I'm Going Home!

36 38
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
2 years ago
Topics: Travel, Home, Family

It's not even that long ago when I decided to move out and be away from my parents, and rent an apartment in the city for me to attend my face-to-face classes every Tuesday and Thursday, since our University pushed for the resumption of the conduct of limited face-to-face classes for fourth year students and lower year students with laboratory subjects.

It was last February 07, 2022, when I officially moved out, and I shared it here before that I paid my apartment rent with Bitcoin Cash and I replenished my allowance with Bitcoin Cash. Truly, Bitcoin Cash, through read and noise, has been a huge help for me with my finances when I moved out because I was able to pay for my apartment rent and also with my weekly allowance. Sadly, I was a little too extravagant that I ate with my roommate and classmates a lot that I fell short of tracking my expenditures and exceeded my budget.

Because of this, my roommate suggested that I should use a mobile app to track my daily expenses and the total amount I have already spent since I moved out. And so I downloaded an application and I was shocked that I have already spent almost 7,200 pesos ($140) in just a short period, or about 18 days, from February 07 to February 25, including the apartment rent, food, transportation fares, and eating out.

And when I realized that my actions beat my purpose of staying in an apartment in the city, which is to save money from traveling back and forth from my house to the University just to attend classes, I have been thinking of just going back home and commute every time so that I can prevent myself from spending too much money because of eating out as there were just so many good places to eat good food there. And the foodie me can't resist the temptation. Lols!

Another factor that made me decide to just go home is the fact that we only have face-to-face classes once a week, every Tuesday, and not twice a week as our original schedule was changed and adjusted due to the situation that rooms can only accommodate 30 to 50 percent of the class. And sometimes, our professor doesn't even meet us during our class time because he has to attend faculty meetings.

One more thing is that I didn't feel so productive at all even if I tried to because I don't have a conducive working environment there. Aside from it being a little noisy because there were kids who loved to play inside our room, there was no signal for Globe and the internet connection for Smart was just too slow that I couldn't visit the virtual world unless I have to go out for a better signal.

While moving out and renting an apartment has its own advantages, I still decided to just go home already to save money from my daily expenses and I would get to save more if I'll just commute once a week to attend my face-to-face classes, and to be productive again like I was before.

Although it was just a short while, I still got to learn a lot from this experience, especially about spending my money wisely. As much as I want to move out and live independently where I would be the one looking out for myself, it's just really hard to do it now that I don't have a job yet that gives me income. I'm still a broke college student and I definitely need my parents.

Cheers and thanks for reading!

14
$ 4.68
$ 4.57 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.03 from @Khairro
+ 2
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
2 years ago
Topics: Travel, Home, Family

Comments

Yeah it is much better if you are just going to travel from home to there since it's just once a week. Is the university really that far away from your home?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It's 3 hours away from home. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ohhh it's so far hahha but is it much budget friendly if you just travel from home to school? I am currently at process of thinking what school I want to be in college because it's just a few months away. This is the one I am also worried about the travelling from home to school.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, it's cheaper if I'll just travel since I'm gonna attend class once a week only.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ohhh then it is much good if you just stay at home the important thing is you experienced it plus you can save money from most of the living expenses.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oww I'm planning to rent an apartment with my friends when face-to-face will be implemented. I'm in the province kasi and I'm currently enrolled in Manila so no choice. I also really want to be independent kahit sa ganitong way lang. I know kasi for sure na I will realize a lot of things once I experience it. I am not afraid naman in budgeting my funds since di ako masyadong magastos minsan lang AHAHAH. Sana talaga once na natuloy ay maging maayos ang magiging stay and experience ko sa Manila

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yayy! That's great. Maganda kapag nasurvive mo ang Manila dahil I'm sure, mas madaming tukso jan. Madami ka talagang matututunan kapag nag-move out ka. Haha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No place like home. Based on what you've said, I think going home is a good decision.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

True. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I guess tama yung desisyon mo sis na umuwi nalang para kahit papano sa fare kalang medyo malakihan.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Totoo. Mas makakamura pa sana kung may student discount pa sa fare kaso tinanggal eh. 🤧

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ohh so ito pala ang reason, pero mas better pa ngang mag uwian ka nalang. Mas napapalaki gastos mo ay aguyy ka.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Kaya nga. Daming tukso eh tapos marupok ako. Hahaha! 🤧😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kuuu yan tayo ee hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And if I have $140, I can spend two months in our city comfortably as a college student, but I have to spend a little hard time because I can't afford it. Enjoy your life as you want but don't overdo anything.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Aww. Where are you from tho? Ehe! Yeah, just enjoy life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

From a small and poor country, Bangladesh.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ate anong say nung kahati nyo sa room nung nalaman nya na aalis na kayo? Balak nya din bang umuwi nalang din sa bahay nya?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Mag-istay pa siya sa apartment kasi bayad na namin un for 1 month. Then lipat siya sa dorm na pag-aari din nung may-ari ng apartment. So mas makakatipid din siya. Haha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

this is a trick I also did when I was a student and when college hours were over and I wasn't in a rented boarding house for long and I finally went home because I saved the cost of living necessities such as food and others. This method seems to be used by many, a good way to manage finances.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah. Absolutely! 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

At least sis naranasan mo na maging independent at may natutunan ka dun. Sarap sana maging independent if my work na talaga. But now enjoy muna sa company nila mama at papa mo sis. Masarap kaya as bahay kasi luto ni mother is d best. Magastos sa City daming tukso sis.😁

$ 0.02
2 years ago

True po yan. Hahaha! Daming tukso doon. 🤧😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lalo na chicken wings unli haha rapsa.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

At least you've learned a couple of days how hard being lived in the apartment. Good choice dn nmn yan ang desisyon mo pra dn mka save ka sa mga daily neeeds mo.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes po. Ehe! 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tama yan eonnie para mas makasave tapos iba pa din talaga yung comfort sa mismong bahay talaga.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Totoo yan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You did the right thing beh. Rent an apartment to attend 1 day f2f class is not ideal. Kaloka oi, kaya tama lang na umuwe ka sa inyo, masarap din naman luto ng mama mo, hehe

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Kaya nga po. Hahaha! Di na need mag-isip ng lulutuin eh. 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Korek, hehehe. Isa yan sa prob kapag living alone eh, iisipin mo lage ano kakainin mo tapos temptations are everywhere kaya maaagastos ka talaga.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Which app you use to track the expenditure actually I also spend a lot my BCH and I want to track my expenditures and save more Bitcoin cash

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I just searched Tracking Expenses Wallet on Play store and downloaded one app there. 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes Langga. It's a good decision. It's better you will back home Langga because you can save than renting an apartment then your face to face classes is every Tuesday only. It's better and it will help to less your expenses too. You can save your money.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

True po. Mas makakatipid talaga ako pag ganyan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes Langga. Mas mabuti pag uwian ka na lang Langga sa inyo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago