Talking of Latin Music - Salsa

73 98
Avatar for CoquiCoin
2 years ago

Hola, my dear Read.cashers! I hope September brights for all of us!

For days I wanted to write something about music. Last month in my article Of Rock and Hot Dogs, I mentioned some of my favorite rock songs. But I also had in mind to write something about Latin music.

There are many genres within Latin music. Perhaps one of the most popular nowadays is the Reguetón. But I'm sorry, but no sorry since I won't talk about it. I don't really like Reguetón. But I thought that since my friend @fantagira loves Salsa and she says that she never remembers the names of the songs, maybe I could share here which are my favorite salsa songs. The ones that I never want to skip dancing to if I go to a party.

But before going to my favorites Salsa songs, let me tell you a little about the origin of Salsa.

SALSA

Salsa is a genre of dance music. Resulted from the mixture of Cuban son with jazz and other Caribbean rhythms. Its commercial success as a musical genre was achieved in the 60s in New York, driven by musicians of Puerto Rican and Cuban origin. Source.

And now, my top five salsa songs. All are already classics of the genre, and they are the ones that I like the most. But I do like many others as well. They aren't written in any specific order. So if you want, you can put your headphones on. And maybe later you'll need to find a dancing partner.

Pedro Navaja - Rubén Blades

It is perhaps the most popular song in the history of Salsa. Composed by Ruben Blades, a Panamanian singer, compositor, and songwriter. Pedro Navaja belongs to the best-selling album in the history of salsa. The lyrics of this song are such a story. It tells the last moments in the life of a thug named Pedro Navaja with a prostitute in the streets of an old neighborhood (el viejo barrio). It's inspired by a song by the famous jazz singer Louis Armstrong, Mark the Knife.

Por la esquina del viejo barrio lo vi pasar
Con el tumba'o que tienen los guapos al caminar
Las manos siempre en los bolsillos de su gabán
Pa' que no sepan en cuál de ellas lleva el puñal

Llorarás - Oscar D'León

Llorarás is one of the best-known songs of the Venezuelan salsa singer Oscar D'Leon known as El Sonero del Mundo or El diablo de la salsa. He wrote the song in 1975 when he was part of a group called La Dimensión Latina. If you are a salsa dancer, probably, you may have danced with some of the songs of the huge repertoire of this Venezuelan singer and songwriter.

Sé que tú no quieres que yo a ti te quiera
Siempre tú me esquivas de alguna manera
Si te busco por aquí, me sales por allá
Lo único que yo quiero, no me hagas sufrir más, rumbera

Dime Por Qué - Ismael Rivera

Dime Por Qué is a song that has been performed by various artists but has become one of the classics of salsa in its version performed by Ismael Rivera. This Puerto Rican singer was known as Maelo and called the Sonero Mayor.

Por qué razón dejaste
Aquel amor divino
Aquellas ilusiones

Dime cual fue el motivo que encontraste
Para dejarme solo y sin cariño
Sí mi único pecado fue adorarte

El Gran Varón - Willie Colón

El Gran Varón is one of the greatest hits of the North American singer of Puerto Rican origin Willie Colón. It was written by Omar Alfanno. The song tells the story of Simón. A transsexual woman who dies of AIDS.

En la sala de un hospital
a las 9:43 nació Simon
Es el verano del '56
El orgullo de don Andrés, por ser varón
Fue criado como los demas
Con mano dura, con severidad
Nunca opinó
Cuando crezcas vas a estudiar
La misma vaina que tu papá, óyelo bien
Tendrás que ser un gran varon

La Vida es un Carnaval - Celia Cruz

La Vida es un Carnaval is one of the many hits of the well-known Cuban singer Celia Cruz. She was one of the most popular Latin singers of her time. And was known as La Reina de la Salsa. The name of the composer of the song is Victor Daniel.

Todo aquel que piense que la vida es desigual
Tiene que saber que no es así
Que la vida es una hermosura, hay que vivirla

Todo aquel que piense que está solo y que está mal
Tiene que saber que no es así
Que en la vida no hay nadie solo, siempre hay alguien

I know that at least one of my friends here likes Latin Music. @jasglaybam is a fan of Thalia. And what about you, do you like Latin music? If you like it, what is your favorite genre?

Lead Image credit - Photo by Ardian Lumi on Unsplash

All images and writings are my own unless anything different is stated.

© CoquiCoin  

#ClubBrokeBCH

#BetterSeptember

Until next time! ;)

September 2, 2021

30
$ 9.92
$ 8.65 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.12 from @SaraEscribe
$ 0.11 from @fantagira
+ 20
Sponsors of CoquiCoin
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for CoquiCoin
2 years ago

Comments

Don't know much about Salsa music or dance. I guess the dance makes the music interesting and vice versa? I prefer the 2nd (Oscar D'Leon) and 3rd (Ismael Rivera). Truth be told, when it comes to Salsa, my palette takes precedence - when it's accompanied by Nachos and Cheese! LOL.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

So you are a sauce kind of guy, LOL. Instead of a dancer one. ;) 😂

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes indeed 🤣

$ 0.01
2 years ago

We also have different genre of music, and I think some may sound familiar to yours. Thanks for giving us a glimpse of your country's music.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You are welcome. I would love to hear some of your music.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yay! Hope you will. Hihi

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am not much into latin music. I think the closest I can get to this genre are from Shakira and Ricky Martin 😊

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Well, Shakira and Ricky Martin are one of the most famous Latin Pop artists today.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, how latin singers dance also is so amazing. I remember wishing a lot of times how much i would love to learn how to dance as good as they do :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well, you are always on time to take some lessons. Dancing Latin music is a lot of fun.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Todas son buenísimas! La Dimensión Latina es uno de mis grupos favoritos de todos los tiempos, crecí escuchándolos y de verdad que me traen gratos recuerdos. El Frutero, El Paran pan pan, El Panadero, Taboga. Uff, la nostalgia a flor de piel! Gracias por esto amiga!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

De nada! Me alegra que te haya gustado. A mi también se me desbordaron un montón de recuerdos y canciones mientras escribía el articulo. Saludos!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I listened to some of the songs they are truly amazing, Thank you for introducing me❤️❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I know Thalia too. She became very popular here in the Philippines. In fact, she released an album with Filipino songs, and went multi platinum.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I think I'll look for that album to listen to it. It makes me curious

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Great selection Eliana! Out of 5 I know only 2 of the songs, second and the last. I would sure dance to all of them. Next party tomorrow 😍

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Have fun at your party! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Salsa is famous here in the Philippines. Among those, salsa is the one I know. 😁

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Good to know. And you dance salsa?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No, I don't know how to dance 😂

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I hope I know how to dance, but I'm just so uncoordinated. I took dance lessons in my 1st job years years back as influenced by a colleague, I know the instructor had a hard time with me, lol!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hehe! But in dancing, all can improve with practice.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I thought it's going to be an all-man cast :D I may not understand the language but I do like how they tell a story. I find it ironic sometimes that some songs are upbeat but it's a sad story actually just like that transsexual who died of AIDS.

I am more of a pop music person and I like Shakira :D

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Pedro Navaja y El gran varón are both classic of the Salsa and their lyrics have such a story, but sad in both cases. I like to dance Salsa. But if it’s just to listen to, I will go for Latin Pop. And I like some Shakira songs.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I listened a bit to those and I like the way Pedro Navaja's story was told.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you for the special mention my friend :) I do love Latin music and I love Latin dances as well :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are welcome, my dear! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

:D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also like latin dances, like salsa and samba. I saw it in an animated movie RIO, it's so cool to see them dancing to the tune . They look like they had fun

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I´m glad you like Latin dances. And yes, Rio is a cool movie.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Salsa is one of my passions, I like all those of Willie Colon, Oscar, Maelo, Juan Luis Guerra .... and stop counting ...... I'm not a good singer but I can sing them all for you, including Celia Cruz's. Hehehehehe.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I would be interested to see and hear you sing. Maybe you and your daughter and some choir and orchestra :D

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hello, I have some lost recordings in some cd's that the pc does not read them, if I manage to recover them I will publish them. I'm still missing my story of the choir, soon. :P

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I definitely would love to hear you singing all that songs!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Eyy, I will try to listen to these songs.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I hope you enjoy them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I feel like dancing while playing the videos haha. I love ittttt.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hehe, B Champ! Let´s dance ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow you must be a graceful dancer who dances well , dancing isnt for me though haha.. 💃🕺

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I'm not an expert either, but I can dance as an amateur. hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am also a great lover of songs but I never heard Latin songs before.But watching these videos, the one I like most is Llorarás.Its so relaxing.Thank you for letting me know something new today.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are welcome! I'm glad you liked Llorarás. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Felt like dancing after listening to those songs, even though I can't dance for my life haha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hehe! Even if you don't dance, listening to them made you want to dance, and that is the first step in learning to dance!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I bet you're a good dancer, i hate to admit it but my moves was kinda frustrating lol. I have no enough knowledge about Latin music but I think its a must-try. Thanks for the information🤗💕

$ 0.01
2 years ago

No so good, but I like to dance. And you are welcome! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maybe I have listened to Latin songs already but I just don't know about them yet. I will try to listen to the recommended ssongs you out here.

interested

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Interesting choices! I’ll check them out as well when I get to have the time

$ 0.05
2 years ago

If you like Salsa, you will like them. Thanks for stopping by!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't know how to dance salsa.. But i like the beat of its music 😁

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Maybe one day you'll learn. We should tell @gertu13 to include in the tour of your next visit here a visit to a Salsa dancing place ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Caribbean rhythms were my favorite when I was young. And salsa is a very striking rhythm. It would be a pleasure to invite you to a virtual dance trip.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Maybe I have listened to Latin songs already but I just don't know about them yet. I will try to listen to the recommended ssongs you out here. :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Great! I hope you like at least any of them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That tapping-like sound is nice to dance with :) If my husband is around me now, he would force me to stand up and dance away, lol!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It could be a good plan, you and the farm boy for Salsa dancing night! LOL

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, we don't know salsa though

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well, it can be fun to learn ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I believe so, Monika loves it!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh yes! She does love it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm yet to listen to any Latin songs but I'm thinking of downloading some because I like the way you described those music

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Try it. You could like it!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Boy, did you make me sentimental. It's been a long time since I listened to those singers. What a time I haven't danced. But what fond memories of all that music.

$ 0.04
2 years ago

Yes, the truth is that all those songs also bring me fond memories.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Salsa is fun, I have to have a few salsa clubs in my time. I was reading through the songs thinking it would be cool if there was a women singer and then right at the end you snuck in one Eliana :) This was a fun article, not my genre of music but I like on a night out.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, Salsa is fun. It's not the music that I usually listen to. But I do love to dance Salsa. Of course, there are many good women Salsa singers. And Celia Cruz was really the best. She was considered kind of a legend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I shall have to have a wee listen then for Celia Cruz

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Great! But the first song is worth listening to. And more since you understand Spanish. ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Although I don't dance, Salsa is kind of fun to listen to. I used to hear those when we have fiestas back when I was a kid.

My music genra is Country (Garth Brooks, Allan Jackson, Collin Raye kind of music)

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Just listening to Salsa is not my favorite, although many songs have good lyrics. But I do love Salsa dancing.

I love rock, but I also like country music. Music is food for the soul. xoxo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Who does not love salsa??? Even as African, we listen and dance to its energetic leg work. Salsa is a musical genre that will always remain evergreen.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, Salsa has spread throughout the world. It's good to know that you like it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago