Why I Love Writing

1 38
Avatar for Burnok
Written by
3 years ago

This is me and one of my favorite novels, Turtles All The Way Down by John Green.

For this article, I am going to tell you my journey in writing. I hope you will read my story. After this article, I will finally write an article about some tips that I could share to you that I hope would help you too in your writing journey.

I didn’t know that I have passion in writing until they put my name in a Journalism competition when I was in sixth grade.

I can only remember that back when I was in third grade, I wanted to write my own introduction whenever we started our theme writing. I was amazed on how creative our teacher was on putting words together and I wanted to do that to. I won the feature writing contest and we went to the regional level. I was so happy, but still, I didn’t know that I was good at it—I didn’t know that it would give meaning to my life.

In my Junior High School, when I applied for the school publication, I was confident that I would get a slot. Unluckily, I didn’t and it hurt me a lot. I was too childish to understand what those things are meant for. I was jealous for those who are in seventh grade that got a position and I wondered where could I possibly went wrong in my interview or in the article that I’ve written for the application.

That’s the time I wrote silently. I was afraid that others might see my work and know how senseless they are. I didn’t give up in writing but I’ve lost my confidence. It’s the time that I started writing for myself—alone. I write whenever I have a spare time, whenever I don’t want to hear the world’s arguments and chaos.

Writing became my companion.

Those nights that I was drowning with own tears, I wrote. Those days that I was out of place, I wrote. Those times that I was ignored, I wrote. My paper was my own skin and my ink was my blood. I created a friend in me, someone I can rely on all the time. Since then, I never felt alone.

Writing made me brave.

It was in ninth grade that I finally found myself applying in our school publication once again. I was a staff writer; I worked with my fellow writers. As I write every word, I feel the gust of bravery from inside of me. I wrote with power and assurance that I write only for the truth and in behalf of the people who are afraid to speak.

Writing filled in the empty spaces.

Every tear that broke into my eyes became a masterpiece in form of words and metaphors. Every empty space in my heart became a poetry. Writing taught my mind and heart to appreciate the blank spaces and make something out of it. Writing turned my pain into something beautiful.

In journalism competitions

I also received up to regional awards. I am proud of it but it isn’t everything that I write for. Nonetheless, I am happy because I have met lots of people who share the same passion as with me. I went to different places in the region and discovered new things. The journey isn’t an easy one, but I loved every minute of it.

Six years ago, we went to De La Salle University in Taft, Manila for a convention and seminars.

A word of advice

If you found something that your heart cares for a lot, do not ever give up on it, even if the world says it’s difficult. Do not doubt your capabilities. Lastly, stay humble.

Back then, I even dreamt of having my own novel and publish it. Though I wasn’t able to do that at young age, I still dream to make it up for me someday.

Now that I am in college, I got busy with my academics. I enrolled in BS Accountancy program, but still, I find time to write. I am very thankful for this platform which makes it possible for me to have random readers from all over the world.

As I publish this article, I received a notification that my account has reached 100 views already! This is such an amazing milestone for me. I thank you all for welcoming me here.

I found a home.

3
$ 0.24
$ 0.14 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ayane-chan
$ 0.05 from @McJulez
Sponsors of Burnok
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Burnok
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

My passion is writing, too. I can't write creatively in competitions so I just put it in my notebook and let my friends read it. Read.cash is the one who changes my perspectives. I'm slowly having the confidence to show my works to more readers.

$ 0.01
3 years ago