To Love and To Grow: Rizal’s Life

4 562
Avatar for Burnok
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Rizal, Writing

Jose Rizal is a name of legacy. He was a hero and still is. Possessing intelligence and wisdom in many fields, he served the country and his countrymen with so much pride. He lived an eventful life that even the next generations still know and learn from. With all those known accomplishments, Jose Rizal is a person I can never be. Yet, learning of his life made me think that he was just the same as us. He was also a human with flaws and faced challenges that bared his humanity.

Rizal’s days as a student made me envy him. He had excellent grades in many difficult fields. I felt a huge admiration learning he took up Medicine and did so well. As a student in the medical field, I truly look up to him. There was envy knowing he was innately smart. I wished I was born smarter too. However, it was unfair to reduce his hard work into the fact that he was just born intelligent and nothing more. Looking into his student life, he worked hard and read a lot of books – something I struggle to do. I have realized that I should not be envious of his innate intelligence, but rather learn on how he puts an effort in the things he does. He was a student like me too, but he gave more in his work. Just like looking at a mirror, I saw faults in me as I look through Rizal’s life.

Even when he was younger and even until he made through college, he was consistent in the effort he puts in his studies as seen in his grades. Being able to continue as a good student for years is such an amazing feat that I doubt I could do. Rizal was a passionate learner. I see him as a person with burning passion in his heart. In this career I have chosen, I know I need to continuously keep myself motivated. Thinking of the lives I could save in the future will keep the flame in my heart burning, like how Rizal must have always thought of his mother.

The passion in his heart meant he was a person full of love. Jose Rizal loved his family and his country deeply. It was easy to see. Rizal’s actions were driven of the love he has for others. He studied Medicine for his mother, he served and fought for the liberty of our country and he even died fighting. His life full of heroic acts was a proof of the immense love he had. Rizal reminded me not to be scared of loving. The cruel world we have now makes us hesitate in showing our deep affection towards one another, even if we truly want to. The fear of hurting and losing ourselves in the process traps the love in our hearts. Yet, Rizal even in the times when freedom was gone, he was able to express the love he had through the things he was able to do. He wrote literary works that moved the hearts of the people, even when it might cost his life. He fought with his fellow countrymen bravely. He reminded me to live with love and to live for love.

“I shall always be at the service of my country and what my fellow countrymen think I can do I shall do,” Rizal’s words in his letter to Mariano Ponce. Jose Rizal was selfless. He had the intellect and the skills that he used to help others. During his stay in Dapitan, he served the community even though he was only there due to his arrest. He was a doctor that gave free treatment to those who was in need. He went to another country to learn more and to better fight for his country. All these sacrifices he did was just inspiring and compelling. Rizal lived for the people and showed his love through acts of service.

Can I not do the same?


Oops!

It is not yet the end of this article. Let's just say, it's like in a soap opera we watch in the television. It will be published later.

Sponsors of Burnok
empty
empty
empty

Are you new to my profile? If you do not know me yet, I am Burnok, your friendly neighbor who loves writing things like this and like that. Here are some of my articles, which you may want to read too.

Lead Image credits to: https://www.flickr.com/photos/nccaofficial/18048936033/in/photostream

3
$ 1.13
$ 1.03 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @McJulez
Sponsors of Burnok
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Burnok
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Rizal, Writing

Comments

Dr. Jose Rizal. My forever National Hero ❤.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Me too po. Thank you for reading 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dr. Jose Rizal is indeed a great person. His greatness will always be appreciated.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True. Thank you 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago