Are You Crazy?

52 97
Avatar for Bloghound
2 years ago

How do you define someone as crazy?

I know we throw the word around a lot. For example, a friend gets into a car drunk and you say, "man, they are crazy to be driving like that". It is a major generalization, right?

What if someone is depressed? Does that make them crazy?

What if someone posts photos on social media of a bleeding wrist? Does that make them crazy?

What if someone is bipolar? Does that make them crazy?

What if someone has episodes of schizophrenia due to triggers from childhood trauma? Does that make them crazy?

What if someone attempts suicide? Does that make them crazy?

Sponsors of Bloghound
empty
empty
empty

I am very curious how the world defines "craziness".

The word "crazy" has come to mean such countless various things and isn't utilized in the clinical sense anymore. Along these lines, anybody can be called "crazy". Things are "crazy" acceptable. Spots can be alluded to as "crazy". Somebody can be supposed to be talking "crazy". One can wear a "crazy" outfit... and so forth.

But I am talking about crazy as "insanity".

I have no background about psychology, yet I have a fairly cloudy line on what characterizes being unusual, insane, or crazy in everyday terms (the most widely recognized sort of strange that we would comprehend). Everybody has something unconventional that is explicit to their conduct, which is the thing that we would characterize as idiosyncracies.

I have my own definition. My husband used to work in a mental institution as a psychiatric technician for quite some time, and I’ve learned a lot from him as well as have had a loss from suicide and even attempted it himself on more than one occasion. I did it myself too, several times.

So the big question is - What is crazy?

According to Psychology, someone's behavior and conduct become unusual and "crazy" when it's anything but an individual's capacity to carry on with their life, as they characterize it. That last part is significant. It's anything but up to the psychologist to characterize how somebody's life ought to be. It's up to that person.

Kinds Of Crazy

  • Drug-induced or trauma actuated craziness - refers to any crazy episodes which have been brought about by the abuse of drugs. It is also a condition characterized by hallucinations and delusions.

Delusions happen when an individual accepts something outside of what is truly going on regardless of any outer contention or inconsistency to such convictions. Hallucinations, on the other hand, are discernments (principally visual and hearable, and sometimes fragrances) of things that aren't really present. Symptoms include disordered discourse, confused thoughts, torpidity, enthusiastic changes, withdrawn conduct, sporadic conduct, or erratic behavior.

  • Emotional craziness - somebody who reliably feels a profoundly unique feeling, or an exceptionally overstated /exaggerated feeling, or a significant absence of feeling, contrasted with the one that conditions would propose, and has a lot of trouble framing fulfilling and useful connections subsequently.

  • Imaginary absurdity/craziness — somebody who envisions circumstances, situations, conditions, or, even creatures and deciphers them as genuine, and has a lot of trouble shaping fulfilling and useful connections accordingly

  • Cognitive absurdity — somebody who can't think straight, and can't come to sensible, coherent, customary, simple, ordinary, good judgment ends given a lot of information and data and has a lot of trouble framing fulfilling and useful connections, therefore — and whose innate trouble isn't promptly or fundamentally helped by an able and touchy companion, parent, instructor, advocate etc.

Other factors that make someone be crazy may include:

  • Outrageous degrees of stress – the individual might not have a decent method to manage their life conditions and they can't adapt, so as opposed to going to pressure the board like contemplation or care, they carry on in genuinely charged ways.

  • Dread and fear– dread of losing something, dread of humiliation, dread of death, and many, numerous others. At the point when an individual is unfortunate, they can't in any way, shape or form think and act in an objective manner. The dread drives the conduct.

  • Poor communication skills – most people talk well in their minds, but don't work effectively in addressing others and conveying their actual contemplations and sentiments. They conceal things or attempt to conceal them, and in doing as such, can show up in a negative and in any event, doubting way.

  • Restlessness – people who are late, who have responsibilities and they probably won't have the option to meet, or who stress over what they need to do next can carry on in insane and hostile manners. The surge never gets anybody to where they should be all the more rapidly. It simply makes conduct that is pessimistic to the individual and everyone around them.

  • Misconceptions – people hold a specific arrangement of convictions that cause them to see the world through a picture. They don't see things obviously, so they don't respond in the most evenhanded and level way.

  • Lack of education– not every person has had the chance to go through school and learn, and surprisingly the individuals who have might not have taken in all they need to know to manage the occasions of the world most viably.

and many others.

There are a lot more factors behind those craziness. All individuals experience one of these at some point, one way or another. It is very important to say, "crazy" people need understanding, love, care and help. They need not to just be adversely judged and avoided. It is showing the genuine meaning of sympathy and care.

I saw my younger sister (she passed away roughly 3 years ago) have mental breaks all through her youth. She was determined as bipolar at the age of 14-15 I believe. As numerous with a dysfunctional behavior, she would regularly quit taking her prescriptions. The primary break I recall, is the point at which I was around in my late teen years. I don't remember every single detail because I was still in school back then. She tossed our furniture she could oversee, and different family things out on the grass, inappropriately yelling in the middle of the nights and running around our neighborhood and too many other crazy things. To cut the story short, she was sent to a mental institution which is an 8-hour drive from our home and we only visit her (my mom most of the time) every 3 months - until she was declared dead (years later) without us knowing in advance.  That was very unsettling and sad, but it does happen.

We all go through difficult times and people around us help us get through them. On different occasions we have been stressed over others' emotional well-being. Regardless of whether they are a companion, relative or partner, there are numerous approaches to help someone we truly care about.

  • Give an open and non-judgemental space without any interruptions

  • Allow them to lead the conversation at their own speed. Try not to squeeze them to disclose to you anything they aren't prepared to discuss. Talking can take a ton of trust and mental fortitude

  • Try not to attempt to analyze their sentiments

  • Keep questions and communication open-ended

  • Talk about prosperity

  • Listen cautiously to what they are telling you

  • Offer help

Seeing the people we love in torment is hard, particularly when we can't identify with their battle. We might need to fix their issues and be there emotionally for them. People who have gone crazy are not different people. When they're battling, they aren't beasts, when they improve, they are not new individuals.

Good afternoon, once again, and have a great day wherever you are. Please, please be kind. See people for who they are, not for what we think they may be. We are all just trying to explore this thing called life and that looks different to every single person in the world. What works for you, may not work for her or him. We all just need to appreciate and accept this. We must find our common ground in our humanness.

Stay kind.

One love

@Bloghound

(All photos are my own and taken by me - unless stated otherwise)

Thank you for visiting.

To all my generous readers and sponsors, thank you very much!

33
$ 10.95
$ 10.18 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @bbyblacksheep
$ 0.10 from @Pichi28
+ 13
Sponsors of Bloghound
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bloghound
2 years ago

Comments

First off, accept my condolence, though it's been years. She is already resting in peace. Like you stated, the word "crazy" has been used in a lot of contexts. For instance, someone did something very exciting, and another exclaimed, that was crazy, man". Whatever way we use it, it's important that the people we are communicating with understand.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hi, Tipster, thank you for stopping by and for the kind words.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🤔 interesting article

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So sorry to hear about your sister. May she rest in peace. Crazy - Buang in bisaya was a favorite expression for me, but I stopped using the word as I was called up by our HR manager for using such word. It turns out that the person whom I said buang take is in a different way and told his supervisor who is a lawyer who in turn told our HR manager. 😥

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Sorry to hear about your sister. 😔 Crazy for me is all sorts. I used to say "baliw" even over a simple thing and even some people that I know. When we say something that is foolish, they would reply "baliw". Baliw or adik are just some of the common terms that my friends and I used to say.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Kaya nga, sis. Minsan di naen ala, nakakatrigger yan unless very close mo kausap mo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yun din narealize ko after ko basahin ito. Hindi talaga maganda nagsasabi both baliw and adik unless kaclose mo ng sobra.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

korek, sis. everyone is fighting a battle we know nothing about. be kind always :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We are all "crazy" until we really know the true meaning of things. We have misused this word for so long that we have forgotten or lost sensitivity to its true meaning, we take it as a mockery and do not give it the value it should have. By losing that true meaning we find it hard to empathize with people who are really having emotional or mental problems and really fall under the denomination of crazy. It is only when our loved ones or someone we know goes through this that we realize how difficult it is and the worst thing is that we don't have the tools or the knowledge to help them. I am so sorry to hear about your sister and the experience you went through.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you for the sentiments, Lore!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hmmm

$ 0.00
2 years ago

you alright, mariteen?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A wonderful thought provoking piece Mrs P. I did read when you published, but never commented. I am sorry to hear about yourself. I do have quite a good sense when someone is perhaps not their self, and I do try to be there and offer support.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hi, uncle Ed. I have known you for so many years now, and I could read your silence hehe. Thank you very much.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Great article. I am pretty sure we have put geniuses in mental hospitals simply because they understand the world better than us. Humans, including myself, are stupid by nature, verified by history. i.e. lobotomies was a thing not too long ago. Also if you reported a UFO about a month ago you were considered CRAZY. Now you are a hero.

I enjoyed it thoroughly,

One Love

$ 0.05
2 years ago

hey thanks, cyber augur! the ufo made me smile tho! 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I would answer "I am!" but then it isn't a joking matter. My heart goes out to you for what happened to your sister...

I must admit I almost got into the serious category of "crazy" due to severe stress some years ago and now, I couldn't even make myself imagine what could have happened to me had I not managed to climbed out of that darkness I've placed myself into. So yes, craziness is not supposed to be taken lightly but our world has somewhat made it into something ordinary, I myself included. I used to say "chixin" (crazy) to people who pisses me off, or to myself when I forget something in the last minute.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Oh my word. Im so sorry for your sister, bkit daw sya nagka ganun? Kawawa nmn.

Anyway, i know a lot of us overuse/misuse the word crazy, but we have to be sensititive in dealing people with real mental and psychological problem. It's not a joke to have such illness, even families had a difficult time and decision making to deal with the issues.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Onga, sis eh. Depression yun sa sis ko, doctora. Mas weak kc cya emotionally kesa sakin.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay grabe talaga depression 😔 Hugs** madam, sana nka recover na buong pamilya sa pagkawala niya..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True, doctora. MUAH

$ 0.00
2 years ago

iba na kasi definition ng new gen natin sa crazy... as if its an easy case..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Sometime, we take as a joke lang, sis eh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes right sis... hopefully, indi ma offend ung pinagsasabihan...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm driving like crazy, sabi nila pag mabilis ako magpatakbo haha. I'm crazy, sabi nila pag tumawa ako ng ng malakas sa public place. I'm crazy, sabi nila pag sinasabi kong, gusto ko nang mawala sa mundo. I'm crazy, sabi nila pag nakita nila akong biglang ngumingiti. (may naalala lang naman ako 😂)

About insanity, I have this tita na nabaliw, sabi ng namatay kong lola, nangyari daw yon kasi lagi daw babad sa pag-aaral, hindi ko alam yung pinakadetails, yung tita ko na yun, pag may hindi siya nagustuhan, bigla na siya hihiyaw, pero minsan nakakausap pa namin siya pero hindi normal, tatango lang siya o iiling. Sometimes nakakaihi na siya kung nasan siya pero minsan, nakakapunta siyang cr. Ang kinagagalit ko lang, hindi siya pinagamot agad nila lola, sana naayos pa, kasi nung dinala siya sa Manila, wala na daw pag-asa, though may gamot pa rin siya na tinitake pero pahirapan kasi minsan ayaw ng tita namin. Ayun, basta mabait siya hindi tulad nung mga nagwawala. Hihi.

About your sister, sorry to hear that, nakakalungkot po na ganon ganon lang nangyari, kaso wala nga tayo magagawa about it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I want to be your friend haha. Crazy friends make perfect friendship 😁

Salamat, sis! Yun talaga cguro kapalaran nya.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We are now friends! Haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahaha apir po! :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My sister also had her breakdown when I was still in highschool. I already shared few information here in the flatform but not totally detailed one. I am still in the point of deciding if I would share her experience here. It was really heart broken past and we all suffered way back. Thanks God she recovered after 3 years of sufferings. Now that she had family and a son, we always make sure we attend her situation from time to time. Visiting her and create few things such as "salo-salo" and "videoki" to make her feel happy especially if we notice her being silent. She even got special attention to our parents but that doesn't bother me because I know she need it more than I do. And we also add more to what my parents can have her. We love her so much and we never mention that difficult moment she passed through.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Aw I'm sorry, sis! Pls give sis a hug for me 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was also diagnosed with a mental health condition which is anxiety. I also had my breakdowns and panic attacks. My inner thoughts is telling me that I am crazy because it's only my mind who is creating a scene that I can't breath and later on I will die. As a result, I can't breath and heart is pounding rapidly. Doctors did laboratory exams in me but they didn't find any ailment. And that's where they found out that it's anxiety. They advised me that I am the only one who can help myself for I control my brain and thoughts. Otherwise, they will refer me to a psychiatrist.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Have you ever seen a psychiatrist? They can help, sis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No, I haven't because they advised me to just self-heal if I can. Which is I successfully did. I don't want to drink meds either as I will become dependent on it and my brain can't function normally if without those meds. Now, I can say my anxiety has lessen and it's not as severe as before. But if otherwise had happened, they would advise refer me to a psychiatrist if I can't handle myself anymore.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Kabasa ko pa lang title shempre sagot ko agad.. yes... Tas napaisip ako.

Revealing portions of your experience is very brave ate huhuhu. I've known two or three friends who shared their struggles with their mental states. And no it is not easy indeed. I hurt when they hurt.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Salamat, Pich! I'm bipolar too 😉

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It helps to have a great support system no? I don't know where and how i would end up without rightly-placed beautiful human beings ... Katig kung baga..

Really sorry ate about your sis. :(

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Xoxoxoxo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

it's a shame, what happened to your sister. and the sadder part is that she probably wasn't treated dun sa institution

$ 0.02
2 years ago

when we visited her the last time, 10 days na pala cyang namatay, sis. para nga daw cla d tao pg ituring dun nun.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

OnO katakot naman nun. ang pangit kasi ng mental health facilities and treatments dito eh. my dearest condolences to your family tho ;;-;;

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya nga, sis. Thank you so much for the thoughts. Xoxo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A crazy man if he realized hes crazy, he not anymore. I don't understand why people treat or laughing at those people instead of helping them cope up.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

same thoughts, kabstat!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My nagcomment sa article ko nadiagnose dw sya na bipolar. I guess it was @Janz if i'm not mistaken.. Nagstop sya medication at pinilit na baguhin ang self.. Sabi pa nya, walang ibang makakasolve kundi ang self nya.. I guess she's doing good now even writing articles here 😁 Sana lng lahat ng tao ganun. Pro hirap ng nangyari sa kapatid mom. Sorry to know that 😢.. My kapatid ako abnormal mag isip kung tawagin...pro habang lumalaki, bumubuti naman sya..

$ 0.10
2 years ago

I have to check on Janz, sis. I too was once diagnosed as bipolar. That was when I was still single and when I was in a very dark world. I am grateful I survived with the help of some friends.

Salamat, sis. Life is crazy sometimes, and we have to accept that. Good aftie!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My definition of crazy is so simple like doing naughty things in public. But I also define a person as crazy when they act differently than a normal person until I read this article.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You must be fun to be with, Gracee :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako I’ve been experiencing that for one day, dahil sa sobrang stress at hindi na lang kumakain, nagpapalipas ng kain, minda hindi kakain at yung mind is working dahil dami ng paperworks, so it’s something like yun yung nag trigger sa akin na maging bipolar for one day, my psychiatry told me that time na bumilis daw ng triple ang IQ ko compare to normal kaya that time I can’t control what I said at to the point na hindi na ako marunong mag bisaya at umintindi ng bisaya. That was really a crazy day for me.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hi, Janz! Thank you for sharing your thoughts. I think I pretty much feel the same at times. I have been to psychiatrist and psychologist too and I was advised we need to talk to someone we trust. in case natrigger tau. Good afternoon po. I hope all is well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes it's really important to talked to someone our worries and problems para hindi aabot sa punto na ma depressed tayo dahil rito... I wrote an article for this about not talking to someone instead kinikimkim lang natin which nagdulot ng worst sa akin. You can also checked and read it I made an article for it here "I hide my Pain with a Smile" https://read.cash/@Janz/i-hide-my-pain-with-a-smile-4104ca32

$ 0.00
2 years ago

just saw this, janz! will check in a bi . hugs!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

my pleasure thank you 🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago