First Ber Day to Me

24 42
Avatar for Coolmidwestguy
1 year ago

I like the thought of looking forward to months of joy and happiness. I will not take this away from anyone. This day however for me is a reminder of my father who passed away many years ago on this day.

His Early Beginnings

My father grew up in upstate New York in a small town consisting of a couple hundred people. He was 1 of 9 siblings and was the second born. He was the first son to my grand parents. The gang consisted of 5 girls and 4 boys. Even though he wasn't the oldiest he was the big brother to all of them. He attended elementary school in a one room classroom with other students of various ages. As he got a little older he worked in the family restaurant.

Military

My father like his father entered into the service. He enlisted in the United States Air Force and served for six years. He did time in Michigan and Korea. He was a cook during his tenure. Probably wasn't very hard for him to accept this because he already knew plenty about it from working in the family restaurant. I had the pleasure of meeting some of his military brothers long after he got out.

First Civilian Job

He got on as a meat packer for a big meat packing plant in one of the larger cities in New York . From accounts from other family members he was a hard worker. He only worked there for about a year before being promoted to a foreman. He ended up working there for about 8 years until the plant closed. I guess his fame followed him because he was offered to run the shipping and receiving department for the same company half way across the country. He accepted and moved there with my mother.

Moving and My Childhood

Going from being in New York to South Dakota was different. This was in the early 1970s so a lot of culture things back out East were not a thing in South Dakota yet. Also population wise South Dakota as a whole is smaller than many large cities.

I was my parents first born followed by 2 sisters. I also have two older brothers from my father's first marriage. Some of my earliest memories with my father was when he got off of work and played with me. It may have been assisting with putting some Legos together. My father did everything for us kids he just loved to keep us laughing and often took us places on the weekends. I can remember him leaving town for about two weeks when the meat packing plant was on a strike. He had to find a suitable job to support his family. When he came back it was like Christmas. He had bought us kids tons of stuff. As I got older and got into sports he was at almost all my events.

From when I was 10 I almost always went with him. This is when I really got to see who my father was. He was not only a good father and husband but a great friend to others. He was a volunteer fireman for the local town I grew up near. So he had lots of friends. He would give the shirt off his back to help those in need. He helped people fix their cars, help others with home projects, and numerous other things.

The last few years were hard for me. He had back issues and had a few surgeries but I really don't think any of them gave back his mobility. He was inside a lot and couldn't do much physical activity. As a boy that was 12 I just wanted to play catch but he was in no shape to do so. I could feel he wanted to but just couldn't. What we did get to share was him teaching me how to drive. I kind of became is taxi driver to bring him to his friends or to the bar. I was with him all the time though. Going to bar was fun for me actually because he was so generous with his money. He would ask me what I wanted to eat and if I wanted to play any of the video games. He would often give me more change than I needed and would never take it back from me even if I offered. He would get drunk but he was not a mean drunk.

The Last Days

He was diagnosed with lung cancer about a year before his passing. This was heart breaking news I cried often at nights thinking I could lose my father at anytime. He was mentally there almost the whole time up until about two weeks before is death.

He passed on a Friday at about 6:30 P.M. he was only 51. For a long time I thought of my age at the time because it was a number scramble of my age, 15. I was in my football uniform getting ready to play a varsity football game. I was pumped full emotions and was in attack mode. The coach calls for me and I see my best friend's father next to him. The coach tells me the news. I feel my legs buckle, my heart stopped, and everything just seemed to just shut down. I was brought home where the rest of my family was. I hugged my mother and sisters then went into mourning my father's departure. I found out later that the coach told the team and dedicated the game to my late father. They won the game 22 -6.

This was a hard time for me as it would be for anybody. I was out of school for a week. My mother took us on a vacation to Mount Rushmore. When I returned to school it was hard hearing friends and teachers giving thier condulsences. I was in hard place for quite some time but I eventually got back to being a teenager.

Final Thoughts

So every 1st of September I think about the life of my father. I haven't shed a tear for quite some time about it but writing this article I did. Maybe I just thought about it more than I normally would. I am the person I am today because of my father. I learned a lot from him. I also do not smoke and hardly drink so I can hopefully be a father for longer for my son

Thanks for reading and all of you enjoy the coming days and months.

Lead imagine from unsplash

14
$ 2.13
$ 1.35 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.33 from @wakeuplincs
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
+ 9
Sponsors of Coolmidwestguy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Coolmidwestguy
1 year ago

Comments

I feel so emotional while reading your article. I can feel your pain and I can feel how much you love your father.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you Alice it was so painful those so many years ago. Writing this kind of brought me back to the young version of myself. I could have wrote a part II and talked about the wake and funeral but I had a hard enough time wrapping this up.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

you are welcome.Remembering those painful years will truly reminds us the pain we've been through

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I feel sorry to hear that. Do you know the song "Wake Me Up When September Ends"? That song was created by the singer because his father died at September and he doesn't want to go out from his room anymore. 😢

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you it was many years ago. Yes I know the Green Day song. I relate to the "Living Years" by Mike & The Mechanics that song was around the time my father passed away

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That was so emotional for you while writing this. I read carefully every details and I could see how your father lived his life in the best way before he passed onto glory.

Nice reading some things about him and may he continue to rest in peace.

Thank God for who you are today and I pray may your wish be granted.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes writing about it really opened up my tear ducts. I'm proud of my father and I'm sure one day to be re-united with him but not yet not now.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I still can't imagine what I will be like when the time comes that my father passes away. So even as early as now, I am justifying how it will be in the future.

I also love my father so so so much so reading your article about him just made me cry so much! Huhu.

Nevertheless, I enjoyed this and I felt your huge heart writing it.

By the way, my father always told the story about how he lost his father at a young age. Around the age of 14. He said that he didn't feel anything at first but when his father was about to be buried, he had a breakdown. It was a very painful experience for him and he always reminded us that we should be thankful every day that we have our parents with us. But thinking about losing him since he had a mild stroke not so long ago is so hard for me.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Yes very hard at young age. I could have went along further but it was getting hard. I have to save some tears for another day. I didn't want to go into burial that is the last time they are part of the physical world. I hope your father recovers and you get to spend many more moments with him. God Bless

$ 0.00
1 year ago

While I'm reading this sir I felt how you missed your father sir. You father is a great, a great friend and most of all a great father. I salute to your father. He's in good hands now sir and still he always there beside you, looking at you and guiding you in life.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you so much. I'm sure he is looking down as I'm looking up.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes sir. He's still there looking at you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My heart is with you. It's not easy losing someone even though how many years have passed. 51 is indeed still young. It's emotional reading this as it reminds me of our dearly departed too especially my grandfather who died last January. Your dad reminds me of my brother younger than me in that he is like the big brother to all of us. I can't imagine losing him too. Thank you for sharing your personal story.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you this is by far the hardiest article I have written so far. Sorry for the loss of your grandfather

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Uf so emotional article. Having such nice memories of a father is a treasure somehow, I think so but I don't know... it seems he was a good man just reading and seeing the way you talk about him.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

He was a good man and wish I could have enjoyed his company longer.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I will must say that your father had beautiful personality and he has great service in Air Force. Father is like the shadows who protect his kids from the heat of weather. May your father's soul reside in peace and God bless you with Patience.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you dear. We will always remember those who we love.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Your fathers were great men. I have not did any work for armored forces. I appreciate his services and love for American nation. You are lucky son to have them. I hope you shall follow their footsteps.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you Ma'am I continued the military service. 4 generations in a row! It may end with me though. My son has great potential and should pursue his dreams!! I'm proud of him and it wouldn't make sense for him to serve.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You still looked military man. It was proud for your family as well.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you I guess short hair and staying groomed most of the time is still engraved in me from serving 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I can feel your sadness while reading, I have already lose my father seven years ago and his departure was the most painful scene I ever witnessed in my whole life and I really felt that my world also ends. Losing a family member would leaves a very unbearable pain in our hearts, indeed.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes very much. Sorry for your loss those years ago. We look up to them often as the look down on us.

$ 0.00
1 year ago