Just Got Married!

19 87
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
1 year ago
Topics: Marriage

I have been away for about a week now because of some occasions and the Robot probably won't recognize me anymore due to my inactivity but I hope some of the users here still remember me. Lols!

I am back after a week-long hiatus and I'm just overly happy and excited to share this remarkable news that someone just got married! Nope, it wasn't me who just got married yesterday, but it was actually my first enemy who happens to be my older brother who just married his High School sweetheart.

As usual, when there are big events like this, even if it is just a simple one, a lot of preparations are still needed to be done. So my brother and his now-wife, my parents, and also the bride's family spent a couple of days and even weeks preparing for this special occasion, from processing such documents, sending invitation letters to the godparents, looking for catering services, hiring audio services, talking to some people who would be of great help in the preparation such as in cooking, and securing other materials that would be needed in the venue.

And the day before their wedding day, August 01, 2022, we went to the house of my brother's girlfriend as it was the chosen venue for the event, to help in decorating the venue for the Pre-wedding day dance party or whatever you call it where some single ladies are invited to dance with other guys who were also invited to join the party. It's somehow a tradition with the goal of collecting some financial help to be given to the newlywed couple.

As you can see, there was a lot of dancing that happened that night and it was just so fun because all of the kids, teenagers, young adults, and even kids at heart joined the party. And although I was kind of shy to join them in dancing, I also had my fair share there because my brother requested me to dance with his High School friend. Well, the friend actually first danced with the bride, and when my brother came back, he just grabbed my hand and told me to dance with the guy so that he could dance with his wife too. Well, I don't know if it was just me but I smell a little jealousy there. Lol!

Since it was past midnight when the pre-wedding dance party ended that I woke up so late, I got to the venue around 9:30 am already, and the time for the program to start is at 10:00 in the morning. Luckily, we live in the Philippines where we are almost always 1 hour late on such occasions, I still got to have plenty of time to take photos in the venue, and have a picture-taking with the bride and also the groom.

And when the bride and groom, and all the important people such as their parents, godparents, and the pastor who will lead the program were all ready, the wedding program already commenced.

While I was sitting in my chair, I tried to have a glimpse of all the people who were there to witness this momentous event in these two people's lives, and I can't help but have a lot of thoughts run through my mind. Like the thought that "Why are some of these people invited to such a meaningful event like this when they don't even have a contribution to your life?" Well, it was just me being a little too annoyed with people, as usual.

I even had a flashback about all the hassles that they had to go through just to arrive on this very special day and I thought, "With all the hassles the couple needs to go through just to get married, I have decided not to dream of getting married one day anymore."

Well, if you've been married already, you probably know what I'm talking about, and being the impatient person I am, I don't want to go through those stressful moments myself so go and get married all you want cause I'll just be here sitting and say, "Bakit kayo nagmamadaling magpakasal? Gusto niyo bang masakal?" (Why are you in a hurry to get married? Do you want to get suffocated?)

And before I sound too bitter here, I also just want to share that I'm still a supportive sister who delivers what she has promised. And that my promise was to give one of my pigs and cook it as Lechon which served as my wedding gift to the couple. I actually initially wanted to give them the smallest one (Just kidding πŸ˜‚) but my conscience started to creep in so I just gave them a Go signal to get the biggest one from my pigs.

After the eating part of the program was over, I helped my sister-in-law's sister-in-law at the couple's desk. As part of the Filipino tradition, godparents and other visitors were encouraged to give their monetary gifts to the couple so that they have financial help to start this new chapter of their lives.

To collect as much amount as we could, we started after the wedding ceremony when the pastor told the bride and groom to give respect to their godparents through Mano and the godparents also gave financial support. The next one was after everyone finished eating when they would again give a monetary gift to either the bride or groom or both and it is what we call "Tupak". Another one is during the couple's wedding dance where visitors were encouraged to pin any bills to the couple's clothes.

Obviously, this was my favorite part but not my wallet because it got me broke.

Anyway, although there were setbacks and some expectations were not met, it was still a memorable event, especially for the couple who just got married.

And to my brother and sister-in-law, although you won't get to read my message, I hope you guys will stick together through thick and thin, in sickness and in health, be faithful to each other, be patient to one another, and don't let this beautiful thing that you have be wasted. Now go and make babies that I can borrow once in a while. I promise I'll try to be a good aunty. πŸ˜‚

7
$ 2.34
$ 2.26 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @TheGuy
$ 0.02 from @Khairro
+ 3
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
1 year ago
Topics: Marriage

Comments

May their home be blessed, so thoughtful of you to donate your pig to your brother. It shows how much you value the wedding.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Happy married life to him

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I thought you got married but I was wrong. Wishing them a very healthy and happy married life.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Maybe in 2030. 🀣 Thank you!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

A very big congratulations to him ❀... continuous joy and celebration to his home

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Aw! I thought you were the one who just get married lol. Anyways, belated happy wedding to your bro πŸŽ‰

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Malabo po. Hahaha! πŸ˜‚ Thank you!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sa tamang tao at panahon hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Happy married life to your brother. I pray he has a wonderful home. I know you'll get married someday😁. Our homes shall be blessed

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you. Haha! I hope not. 🀣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Marriage is not on my mind either. Ewan ko ba pero naiisip ko palang, naiistress na agad ako AHAHAH. Magiging single na mayaman nalang ako eme πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Same! Magpapayaman nalang ako tapos hihiramin ko nalang ung mga pamangkin ko pag gusto ko. Wahahaha! 🀣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Happy wedding to your brother. Best wishes to them 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you. 😹

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahahahaa nakakapagod magpakasal. Kakasal ko lang din jusko struggle is real. Dependi kasi sa couple yan kung gusto maraming bisita or intimate lang.. samin semi intimate lang mga 70 people lang including kids na yan haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Gusto nga din ng couple na kunti lang ang bisita eh kaso ung parents kasi nila, parang inimbita buong barangay. Gigil nga ako sa mama ko na andaming ininvite eh puro kain lang naman talaga ang habol nila dun. Mahigit 100 yata ung mga tao kahapon. 🀧🀣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha ganon talaga pag parents na mag demand ..samin sinabihan talaga namin both side na yung importante lang kasi para di magkulang pagkain hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago