What I Learned from Reading Romance Books

18 49
Avatar for CrazyRichFilipina
2 years ago

Because February is a love month, my article today is related to love/romance... ❤️

Reading books or novels with a romance genre or have a mixture of it, is a past-time hobby that I started to incorporate in my life since I was a teenager and up until now.

I started getting to read some of it through ebook files because it became a thing back then in our school. Me and some of my classmates pass the ebook files to one another. (Naabutan nyo ba yun or did it also became a thing in your school back then? Hahaha.) Most of the stories I started to read are written by Filipino authors such as alyloony, HaveYouSeenThisGirl, etc.

Afterwards, I had an interest in buying physical books at bookstores to purchase English novels. I have read novels like The Fault in Our Stars by John Green, Looking for Alaska by John Green, Turtles All The Way Down by John Green, Message in a Bottle by Nicholas Sparks, Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell (which I didn't like that much), The Selection series by Kiera Cass, etc. If you would notice, I mentioned many John Green books. It is obviously because I really like his books!

That phase of my life where I buy physical books (and sometimes borrow from my friends), didn't last long because let's face the fact that books are really expensive! If only they were more affordable though or if I had more money. But I didn't had cause I was just an immature teenager barely surviving with my school allowance from my parents. Haha.

After that, I went back to reading digitally again but this time, it's via "Wattpad" app. A famous app for reading and writing stories. I read stories of alyloony, HaveYouSeenThisGirl, and other great Filipino writers again.

Sorry if I just keep on mentioning alyloony and HaveYouSeenThisGirl. They were my two favorites back then that I could still remember up until now. There were others but I forgot already.

Then when I was in Grade 10, I discovered "Jonaxx" and started to read her stories. She is a famous Filipino author and was greatly talked about so I got curious by her works. And true enough, I liked the way she writes so much and the very first thing that I commented about her writing format was it is similar to the English books that I have read. When I knew about her, I immediately became a fan, and that was the beginning of me not reading any other romance books and the likes unless it was written by her. She became my favorite writer up until now. In fact, I just recently wrote an article about her... Jonaxx: My Favorite Author.

But I am not saying that I will forever not read any other stories that aren't written by her. However, as of now with the little free time that I have dedicated for my reading past time hobby (little time cause I have academic and side hustles to do), I can see myself just reading her great stories.

Enough with my backstory about my past time reading hobby. Haha.

So, after years of reading romance stories from time time for years now, what have I learned from them?

The things that I learned from them are particularly about romantic relationships. Here we go...

Things I Learned from Reading Romance Books

1. Communication is important.

Photo from Spotify

This is one of my great takeaway from the ongoing story that I am currently reading, "The Beast in Paradise" by Jonaxx. Having a good and open communication with a partner is really important. It is also what I notice in other couples, the reason why they have great and comfortable relationships.

Some couples I know that communicates well with each other are Slater and Kryz Young, Mikael and Megan Daez. I chose them because those two couples have podcasts and I am a listener of their podcasts. As a listener, I immediately recognize the good harmony of their communications with each other. They can talk about literally anything with their partners without any hesitations. From the shallowest topics like aliens to deepest topics like finances, they are so open about it. And to have that in a relationship is just so amazing!

2. Cheating is the fault of the one who promised.

Photo from Esme.com

I learned this perspective from the story "What Lies Beneath the Sand" by Jonaxx again. Ever since I read the lines that are related to cheating, I didn't forget about it up until now. In fact, one of my first few articles here on read.cash was solely about this topic. It is this one... Who is to Blame: The cheating husband or the mistress?

In that article, I shared my opinion about cheating and if you are interested to read my long sentiment, you can read the article. But here's a summary of my stand...

I noticed that most of the time either in real life or in dramas, once the wife finds out that her husband is cheating and has a mistress, her anger is mostly directed on the mistress. The wife will most likely confront the mistress first rather than her husband. But for you, who is really to blame, the mistress or the husband?

Maybe some will say that it is the mistress's fault. Because she's a whore, a slut, a snake, a b*tch, a prostitute, f*ck buddy, pathetic, nasty, desperate, shameless, a lady with no decency, and other harsh descriptions.

In my point of view, my husband is the one to blame. It is his fault in the very first place.

Why? Cause the husband is the one who signed a marriage contract.

The husband is the one who made vows in front of the altar.

He's the one who promised to cherish and love each other for better, for worse, for richer, for poorer, in sickness and in health.

He is the one who pledged himself to the wife.

While the mistress? She didn't promise anything.

If there is a situation wherein a woman is showing interest to the husband... from the very beginning, the husband is given a choice whether to accept or avoid the temptation. He has the free-will. It is only either to accept or avoid, nothing in between and no maybes.

If he second guesses, that means he is accepting the temptation.

If he hesitates, that means he's not completely committed to the relationship.

3. Physical intimacy is normal.

Photo from Unsplash

This is my another takeaway from the ongoing story that I am currently reading, "The Beast in Paradise" by Jonaxx. The female protagonist their mentioned that physical intimacy is normal in a relationship. As long as it makes you feel safe and comfortable, and you two are genuine and have good intentions with one another.

If physical intimacy with your partner doesn't make you feel safe and comfortable, then it's a red flag. 🚩

4. Marry for the sake of getting married. Not to reproduce.

This lesson is what I learned from my favorite story of Jonaxx, "Love in the Dark".

Marry for the sake of getting married for love, not because you just want a kid or any other reasons. It is okay if a partner decided not to have any kids. The important thing is the love between them.

That's all for now. Thank you for reading and until the next blog! ✨

P.S. Special thanks to @OfficialGamboaLikeUs for renewing the sponsorship. Your support is deeply appreciated. Stay safe always sis! ❤️


Previous Articles:

Get to know me more on noise.cash: CrazyRichFilipina

Date Published: February 5,2022

12
$ 0.27
$ 0.05 from @kli4d
$ 0.05 from @Eunoia
$ 0.05 from @Giddyboy
+ 5
Sponsors of CrazyRichFilipina
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for CrazyRichFilipina
2 years ago

Comments

Communication is the key talaga. I sometimes bottle up my thoughts kaya minsan sumasabog na lang ako :( Now, I am more open to others. It comes with maturity too. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True, I mostly bottle up my thoughts too and I think I'm still not open to others that much. Selective lang. But I guess it works for me naman. Yep, maturity din. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, ebook reader before here hehe bago pa nagshift sa wattpad app. Anyways, I love the stories of jonaxx pero di na ko nakakapag basa now. But more on horror or mystery ako e hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's okay sis. May kanya kanya talaga tayong bet na genre :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naabutan ko talaga yang mga ebooks na stories hihi. Dyan ako na adik at naging rason kong bakit naging wattpader ako hahahha. Anyways, gusto ko mag buy ng mga physicla books back then, pero wala budget talaga 😭

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same, jan nagsimula ang lahat hahaha. True, siguro if mura mga physical books or may pera ako baka may collection na ako ng books ngayon. Kaso wala eh hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ebook is life pa talaga noon, di pa uso wattpad. Haha. Pasahan pa ng mga ebook non sa bluetooth, halos nakaka 2 books ako sa isang araw. Wuy, fav ko din yan si John Green and Nicholas Sparks. I have 5 books of JG and 4 books of NS. Si BobOng lang fav ko sa Pinas haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Buti may naka-relate din sakin. Hahaha. Good ol' days yung pasahan ng ebooks. Same same pala tayo. Nakalimutan kong banggitin si Bob Ong! Napakagaling nun at may libro din ako nun.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Communication is vital talaga sa isang relationship. I am on a long-distance relationship right now kaya talagang need ng constant na pag-uusap hahahaha. Dito din kasi maeestablish yung trust eme eme hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True! 💯

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Jonax? I also read Jonax stories when I'm still addicted to Wattpad.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yep sis. Jonaxx. I started reading her stories in Wattpad too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm not on romance so I don't had to say hehe, my books is all about science fiction, yet there is romance inside still. What I loved about them is that words speak creatively how they felt of falling in love yieee.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm not fond of sci-fi that much but when I read some, mind-blowing and super interesting. True! That's what I like too in romance books. Haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hate cheating sis. I hate cheaters because I'm one of the victims sis. It's really painful. When you expect a lot then in a one glance everything's change into a painful one. It's the worst. I couldn't explain the pain I felt.🥺 It's too much because I didn't expect there will be a cheating would happen.🥺

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awe so sorry to hear that. No one deserves to be cheated. 😥 Hope you're feeling somehow fine now from what happened. Sending virtual hugs!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm okay now sis. Thank you sis. It's been a long time na din sis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, I'm glad to hear that. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago