How long did it take for you to change your phone? 

59 75
Avatar for DennMarc
1 year ago

At this time, if you don't have a phone, you feel like you don't have access to the world. The power of our phones today is so crucial because it holds communication, relationships and jobs. Most of the phones today are touchscreens, particularly smartphones. So, if you have a smartphone, whether an iPhone or Android. Then, how long does it take you to totally damage your phone to the point you cannot longer use it? I think for some of you who really take care of your phone, it would last around 2-4 years. It was also based on my experience.

I still remember the day I had my first ever phone. Actually, I wasn't supposed to have a new phone when I was in grade 4, but since my birthday and our watermelon harvest was on the same week. They bought me a phone the same as my aunt back then. The phone I was referring to is Samsung Keystone 3 B105. It was a keypad, obviously. I don't remember how much it was before I think about around ₱2000-2500. Who would have thought that at grade 4, I already have a new phone.

It was actually hard to acquire a phone back then because it was pricey, especially the touch screens. I noticed that when you have a touch screen phone before, it means either you are rich or have a high paying salary. The Philippine Peso has a very high value and that's why every peso is worth paying, unlike today. Your hundred pesos could afford only a few biscuits in the grocery store. Anyway, since I only have a keypad phone, the only basic function it has is to call, text, alarm, and play games. Do you still remember the games on your oldest phones? My most favorite game is the snake one. Like you have to eat the fruit one by one, and don't try to eat your body or else you lose.

I found a very interesting post on Twitter awhile ago while I was watching the third season of Umbrella Academy. The tweet was posted by one of the strongest and handsome actors in Avengers, Chris Evans. The content of his post shocked me because I cannot believe that his former phone was with him for almost 7 years already. Like, he has money to replace his phone whenever he wants, but why didn't he do it though? I was amazed at how much he loved his phone until the end.

This is the screenshot photo of his tweet in Twitter stating that his IPhone 6s was finally said goodbye to him. What I was laughing at is the statement “I'll miss your home button.” Some Twitter users created a meme that says they offer their own home button for him to touch and press whenever he likes. You know what the meme means right? I should elaborate it for you. But wait, what's something in his tweet that gained popularity in Twitter and Facebook right now? It was because of the model of IPhone he has, the IPhone 6s.

IPhone 6s was released to the public on September 25, 2015. It was a very good phone and I still remember that some of my friends went crazy for it. See it was released in 2015 and Evans still holds that phone for a very long time? Can you imagine a millionaire actor who's phone was very outdated, and didn't change until he was really dead and no longer functional? It was far from the reality of those youths nowadays who buy a new phone every year because they want something very cool and trendy so that they can flex it to their friends.

Since I was in grade four, I had 5 phones already including the one I am using right now. Out of 5 phones, only 1 has been lost. Like, totally lost because it slipped through my pants when I was in high school. The three old phones are sealed in my cabinet and still functioning, but the battery cannot stay for so long. The most used phone I had was the Huawei Y6 which I have used for over 3 years now. I was feeling blessed because the current phone I have was gifted by my auntie and I already shared it to you all. I changed my phone when my phone is lagging and cannot be used for my daily needs.

I just noticed that some youths and young adults wanted to change their phones so badly. They don't actually know the importance or some special features of their own phone. Like, right now, if you have a trendy phone, there is a high tendency you want to feel and look cool to others. I realized that having a phone is a big blessing because if I don't have it, I will not find this crypto-blogging and you will not read this blog today. I just wanted to say if you are changing your phones every now and then. What good can you get from changing if your phone is totally okay and functional?

Sponsors of DennMarc
empty
empty
empty

Thank you for your support and love my generous sponsors. You are all blessing to this humble writer of yours.

My previous articles you might love to read:

Thank you for reading. I'll see you next time!

26
$ 4.22
$ 3.66 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Laurenceuuu
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 20
Sponsors of DennMarc
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for DennMarc
1 year ago

Comments

If they can afford naman, it's their choice to change phones once in a while. Pero if you're someone who can't then you're irresponsible. Sabay sa uso kase ang iba eh. Masyadong fabricated life nila. Di ko pa pinapalitan phone ko hangga't gumagana pa.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo nga po ate. Tas immyday pa na, sasabihin thank you G! Hhaha.. Tas makikita mo ilang months, palit na ulit then another Thank you G ulit.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well others have the capability ]n changing their phones from one to the latest one ..also it makes them to feel in with the newest trend and it's their choice but as for me I only change phone when I can't handle the the mulfunctioning already ..pero kung crack lang and ok pa naman lahat ng features.. I will still use it..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We're similar bro. Basta maayos at okay pa naman ang functions at features nya. Kahit medyo ma lag, gagamitin ko pa rin.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I only change my phone when I can't use it anymore — or hard to use. But for some reason, I don't like iPhone.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Same perspective bro. I don't like IPhone either and I don't know why. Oh, I know but I will not tell, others might find it offending.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I still remember my first phone which is a Phillip Savvy and I was already in college when I had that. My current phone although filled with cracks, is still working fine that's why I don't have plan replacing it. It's almost four years now. The previous one I had it the same length of time. However, this current phone of mine seems to last longer.

If we really don't have the need for a new one, then there's no need to buy as long as the one you have is still working.

Chris Evans reminds me about Eminem. He can easily buy more expensive watches like Rolex perhaps but he sticks to G-shock.

Be more practical. What do you need expensive materials for?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh my god! I am speechless for a seconds there. I didn't know the Phillip Savvy. So, this brand still alive or not bro?

Yeah, what is the means of expensive materials if they will just be gone and yes, be more practical.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Not anymore. It's a brand that came before Nokia was the trend lol!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My phone can last up to 5-6 years. Hangga't pwede pa, at lumalaban pa hindi ako nagpapalit hehe. It just that ang hirap e let-go.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Totoo po yan ate. Ang hirap i let go ng phone kung marami ng pinagdaanan hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I saw this post too from Chris Evans. By the way he is my fav Avenger haha! I change my phone approx 4 years. Kasi bumabagal na rin at magastos sa baterya kaya pinapalitan ko na after 4 years.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Opo ate. Trending siya kahapon eh. Hahaa. Akala ko kung anong meron sa IPhone 6s kasi ang tagal na non ni release. Matagal na rin ang 4 years ate ah.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I used my last phone for over 4 years until it got so many faults and I decided to change it last year October

$ 0.00
1 year ago

What phone did you buy bro? Mind if you share it? It feels good when we have new phone. Haha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's a brand called Tecno, you guys might not have it the Philippines

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha. Actually, my phone is Tecno. TECNO POVA. Whahaha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow! Same here 🤣 this is crazy, we have the exact same phone! Is it the 6gb ram version you have?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah. I updated it and it's now 11gb ram.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I can remember my first phone and I started using phone when it first came to Nigeria, I mean mobile phones in 2002. It's hard to spend a day without it since then. I don't like changing my phone often except it has issues. I don't fancy changing phones often because it's stressful sometimes but the fun in buying a new phone helps too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I was born in 2001 haha. I barely know about things haha. I am so young, ugh! Me too, as long as it is usable, then I will stay with my current phone.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahahaha being young is nice. I've been using this for over 2 years now... If it's not broken, no need to change it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh kaya pala trending yung iphone6s sa twitter 😂. Sya pala dahilan non hahaha.

So far I already acquired 3 smartphones. My 2 old device got broken because I dropped it to the ground. The damage is unbearable so we have no choice but to buy a new one. Tamang ingat ako sa phone ko ngayon :). Target ko nga na hanggang 4th year ko gagamitin to hahaha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo haha. Nagulat ako kung anong meron sa IPhone, si Chris Evans lang pala. Char!

Oo nga, need ingatan ang phone kasi ya ang gamit natin pang grind eh. Hhaha. Sana marami na yang pinagdaanan for sure.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My phone is now close to 4years,I really want to change it, giving me issues already.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Really? That's so long. I know you will replace it soon when you have enough money.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yung phone ko noon alcatel kailangan ginahamit habang nakacharge. Yung oppo naman na phone five years na siya kaso two ko lang siya inayos. Three times a day ko yon chinacharge eh skl kasi kapag 30 percent na bigla siyang madedrain hahha. Yung phone ko ngayon is Redmi Note 10 and nung nagkaroon ako laptop, once or twice a day ko lang siya chinacharge haha. Dati kasi twice or more a day eh haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Natawa naman ako sa 30 percent tas biglang mag zezero agad. Whahaah. Relate na relate ako dyan. Nako, ganyan din ang phone ko dati e.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My current phone is almost 4years now and still its in good condition, minsan lang naglag pero keri pa naman at wala pa din pambili ng bago🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Naks! Yan ang nag save sayo ate sa finances kaya ingatan talaga. Hehe. Sa noise at read cash lang sakalam.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The first time I had my own phone was I am already 22, that was year 2010 I think? And my first phone is cherry mobile and that was touched screen 🤣. It lasted for 3 year's to me too, before it die due to a various virus, charrr. The second phone I had was Samsung I just forgot what model was that but it lasted to me for 3 year's as well because I gave it to my mom when I bought my third phone 😂. So overall it took me some years before I replace my phone as I value my things too much ☺️.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mahal din po kasi talaga ang phones before ate no? Hindi talaga keri kapag walang budget or stable job. Ang tagal mo din po pala bago ma replace. Maingat po siguro kayo sa pag gamit. Whahaha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Maybe if hindi lang ako binilhan ng bago cellphone last year baka mag 4 years na yung cellphone ko....sa totoo lang kahit matagl na celphone ko okay lang basta okay pa ang battery HAHAHA

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo nga kiddo. Basta okay pa ang battery at screen, pwede pa yon gamitin. Edi naka dalawang phone ka no?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mine's 3 years already. I wanted to switch into apple phones because of the camera only but I'd still use my current phone.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mahal ang IPhone haha. Saka madaling malowbat at hindi ko magagamit ang ilang features.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I had my first phone when I was on Grade 5, it is a touchscreen MyPhone model haha. Then, binilihan ako ng Kuya ko ng phone Grade 7 ako. Then puro nalang napaglumaan napupunta sa akin, until makabili ako ng phone gamit sarili kong pera noong Grade 11 ako. Tapos next na bili ko ng phone last year na. I also have an iPhone 6s gaya ni Chris hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wahahha. Uso talaga ang myPhone dati no? Mura lang at pwede na. Charr! Bunso kaba ate? Kapag ganon, lahat ng napag lumaan sa bunso napupunta eh.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Pansin ko nga din madami ngayon panay lang palit phone samantalang ako mag2 years na to sakin pero naeenjoy ko pa naman sya lalo na ung camera niya gandang ganda ako. Well siguro kasi mabilis din mag upgrade ng specs ang mga phones kaya ganun. Alam mo nmn mga tao, wala yan contentment when it comes to material things.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo nga po ate. Basta tayo, kung maayos at nagagamit pa man. Gora lang. Pero kung talagang sira na at hindi na matouch. Bili na.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yessss mindset ba mindset hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I've used my current phone for 14 months. But before this, I used the previous one till the point that it takes eternity to type a word, the power button damaged, I just use the closest sharp object to turn it on and off. The phone is still with one. I guess its hard to let go.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh my, what do you it takes eternity to type a word? Is it lag or cannot be touched the screen anymore?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Though an exaggeration... It lags a lot, it may hand and take minutes to respond. And sometimes when you type one letter, it enters another. It was frustrating then.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

dalawa palang naging cellphone ko kuya. ang una cherry mobile tapos itong cellphone ko ngayon na redmi. buhay pa ang cherry mobile ko , si nanay ang nagamit ngayon. hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mga cherry mobile kasi usong uso yan dati eh. Haha.. Lakas ng sales nila kaso talo na sa competition ngayon.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ako pag nasira na talaga saka pa ako bibili ng bago. Yung nagtagal sa akin na phone ay yung Cherry Mobile na bigay ng ate ko last 2015 pero nagamit ko pa siya til 2018 pero after niyang nahulog, nag give up na talaga

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nako po! Isa yang dahilan ate kung bakit hindi natagal ang phone. Laging nahuhulog at nababasag ang screen hhaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kaya nga eh. Andami ng phones na dumaan sa akin, mostly ang dahilan ay ang pagkabasag ng screen at full storage

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My phone is 3 mons old and counting, haha. But I had no choice. My last one was missing, and honestly, I accepted that the phone in my hand wouldn't last within a year or two; there was a personal reason for that. When I was young, I admitted that I did admired people who hold iphone, not until I could see all of them had a broken screen, haha—fragile old version.

I charged my phone 20 mins full charged and ready to use 24 hrs 🤣. New technology is advantage.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, I remember you have lost your phone and several accounts must be recovered. Ugh! Oh my! Fast charging bro?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ako naman Marc pag naglalag na yung phone ko dun na ako mag palit tas yung madali na malobat. Yung mga phone ko talaga Marc nagtatagal sakin kaso nawalan ako ng phone last April Marc. Nalaglag galing sa bulsa ko.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ay opo ate. Kung kaya naman makabili ng bagong phone, why not? Naalala ko po na binilhan kayo ni boyfie mo ng new phone. Dahil po ba nawala yung phone nyo?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hindi Marc. Nung binilhan ako ng phone ng partner ko dalawa na phone ko dahil sa new na binili kaso timing na nawalan din ako ng phone. Buti yung luma ang nalaglag.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Unang phone ko is yung nokia 33 pa nun 16 years old ako nung nabili ko on my own sikap sa pag iipon,nag last din naman mga 3 years din,sinangla ng sister ko ng di ko alam ayun na remate din ng di ko alam😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nyii! Whahaaha. Jusko po. In fairness, sikat po talaga ang Nokia dati kaso ngayon wala na silang products masyado.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My phone is now turning 6 year this coming October.. buti nalang hindi pa nag gigive up hehe.. feeling ko naiintindihan nya na wala pang budget for a new one..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ayy grabe ate. Ang tagal po ng 6 years. Buti po napalag pa po sya no? Edi super lag na po?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

hindi naman sya lag haha..

$ 0.00
1 year ago