Photo Reflections of My Childhood Part I

59 79
Avatar for Coolmidwestguy
1 year ago

Hello all, how are you doing? I really feel good these last two days. I got the opportunity to visit with my mother and my sisters this weekend. They celebrated my birthday Saturday, a few days before. On Sunday we celebrated Thanksgiving by having quite the festival of a meal.

Today's meal

Today I'm going to share some pictures of my past. Something I haven't done because my mother has all the photo albums. So a lot of what you will see will be pictures of pictures. I did not get through all of them but have a nice collection to share. I was amazed by some photos because they brought memories back I forgot about.

First day of school ever. What a day, of course I don't remember what I wore but I do remember a lot about that day once I got to school.

This is one of those memories I forgot about but it came back to me when I seen the picture. There was a TV show called, " Captain 11." It was basically a cartoon show where kids got to pick the cartoons for the viewers to watch. My brother Tom, sister Kathy, and myself are sitting next to each other in 2nd row left to right after the first person.

One of the first times I seen Santa. I don't remember what I asked for. Maybe a dump truck or fire truck. I must have been a good kid in his eyes because I never received a lump of coal, haha.

My sister Kathy again, my father, and myself. I sported the amazing Spider-Man shirt :) Being a kid there was much enjoyment in opening presents. Our parents let us be kids and weren't worried if we made a little mess opening presents 🀣

My mother and father on the left a few years before I was born. There's not a lot of pictures with the two of them because most were of us.

There you have it I was a good brother, haha. Hey there is picture proof :) Actually I don't remember this though.

Pictured are my half brothers Joe and Tom. They were 8 and 5 years older than me. I don't believe I was born quite yet when this was taken.

Halloween time was always fun because we got to go to the store with our Mom to pick out our custumes. I remember being Frankenstein and the Six million dollar man, haha.

My father's car at the time of my birth. I never remember seeing it but I wish I had that car now. It's an original American muscle car.

My mother's father, my grandfather. This is where my height comes from. Grandpa was 6 foot 3 inches. He lived a great life to the age of 92.

Another photo of myself, father, and sister. We were on vacation in the state of New York. We usually vacationed to New York every other year.

I don't remember this photo being taken. Aren't I one with this motorcycle? I never got into motorcycles though.

My first time going swimming. Well more like my first time getting wet by the waves πŸ˜‚ It's not like I learned how to swim that day, right?

Myself, sister Kathy, a baby sister Lisa. I remember this day well. I think this was also the day that I first read a book from front cover to back. I don't remember the book name or subject matter though.

A Christmas dinner of the past. We celebrated with great foods. During the holidays we had Christmas Eve dinner usually smaller, Christmas dinner, and New Years day dinner.

My graduation day from High School. Here it is tradition to throw a party and all your friends come over to celebrate with you. Typically gifts are brought over as well.

Sponsors of Coolmidwestguy
empty
empty
empty

Final thoughts

It was great to go through the photo albums my mother has put together throughout the years. I have only scratched the surface though. I touched 4 albums there are over 2O, hehe. She likes to take pictures, hehe. Well that is all that I have for you today. I hoped you enjoyed the old photos!!

Take care and be safe. Love you all ❀️

Click to follow:

Read Cash

Noise Cash

Noise App

For Noise App please like my last post so I can follow you back.

30
$ 3.00
$ 1.49 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @Gemstone
$ 0.20 from @ARTicLEE
+ 23
Sponsors of Coolmidwestguy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Coolmidwestguy
1 year ago

Comments

It's very pleasant and enjoyable to reminisce about the past while looking back at old pictures. I wished I still had some old baby pictures, but at the time we didn't have a camera, and the only time someone snapped a picture of me was during graduation when a photographer came to our school. Anyway, thank you for sharing your story and your lovely family with us.✨

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thank you for taking the time to take a look Audrey. I'm blessed to have so many pictures of the past. Well with the use of smart phones now you have the opportunity to take photos of your future family to document. take care:)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Happy birthday! Too bad, I didn't bring childhood photos of me from the Philippines to France. and I have some photos that I am a twin of my daughter. It would be fun to show my husband all my childhood photos.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you so much for the birthday wishes. Yes it's so fun to reflect back on pictures and show them to loved ones that haven't seen them.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

What a feast! Matching plates and tablecloth. Eating turkey on turkey plates? :D

I miss doing this! Sadly, all our albums were lost in the fire.

It's nice to reminisce through those pictures. I can't even remember my first day in school lol!

You were cute when you were little. High school not so much :D :D

You seem to be in deep thought what to wish for from Santa.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thanks Art. Sorry you lost your photos. I remember so much I guess it is kind of a gift. There comes a time in a boy's life when another man can't call him cute anymore haha :) Oh Santa I remember trying to stay awake to see him but I always fell asleep.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That is indeed a gift. Not everyone can remember as far back as that.

Lol! I guess you're right. We can't stay adorable forever.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

What a wonderful memories of you sir. You really have a best childhood experiences too. I enjoyed looking at your old photos sir. I wish I have some of those old photos too just to share also to this community but I think I don't have a picture of my childhood.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It's ok I hope you some good memories that you have held onto :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow.. good photos nice to know your mom kept all the pictures, is quite different and unique

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ah the old photos, that fuzzy color, and so many memories. Details that we do not remember but that remain there so that special days like the ones you have lived come back to the present when you open those albums. I am very happy that you had a happy childhood from which beautiful memories remain afterwards, and of course, the family nearby celebrating. Very touching.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thanks Duvinca. Haha the fuzzy photos it reveals our age a bit doesn't it, lol Some we're Polaroid!!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

What a good-looking man you are my friend :) I really enjoy looking at your childhood photos. These memories are old but gold. these kinds of photos are the things that I don't have. I don't have any photos of mine from my childhood, I envy you for these my friend, how I wish I have these kind of photos that I can share with my future children too :)

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thank you I'm glad you enjoyed. Only if phone technology with photos was as big as it is now back than. I'm sure you have some photos on phone you can keep now for your future children. Have a blessed evening and day tomorrow, friend

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Awwwww it's so nice to see really old photos. Thank you for sharing these Mr. Cool. It looks like a very happy childhood ❀️

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you, I'm glad you enjoyed. I have no regrets to my childhood, my parents and siblings were awesome

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Considering it is a blended family it does sound great with not so much drama.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Maybe it was for my father and mother but no for us kids

$ 0.01
1 year ago

These are the most beautiful memories you have. I love my childhood as well when I see those photos and remember my old good days of childhood. It really makes me so happy and I want to back there no doubt what it takes and how much it takes, but I can get only memories of those days nothing else.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Those memories stick with us for a lifetime. The great things about photos they bring us back there in our mind:)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is true they bring us somehow back our old days

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are so really cute in your childhood years! Love the photos you provided they give me intense retro vibes. I think you are one of the kids who hit bullies for bullying other kids in the school.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks Sydney!! Haha on the retro vibes. Bullying a serious issue I have never taken it lightly seeing others being in such a situation.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Those are some lovelypictures that explains a thousands . I don't know if it's only me, I can't ever get tired of looking at child hood photos of friends and also photos that explains the life of the people I have come to admire.

Infact I could look at them for hours with a smile on my face. Such photos literally brightens my day and make me steady my soul .As a matter of fact, such photos serve as an inspiration at becoming like them when I grow up 😁

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Very true and I had a blast this weekend. Not just flipping through photo album. It felt like a reflection while also being thankful for what I have today. It was a weekend I much needed :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You shared some beautiful memories and invaluable photographs from your childhood days. I appreciate your time and care in finding those old photographs!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you I feel like it was overdue. I just didn't have access to them until this weekend. Haha I stayed up pretty late Saturday night taking photos.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hello, po! Your pictures are amazing. Very happy bonding time with your family. You have a happy big family. The cakes, the event, the Christmas. Wow! 🀢🀩I also have a family but very small. I also have my cousins! I will share my other pictures too for my introduction in my new account in Hive today which I will also share here in Read Cash later, the pictures that My Mama still does not show anywhere maybe on Facebook, not sure. Because of your post I now have the idea of what I am going to post later. Thank you po! God bless!πŸ‘²

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thank you for the appreciation and I'm happy that I gave you some inspiration on what to post later. This was my first big photo shoot on Read 🀣 I've published a lot things about my life but usually without a photo to boot. It was fun doing this article I had the childhood smile of the past on my face throughout writing this one 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So sweet , innocent, valued, rich and respected memories you have. These pictures shows how kind family you belong where the bonds of relationship are more stronger. From grandpa to dad and then you with Kathy all has love, care and mutual respect. Really I am glad to see you in childhood version and your honourable family members. Stay blessed!

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thank you so much for the very kind words. It's great getting together with family and sharing these times. We all remember a little bit different and it's nice to hear those stories because we don't remember everything.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I really can't help, but keep on smiling while reading. You had a great childhood and indeed your a good brother ☺️. How I wish I also have photos of mine when I was a little, but we're just, you know we can't afford to have our own camera and so I don't any photos when I was a kid. Same with my parent's. I also don't even see my grandparents through pictures since they don't have. Anyway that Halloween costume are cuteπŸ˜‚.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thank you, my childhood definitely my favorite part of my life. I was very fortunate to have great parents and siblings. I'm blessed to have soo many photos. Now with smart phones we have the opportunity to have digital copies of our experiences. Its up to us to back them up somewhere though so we don't lose them.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's fun to go down memory lane through an old photos. I enjoy flipping some albums too when i miss my mom. It brings back happy memories. Nice photos of you and fam.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you and yes nice going through. I have an itch to go back and look at more :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow its so nice to see how you grew up, we dont have our old photos because our house was eaten my fire many years and everythinh was vanished

$ 0.01
1 year ago

So sorry to hear that. My fathers family lost a lot in a house fire many many years ago.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, as they say better to get robbed by whoever than losing everything on fire

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Bring back all the good memories you had Bob and I'm happy to see those cuties kids lol😁. One thing I noticed, all the photos never been fade or spoil.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes they are maintained well. There kept up high in a dry well ventilated area. Also preserved in plastic pages in a photo book.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I really appreciate on how did your mom keep those photos, we never had thst kind of photos in our home. And also we don't have camera when we were just a kid, so that's the reason why.

Your such a cute boy and your sister too. Those memories will be kept for a long time, so great.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes I feel blessed having my childhood captured in pretty much a time capsule.

Make your own time capsule with your family now through your phone. A great tool now just back them up somewhere. :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That muscle car is my favorite car when I was playing GTA back then in my early age ahahah I love that car , I could tell your old now with the quality of those photo ehhehe

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hehe that car wasn't that old in that photo. Oh how I wish he would have kept the car. I can say I don't think I was in any black and white photos, haha. Ya you got me I'm not a young spring chicken πŸ” 🀣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

hahahahahahaah just kidding sir, I already knew how old are you. and that car is classic.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

A great and unforgettable memories you had sir. I am really amazed that you still had those pictures. I wish I have mine too. Those foods are delicious I saw that in noise.app sir. πŸ₯°πŸ€€

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you Ma'am. Haha did I inspire your eating mood today? Well I will have another big dinner on Thursday this week to share. So I might appeal to your taste buds just in time for your weekend ☺️ 🀀

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Really? πŸ₯° I am really excited sir. Another foods again. It makes me hungry always. So excited with that big celebration sir. 😁πŸ₯°

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You are lucky to have those pictures from your childhood Bob. I have some pictures from my childhood. We are not lucky enough to have more pictures though.ANyway you look so cute

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks Alice. I will be the holder of all photos soon. My sisters don't have children and my half brothers have photos from there mother's side. Speaking of that I just came up with the idea to take some pictures of pictures of my brothers and send them a photo album to them for Xmas. I think that would be an awesome gift for them and their families to see.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

yes that would be a perfect Christmas gift Bob

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You were so cuuuute!!! Especially the pic where you were cuddling with your sister.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you. When were young we tend to do some cute things. We can be little love bugs :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thats great that you still had your childhood photos.Its a great treasure to keep. Mine was only one photo when I was graduated in grade six,πŸ˜‚

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I'm sure the one photo holds a lot of memories. It's up to you now to build something for your children now through photos. It's much different now as we can make photos through our smart phones.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

one thing for sure you always treasure al your happening ins your childhood days and when you have time to get back maybe it is the same way to do so.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes reflecting back at good times such as my childhood is a treasure.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's so good to see that u still have ur childhood pictures, mine was all wash by the flood

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes I'm blessed to have photos. My family has hundred of years of photos. We are missing a good chunk of photo history on my father's side due to a house fire.

$ 0.00
1 year ago