I'm a reader. And you?

76 112
Avatar for CoquiCoin
2 years ago
Topics: Books, Reading, Blogging

Hello, beautiful people of Read.cash!

It's been a couple of days since I've written anything here and this morning I had a bit of a blank mind but after reading a couple of articles and answering some questions for a Hive book club contest, my ideas started flowing again. That's the wonderful thing about reading that our minds are awakened every time we read.

I have loved reading since I was a child. In my house, reading was always a habit that my parents had and without a doubt, children learn by imitation. When I was a child, I used to love Louisa May Alcott's books. Then I remember having a couple of literature teachers in school who made us read everything, from Shakespeare to Cervantes' Don Quixote. And of course, Latin American literature. I first knew what it was like to get hooked on a novel the first time I read Cien Años de Soledad (One Hundred Years of Solitude). And not to mention when I discovered that there was more than a way to read a book when I read Rayuela by Julio Cortazar for the first time.

I don't know how it is in your countries, but most people here aren't very good readers. The actual educational system doesn't help to encourage reading among the youngest. Not long ago, I was talking with my son about this. One of the things he mentioned is how in most of the houses there aren't books. There aren't books but there is always a big TV. I have nothing against having a TV. But in a house where there are no books, aren't readers.

I love getting a book as a gift. And I liked it when my son got a storybook as a gift when he was little, but most of my son's friends didn't appreciate getting a book as a gift.

I like to read any book with a story that grabs you, no matter if it is a true story or fiction. I like suspense, mysteries novels. Romance classics novels and historical ones. I must confess that I'm not very fond of poetry, although there are some exceptions.

I like to read at night before going to sleep, but any time and place are good for reading. During the lockdown last year, I remember reading so much, I could finish a novel in two days. Lately, my time to read books has been reduced by the time I spend reading articles on these platforms, but I still read a lot.

The other thing I love is a bookstore where you can spend hours browsing through books, but now there are hardly any of those bookstores left here. I remember when I was young, I dreamed of having a bookstore, one of those with a cafe and poufs where you can lie down and read for a while. So when I have been able to travel in my list of places to visit in the big cities are included bookstores and markets. I have always thought that markets and bookstores say a lot about the place and the people who live there.

The latest book I read is Pyongyang. It's a comics novel by Guy Delisle, that tells about his experience working for some months in a French animation company in Pyongyang. The book is an easy-to-read short novel and the insight into the experience of foreigners visiting North Korea is very interesting.

And the book I'm starting to read is another comics book, Persepolis by Marjane Satrapi. An autobiographical book that tells the experiences of a young Iranian, in Iran and Austria during and after the Islamic revolution in Iran.

Do you like to read? What is your favorite reading genre?

That's all for today my dear readers, Thank you so much!

Thank you to my awesome sponsors. And big thanks today to my new sponsor @Oikawa and to @Bloghound @HappyBoy and @bmjc98 for renewing their sponsorships. You all, rock!

To you, my dear readers. Thank you so much for reading!

All images and writing are my own unless otherwise stated.

© CoquiCoin  

You can find me also at Noise.Cash ⊛ Hive ⊛ Torum ⊛ Twitter

Until next time! ;)

November 23, 2021

35
$ 14.07
$ 12.57 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.11 from @fantagira
$ 0.10 from @gertu13
+ 28
Sponsors of CoquiCoin
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for CoquiCoin
2 years ago
Topics: Books, Reading, Blogging

Comments

A mi también me gusta leer, aunque tenía tiempo que ko lo hacía como ahora, claro que esta plataforma y en Noise. Pero antes leía mucho las novelas de esas pequeñitas. Recuerdo que mi suegra tenía muchas y las leía cuando entraba en el baño que era cuando se daba un tiempo para leer. Por cierto su pequeña biblioteca de sus novelas la tenía en el baño.
También aprovechaba de leerlas. Pero eran tan buenas y bonitas. Que yo me pasaba el día leyendo las. Hacíamos competencia a ver quién las leía más rápido y conversábamos sobre los hechos ocurridos .

Lucho para que mi niña de 8 años lea, no le gusta para nada.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Gracias por pasarte por aquí, es una lástima que a tu hija no le guste leer. Los libros nos abren un mundo nuevo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I used to read much more than I do now. I think several years as an editor kind of took away a little bit of the 'passion' for me. But I have not stopped reading entirely. I just do it less than I used to.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I used to read a lot more when I was younger, too, but the pandemic helped me get back into reading a lot. Now with the platforms, I read fewer books, but I still try to read a little bit every day.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wow that's great. And as what they said that reading is food for the brain which is very true. Just continue reading 🥰🤗😇

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's true, reading is food for our brain and for our imagination too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes I agree to that 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love to read. I hate not having more time to read even more. I read (almost) everything. Essays and scientific books, novels (mostly science fiction and medieval fantasy), philosophy, art, classics, architecture, technology, marketing, design, programming... I read everything. And I love it all!

I read even noise and read XD

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I have no doubt how much you like to read. ;) My husband is also like that, he loves to read anything that comes his way.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I didn't like reading but as I been part of this platform, slowly Reading is one of my routine everyday.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Maybe after the experience in Read, you will be encourage to read a book :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

To be honest, I'm not a reader,... I infact don't like reading cus it's just too stressful. Practical makes everything so easy to remember. This is part of the reasons I'm in tech

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Just today I read your article by a girl who wrote about her favorite childhood books. And remember which was the first book I read were the adventures of tom sawyer; My mom gave it to me because of how restless I WAS (I am no longer) obviously at that time she did not know that I had ADHD. She thought that as the book was long for a child it would keep me busy for a long time hahaha, I did not count that as the reading progressed I wanted to make all the adventures I read come true.

At present I am in love with John Katzembach's books, it is a style like journalism and very entertaining events, the last one I read and finished a month ago was "The wrong man". It's about an obsession, it's maddening and very good.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I haven't read The Wrong Man, I'll put it on my list, little Tom Sawyer, hehe ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is very good, there are moments where you despair, and anguish for everything that happens.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I´ve got a long time without reading a book, what a shame. But I do not have a specific genre to read, if the book catches my attention it´s done. Not a genre, but a book, my favorite one is "The Orange Clockwork", when I read it, made me feel some weird as if I were inside the story.

PS: Pyongyang, that book caught my attention, above all because North Korea is an enigmatic country for me, so, I think I´m gonna get it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I'm sure you would like Pyongyang. And about Orange Clockwork, I haven't read the book but watched the movie ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

1000 times better! You should check when you can

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, I will :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Certified bookworm in my school days, I made an article about it here few months back. Now, not much. I have 3 books that I bought during booksale 2 years ago and haven't finished any single one.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

The life you lead is quite busy but surely one of these days you will find yourself reading books again ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ain't a reader but there are moments where books seems so tempting to me. I would buy books but never finish reading it. I would just display it because I easily got bored. I dunno. My love for reading is just based on my mood.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Maybe one of these days y a book will captivate you. ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope soooo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You definitely are a reader sis hehe. I love your bookshelf. Receiving books as gifts is really nice! I have several books in my keeping that have been gifted to me by friends too

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That bookshelf, more than holding books for me is a treasure because my dad made it for me. ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aww... such a beautiful memento from your Dad sis :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indeed, it's a great memento, sis. 🤗.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love reading books too. I just don't have a lot of time for now because I am too busy so I read articles here on read instead :) Thanks for reminding me to read a book again through this article my friend.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are most welcome my dear friend :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love reading pocket books, novels, Wattpad or ebooks it's so nice to read. I also love to write, hehe but I mostly prefer to read hehe

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Read help us to write better. But I also like more to read ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am fond reading before but it change since social media arise. I want to get back to old me 'cause lately I noticed I watched non-sense programs which it didn't benefited me hays!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Never it's too late to read a book, ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When I got my first book I was 9 years old. I loved it. It was a great book. My older sisters bought a book a week. There was always plenty to read. what memories you have conjured up for me.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I'm glad this arise some fond memories to you. Good night, my friend:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am not a book reader, amiga but I'm more on magazines and I do write more than reading.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

And you are a good writer amiga, xoxo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like reading books a lot. And I gave an article about reading books yesterday. I see a lot of similarity with you. Many new things can be known by reading books. Books enrich our sea of ​​knowledge a lot.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I love to read books that's one of my habit too. Reading enhance my capability to understand. I also have some books and read it when I have time.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I read books but I am that into it, unlike my big sister. She has a lot of books on her shelves but I only read those that I think are interesting.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I bet you like some romance books B Champ hehe ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Another thing we have in common dear Eliana! In my parents house there were always books and both of my parents read ever since I remember. They also do crosswords and recently sudoku. No wonder I picked it up too and some summer holidays as a teenager I would spend marching o far away library and coming back with a bag of books.

I only ever got 1 book as a gift from someone. I would LOVE to get books as presents, but nobody really thinks of it as an idea for a gift.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

For me, a book is a great and very personal gift. We are always in sync, my dear Monika ♡

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love reading books, too. I mostly read novels like the Harry Potter series and Dan Brown's mystery novels.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I liked Harry Potter but I am not a fan like my sister and niece who adore them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like to read a lot. Before when I was a student I obviously had more time. I really like the romance novels, the books: Corazón and El resplandor are my favorites.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I also like romance novels and during the lockdown, I read many historical romance books.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have two books with me that I wasn't able to finish. I am at the middle part already. I do not know what happened, I just get tired of reading then ended up just scrolling my soc meds and here I am now, a reader in read cash. Haha.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

What happens is that those books didn't catch you;) And yes, we read a lot here in Read, hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True Coqui. Maybe that's really the reason why.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love reading books before. But not now anymore 😅 been busy on read and noise..lol. Before I met read, I always read books during my free time. I guess I almost finished reading all the English books of my boss's daughter on her shelf.. Even though I know the stories of those books as I've watch their movies, I still read them. Haha.. Until read came, I became readcash reader, lol.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I read about it in your post in Hive. Lately, we are all becoming read.cash readers lol.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's a sad truth, kids in school today no longer focusing on reading because some teachers prefer teaching through technologies where they just let the kids watch. Reading is very important because it helps enhancing our reading skills, understanding and widens our vocabulary. I also love reading books, and I do collect books. The smell of the book right when you open it is so satisfying. Haha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's true, I also like the smell of a new book. And the one of the old ones too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I realized the essence of reading when I knew that successful people do read. Also readcash has also increased the flair to read in me

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Definitely, if we want to succeed here we need to read ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like reading. It relaxes me. I have two children and sometimes it is hard to find time for reading. I also write poems and I like poetry.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I'm not very fond of poems in general, but it's nice that you write poetry, my mother when she was young also used to write poems.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I saw the original post in hive and I like it and I like it here too. Me thinks I will enter, either this one or a feathered friend one. Not sure which books to talk about though. Do you read books in English anymore? As for books and coffee, my favourite book stores were in New York, chilling with a book in an old sofa and sipping a coffee!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You should join the challenge in Hive;) I didn't invite you since you weren't active these days but if you are free is a nice contest to join. In the challenge in Hive you don't have to talk about specific books but about your habits. The challenge is to answer 4 questions. I do read in English sometimes, I have plenty of books in English on my kindle. And I also love some NYC bookstores, those and a few in Buenos Aires are my favorites.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes I need to choose carefully where and what I post. You know how hard it is with RC. I commented today and am down to 80% already haha. So will do the book one, yes I like the habits. Oh Buenos Aires, I would love to sit in a bookstore there!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well, what you need to do to have more resources is power up the Hive you have. Also if you have HBD you can exchange them to Hive and power up more ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was going to ask you that, I told you I would be pestering you about hive on my days off ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You can always pester me whenever you want, haha. In my article about the PUM, I explained how to power up the Hive. It's very easy indeed. But you can ask me if you have doubts 😉

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes I knew how to do, just what it was all for, but as usual my wonderful guru tells me ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i read only a few books... not much of a reader but I had read a lot of articles online...

$ 0.01
2 years ago

In that case you can say you are a reader but you prefer online articles ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oh..thank you dear.. i don't consider myself a reader before.. but I realized after reading so many articles online, i could label myself like that.. but then reading books is different with readin g online...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In the last few years, I also like to read. I used to listen to compositions a lot more because of college and I didn’t have time to read 😊

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I am also a book lover and I love reading since my childhood too coco. I make it as a past time and become my habit. Now that Indeed it makes our juices flow when we read. Reading is very powerful just like writing. But sad to say new gen isn't into reading books anymore.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, it's a pity that the taste for reading is being lost in the new generations. Thank you for stopping by, Grasya :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Of course I kind of miss you that's why I drop from time to time. Though I couldn't do it more often, I am sorry for that. I'm busy with my job.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also like to read a book from time to time. The one I like the most, you already know: The illustrated devil.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I love reading also because it helps me to learn things and expand my knowledge. My genres are fictions, romance and educative too.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That's the way it is, reading is knowledge. Books open us to a new world to learn.

$ 0.00
2 years ago