Blog of the the Day: Hope of the Motherland

2 32
Avatar for Burnok
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Writing, Blogging

The world may stray us from our values. We forget to think about others and we even forget to think about ourselves. Rizal made me reflect on who I am now.

Am I doing enough for the people I love? Am I treating myself with the love and care I deserve?

We should not forget to shower ourselves with simple acts of service. Even the little things will help us grow, like how a sprinkle of water give life to a plant.

We have so many hesitations and worries that we feel so uneasy of trying new things. However, Jose Rizal showed me not to be afraid of trying. Leaving the country and trying out new fields is too scary for me. It was even a hard decision to choose this career and be away of my family and friends but Rizal showed me it was okay. To leave the comfort and to stay in a strange place is scary but it is something I need. I want to grow and staying in the same place will only lock my potential.

Like how Jose Rizal courageously made a decision to leave the country, to join the revolution and to fight against the Spanish tyrants, I want to be brave enough to face the new challenges that may come in this new place I am in. Rizal was able to be brave because of the guidance his friends and mentors gave him. No matter how smart he was, he still seeks advice. I know I am not alone, too. Asking for help is not a weakness but a strength. It is a strength to be able to recognize the things we lack and to face it.

One thing we should not forget about Jose Rizal is that he became who is now because of the lessons his family and friends taught him. His childhood was full of learnings. He continuously polished his skills with the help of others. Therefore, nothing is wrong with gaining strength through the healing hands of the people surrounding us.

Jose Rizal, a hero recognized by our country and even in the foreign lands, was just the same as us. He lived a simple life with his family as a child and he studied like a normal student would. His upbringing may just be the same us me. However, he made big choices that I may never try to make. He bravely gave voice to the unprivileged fellowmen. That was not an easy feat for someone like me. However, that does not mean I should be content in being apathetic. During these times when our fellow people struggle more than it has always been, I should lend my voice a helping hand.

As he said in his letter to Marcelo H. del Pilar, “We…fight so that there may be more justice and more liberty, and for the sacred rights of man. We ask nothing for ourselves, we sacrifice everything for the common good, what more do we need to fear.” There is no greater pride than serving our country and its constituents.

We are all people who struggle in this life. Jose Rizal is one of us also. He was a wonderful person who used his life to be of service to others. Even after his death, he is still remembered. I do not wish the same fame and the same legacy.

I can never be like Rizal but I can learn from him.

Final Thoughts

His life reminded me that to love is to grow. Our life is a continuous process of learning and we should never be afraid to try new things.

To love is to grow into someone that will be able to protect our people. To grow is to love to the things that we need even though we are scared of it. Rizal’s life is deserving of our gratitude.


Are you new to my profile? If you do not know me yet, I am Burnok, your friendly neighbor who loves writing things like this and like that. Here are some of my articles, which you may want to read too.

3
$ 1.23
$ 1.03 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @kli4d
$ 0.10 from @renren16
Sponsors of Burnok
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Burnok
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Writing, Blogging

Comments

"To leave the comfort and to stay in a strange place is scary but it is something I need. I want to grow and staying in the same place will only lock my potential."

This is so true. You cannot grow from the place that keeps on hindering your growth.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Indeed. Thank you for reading. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago