Relative Value Systems

5 28
Avatar for Burnok
Written by
2 years ago

When the pandemic arose last year, it was hard to deal with the changes and my coping mechanisms brought me to start an online business. Everyone became addicted to plants and so my products are my handmade macramé plant hangers. I sold them through posting on Facebook and in Shopee. I trusted this courier so much because they never have failed me with their service. I got to be friends with their staff too in the city branch. But then, in one of the batches of my Shopee parcels that were dropped off for shipment. I make sure I ship the orders before the required date but I don’t usually check the progress of the shipment because I trust them and I was busy with my academics. Until Shopee notified me that I wasn’t able to ship the orders on time and it got cancelled. I called them why it occurred and they said there have been a mistake, the parcels were stocked in their branch. I got mad and frustrated because this business helps me to earn money for my family that’s why every order counts. My family told me to report it to their manager because they never even apologized for it and even made it look like it was my mistake.

So what is the relative value systems?

I am proud of how I took the measures that gave everyone peace. I can say that with politeness, social respect, gratitude, appreciation, resilience, and understanding, I was able to handle this situation.

How about the role in the situation?

I was injured in this situation. I suffered damages because of the staff’s carelessness concerning to their job. However, I am caught up between my emotions and I really thought about it hard enough so I could decide if I will give myself the satisfaction of telling what happened or I will just spare both sides with peace and move on.

How it was resolved?

After deliberating in my mind, I settled with the notion of forgiving them. It is also a part of respecting myself and respecting them, and maybe a way of showing my gratitude and appreciation because even if they made a mistake, it only happened once, with that, I could compromise.

Final Thoughts

We acquire our attitude from our experiences. These experiences mold our own set of values which we use in interacting and in making daily choices and decisions. From the ethical situations that I have introduced, we can create a bridge between ethics and values and their importance in our lives as human being. Ethics is the system of right and wrong conduct – this is universal, however, values are the things that affect our behavior and attitude. Values are based on our own perspective and we use this to conform with the society’s definition of right and wrong which implies to ethics.

I can therefore conclude that evaluating our experiences gives us the chance to realize our mistakes, to reflect upon ourselves, and to judge the decisions we have made in the past. The given situations also show that our values are derived from the people and places came from. Hence, when we know what our values are, we can use them in a more effective way when it comes to decision making and when we have to deal with other people or even harder situations that challenges our capacity to do determine which is right and wrong thing.


Sponsors of Burnok
empty
empty
empty

Are you new to my profile? If you do not know me yet, I am Burnok, your friendly neighbor who loves writing things like this and like that. Here are some of my articles, which you may want to read too.

4
$ 0.89
$ 0.57 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @renren16
$ 0.10 from @McJulez
+ 2
Sponsors of Burnok
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Burnok
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Choosing peace here is the best thing and I am glad you did choose the best one. Kudos and God bless.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you and likewise 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Let karma take its course? :D That's a wise take on the issue. Not a popular one but kudos to you for choosing peace.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks. Hope you had a great day 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Have a good one :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago