Growing Up Part II

43 64
Avatar for Coolmidwestguy
1 year ago

Our journey in life could be categorized as a story book. As we move along the pages our turned. More or less the different phases in life are like chapters.

Today I continue my story of growing up with you. If you missed my part I click here. I'll start with some events that were close calls. Than some events that changed my child hood I will end talking about transferring high school for a year.

An incident in the pool

So we were on a summer family vacation in New York at my aunt's house. She was recently retired and had a huge house that included an in ground pool. The pool was rather large and included a slide and a diving board. It was also divided in half with a rope that had small egg like buoys threaded through it. This was to divide the pool from shallow to deep.

My brother was swimming on the deep side while I was on the rope looking on. I suddenly slipped on a slope on the pool floor. All I remember is being stood up on the shallow side by my brother. That has always stuck in my head, why no memory of being under water? He asked if I was ok and I said yes because I was. He told me I was probably under water for about 1o seconds and was still. I'm very grateful he was aware that I went under and was able to grab me.

An accident that wasn't tragic due to a neighbor's action

My brother got into motorcycles around the age of 16. He had a Honda 125cc street bike. One day he was heading to town to visit with some friends. We lived off a gravel road in the country side. He was coming up on a tractor with a plow and attempted to pass the tractor. While passing the plow swayed some and made contact with the bike. My brother fell off his bike and landed on one of the disks on the plow. It severed his collarbone in half.

Not the actual bike but very similar. photo credit: https://www.bike-parts-honda.com/honda-motorcycle/125-MOTO/CG/1980

The driver of the tractor took him back to his house which wasn't far away. He than loaded him in his vehicle and took him to hospital which was about a 25 minute drive away. I believe if he would have called for an ambulance my brother may not be here.

I didn't hear of the news until we all found out he was in the hospital. He ended up staying in the hospital for two days and has a good size scar as a reminder of the incident. As you can imagine upon hearing of the news we were all concerned. I remember going into pray mode immediately. I'm just so thankful for our neighbors panic free decisions.

Photo credit: https://www.britannica.com/technology/plow
Sponsors of Coolmidwestguy
empty
empty
empty

Similar injuries

My brother was involved in sports as well. He played football and was a wrestler as well. I broke my collar bone wrestling but not as severe as him though. We both hyper extended our elbows while wrestling. Mine didn't require medical attention his did. His arm actually bent the wrong direction and didn't go back in place. One thing we don't share is foot and ankle injuries. I have broken my foot once and have had several ankle sprains. I also have torn my meniscus tendon in my left knee. This was caused a few years ago trying to be a 'try hard' playing basketball against much younger competition 🤣

Brother graduation and good byes

After my brother graduated he wanted to go back out East to be around his mother and our other brother. He was very generous to others and a lot of friends were sad to see him go. I can remember his current girl friend at the time being in tears prior to him boarding his flight. We all hugged him and wished him the very best.

With him leaving I took on the role as big brother to my sisters. I was 12 at the time. I have a lot of memories with my sisters as well but I will get to them at another time.

Last New York family vacation

I was 15 when I was last to New York. My father wanted to see everyone as he was not in the best health. Out of all summer vacations this one was probably the best. We visited Niagra Falls, the baseball hall of Fame, and even went to Boston, MA. The reunion this year was held near Lake Ontario. So much food, drinks, and family. I still see visions of a whole table of Lobsters 🦞 Still to this day I haven't see so many cooked ones at once.

Photo credit: https://www.expedia.com/Niagara-Falls.dx602721

Father passed

So later that summer on 1 September my father passed away. To read more about my father passing and my thoughts on him as a person click here. My mother took us all to the black hills a few days after the funeral. Looking back it really helped us grieve better being away from our normal surroundings. The beautiful places and being out in nature was kind of soothing for all of us.

New School for 1 year.

I probably had the toughest time adjusting when I got back to school. It was hard hearing condulsences from everyone. I began to slide at my studies and I even started to hang out with the wrong crowd. Towards the end of the school year I was looking for something different.

My mother suggested attending a Catholic school for a year. It was something new and I agreed. I was in grade 11 at the time. Not everybody knew each other either because each grade had around 400 students. It did straighten me out and I went back to my old school the following year.

To be continued...Part III coming soon. It may not be the next article though. I'll probably have a part IV too🤣

Thanks for stopping by friends and readers. I wish everyone a great day ahead. 🥂

Click to follow:

Read Cash

Noise Cash

Noise App

For Noise App please like my last post so I can follow you back.

20
$ 1.89
$ 0.82 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @rezoanulvibes
$ 0.10 from @tired_momma
+ 16
Sponsors of Coolmidwestguy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Coolmidwestguy
1 year ago

Comments

These are moments one cannot forget and how you had to remember those moment is interesting. Thank God your neighbor was there to take your brother to the hospital and God did answered your prayer also.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes very grateful on both incidents.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

When we gone through from our past we have faded memories in our head. I am really sorry to hear about your father

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It was many years ago it's something we all must go through at some point

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sometimes when we remember our lives we think how possibly we could survive to many incidents, injuries, bad moments, but also we enjoyed good situations and love people around so yes, we survived, we did it and we can tell about all that...

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes so many other close calls and good/bad/sad memories I can remember. Each person has a story book of events.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

The time which we spent with siblings and family is always memorable. I also can't forget some moments of my growing age. And now i start to laugh when i remember those day's

$ 0.01
1 year ago

For sure it always fun to look back to smile and laugh at good memories.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Childhood days filled with interesting memories. Your brother's accident reminded me of my own brother. He smashed his face when he had a second motorcycle accident. He had to have surgery and had to have plate and screws in his face.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ouch that sounds painful. The face is so sensitive.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

How beautifully you have pictured your childhood, I think you have still alot of stories to share from your childhood hahaha better to write a book on your childhood memories, by the way it is my dire wish to see the beautiful Niagra falls, waiting to read the third part of it.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks and yes I could have wrote a book. A lot of details left out

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Enjoyed reading thoroughly.

Down memory lane to our childhood days and our younger life is always cherished. Even the five years ago events sometimes glowed brighter than significant current happenings.

I remember traveling by Amtrak from Washington to Penn Station, Baltimore, last April 2016! Some minor interactions on the almost empty train, like flashbulbs, sometimes come to my mind.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Seen so many trains. Actually where I live use to be a major hub for them. The funny thing is I've never traveled on one. Not that I didn't want to it just wasn't ever travel option.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You had a lot of experience to share to us sir!I remembered when I experienced a minor accident while riding on our motorcycle and it was rainy that time,I got scratched in my legs and the worst is I dont wear a helmet ,thank God it was just a minor accident

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Oh Maria glad you didn't hit head hard. You wear helmet all the time now right?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Some memories get stuck in our minds and even some dreams also get become a memory forever. I remember some dreams that i saw at least two times... They are now a happy memory of me.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Interesting I have never had two dreams the same

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's quite a lot of story you told us today. I can relate motorcycle accident because I had one when I was in high school. That marks until today that I no longer use motorcycle as of today.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I didn't ever ride because of that. It didn't bother my brother at all. He kept riding and has one of those crotch rockets now.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I went to a catholic school when I was in grade school too. It helped me to choose the right set of friends when I transferred school in highschool.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Funny thing there were even more crazy kids at the Catholic school. I choose friends wisely there, a lot of nice ones too though :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You're sharing your memories in writing and the effect with me while reading is its pictures on my head like a movie.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks for the compliment hope you enjoy the next flick :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The pool incident reminds me of my own when I was young and was on a resort with our whole clan. Everyone is enjoying the slide and taking the plunge and when no one is looking, I sneak into the slide and have a go only to get drowned. Glad I was saved on time. And that's maybe why I never learn to swim coz I never like water. Got traumatised after that 🤣 The slide is good though hahaha

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I learned how to swim better after that. I haven't swam for awhile but that not why though. Slide into rocks or sand now right? 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

What a great memories you had with your family. I was injured also with my motorcycle, flying without wings hahaha. Got a lot of bruises and scars but I'm still driving lol. Love the falls🤗.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I never drove motorcycle that accident kept me away. I understand your situation a lot ride motorcycles in your country

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You really have a lot ox experiences to remembered my friend. And I felt sorry for losing your father, but I am glad that you carried all out with mom and family. There are a lot of things to remember, the bad and the good times in our life, but whatever happens we shouldn't give up and continue to live our life to the fullest. ♥️

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you and yes live another day to keep on making memories.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You had a lot of experiences sir. I experienced also being injured and it was the worst. The reason it is because of the stairs sir.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Oh sorry to hear. Stairs are dangerous. I've known people to break arms, legs, hibs tripping on them.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That pool incidents makes me remember of how I almost get drown in the river🤦. And thankfully your neighbor was responsible as he immediately bring your brother to the hospital, that incident I think left some trauma to your brother. Anyway you had a lot of experiences, some are scary, good and some are sad. I wonder what you had in your next chapter 😅.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I originally thought I could whip this out in two parts haha. Heck didn't even get to my original ending as planned so I'm thinking IV will be the end. I hope so I don't want to keep boring you all. 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well I recently had a very bad ankle sprain and it is definitely not easy. I do not understand why people play contact sports.

On a side note I would really love to visit the Niagra falls someday.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

My son recently had a high ankle sprain. It's been about 3:weeks now and it's still swollen. He is rehabbing with a trainer. Got x-rays over a week ago to make sure nothing was broke.

Niagra Falls is beautiful a must see. Historical significance as well when it comes to what type of of current is used to provide electricity in the US.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Mine lasted 3 weeks too. But was not swollen just can't step on it. How did he sprain it?

Niagra falls is a dream for me. Hopefully can see this wonder someday.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Playing basketball 🏀

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh just like the dad 😂 is he the one you're referring who caused your injury. You said playing with someone a lot younger than you 😂🤣

$ 0.01
1 year ago

No he was on my team. But I broke my foot when he dropped heavy toy on my foot when he was a toddler 🤣

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ahahaha oh well I hope he's worth all the trouble 🤣🤣🤣

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Wouldn't trade him for anything!!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Awwwww. That's lovely.

$ 0.00
1 year ago