.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Reading really shapes the mind helps in improving your confidence while speaking and writing. Sometimes, I watch movies just to boost my grammar and discover how tenses are used by the characters. Learning and being entertained at thesame time. Lol.... And thank God for the internet, there are tonnes of learning materials that would help one develop at one's own pace

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, you're right... Movies have also been a source of learning new things. It really shows so well, how you've taken advantage of learning from different sources.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is true thay the more we read, the more we enhance our grammar. Ever since I started reading novel, I saw my development in my writting and speaking English. English is just our 2nd language.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh, yeah right! Reading really helps alot.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nowadays people who have dreams/aims/objectives have to know how to read and write so as to be a professional in their aspect. One must read continuously and not occasionally to be successful.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I love the way you nailed it there: "one must read continuously and not occasionally." So true and apt

$ 0.00
2 years ago