Bullies and their victims.

36 58
Avatar for Ellawrites
1 year ago

All through my growing up years, I had this mentality that a child who gets bullied in school or at home; happened only in the movies. I've never physically seen anyone being bullied, neither have I been bullied.

Last year and the way this year has been so far, it has made me realize that truly; people get bullied, not just in the movies but plainly also in reality. But then, there's a question I can't stop asking myself:

Why do people bully others?

  • Is it just to feel superior?

  • Or are they trying to take their pound of flesh by making others suffer the same way they did?

  • Is it hereditary?

  • Is it just for the fun of seeing others in pain?.

  • ...or prolly because of Fame and the peers they keep.

Left to me, I see no reason why children should subject other children to pains, but still, the painful fact here is that; it happens, it actually happens.

People are being bullied by others and it has led some into commiting heinuos crimes, while some of the victims lost their lives through this process.

Still in the course of Sunday's teaching, another question was asked.

As a parent, how do you help a child who's constantly bullied in school?.

Sometimes these victims become depressed and through this pain, it might lead them into doing something terribly bad.

The facilitators actually spoke about Salvador Ramos, who was bullied from small and decided to purchase a gun when he clocked 18; killing at least 19children and two teachers in Texas, in addition to this he shot his grandmother but luckily for her, she survived.

He had this trauma since he was a child, reports have it that he was a victim of being bullied when he was a child.

I'm guessing he harboured all these in his heart and decided to make other children pay for his sufferings.

This was a totally wrong decision to make and it's actually pathetic. May the souls of those children rest in peace, and I pray those parents are given the fortitude to bear this tragic loss.

I would have pasted the link to the story. I've actually been trying to, but all efforts proved futile and that's because I actually don't know how to go about it. You could just surf the internet to read on the story.

There are some victims that voices out. Whenever they're bullied in school, they always come back home to report the issue to their parents, especially when their parents are people they feel secure enough to talk to.

As parents in this scenario, it's always advisable to take note of the smallest details. As little as:

  • Mummy and Uduak push me in school.

  • And that boy took my biscuit...

Don't just shove this things aside; listen, find out why, make your children feel loved, don't be too busy to hear them out...take drastic measures by making a complaint in their school, and if it persist, nothing should stop you from withdrawing your child from that school.

Sighs...

So many other ways to help a child who is a victim of being bullied; were discussed, but then someone made a remark; stating that when he was a child, he was also a victim but he never told his parents or anyone, infact he never showed his sadness in his expression. He was always smiling, so it was hard to detect that he wasn't truly happy.

The aforementioned leads me to biggest question, which is:

How would a parent know a child is being bullied in school, especially when the child keeps quiet and says nothing about it?

Till we meet again in my next article and in yours.

Thanks for reading.

18
$ 1.62
$ 1.35 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
$ 0.05 from @Aimure
+ 6
Sponsors of Ellawrites
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ellawrites
1 year ago

Comments

All the reasons you listed in form of questions are actually right, they are reasons to why people bully, take it from someone who was bullied as a kid I should know, plus I did a lot of digging into bullying and why people bully. I some what became a bully myself, but only on social media for a while a few years back, it wasn't intentional though. Bullying isn't all that common in this part of the world based on what I've seen and heard.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hmmm, I'm actually happy you were able to scale through those terrible times when you were bullied, I'm glad you didn't allow those bullies to turn you into something else.

Yes, this is definitely true, no wonder I rarely hear about it in this country.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks, even though I feel I kindadeserved it plus I'm glad it happened it helped shape me into the kind of person I am today.

Exactly...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's so sad that some kids are deficient in their thinking and choose to be bullies. Most children who bully others have deficient homes period! For me, I think that bullying other people is the way they express their anger to the world and they don't care about how others feel because they too are being neglected one way or another.

This is just my take though, I could be wrong.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

This is actually coming from a brilliant angle, like seriously; some of these bullies also have scars, or pains they are trying to run away from, so they feel what's best for them is to inflict pain on others, this way they get relieved by seeing others in the same woes they are in.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I experienced to be bullied in school because of my feminine characteristics. When I was in highschool I also experienced to be bullied, one of my bullies hit me and since my health that time is not stable because of asthma I am hospitalized for two weeks. I stayed in intensive care unit for 1 week, I am frail that time.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Aaah, it must have been painfully terrible, I can only imagine... Hope you're agile now?. I'm more happy you didn't turn out to be a monster even after those traumatic experiences you had as a child.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I was once the bully back then, but now I can say that what I did in my elementary days was not good.. good thing I changed when I was in highschool..

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Really!! Oh, thank goodness for a change of heart

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I haven't got to know how the person bullying feels probably does for status or for fun in high school. I have been bullied when I got transferred in new school. It was a painful experience until and unless I raised my voice and hands the bullies didn't stopped. I had seen a similar case where one of guy in my old school was bullied a lot. I and two of my friends were his only friends. He was a hurted soul asking us, Why other always tease me? He was a bit slow on processing. But one time he completely went nuts on the bullies injuring them severely. Constant bullying can turn people into a monster if not taken care of early which I have experienced. I have some friends to support me. Or else I would have been grown differently when I changed schools.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ahh! This is really sad and yes you're right only if the victim raises his/her voice, these bullies won't stop. I'm glad your friends were there. Bullying turns some victims to monsters like in the case of the guy in your school and Salvador Ramos

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm also concerned about incidents like this, to be honest when I was little I was bullied by other people who were stronger than me when I was in elementary school and often scared me so I couldn't be more creative due to pressure but over time God has helped me and changed everything and now I am concerned about the lives of those who have to suffer with the circumstances they are in, I also don't know if this is the retribution for what they have done. we just pray my friend that this action does not continue to be carried out.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Wow!!... This is saddening, thank goodness you've been helped by God to overcome this.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

From start, if you create a good relationship with your child, I believe he or she will be able to tell you things like that when they happen even though it is embarrassing, it is up to you to make them feel comfortable telling you anything at all.

As regards adding a link to your article, permit me to refer you to my old article https://read.cash/@Aimure/how-to-use-readcash-its-features-and-tools-for-better-experience-part-1-2f3562f8 Towards the end, you'll see how you can embed a link in your writing.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Wow!!. This is true ooh!!. A child would be free around parents that communicates well with him/her

Really!. Thanks alot dear, I'll check this out, I really appreciate 🙏

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Children are most people that must be respected in the world.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's why it is really important that parents take time to know whatever is happening at school. Their child maybe a a victim or a bully, but both need help and action.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

This is true and from the looks of things, it'll surely help in diverse ways.

Parents should be up and doing; watching and not letting go of the tinniest details.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I also bullied some students back then when I was in junior school but after that, I still go back to them and tell them it was all play cos I could see the fear in them and I couldn't take it, why should they be scared of me? All these I thought but it was all for fun for me and then I will tell them not to be afraid again. I was also bullied in secondary school but I take it as fun for me oooo, but it can be depressing for many and need to be avoided. Asking your children about school, and how their day went will allow them to speak at some point about what happened.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Omo! When I started reading and read the first part, I first shouted "aaah!!"

But I'm glad you actually do go back to apologise, that's one really awesome and rare trait. Wow! I really didn't imagine you to be a victim of being bullied and for the fact that you called it fun, lol 😂 we were indeed wired differently.

Wow! This is awesome, thanks for airing your educative view, this too should do.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am sorry for all the children who are victims of bullies, they usually become depressed and experience very bad feelings. The parents of bullies children should listen to them and find their problems, and make their children feel loved.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Exactly, it's quite painful. Yes dear Ellen, the parents of those bullies should make their children feel loved.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

How would a parent know a child is being bullied in school, especially when the child keeps quiet and says nothing about it?


I wasn't able to give a proper response in the previous Article. But I do hope this one counts.

**

That is one billion dollar question, Elle. One thing we must know is that Parents CANNOT read minds. They are humans after all, and they don't have a fault in that. Let me make reference to a movie I saw once. There lived a couple and their only daughter. The marriage had it's ups and downs. But, they tried their best to keep things going... Especially for their daughter. Whom on one hand had a certain outlook on life. The school she attended were filled with bullies. She became a victim, but her parents were completely in the dark as to whatever happened to her in school, because she was pretty good at keeping her issues hidden. After a while, her strength failed her - not because she was weak, but because she thought she could shoulder the burden alone (a common trait amongst kids, and teenagers) eventually she decided to take her life. Her parents were broken and distraught... They took action against the school, but beneath it all they felt a guilt of not doing enough for their daughter.

Parenting is a tasking job. This I have found. On this matter, I think that no matter how hard any parent tries to understand their child, they sometimes can't seem to. But what they CAN do is to let their kids know that whatever happens it is okay when they feel their strength isn't enough. Creating an atmosphere of communication and trust goes a long way, yes. However, you may soon realise that too is never enough at times. We cannot be sure of these kind of things, but maybe, just maybe the child sees that he/she has someone they can open up to... we can only pray.

P.S. I apologise for making this long. :)

$ 0.04
1 year ago

That movie had a really pathetic ending, it's actually so sad... But your response really did alot; creating an atmosphere of communication. Now, I literally never thought of this. From the looks of things; the parents of the girl in that story didn't create an atmosphere of communication else chances are that the girl might ... just might have voiced out.

I love that last sentence: "we can only pray." This was deeply enlightening Vince, you don't need to apologise for the lengthy words, I enjoyed this as usual, just the same way your articles are awesome. Thanks alot for this, Vince 🙏

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's a pleasure Elle. :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Most children or most people are natural bullies and most of the times you will see that they learn it from one of or both their parents at home.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Sighs...

This is a great point, coined from a very deep angle. You're right Dan, they either got it naturally or they learnt it from any of their parents

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I also saw that news sis, and that was so heartbreaking. That's true that being bullied is not easy and sometimes it really lead someone to do unpleasant things that can push them to their limit or doing something bad because of being a victim of bullying. So as a parent we should listen to our child, and give them some advice.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes dear friend, it was really heart wrenching, he was bullied and innocent children suffered the consequences.

This is true sis, you're right, every parent should always stick out to listen to whatever their child have to say.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Bullying should not be normalized as it can cause serious trauma to the victims.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Very true Charm, this should stop

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Bullying is a menace and should be curbed. It has made a monster out of innocent children and yes, it can manifest in a child who has also been bullied and has no one to help him or her or fight for him or her. It can also be as a result of broken home or faulty home based on what that child has been exposed to. It can also manifest because of the need to make fun of others or feel superior because of size. It can go on and on...but it's not right. A lot of people hold that resentment in and it has messed them up big time.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

This is so true Mr Ola, victims have suddenly become predators overnight due to the traumatic experience they had.

Thanks so much for this brilliant contribution Mr Ola 🙇🏿‍♀️🙏

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I am always happy to share my thoughts on your well thought out posts. Well done.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is very easy to detect a child is being bullied, first u need to notice his countenance when it comes to attending a particular event maybe school, church or party. If he feels reluctant to go, just know everything isn't fine and act quick. But some parents feel their children doesn't like studying, that's why they feel lazy going to school. No! No! No!!! They could be a bully hiding in school, making life uneasy for him.. So parents shouldn't ignore this little signs by their children.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Wow! This is awesome dear friend, I'll definitely keep this in mind, thanks alot for sharing this. This just means that parents should always pay close attention to their children's behavior.

$ 0.00
1 year ago