My Freelance Writing Journey in Upwork Starts

37 123
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
3 years ago

I am thrilled to share with everyone who has been following my freelance writing journey that in a couple of weeks, I'll try to upgrade my journey as a freelance content writer through Upwork.

I have always been wanting to create an account on that freelancing platform, but I was quite reluctant because I felt like I wouldn't be able to get my profile approved there.

However, last November 29, 2020, at about 9:30 in the evening, I faced my doubts and I decided to sign up on their website and give it a try. After all, just like what I always say, there's no harm in trying.

After filling up all of the things that need to be filled up, and answering all the questions, I pressed the apply button. I remember I had to close my eyes to shake off disappointment just in case my profile won't be accepted.

After a few seconds of sending my application, the website says: "Congratulations! You're now part of Upwork."

I don't know if I was just lucky that after signing up for the first time, I was immediately accepted. I thought it will take a couple of tries, and I even thought I couldn't, but I did.

On December 1st, I received an email from Upwork that says my account is now live. I didn't know what that means but after a couple of days, I received a notification that someone sent me an invitation to interview.

As of today, I already received 3 invitations to interview, but I really haven't found a client yet. Maybe it will take some time to find a client on that platform, especially that there are a lot of great writers there, but that won't stop me to find the right client for me. 🀞

Yesterday, when I wasn't busy, I watched a vlog on YouTube on how to make my profile 100% complete. When I signed up, the percentage was only 80, and it is advised to make it to 100 so that clients will find my profile as trustworthy or something like that.

So I applied all the tips I learned from the video like adding a portfolio, an introduction video (where I just linked my vlog intro on YouTube), and other experiences. After updating my profile, it's now 100% complete.

After almost 2 weeks, I wanted to apply and submit a proposal to one of the job postings to see how it works. However, I found out I only have 20 free connects, and I thought I'd receive about 80 just like the other newbies on the platform. But maybe I signed up earlier so I wasn't able to get the same amount. I signed up last November, and the new update for free connects only started this December.

I only have 20 available connects that's why I haven't tried to send any proposal yet. I'm still in the process of making my profile better so that when I try to give it a shot, I will somehow have the confidence that I will receive a response to my proposal.

I don't know when will my freelance writing journey in Upwork officially starts (that's when I already find a client), but I am excited to see how far my passion for writing will go.

From simply blogging here on readcash, to being a freelance content writer, I know there's more to come in this journey. So Upwork, bring it on. πŸ₯³

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Follow my Freelance Writing Journey:

An Introduction About How Freelance Writing Works

Sample Test Articles for my Prospected Clients

My First Writing Gig Experience

Other Sample Written Task for a Prospective Client

My 1st 2-week Salary on my Freelance Writing Job

My 1 Week Income as a Freelance Content Writer

My 3rd Income as a Freelance Content Writer

9
$ 6.83
$ 6.11 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @wrabbiter
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 5
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
3 years ago

Comments

Good thing that you faced your doubt. So you see? You made it πŸ€—β€ congratulations

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I just want to ask you @Eirolfeam2 if you've heard about Yonipp.com, it's a freelance writing site that targets only Pinoys. If you haven't checked it out yet, you should. I've been freelancing on it for a month now and it has been a great side hustle for me so far.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

No, I haven't heard about it yet. I will try to look into it. Thank you for the info. I hope I will find some luck there as I don't have any luck on Upwork. πŸ€£πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You should also try academic writing. Have you heard of writers.ph? I worked there before. or asiawriters.com, they are affiliates. the exams are so easy. Then there's also bewriters.net, pareho din sa dalawa. Try them out if you haven't. Tingin ko kasi mataas and potential mo sa ganyan.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh. Wow. Ang dami. Haha! I've only been applying to OnlineJobs, then mostly sa mga Facebook groups postings nalang. I'll try to look into those sites. Sana makakuha ng work. Haha πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Di ko kasi masyadong feel ang academic writing, mas feel ko ang content writing. Pero baka hiyang ka din sa academic writing. Try mo yang mga yan. Ang Yonipp lang ang di academic writing diyan. If you want to have a detailed chat, message me: https://www.facebook.com/jai.dalumpines Naghahanap din kasi ako ng iba pang writing gigs para mas solid talaga ang income. Maybe we can help each other? In any case, good luck sa writing gigs mo. It's good to find birds of the same feather here.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, I'll try them po. Thank you. Good luck din po sa inyo. Sana madami pa kayong mahanap na writing gigs. I stopped looking na muna kasi malapit na naman 2nd sem namin tapos online class pa. Haha Thanks again.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Grabe. Galing mo be. Yung I approved palang yung account mo sa upwork ang hirap na πŸ˜‚ Congrats.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Thank you po. Hahaha! Sana makahanap agad ako ng client kapag nagstart na akong magsubmit ng proposal dun. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well-deserved! But wait, why didn't you accept the invitation? Accepting any of those won't cost you connects, so when you feel like you can do the job, don't hesitate to respond asap. I'm sure you can do it. Basta pag me nag send ng invitation, go ka lang.. And decline ka when needed. Ignoring those invitations without sending a decline message will also affect your profile. Kaya as much as possible, mag respond ka.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Un nga po. Nalaman ko lang nung isang araw na makaaaffect pala kapag hindi ako nagreply agad. Haha Next time alam ko na gagawin. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Heheh pero at least alam mo na.. Yay! Nakikita ko na future mo sa freelancing.. Mas makakaipon ka sa upwork pag nagkataon..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sana nga po. Kakaririn ko yan pag Christmas break na. Ngayon kasi busy pa para sa Finals kaya di ko pa naaaral masyado ang Upwork. Hahaha πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yay! Well, malapit na rin Christmas break so me time ka na soon.. Anyway, good luck sa finals!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Why don't you try the interview?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Actually, nagreply naman ako sa invitation. Pero nung nakita ko ung job posting na andami niyang iniinterview, parang nawalan ako ng pag-asa. Hahaha! πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wag ka mawalan ng pag asa.. Kaya marami siyang ininterview dahil d siya satisfied sa mga applicants na yun.. Next time, go lang ng go pag alam mong kaya mo.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow congrats ha! Malayo pa ang mararating mo... Nag apply din ako nung november. Approve naman kaya lang walang prospectπŸ˜…. Tsaka atras ako sa live interview. Mahina ang net dito.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sana nga po. Hahaha! Natry mo na po bang magsend ng proposal?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hindi e... Haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Congrats po! Grabe business minded talaga haha! I want to ask if your interview is on-cam? I mean like via zoom, skype, video call, something like that. Is there any requirements like government id?πŸ˜† I only have school id:(

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Walang interview nung nag'send ako ng application sa Upwork. Hahaha! Fill up lang ng form. Magkaka interview lang siguro thru Skype kapag meron na akong prospect client. Hahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha okay po salamat! Nagtry ako kanina sa onlinejobsph but sadly, need s'ya ng government id. Tsk hirap kapag minor hahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's a good start. I have an account with upwork before but Im not sure if it still works.LOL. Will try to visit it one of this dau. Again congrats!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm sure it still works po. Haha! Have you tried working there with a client before? Parang ang hirap makahanap ng client dun. 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I haven't tried actually kasi parang na curious lang ako noon hehe

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sana all ulit, ako declined jusmiyo sakit sa bangs 🀣 Siguro di pa para sakin ang freelancing pero di pa din nmn ako nagtry apply ulit.. kase parang di ko rin ma handle pa may anak na kase ako divided oras ko. Pero I will pursue this one later, siguro sa trading na lang muna ako mag aral haha.. sigway eh di lang talaga matanggap hahahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Never lose hope.. Almost a year din ako bago matanggap.. Sabi sakin, update lang ng update ng profile until maging okay na.. Kaso at that time, kung kelan ko lang trip mag update saka ako nag uupdate.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Try mo ulit next time. Hahaha! Oo nga, mahirap ung andaming kailangan gawin. Buti ka nga aral na aral na sa trading eh. Nai'stress lang ako jan kaya dito nalang din ako magfocus muna. Hahaha Baliktad tayo. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha, oo nga kung anong pabor satin yun na lang muna focus natin mahirap pag sabayin di maganda output. One step at a time na lang muna 😊 Ma achieve din natin soon mga goals natin. Fighting lang! πŸ’ͺ

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Agree. Hahaha! Fight lang ng fight. And share lang din ng share ng mga experience natin para natututo tayo kahit papaano. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oo nga, experience is the best teacher so kahit palpak minsan share pa rin natin hahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Congrats and good luck on your journeyπŸ’—

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you, and yes, good luck to me. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow! Officially I want to congratulate you (though you have mentioned to me earlier that your application was approved). Still congratulations and hoping to hear about your Upwork experience soon.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you po. Haha! Sana nga may magandang experience akong makuha sa Upwork soon. 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm pretty sure na meron yan. Good luck with your Upwork. Don't forget to update us.

$ 0.00
3 years ago