Growing Up Part I

72 97
Avatar for Coolmidwestguy
1 year ago

Ever think if you were raised differently you would be the same person? I think everybody has certain characteristics that they are born with. But if you were raised from a style that conflicts with those characteristics I'm almost certain you will be a different person. Our parents, teachers, mentors, and friends have some to play on how we turn out. This isn't the theme of my topic today but is related to who I am today.

By popular demand, a few have asked about my life growing up. Rather than tell a story in a PM I will share it with everyone. I'll start with some of my early memories and move along to the rest of my childhood. I'll talk about past my child hood in Part II.

Immediate family

So before I started elementary school our household contained both of my parents, two older half brothers and 1 younger sister. My two brothers were 5 and 8 years older than me. My sister is 2 years younger than me. Both of my brothers grew up in New York/Massachusetts before coming to live with us in a small town in South Dakota.

Photo credit: https://ontheworldmap.com/usa/state/south-dakota/south-dakota-location-on-the-us-map.jpg

Kindergarten

My first day of school ever I remember very well. My teacher's name was Ms. Valentine. We only had class every other day for Kindergarten. My class was made up 5o students. Basically everyone in my class would be with me to the end when I graduated from high school. There were about 1/3 of us that lived in the country.

Our home

I grew up in the country, our home was built in 1900. My parents moved into the house in 1975 after living in the city for two years. The property was used as a dairy farm in the 194os. So there were still a few out buildings on the property.

Oldiest brother leaves

Right after kindergarten my oldest brother moved back to Massachusetts to live with his mother. My other brother decided to stay. I would see him again because every other year we go on vacation there. The brother that stayed acted as my protector, I only had to use him once though. I was a big kid for my age, not only was I the biggest kid in my grade I was the biggest in the grade above me too

New sibling

That summer I was introduced to a baby sister. I often remember the words be gently she is so fragile from my mother. I didn't really fight with my sisters that much when we were of elementary age. Definitely not with my brother, lol.

Sports

I was very active with youth sports. I played baseball, football, basketball, and wrestling. I believe I was in 5th grade when the original film, "The Karate Kid"came out and that inspired me to start karate lessons. My older sister and father joined as well. I lasted the longest though I did it for almost two years. Another thing I did related to sports was collect football and base cards. I new all players for the teams. Once high school started I only did football, wrestling, and track.

Photo Credit: https://www.rottentomatoes.com/m/karate_kid

Summer/Winter Activities

Summers were spectacular growing up. My father liked to throw all his change in an old glass milk container. After about two years he would have enough for all of us to go see all my relatives in New York. We usually spent two weeks out there and it coincided with the family reunion. Oh lots of food, people, and adult beverages. You see it was just my immediate family in the Midwest.

Every summer though we would do little vacations. We visited places like Mount Rushmore, World's of Fun Amusement Park, and a few other larger cities like Minneapolis, Chicago, Kansas City, and St. Louis which were within driving distance. We didn't fly anywhere parents originally had a truck with a camper on back, than upgraded to van, and one last upgrade was a full sized mobile home. Each one I remember thinking this is cool and the experience was a little better each upgrade.

Mount Rushmore

When we were a little closer to home we went camping, fishing, and would even go for a family picnic at the park or nature preserve. The best advice I can give to parents is celebrate somewhere other than just at home with your family. Your kids will have fond memories as well as everyone else. Let's talk about winter.

You might be thinking winter in the Midwest what can you possibly do? Well we didn't do any vacations but to answer the question there is quite a bit actually. Since we had a big lot of property we did a lot of small game hunting. I'm respectful of the animal lovers so I won't go into it. I will say to those animal lovers we always had a dog and several cats. I'll say we were blessed with snow, us kids loved it while our parents didn't 🀣. We made snow tunnels in banks, snow men, snow igloos, snow angels, snow men, snow forts, and snow balls.

My favorite times were driving the snowmobiles. We had two of them one larger one and one mid sized one. Oh the large one could hit 120 km/h. The smaller one could hit about 70 km/h 😒 I was younger and I always wanted to drive the larger one. I still had blast with the smaller one even though my brother would drive circles around me. I did get to ride on larger one though. Being in the country we seen a lot of wild life and would chase them with the snowmobile, we never told my mother though 😊

Photo credit: https://www.snowest.com/2020/04/suspension-development

Well that's it for now I'll reveal more in my part II. I enjoyed my child hood and had a blast with my half brother that stayed. For descriptive reasons I call him a half brother but for real I couldn't have had a better brother. To be continued....

Sponsors of Coolmidwestguy
empty
empty
empty

Click to follow:

Read Cash

Noise Cash

Noise App

For Noise App please like my last post so I can follow you back.

35
$ 4.43
$ 3.10 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @esmeesmith
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
+ 26
Sponsors of Coolmidwestguy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Coolmidwestguy
1 year ago

Comments

Wow, you're so tall 6'2, and if I'll stand beside you I'll look like a dwarf 🀣

Indeed our environment had a huge impact on our growth, those you mentioned. I like this topic.. But just that my growing up process is too painful and chaotic.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Painful, chaotic, or joyful we learn from all of it. My Part II wasn't quite the same.

Nah I'd be kind I get on my knees I mean bend them so I don't look so tall standing next to you 🀣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well you are right.. we will learn in every experience we have in life no matter what kind of experience it is. Gonna read the part 2 later :)

HAHAHA bending made me laugh.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's great knowing more about you, Bob. I had to Google Karate Kid. I thought when I first saw that, it was the year it was released lol! I grew up watching that I don't know how many times but at least a dozen I think. Now I'm curious how tall you are really are lol!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I stopped growing height wise in 7th grade. I'm 6 foot 2 inches. Ya seen karate kid several times as well.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I see. You are a giant then compared to us lol!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

When I go to my mom's house I'm gonna take some pictures of pictures. I'll be able to do a article on collection of pictures. Being tall has its pains. I've hit my head on several things over the years.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Many of us here near the equator does not experience how good snow is

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I imagine those who don't have four seasons wouldn't get to enjoy. Some day maybe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I imagine you moment with those snow how I wish we also have here in PH 😁

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Make it a bucket list thing. A few PH people that moved here don't like the winter. All liked the snow but watched it looking out the window haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

How I loved your childhood bonding that vacation is the one of best outings ever. Though I didn't experience snow but I loved watching it at the movies lol.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you. I need to come to PH and bring a snow machine with. You all need some snow :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wc... What a great idea hahaha. How I wish I can experience that kind of feeling, the snow..snow...

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hehe, I already know a bit about you.

I just love the way you share everything, especially about your family and childhood.

Umm, Vocations, it seems to look like you guys enjoy a lot, especially snow.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Of course so many memories. There's a lot to do with snow especially being a kid.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There's no one without a story there say, everyone is with a story and behind every successful person there's must be a story behind. It is to know those stories behind you.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks guy for the compliment. I tend to share stories :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's a great pleasure to read something about yourself and your experiences back then. You have great memories of your childhood my friend :) You have a great family indeed.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you I miss those days. I wish we could get stuck in time at our best times.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I wish for that too my friend :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You had great childhood memories dear. Looking forward to part II. Maybe if I were raised differently, I am not sure if I were able to have wonderful memories when I was a kid. I already shared mine here a few months ago. 😁

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Oh please share your link to your article I'd love to read.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I thought it was just months ago but it's already a year haha. It has 3 parts: https://read.cash/@dziefem/when-it-rain-29e012a9

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Haha time flies by huh? 🀣 Mine might be 3 parts as well. I'll check it out in a day or two much behind on reading here. Thanks for sharing:)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wonderful words, a lot of memories that you have shared so nicely... how knows who we would be if we had been raised in a different environment and family. Oh you were to many places, also Chicago where I lived a short time, loved that city, good memories too.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes and many speciality foods there. A favorite memory is having a Chicago dog. I'd love to read about your perspective living there :)

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Jaja chicago dog! Well I thought many times to write about those months there... I have also many photos because for who loves architecture it's an interesting city. So I like posting about my past travels I will, I will write about the Windy City!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I can't wait I haven't been there in such a long time. You will surely bring back memories. Architecture city it is. The Sears tower wow it's called something else now though. I could talk with you a lot about Chicago I'm sure you could as well. Something coming your way shortly.:)

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes the name was changed after the crisis, the Willis tower... impressive views from the cube window! The Hancock tower, etc. and the Lake Michigan!!! Many places and many memories, ufff

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Indeed childhood memories are priceless, well iam impressed by how well you remember everything from it. It looks like you had a good time growing up. I wish there had been snow here so that I could have at least gone ice skating. Well looking forward for second part to know more about your childhood memories and experiences

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Indeed it was easy to remember the plentiful of good things. I went ice skating only like twice I wasn't very good on skates. Plus it hurts when you fall on ice 🀣 My sisters did a lot, my brother and I would go sledding down hills while they ice skated.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love how athletic you are

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you I have always loved sports. It's fed my competitive spirit. Now I work out to live a healthy style in hopes of life longevity plus it really benefits us in so many ways

