Don't Rain on My Parade

58 68
Avatar for Coolmidwestguy
1 year ago

Hello friends and readers. How is everyone today? I'm ok just the busy me as usual. It was a dreary, cold, and rainy day here yesterday. I didn't delivery drive yesterday because the weather demotivated me.

Today I write about things that have been bothering me here on this platform. A look into how some people come at me. While it's not overwhelming but does involves a handful of people. It's time I explain things to these individuals. I do appreciate everyone's support including them :)

Disclaimer

I will not mention these people by name but do hope they are reading. Some of what I'm about to talk about are the uncomfortable conversations I don't want to have. Rather than put these individuals on ignore I give to them the opportunity to change. Also no need of an apology from these individuals.

My schedule

I work a lot of hours in the real world. It's not uncommon for me to do up to 60+ hours a week. I also have a lot to do around the house because my wife is physically disabled. She does not work and her duties around the house are very limited. So on top of all the hours I work I'm doing the majority of the cooking, cleaning, laundry, and countless other duties. So if working two jobs isn't enough I much feel like there's a third one when I'm at home.

Reading

I spend a lot of time reading. I have found a lot of interesting authors to read from. I don't know for sure exactly how much I read but I'm sure it's more than most. I may not have read some of your articles because of this. I might not have the gaudy numbers of subscribers but believe me I get a lot of attention here So the days of me hitting your every article are dwindling. Sorry about that but I just don't have the time. It's not to say that I won't ever visit you because I will eventually.

It does irritate me getting questions like you busy I haven't seen you visit my article yet? Not going to lie I have three of them in my Noise App inbox right now. I haven't opened them because this is my reply to them. I really don't have time answering these type of questions. Also I have got this before, I see your hitting many others all time why not me? Well I have read from them longer and therefore I have a better connection with them. We all have the authors we like over others. I am not perfect but I do believe I get around in the community very well. I just can't be everyone's everytime visitor.

Tipping

I'm very generous and it really gets on my nerves when I get questioned about it. Are you not grateful I leave you a tip regardless of the amount? A lot of people are very welcoming of a $.05 tip which is kind of my minimum. I tend to give that to a lot of people. Some I gave that to for a long time and have upvoted more to them over time. Some I have done the opposite to it's really my way of spreading my appreciation around. In the end it's my money I don't need to be questioned about it.

Mentioning

There are good and bad ways to mention others. Let's talk about what I believe are the good ones first.

  • Giving Notice to a new member. When I first started here I would search for them. It's a good and easy way to build your subscribers too. I think mentioning others in their introduction article comments is genius. Just don't get crazy mentioning too many people.

  • Giving credit for someone's article. Yes please do this!!

  • Giving thanks and appreciation for something. Maybe someone recognized you for something. A new sponsorship perhaps. Just know sometimes short articles are more appropriate for this.

  • In a challenge or game. I always reward my mentions when I use them in my articles. I believe if you call them out reward them.

  • Of course it's ok if you have a good friendship with them

Let's talk about some bad or questionable mentions.

  • If your doing it just to get attention for your own benefit.

  • Mass shout outs. Think about it how many of them are really going to show.

  • Mentioning people frequently you don't even know.

  • Giving tasks. It's ok to do for challenges. I'm not a big fan when called upon to read your article and give inputs because you asked. Let me decide to do this or not.

There are several other occasions when and not to mention someone. Feel free if you want to mention those not listed in the comments below.

After Thoughts

We should all be considerate to others. Begging, requesting, or questing someone in regards to reading and tipping their articles should not be done. I hope I didn't come off too hard about this. I just want to pass some awareness out there.

No one is perfect and a lot of us have probably at one point asked others to read our articles. It's kind of a newbie thing to do to get attention. I don't wish to unsubscribe or even block anyone. I really enjoy and have fun being part of this community. It is sometimes like a parade and I don't want anybody to rain on it!!

Thank you for your time, take care, and be safe. Love you all ❤️

Sponsors of Coolmidwestguy
empty
empty
empty

Click to follow:

Read Cash

Noise Cash

Noise App

For Noise App please like my last post so I can follow you back.

28
$ 2.32
$ 0.80 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.10 from @rezoanulvibes
+ 26
Sponsors of Coolmidwestguy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Coolmidwestguy
1 year ago

Comments

Questions like why you didn't read my articles or why you upvoted other articles than mine is not good.. We writers have different types of interests.. Just like I have a friend of mine here she reads my articles since I've seen her comments on my articles but I don't really read her articles, but she never questioned me why I don't read her articles. Maybe she's an open minded person that understand that not everyone is interested on your topic.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Ya exactly there is nothing that says you read I read. It is annoying when people ask you to read there article. Especially if your not all that connected. Doing this article a lot stopped doing it, lol

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Glad you brought up this kind of article so those who did the same as you mentioned realize that what they did is not good

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Some I believe don't realize it

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have experience this "I have seen you online in read.cash, but you didn't visit my article, please spare some time to visit my article", after I read this comment, I was speechless for seconds. It's my first time encountering such person but with respect, I still say that I can't visit because I'm busy... That's why, after a day of being bothered by that kind of comment, I made a blog entitled, work for your views, don't beg for it because everyone has a freedom to read what he/she wants to read. As a busy person, in a day I can only read few articles.

$ 0.05
1 year ago

Exactly why I write this among some other issues. A slap in the face to you, your Reads top multi tasker leave momma alone unless your coming over to help right? 🤣😂🤣

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I'm glad you brought up this issue... Hahaha, yeah leave me alone. I'm busy. 😅🤣🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So sorry to hear you receiving awful responses like that. It must have felt frustrating and demotivating!

I guess people need to understand crypto blogging platforms are not a quick scheme to get rich. It's a platform that tipped you for quality content, which time and brain juice are usually needed to churn out quality content.

As a writer, it'll be best if we can focus on writing and expressing thoughts that are meaningful to us, or simply anything that makes us come alive. That'll make our writing experience more enjoyable in the long run.

As for the reader/tipper, we have the freedom to read or tip any article we find interesting. Sometimes people forgot readers/tippers are also human like us, we don't have all the time/$ in the world to read/tip everyone's article. It's not nice to force people to do things they don't like yo people. 😂

So you continue to do you @coolmidwestguy! You don't have to please everyone. 🙌 So glad you voiced out your thoughts and emotions in your article, I hope they give you some space after this. :)

Thanks for being a generous tipper for many all this while. You have a kind heart. :)

$ 0.05
1 year ago

Thanks for stopping by. So true with everything you said above. So far I have enjoyed the space even though it hasn't been that long. I enjoy your inputs and thanks for the compliment:)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I feel the market being down, the read activity has been slow. Plus our jobs during these holiday rush times. I guess we will see actual activity when January arrives as all the festivals of all religions stop from January to March.. that's the time when things move.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Esmee was this meant to be a reply somewhere else?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is so uncalled for them to message you and tell you to visit their posts. If someone tries that with me, I will block them and never read their articles again. One thing about me is that I believe that if someone is a good writer, he or she does not need to beg people to like his articles or tip him. It comes naturally because your readers trust you to be a good writer. Sorry about that

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I think it happens to most probably. Maybe more to people like me unfortunately. Thanks for stopping by btw.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We all want to do better here as content creators/bloggers. If someone takes blogging seriously regardless of which platforms they work on, he has to follow what you mentioned in this post. Doing the right thing is always right.

I see you are very active on read.cash. What you are doing for your family, that's great! Respect!

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thanks yes it's not hard to be respectful and honoring others times

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The things you mentioned above are reminders that everyone should be aware of. Being in this community is such a great privilege already, but having a great friend like you is a blessing, not just because of the tips and the sponsorship you've given me, but because of appreciation. :) Do not worry about that kind of people anymore my friend, just do your thing here, and everyone should respect that. :) God bless you!

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thank you so much friend. Your right I do have much appreciation for you :) God Bless you as well!!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You're right, we should respect others' opinions and decisions... about mentions, some people use this feature as a technic yes but I really don't understand why some people can question how other users share their tips or can ask for attention. We all have other things to do, our time is managed as we want or as we can not as others desire. I don't want to write long, just do only you feel like, without pressures or suggested by others' comments. It's your time, and you decide.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Exactly after writing and listening to others the best course of action is to ignore it.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

There nothing to mention anything, you said quite all. I'm sorry to hear about your wife, I really didn't know about her disability and your being working more at home.

Sorry that you get such nonsense messages and reply. I confess I also asked you, via noise messaging, once that I haven't seen you on my articles. Yes I did, but I was worried that being a very younger than you I would have done something wrong, which would have made you sad and that's why... . I am agreed to you and you are correct reader should decide whether to read ones blog or not, shouldn't be forced.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Don't ever worry about age gaps. We are all human regardless of age. Think of the message or thoughts in the article not ones age. Im sure your aware of this now.

Yes being asked to read ones article and discussing or comparing how one tips should not be done. Both are up to the reader.

Thanks for the thoughts and admissions have a great day ahead!!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

No Sir, for age is a big factor. As I have been usually seeking an expert opinion from my elders and seniors both. However, if I do something like that make them unhappy that matter a lot. Great day ahead

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I'm talking about authors not life advice 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am also talking about writing 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I respect your opinion but I totally disagree:)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Everyone has freedom of speech and freedom of thoughts, I guess

$ 0.00
1 year ago

"I haven't seen you visit my article yet"

This words is not acceptable for me, because you don't need to oblige the user to visit your freaking blog. It's our decision to do it and I didn't forced you to read mine lol✌️...people sometimes are being paranoid of tippings. Some also have a huge earnings here but never shared a single cents to the other users. Just saying😁...

Have a nice day friend and just ignore it.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thanks Jean. Your right it's best to over look and ignore. I just don't feel obligated to keep explaining myself over and over.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Work never ends especially at home. Sometimes I blame my so-called hustles online for not doing household chores lol!

Anyway, those you mentioned above - begging for attention - I totally do the only thing that needs to be done. Ignore them completely lol!

I remember in another platform, I commented on one's article, stating my appreciation. The author replied that I am a scammer because I didn't reward his post? Lol! Blocked that person right away. If you are here for tip for tip, then this is not the right platform for you.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Haha ya I would have done the same thing Art. Ya you have to be here for learning and writing not just for the earning. I find having fun here will bring an income trail without even thinking about it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

[deleted]

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Now you know and it takes guts to admit. I admire you for your courage.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Very true, instead of begging other's attention, we should try to write the content in a way that it automatically attract others. But I am sad to hear the way people behave.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

For everyone I have contact with it's not the many only the few. I hope this article opens awareness to those who do it and also prevent some from thinking of doing it

$ 0.00
1 year ago

-Hi there! All of us have our priorities and time that needs to be managed and should be respected. As for myself! I only tag names when it is needed, like the challenge and task that I need to be done. Sometimes I also remind someone to read my article because he is close to me and not for the attention or tip, also reminded him not to give me tips. When I write an article I am not thinking of the reward! Though blogging is my source of income too, I came to realize that it's more fun to write without the pressure of thinking about how to get a bigger tip or reward. I write from the heart and I am also not after followers or popularity, because these things come naturally. I already experienced it all before on different platforms and even had a popular community that I created, but I also realized that only a few are true to me, even though I have thousands of followers. If people don't like me it's fine, I don't need to chase them, because if a person doesn't like you, even if you do your best you will never get any appreciation, I treasure those who are down-to-earth and helpful to others, and is not self-centered. When I write, in my heart and mind, I am doing and submitting it to God. And God also loves those who are cheerful givers and humble.

I agree with the points you raised. Thank you for sharing this post, Sir! Family should be our priority next to God, May God bless you and your family as well! Have a blessed day🌷-

$ 0.05
1 year ago

I'm impressed with your reply:) Yes I don't think about the income either when I'm writing. Usually I try to be funny in my articles. I hope that it will give the reader a good laugh. Im kind of a blended author I dab into different styles .This one was kind of a serious matter so my normal humourous thoughts were absent. It's not exactly what I wanted to write about but I felt I needed to. I'm glad you enjoyed. You have a great day as well :)

$ 0.02
1 year ago

-Hehe me too I am writing like I was talking with my readers comfortably with smiles and laughter, funny but I am comfortable with that as long as it's not below the belt and full of respect to others. I don t want to use others as my stepping stone to gain success. Hehe! But I am a also frank and straightforward if things are not tolerable anymore but I do it in a very humble and respectful way! Again! Thank you very much Sir! Have a blessed day!🌷-

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Nice write-up. I don't get a lot of mentions now, but I used to back then. There were instances when new people mentioned you and acted as if they knew you from your articles. Saying they read a lot of your articles and stuff, but clearly, they just mentioned you along with the other well-known users for attention.

I was once a newbie too, but never did I begged people to read my article. I shared on noise, and that's already enough. I can't read as many articles as you do; that's why I don't demand others to read mine.

I hope, whoever these people are, will finally understand your point and give you some space.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Thanks MJ I hope they do too. I'll give them a second chance. I'll forgive but won't forget. I remember reading one article about a month ago and the author mentioned getting rid of the negative people in your life. I know this is virtually in here but I think the same can be applied as well. Hopefully it is an eye opener for these individuals and they can change thier mindset to respect and appreciate all of us.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh no thats annoying, even I was a newbie here, and I started my journey about my nephew who have a leukemia at very young age but I never beg, I did ask someone to ready my blog but he warned me and I did not do it again, even I badly needed money that time.

What you did to write this is a good move atleast everyone will be aware of our behaviours, I hope they will be enlighten with this article of yours

$ 0.02
1 year ago

A lot of us have asked. I even am guilty of it when I first started but I knew the person well. For me it was just a pride thing that I was producing content not for attention or a tip.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Me either. Its your being generous maybe the reason thats why

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You couldn't have said all this any better. And I really do understand how busy you are. I am even quite surprised how you are managing now that you mentioned your third job at home too. Do take it easy as we don't want you burning out.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you for the compliments. I manage but I promise not to get burnt out. I'm not all that active in Noise have to sacrifice somethings

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I can understand why. I only have one job and only taking care of myself but I have been drowning in notifications. I think it is good to focus on the thing you enjoy more. I'm guessing that is reading as I still see you here.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

This reminds me of myself when I started but unlike you, I wasn't able to keep my cool and reply in an honest real talk way. We all have our own lives and we can't possibly be available all the time. And asking me where I am, why I haven't visited her account and telling me is waiting made me mad. I give tips because I want to. I used to be active because I used to have the "time" when I started and I was able to read articles as many as I can and welcome newbies and supported them. And before there's not much users unlike now that I can't possibly read all the articles or give tips. And I thank all who understand and respect others' time.

And oh my flamingo, how can you do everything and include read and noise aside from your job and all the house chores? Fist bump! 👊

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Haha maybe I should be tired_daddy. I find time when there is a break in the action. Often that is 5 or 10 minutes here and there. I really didn't expect to be here in just over 2 months.

Yes I am also very thankful to the many that respect my time. I just realized I forgot to mention that. It was kind of a one sided article. I'll forgive but not forgot if it happens more!!!

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Hahaha, you are a cool tired_daddy! 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sorry to hear that sir cool! Just take your time sir you are always busy and I understand that. we have lots of responsibility not only on our job but also at home. You need also to have a break and rest for a while.God bless you more!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks Maria. I do plan to be limiting myself next month.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks for this article it's really an information that you are passing to we the upcoming, thanks for the tipping I appreciate

$ 0.01
1 year ago

No problem I hope it brings awareness. Sometimes it may happen and they just don't realize it

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I hope after rain you can start your delivery work. Just ignore the people who made uncomfortable conversation Sugar daddy 😂. We can enjoy a platform like you are doing. I also followed same trend of reading, commenting and tipping. I hope everything is fine with you?

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Haha on Sugar Daddy. I'm doing good.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Those questions are inappropriate and irritating. Why do they have to question your visit? Don't they think your also a human that has priorities? 🤦 About the mentioning I would agree, don't mention just to get the attention, I have experience that many times. Sometimes it's irritates me because I don't even know them, I mean they don't even visits me in my articles, yet they are mentioning me. Luckily now, I become poor on tipping so no mention anymore 😂. Anyway I wish you still getting enough rest, you work too much. And don't mind those users, i hope you still have a great day ahead.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thank you for the words of encouragement. I give them a second chance as I can forgive. I thought I had to just say something. Hopefully it works out.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Your wife is very lucky to have such a wonderful hubby 😇😆

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you for that.

$ 0.00
1 year ago