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Time spend with siblings and parents are really memorable. Fighting with siblings at childhood boast bonding more. Honestly speaking I always wanted to join karate class it's useful and fun activity.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Grade school times not so much but we did as young teenagers. I think having an older brother kept me from messing with my sisters.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's great to know more about you sir. Wow to Mt. Rushmore I've always wanted to see it.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It's a national landmark I've seen it several times. There are lots of natural things around that area. The black hills, the bad lands, underground caves, drive thru wild life parks and many more. This area was very populated by Native Americans for hundreds of years. No surprises as to why

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It is heavily referenced on the movies as well. With the cowboys and the Native Americans. It's so Wild wild west!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

They flourished for many centuries. Another cool things is you can sometimes find old relics like arrowheads. Actually found one on our property. It's too bad our early Europeen immigrants kept pushing them west. I feel bad that they were forced off their land. Also sad that some customs and cultures they had have vanished through the years.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Same happened to the aborigines of Australia. This is what happens when you colonise without respect for the existing culture.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You really had a great childhood memories with your family. I enjoyed reading your story. How I wish we also have snow as I really wanted to experience making snowman and play with the snowballs.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

There was a lot of stuff I didn't mention let me elaborate on one with you. My brother and sisters would each build our own snow forts maybe 20 meters apart. Both sisters were housed in one. We would make hundreds of snowballs. Than it was a snowball war. We arched our throws at our sisters only time we threw straight was at their backs. It was all go with my brother. Those forts could have lasted all winter but at some points we had to be destructive 🀣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is really good that you are sports lovers and you are so in with different sports. In summer we also enjoy the vacations

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes it kept me busy as a kid and out trouble during early childhood

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think if family time and the time outside is well spent, life has a lot of memories. Your life is definitely fun than most of us asians. Have a good weekend! :)

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks Esmee. I agree outside time just sticks with our memories. You have a great rest of your weekend as well :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

your childhood was really fun and full of happy memories! I envy of you having a vacation with your family, you're so lucky that your parent gave an amount of time to bond with you and your siblings!❣️

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I'm grateful for my childhood I remember it so well because it was the best time of my life

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow! You had a great memory and a wonderful childhood indeed! Can’t wait for part two! You are indeed a Cool guy. 😎

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you. Part II will be another chapter in my life

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Im happy and very curious to know about you're house because this House is too much old and you have a lot of memories and a lot things that present in you're home and you really lucky to have a oldest home also I'm happy to read this article and knowing about you and you are really explaining very well for reader

Good day my dear

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Wait for part II to hear more about house

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh wow you are the karate master, seem like you spent your all past life in doing adventures and visiting different places. Enjoy reading your article you didn't make us bored😁

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Haha glad it wasn't boring. Karate was fun I went to a few tournaments and won some trophies at a few πŸ†. I remember going to the Grand Nationals and just missing the trophy stand in sparring I got fourth. That was quite the trip it was in Little Rock, Arkansas

$ 0.00
1 year ago

What a happy and memorable childhood you had. Reading your snow activities when you were young made me wish to have snow here too so I can experience those things. It will surely be lots of fun.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes snow is fun for a lot of kids. I didn't mention we also went sledding down hills with inner tubes and bob sleds those were great times as well

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oho, it's nice to read some of your childhood memories, bro. The more you write about yourself, the more we get to know you.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

They were great part II will be a little different

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You had the best and happy memories from your childhood. I am happy to know more of your personal stuffs

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Alice those were the happiest days for sure

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow, you had great memories in your childhood sir, and well remembered. Me, all I remember from my youth is on how we struggled with our poverty and without a permanent address.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Sorry to hear Maria. Now your the generation to make it happen

$ 0.00
1 year ago

These are some memories ain't no way to forget. Sounds like a lot of fun experiences Growing up!

Especially Good to know more about you. I Had did wrestling like just siblings when I was kid LoL karate that's cool.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It was fun. Not bragging but I was a great wrestler. I could beat my brother who was 5 years older than me. I was 12 he was 17

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes time of my life and very thankful of my parents

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I wish we had winter here. I would have done some of those you mentioned if we had that too.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

After the tag earlier I challenge you to a snow ball fight 🀣 just kidding

$ 0.00
1 year ago

HAHAHAHA. Send me snow first. LOL

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh no on my home court girl 🀣 jk

$ 0.00
1 year ago

HAHAHAHA. If only I could, I would say yes to snow ball fight. HAHA.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Aw I buy tickets for you and all the fur babies. I even make dog houses out of snow for them πŸ˜‚ 🀣 πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago